Varney's Midwifery by Tekoa L. King; Mary C. Brucker; Kathryn Osborne; Cecilia JevittAwarded Second Place in the 2018 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Maternal - Child Health/Prenatal Nursing/Childbirth and Third Place in Adult Primary Care!Varney's Midwifery, Sixth Edition is the gold standard for midwifery practice. Completely updated and revised, this text reflects current evidence-based guidelines. The Sixth Edition addresses care of women throughout the lifespan, including primary care, gynecology, maternity care in a variety of settings, and newborn care. It also provides new content on social determinants of health, the changing face of the population, and the population that midwives serve.With chapters written by expert midwives with an emphasis on anatomy, physiology, and normal physiologic processes, this text will assist students and midwives in providing healthcare services today. Chapter appendices present essential skills that are designed to help students, midwives, and international readers learn skills that are core components of midwifery practice. These critical skills are evidence-based and include insertion of contraceptive devices, hand maneuvers for birth, management of a fetus in a breech presentation, and steps for managing postpartum hemorrhage."Varney's Midwifery is a primary textbook used in midwifery education. The voices of authors from practices across the nation allow for a robust presentation of evidence-based midwifery. As society changes, and midwifery evolves, so does this textbook evolve, especially as illustrated by new content. This edition includes information that will enable midwives to provide evidence-based care within the context of shared decision making." - Editors Tekoa L. King, Mary C. Brucker, Kathryn Osborne, and Cecilia M. Jevitt
Call Number: EBSCO (limit of 3 simultaneous users, 60 PDF download pages per day)
Publication Date: 2018-05-15
Women's Gynecologic Health by Kerri Durnell Schuiling; Frances E. LikisWomen's Gynecologic Health, Second Edition equips students and practicing clinicians with comprehensive information about women's gynecologic health, including health promotion, maintenance and treatment. Based on the most recent research, the authors provide authoritative content written from a feminist perspective. Completely updated and revised, this second edition includes four new chapters on diagnosis of pregnancy at the gynecologic visit, women's health after bariatric surgery, sexual assault, and urinary tract infections. In addition, the chapter on gynecologic health care for sexual and gender minorities has been expanded to include care not only for lesbians, but also for bisexual women and transgender individuals.Key features include:* Clinical considerations specific to the different physical and psychosocial life stages of women* Emphasis on physiologic mechanisms in order to enhance understanding of normal and abnormal processes* Evidence-based content* Content and presentation suitable for students and practicing clinicians
Call Number: EBSCO (limit of 3 simultaneous users, 30 PDF download pages per day)
Publication Date: 2021
Contraceptive Technology by Robert A. Hatcher
Publication Date: 1994-08-01
Book List (In Library Collection)
Maternal, Fetal, and Neonatal Physiology by Susan BlackburnProvide the best care possible with expert insight and clinically relevant coverage of the physiologic changes that occur throughout all major periods of the perinatal experience - prenatal, intrapartum, postpartum, and neonatal. Maternal, Fetal & Neonatal Physiology: A Clinical Perspective, 4th Edition gives you a solid foundation for assessment and therapeutic interventions, featuring an emphasis on the evolving interrelationships between mother, fetus, and neonate and adaptations of preterm and term infants to the extrauterine environment. Solid coverage of the physiologic bases for assessment and therapeutic interventions make this an ideal resource for advanced practice. Synthesis of the latest research studies and evidence-based practice provides vital data on normal physiologic changes during the antepartum, intrapartum and postpartum periods; anatomic and functional development of the fetus; and developmental physiology of preterm and term neonates. Pharmacology tables offer quick access to key pharmacology information and drug effects with clinical examples. Coverage of pathophysiology and interventions for the pregnant woman, fetus, and newborn for selected abnormal events provides a solid understanding of physiologic adaptations and developmental physiology relating to major body systems and metabolic processes. Comprehensive tables, diagrams, and illustrations highlight important concepts and summarize key information Thoroughly updated content offers the very latest evidence-based information, contemporary research, and clinical developments related to maternal, fetal, and neonatal physiology. New coverage on the late pre-term infant provides the most current practice guidelines to promote quality care. Expanded discussions of reproductive processes reflect cutting-edge research and the clinical implications of physiologic and genetic effects brought to bear from both the female and the male. Extensive and reliable web sources allow for further study or checking for updated information. New NICHD standard definitions on fetal monitoring enable you to identify fetal heart rate patterns using standardized nomenclature.
