AAP Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics by
Fully revised and expanded, the second edition of this best-selling resource provides expert guidance for primary pediatric health care professionals on caring for children with developmental and behavioral concerns - from medical evaluation and care initiation to transition to adulthood. New chapters cover *Environmental and biological influences on child development and behavior *Development and disorders of feeding, sleep, and elimination Topics include *Counseling children and families *The role of early childhood adversity and toxic stress and the impact on child development and behavior *Medical evaluation of children with developmental-behavioral disorders *Developmental surveillance, screening, and evaluation *Autism spectrum disorder, intellectual disability, learning disability, ADHD, and cerebral palsy *Anxiety and mood disorders *Evidence-based interventions, including psychopharmacology *Social and community services for children with developmental-behavioral disorders and their families *How to appropriately bill and code for care *Transitioning to adult medical care
Advanced Pediatric Assessment by
3rd Edition. Everything you'll need to learn advanced pediatric assessment in one handy and affordable set This set delivers the specialized knowledge and skills for pediatric health and illness assessment alongside corresponding critical thinking exercises, case studies, and certification-style exam questions. Comprehensive and detailed, it emphasizes the unique anatomic and physiologic differences among infants, children, and adults. The textbook, now in FOUR-COLOR, newly addresses toxic stress and trauma-informed care and child witnesses to violent acts. Additionally, the book provides several new features facilitating quick access to key information along with NEW instructor and student resources. The study guide delivers a completely new chapter that covers clinical decision-making, formulating differential diagnoses, and evidence-based practice and also provides SOAP notes for the well and abnormal exams. New to the Third Edition: All new FOUR-COLOR presentation in the textbookNEW instructor resources (Power Points, Test Bank, Image Bank)Updated clinical practice guidelinesClinical decision making, formulating differential diagnoses, and evidence-based practiceImmigrant and refugee healthToxic stress and trauma-informed careFamily, developmental, nutritional, and child mistreatment assessment Key Features: Includes clinical practice guidelines for common medical conditionsIncorporates up-to-date screening and health promotion guidelinesProvides exam-style essential practice items for the examIncludes Anatomic Labeling Exercises to reinforce required knowledgeDelivers essential terminologyOffers sample documentation and space for students to practice their own documentation skills.
Berkowitz's Pediatrics by
The reference of choice for pediatricians, residents and medical students, the newly revised and expanded 6th edition provides clear, practice-oriented guidance on the core knowledge in pediatrics. Edited by a leading primary care authority with more than one hundred contributors, the 6th edition provides comprehensive coverage of hundreds of topics ranging from temper tantrums and toilet training to adolescent depression and suicide. More than 155 (including 5 brand new) clinical chapters review pertinent epidemiology and pathophysiology, then give concise guidelines on what symptoms to look for, what alternative diagnoses to consider, what tests to order, and how to treat your patient. New in the 6th edition All chapters have been reviewed and updated to address current issues. Five new chapters are included on the following: Health Systems Science Population Health for Pediatricians Social Determinants of Health: Principles Adverse Childhood Experiences: Trauma Informed Care Commercially Exploited Children and Human Trafficking Student worksheets corresponding to each chapter's case study questions will be posted online in a user-friendly format so that they can be completed in preparation of discussions. Case study questions have been enhanced and resources have been revised. This edition is completely reorganized into 15 sections using a systems-based approach.
Bright Futures by
This essential resource provides key background information and recommendations for themes critical to healthy child development along with well-child supervision standards for 31 age-based visits--from Newborn through 21 Years. What's in the Bright Futures Guidelines, Fourth Edition? Twelve health promotion themes addressing · lifelong health for families and communities NEW · family support · health for children and youth with special health care needs NEW · healthy development · mental health · healthy weight · healthy nutrition · physical activity · oral health · healthy adolescent development · healthy and safe use of social media NEW · safety and injury prevention 31 age-based health supervision visits--Newborn to 21 Years All the information and guidance that's needed to give children optimal health outcomes -Context -Health Supervision -History -Surveillance of Development -Review of Systems -Observation of Parent-Child Interaction -Physical Examination -Medical Screening -Immunizations -Anticipatory Guidance What's NEW in the 4th Edition? ·Builds upon previous editions with new and updated content that reflects the latest research. ·Incorporates evidence-driven recommendations. ·Includes three new health promotion themes: -Promoting Lifelong Health for Families and Communities -Promoting Health for Children and Youth With Special Health Care Needs -Promoting the Healthy and Safe Use of Social Media ·Includes new screen time recommendations ·Provides greater focus on lifelong physical and mental health -Weaves social determinants of health throughout the Visits, allowing health care professionals to consider social factors like food insecurity, violence, and drug use that may affect a child's and family's health -Features updated Milestones of Development and Developmental Surveillance questions ·Provides new clinical content that informs health care professionals about the latest recommendations and provides guidance on how to implement them in practice: -Maternal depression screening, Safe sleep, Iron supplementation in breast fed infants, Fluoride varnish, Dyslipidemia blood screening ·Includes updates to several Adolescent screenings With Bright Futures, health care professionals can accomplish 4 tasks in 18 minutes! ·Disease detection ·Disease prevention ·Health promotion ·Anticipatory guidance What is Bright Futures? ·A set of theory-based, evidence-driven, and systems-oriented principles, strategies, and tools that health care professionals can use to improve the health and well-being of children through culturally appropriate interventions. Bright Futures addresses the current and emerging health promotion needs of families, clinical practices, communities, health systems, and policymakers. ·The Bright Futures Guidelines are the blueprint for health supervision visits for all children. ·Bright Futures is the health promotion and disease prevention part of the patient-centered medical home. Who can use Bright Futures? ·Child health professionals and practice staff who directly provide primary care ·Parents and youth who participate in well-child visits ·Public Health Professionals ·Policymakers ·Pediatric Educators ·MD Residents
Bright Futures: Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children, and Adolescents (Tool Kit) by 
Burns' Pediatric Primary Care, 8th Edition by
Build a comprehensive foundation in children’s primary care. Burns' Pediatric Primary Care, 8th Edition, covers the full spectrum of health conditions seen in primary care pediatrics, emphasizing both prevention and management. This in-depth, evidence-based textbook is the only one on the market written from the unique perspective of the Nurse Practitioner. It guides you through assessing, managing, and preventing health problems in children from infancy through adolescence. Key topics include developmental theory, issues of daily living, the health status of children today, and diversity and cultural considerations. Updated content throughout reflects the latest research evidence, national and international protocols, and standardized guidelines. Additionally, this edition includes three new chapters on topics such as palliative care; inclusivity, equity, diversity, and justice; and child maltreatment.