Call Number: WQ 205 B628m 2013
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
Obstetrics: Normal and Problem Pregnancies by Mark B. Landon; Henry L. Galan; Eric R. M. Jauniaux; Deborah A. Driscoll; Vincenzo Berghella; William A. Grobman; Sarah J. Kilpatrick; Alison G. CahillHighly readable, well-illustrated, and easy to understand, Gabbe's Obstetrics: Normal and Problem Pregnancies is an ideal day-to-day reference or study tool for residents and clinicians. This 8th Edition of this bestselling text offers fast access to evidence-based, comprehensive information, now fully revised with substantial content updates, new and improved illustrations, and a new, international editorial team that continues the tradition of excellence established by Dr. Steven Gabbe. Puts the latest knowledge in this complex specialty at your fingertips, allowing you to quickly access the information you need to treat patients, participate knowledgably on rounds, and perform well on exams. Contains at-a-glance features such as key points boxes, bolded text, chapter summaries and conclusions, key abbreviations boxes, and quick-reference tables, management and treatment algorithms, and bulleted lists throughout. Features detailed illustrations from cover to cover-many new and improved-including more than 100 ultrasound images that provide an important resource for normal and abnormal fetal anatomy. Covers key topics such as prevention of maternal mortality, diabetes in pregnancy, obesity in pregnancy, vaginal birth after cesarean section, and antepartum fetal evaluation. Provides access to 11 videos that enhance learning in areas such as cesarean delivery and operative vaginal delivery. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Call Number: ClinicalKey (unlimited users)
Publication Date: 2020-03-09
The Developing Human by Keith L. Moore; T. V. N. Persaud; Mark G. TorchiaExtensively revised to incorporate recent research and current clinical practice, The Developing Human: Clinically Oriented Embryology, 11th Edition, covers all aspects of normal and abnormal embryonic and fetal development. In a clear, concise manner and lavishly illustrated throughout, this textbook is designed to successfully meet the needs of medical and health sciences profession students, as well as those in graduate programs. It provides an easy-to-digest, comprehensive review of what can be a complex and challenging subject. BONUS online features such as multiple-choice questions and narrated animations further support student success. Guides readers month by month and stage by stage through embryo and fetal organ and systems development, using full-color photographs of clinical cases, relevant modern medical imaging, and numerous high-quality supportive figures. Includes many new 3D HD color rendered images of embryos and fetuses, as well as 3D reconstructions of whole embryos. Provides clinically-oriented problems for each chapter, with corresponding answers and explanations designed to facilitate discussion and learning. In addition, multiple-choice questions and answers are available online for supportive self-assessment. Features 18 exceptional color animations, now with narration, to help students as they explore and learn the complexity of embryological development. Provides the knowledge base needed for today's examinations, including USMLE Step 1, as well as for future clinical practice. Thoroughly updated information includes new annotations on fundamental molecular events during embryogenesis, now required for many professional examinations. Includes enhanced clinical material in all chapters, with updated tables, Clinical Case highlights and a critical chapter on common signalling pathways during development that covers gene editing (CRISPR/Cas9), induced pluripotent stem cells (iPS), a revision of the sonic hedgehog signalling pathway; and more. Details how molecular biology has affected clinical practice, including techniques such as recumbent DNA technology and stem cell manipulation. Includes an Enhanced eBook version with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: ClinicalKey (unlimited users)
Publication Date: 2019-03-01
Physical Assessment of the Newborn by Ellen P. Tappero; Mary Ellen Honeyfield"The text is... a core text for any program preparing individuals for advanced practice roles in perinatal and neonatal care, and it should be a resource in every setting providing care to neonates. At all levels of practice, it serves as a convenient reference to normal parameters, common variations, and less commonly seen abnormalities." --Susan Tucker Blackburn, RN, PhD, FAAN Author of Maternal, Fetal, and Neonatal Physiology: A Clinical Perspective From the Foreword The newly revised, 25th anniversary edition of this definitive publication on neonatal care continues to illustrate how to systematically and accurately gather assessment data and interpret results. Because even normal newborns feature a wide range of physical variation, subtle signs that indicate internal malformations or syndromes may escape notice without a proper assessment. Many problems in the neonate can be noticed early by an astute nurse, neonatal nurse practitioner, neonatal physician assistant, or physician with honed assessment skills, long before electronic monitors or other equipment can detect them. Physical Assessment of the Newborn, Sixth Edition, addresses the physical, physiologic, neurologic, and behavioral implications of a thorough assessment, and explains how healthcare providers can reduce the risks associated with the transition to extrauterine life and the neonatal period. Grounded with a scientific basis and rationale, each system assessment represents the most up-to-date clinical content. Because assessment skills are such an integral aspect of practice, many individuals take them for granted, yet all health professionals who perform newborn examinations--including nurses, neonatal and pediatric nurse practitioners, nurse-midwives, physicians, therapists, and students preparing for advanced practice roles in neonatal care--can benefit from the essential content presented in this book. New to the Sixth Edition: Provides clinical updates throughoutPresents an enhanced art programOffers an all-new chapter on the perinatally substance-exposed neonateIncludes an image bank and PowerPoints Key Features: Addresses all key aspects of newborn assessmentProvides a well-organized evaluation of individual body systemsAssists practitioners in identifying infant state, behavioral clues, and signs of painExamines the wide range of variation among newborns of different gestational agesProvides information related to a maternal history, including antepartum testing and intrapartum monitoringWritten in an easy-to-read, user-friendly styleIncludes continuing education exam
Call Number: ProQuest EBook Central (limit ? simultaneous users)
Publication Date: 2018-06-01
Case Files Obstetrics and Gynecology, Fifth Edition by Benton Baker; John Jennings; Patti Jayne Ross; Eugene C. ToyPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. SHARPEN YOUR CRITICAL THINKING SKILLS AND IMPROVE PATIENT CARE Experience with clinical cases is key to mastering the art and science of medicine and ultimately to providing patients with competent clinical care. Case Files®: Obstetrics & Gynecology provides 60 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in obstetrics and gynecology. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and USMLE®-style review questions to reinforce your learning. With Case Files®, you'll learn instead of memorize. · Learn from 60 high-yield cases, each with board-style questions · Master key concepts with clinical pearls
Birthing Justice by Julia Chinyere Oparah (Editor); Alicia D. Bonaparte (Editor)There is a global crisis in maternal health care for black women. In the United States, black women are over three times more likely to perish from pregnancy-related complications than white women; their babies are half as likely to survive the first year. Many black women experience policing, coercion, and disempowerment during pregnancy and childbirth and are disconnected from alternative birthing traditions. This book places black women's voices at the center of the debate on what should be done to fix the broken maternity system and foregrounds black women's agency in the emerging birth justice movement. Mixing scholarly, activist, and personal perspectives, the book shows readers how they too can change lives, one birth at a time.
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: limit of 1 simultaneous user and 60 PDF download pages per day
Publication Date: 2015-10-02
Reproductive Justice by Loretta Ross; Rickie SolingerReproductive Justice is a first-of-its-kind primer that provides a comprehensive yet succinct description of the field. Written by two legendary scholar-activists, Reproductive Justice introduces students to an intersectional analysis of race, class, and gender politics. Loretta J. Ross and Rickie Solinger put the lives and lived experience of women of color at the center of the book and use a human rights analysis to show how the discussion around reproductive justice differs significantly from the pro-choice/anti-abortion debates that have long dominated the headlines and mainstream political conflict. Arguing that reproductive justice is a political movement of reproductive rights and social justice, the authors illuminate, for example, the complex web of structural obstacles a low-income, physically disabled woman living in West Texas faces as she contemplates her sexual and reproductive intentions. In a period in which women's reproductive lives are imperiled, Reproductive Justice provides an essential guide to understanding and mobilizing around women's human rights in the twenty-first century. Reproductive Justice: A New Vision for the Twenty-First Century publishes works that explore the contours and content of reproductive justice. The series will include primers intended for students and those new to reproductive justice as well as books of original research that will further knowledge and impact society. Learn more at www.ucpress.edu/go/reproductivejustice.
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: limit of 1 simultaneous user, 100 PDF download pages per day
Publication Date: 2017-03-21
A history of midwifery in the United States : The Midwife Said Fear Not by Joyce E. Thompson; Helen VarneyWritten by two of the profession's most prominent midwifery leaders, this authoritative history of midwifery in the United States, from the 1600s to the present, is distinguished by its vast breadth and depth. The book spans the historical evolution of midwives as respected, autonomous health care workers and midwifery as a profession, and considers the strengths, weaknesses, threats, and opportunities for this discipline as enduring motifs throughout the text. It surveys the roots of midwifery, the beginnings of professional practice, the founding of educational institutions and professional organizations, and entry pathways into the profession. Woven throughout the text are such themes as the close link between midwives and the communities in which they live, their view of pregnancy and birth as normal life events, their efforts to promote health and prevent illness, and their dedication to serving women wherever they may be and in whatever health condition and circumstances they may be in. The text examines the threats to midwifery past and present, such as the increasing medicalization of childbearing care, midwifery's lack of a common identity based on education and practice standards, the inconsistencies in its legal recognition as a profession, and reimbursement issues for midwifery practice. Illustrations and historical photos depict the many facets of midwifery, and engaging stories provide cultural and spiritual context. This is a "must-have" for all midwives, historians, professional and educational institutions, and all those who share a passion for the history of midwifery and women. KEY FEATURES: Encompasses the most authoritative and comprehensive information available about the history of midwifery in the United States Considers the strengths, weaknesses, threats, and opportunities for midwifery Illustrated with historical photos and drawings Includes engaging stories filled with cultural and spiritual content, introductory quotes to each chapter, and plentiful chapter notes Written by two preeminent leaders in the field of midwifery
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: limit of 1 simultaneous user, 100 PDF download pages per day)
Publication Date: 2015-11-28
Book List (Not in Library Collection)
Best Practices in Midwifery by Barbara A. Anderson; Judith Rooks; Rebeca BarrosoFirst Edition an AJN Book of the Year Award Winner This second edition of a groundbreaking book is substantially revised to deliver the foundation for an evidence-based model for best practices in midwifery, a model critical to raising the United States' current standing as the bottom-ranking country for maternity mortality among developed nations.With a focus on updated scientific evidence as the framework for midwifery practice, the book includes 21 completely new chapters that address bothcontinuing and new areas of practice, the impact of institutional and national policies, and the effects of diversity and globalization. Incorporating themidwifery model of care, the book provides strategies for change and guidance for implementing evidence-based best practices. The book examines midwifery efforts to improve the health of women and children in the U.S., for example, Strong Start, US MERA, Centering Pregnancy, a focus on physiologic birth, and successful global endeavors. It encompasses a diverse nationwide authorship that includes leaders in midwifery, academicians, midwives representing diversity, hospital- and community-based practitioners, and policymakers. This coalition of authors from diversebackgrounds facilitates an engaging and robust discussion around best practices. Chapters open with a contemporary review of the literature, a comparisonof current (often scientifically unsubstantiated and ineffective) practices, evidence-based recommendations, and best practices for midwifery. Key Features: Focuses on scientific evidence as the framework for midwifery practiceAddresses continuing and new, controversial areas of practice with strategies and guidelines for changeIncludes 20 out of 27 completely new chaptersAuthored by a diverse group of 44 prominent midwifery leadersExamines practices that are in conflict with scientific evidence
Publication Date: 2016-07-01
Battling over Birth by Julia Chinyere Oparah; Helen Arega; Dantia Hudson"Battling Over Birth: Black Women and the Maternal Health Care Crisis reveals hard truths- powerful findings on the role of racism, coercion, inadequate prenatal care, the pressures undermining breastfeeding and the lack of access to alternatives to a broken maternal health-care system as key threads of black women's birth experiences." -Kimberly Seals Allers, MS, author, The Big Letdown "This book clearly lays out the barriers facing Black families, but it also offers solutions. I think every professional who works with parents and babies of any color should read this book." -Sharon Muza, BS, CD(DONA), BDT(DONA), LCCE, FACCE, CLE "Battling over Birth is a critical and timely resource for understanding black women's birthing experiences in the United States, a country where black women's lives-and the lives they create-are at much greater risk of death and injury than those of non-black women ... By distilling the common and diverse threads from over 100 black women, the BWBJ researchers have woven a multi-faceted tapestry that reflects what black women view as important and central to optimal birth experiences. Their recommendations for improving care and outcomes are grounded in black women's authoritative knowledge. ... This wonderful, important, necessary research by and for black women points in the direction that black women think we should go to ensure they have safe, healthy, and satisfying birth experiences and outcomes. We need to listen and act." -Christine Morton, PhD, author, Birth Ambassadors: Doulas and the Re-Emergence of Woman-Supported Birth in America Black Women Birthing Justice is a collective of African-American, African, Caribbean and multiracial women who are committed to transforming birthing experiences for black women and transfolks. Our vision is that every pregnant person should have an empowering birthing experience, free of unnecessary medical interventions and forced separation from their child. Our goals are to educate, to document birth stories and to raise awareness about birthing alternatives. We aim to challenge human rights violations, rebuild confidence in our ability to give birth, and decrease disproportionate maternal and infant mortality.
Publication Date: 2017-12-02
Pharmacology for Women's Health by Mary C. Brucker; Tekoa L. KingAwarded First Place in the 2016 AJN Book of the Year Awards in the Maternal-Child Health Category!Pharmacology for Women's Health, Second Edition is a unique text that discusses pharmacology as it specifically relates to women's health. Completely updated and revised to reflect the changing field of pharmacology, it includes new pharmacological agents for common conditions, changes in indications, the use of vaccines, updated guidelines from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) for treatment of sexually transmitted infections, and the effects of the Affordable Care Act. It also includes new resource boxes in each chapter for easy access to more information.Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.
Publication Date: 2015-09-24
Prenatal and Postnatal Care by Robin G. Jordan (Editor); Cindy L. Farley (Editor); Karen Trister Grace (Editor)The second edition of the comprehensive and award-winning text on prenatal and postnatal care The updated edition of Prenatal and Postnatal Care offers a comprehensive text for the care of the woman during the childbearing year. The expert author team presents information needed to master foundational knowledge in anatomy, physiology, psychology, culture, and structure of preconception, prenatal and postnatal care, and the management of common health problems in the childbearing year. This edition has been revised throughout and contains 6 new chapters on the following topics: prenatal ultrasound, triage of the pregnant woman, assisting women to development confidence for physiologic birth, pregnancy after infertility, oral health, and issues around diversity and inclusion in prenatal and postnatal care. Additional highlights include new and updated content on pregnant women in the workplace, prenatal genetic testing, trauma-informed care, and transgender pregnancy care. The second edition also includes commonly used complementary therapies and offers more detailed information on shared decision-making and planning for birth. Prenatal and Postnatal Care: Provides expanded faculty resources with case studies and test questions for each chapter Offers a comprehensive text that covers essential aspects of prenatal and postnatal care of the childbearing woman Builds on the edition that won the Book of the Year award from the American College of Nurse Midwives (ACNM) in 2015. This revised, authoritative text is an ideal resource for midwifery, nurse practitioner and physician assistant students, and healthcare providers working with pregnant and postpartum women.
Publication Date: 2018-04-23
Killing the Black Body: Race, Reproduction, and the Meaning of Liberty by Dorothy E. Roberts
Publication Date: 1998-12-29
Maternity Newborn Women Health Nurs by Amy O'MearaBuild the critical thinking capabilities essential to your success with this captivating, case-based approach. Maternity, Newborn, and Women's Health Nursing: A Case-Based Approach brings the realities of nursing practice to life and helps you acquire the understanding and clinical reasoning skills to ensure effective patient-centered care. This innovative text immerses you in realistic, case-based narratives that help you experience maternity, newborn, and women's health nursing concepts from the patient's perspective and confidently prepare for your clinical rotations. Accompanying units leverage these patient stories to enrich your understanding of key concepts and reinforce their clinical relevance, giving you unparalleled preparation for the challenges you'll face in your nursing career. Powerfully written case-based patient scenarios instill a clinically relevant understanding of essential concepts to prepare you for clinicals. Nurse 's Point of View sections in Unit 1 help you recognize the nursing considerations and challenges related to patient-based scenarios. Step-by-Step Skills tutorials clarify common procedures. Unfolding Patient Stories , written by the National League for Nursing, foster meaningful reflection on commonly encountered clinical scenarios. Analyze the Evidence callouts present conflicting research to hone your critical thinking capabilities. Patient Teaching boxes highlight important information to communicate to patients. Lab Values help you recognize the significance of out-of-range values and make appropriate nursing interventions. The Pharmacy features detail essential pharmaceutical information at a glance. Interactive learning resources, including Practice & Learn Case Studies and Watch & Learn Videos , reinforce skills and challenge you to apply what you've learned. Learning Objectives and bolded Key Terms help you maximize your study time. Think Critically questions instill the clinical reasoning and analytical skills essential to safe patient-centered practice. Suggested Readings point you to further research for more information and clinical guidance.
Publication Date: 2018-11-21
Oxorn-Foote Human Labor and Birth, Seventh Edition by Glenn David Posner; Amanda Y. Black; Griffith David Jones; Jessica DyDeliver safe, effective obstetric care with the go-to guide for doctors, nurses, and midwives Updated and revised, Oxorn Foote Human Labor and Birth provides comprehensive, authoritative coverage of obstetric care. This popular guide offers proven best practices and step-by-step guidance to obstetric procedures, techniques, and patient management. Oxorn Foote Human Labor and Birth reviews anatomy and patient examination; details variations of fetal presentation and birthing technique; explains how to manage complications and delivery scenarios, including hemorrhage, fetal concerns, preterm and prolonged labor, and dystocia; and covers preliminary neonatal care. This unparalleled resource is organized into six sections: *Clinical Anatomy, including the pelvis, bones, joints, perineum, and fetus *First Stage of Labor, including examination, mechanisms of labor, fetal health surveillance, and abnormal cephalic presentations *Second Stage of Labor, including operative vaginal delivery and shoulder dystocia *Third Stage of Labor, including delivery of the placenta, retained placenta, postpartum hemorrhage, episiotomy, and uterine rupture *Complicated Labor, including cesarean section, obesity in pregnancy, breech presentation, transverse lie, and compound presentation *Other Issues, including preterm labor, antepartum hemorrhage, maternal complications, intrapartum infections, post-term pregnancy, and obstetric anesthesia and analgesia Nearly every two-page spread features original four-color images clearly illustrating the techniques described, and key points are bulleted throughout to help you find critical information quickly and easily. No other book presents so much vital information in such a clearly illustrated manner. Oxorn Foote Human Labor and Birth is an essential resource for anyone performing or assisting in childbirth.
Publication Date: 2022-11-23
The Labor Progress Handbook by Penny Simkin; Ruth Ancheta; Lisa HansonPraise for the previous edition: "This...edition is timely, useful, well organized, and should be in the bags of all doulas, nurses, midwives, physicians, and students involved in childbirth." -Journal of Midwifery and Women's Health The Labor Progress Handbook: Early Interventions to Prevent and Treat Dystocia is an unparalleled resource on simple, non-invasive interventions to prevent or treat difficult or prolonged labor. Thoroughly updated and highly illustrated, the book shows how to tailor one's care to the suspected etiology of the problem, using the least complex interventions first, followed by more complex interventions if necessary. This new edition now includes a new chapter on reducing dystocia in labors with epidurals, new material on the microbiome, as well as information on new counselling approaches specially designed for midwives to assist those who have had traumatic childbirths. Fully referenced and full of practical instructions throughout, The Labor Progress Handbook continues to be an indispensable guide for novices and experts alike who will benefit from its concise and accessible content.
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
2006-2009, Clinical Practice Guidelines for Midwifery and Women's Health by Nell L. Tharpe; Cindy L. Farley; Robin G. JordanClinical Practice Guidelines for Midwifery & Women's Health, Fourth Edition is a trusted quick reference guide to midwifery and well woman care. Completely updated and revised, this new edition reflects the rapidly changing clinical environment. It addresses documentation and risk management to aid in decision-making and appropriate document care. Convenient and easy-to-use, this new edition encompasses traditional, empiric, and evidenced-based practice to meet the needs of a broad range of new and experienced practitioners and patients.* Meets the recommendations of the American College of NurseMidwives (ACNM) and the Midwives Alliance of North America (MANA) for written policies and/or practice guidelines* Reflects current and emerging midwifery and womens health practice * Provides support and guidance for daily clinical decision making
Publication Date: 2012-05-23
Pharmacotherapeutics for Advanced Practice Nurse Prescribers by Teri Moser Woo; Marylou V. RobinsonThe only text that meets all AACN/NONPF criteria. Clinical Pearls, insights from expert practitioners on how to increase patient compliance, analyze potential drug interactions, and improve treatment selection reasoning. Case Studies illustrating the paradigm drug and select common uses for each class of drugs. Tips on how to evaluate new drugs from the literature provided by drug representatives. Discussions of the application of advanced pharmacotherapeutics to the real world of clinical practice. Coverage of pathophysiology as it relates to the use of specific drugs. Easy-to-understand illustrations of drug physiology and how drugs work in the body. Tables that detail commonly used drugs, pharmacokinetics, drug/food interactions, dosage schedules, and available dosage forms. On the Horizon boxes highlighting potentially useful drugs currently in clinical trials.