Care of the High-Risk Neonate by
Stay up to date with recent advances in the NICU with Klaus and Fanaroff's Care of the High-Risk Neonate, 6th Edition. This trusted neonatology reference thoroughly covers the new guidelines, equipment, drugs, and treatments that have greatly increased the chance of survival for high-risk infants. Expert contributors deliver the information you need to stay on top of the technological and medical advances in this challenging field. Consult this title on your favorite e-reader with intuitive search tools and adjustable font sizes. Elsevier eBooks provide instant portable access to your entire library, no matter what device you're using or where you're located. Benefit from the expert advice offered in concise, easy-to-read editorial comments throughout the book. Assess your knowledge with comprehensive question-and-answer sections at the end of each chapter. Understand the clinical relevance of what you've learned with case studies that highlight real-world application. Own the reference trusted for nearly 40 years by those who care for at-risk neonates in the dynamic and challenging NICU. Get fast access to need-to-know information on drugs used in the NICU, normal values, and much more in the fully updated appendices. Keep your knowledge up to date with expanded coverage of evidence-based medicine and the role of networks in generating evidence. Stay current with all aspects of neonatal care, including resuscitation, transport, nutrition, respiratory problems and assisted ventilation, and organ-specific care.
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Pediatrics, Twenty-Sixth Edition by
The most practical, up-to-date guide available for accurately diagnosing and effectively treating child patients--from birth to adolescence A Doody's Core Title for 2023! The authoritative resource to pediatric medical conditions most often encountered in daily practice, CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatrics provides the evidence-based information readers need to deliver effective care in every situation. Packed with 200 photos and illustrations, this evidence-based text offers succinct, accurate overviews of important pediatric health concerns, such as childhood nutrition and eating disorders; substance use; psychiatric disorders; child abuse; oral medicine and dentistry; immunization; and emergencies and injuries. Complete with an invaluable guide to normal laboratory values, it provides detailed descriptions of diseases, as well as diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and present all information in the time-saving style that makes LANGE CURRENT books so popular: Problem, Essentials of Diagnosis, Clinical Findings, Differential Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prognosis. NEW to this edition:
Handbook of Infant Mental Health Fourth Edition by
The definitive reference in the field--now significantly revised with 75% new material--this volume examines typical and atypical development from birth to the preschool years and identifies what works in helping children and families at risk. Foremost experts explore neurobiological, family, and sociocultural factors in infant mental health, with a major focus on primary caregiving relationships. Risk factors for developmental problems are analyzed, and current information on disorders and disabilities of early childhood is presented. The volume showcases evidence-based approaches to assessment and intervention and describes applications in mental health, primary care, child care, and child welfare settings. New to This Edition: *Chapters on genetic and epigenetic processes, executive functions, historical trauma, and neglect. *Chapters on additional clinical problems: hyperactivity and inattention, sensory overresponsivity, and relationship-specific disorder. *Chapters on additional interventions: attachment and biobehavioral catch-up, video-feedback intervention to promote positive parenting and sensitive discipline, parent-child interaction therapy, and home visiting programs. *Existing chapters all rewritten or revised to reflect a decade's worth of empirical and clinical advances.
Pediatric Primary Care by
Get an in-depth look at pediatric primary care through the eyes of a Nurse Practitioner! Pediatric Primary Care, 6th Edition guides readers through the process of assessing, managing, and preventing health problems in infants, children, and adolescents. Key topics include developmental theory, issues of daily living, the health status of children today, and diversity and cultural considerations. This sixth edition also features a wealth of new content and updates - such as a new chapter on pediatric pharmacology, full-color design and illustrations, new QSEN integration, updated coverage of the impact of the Affordable Care Act, a refocused chapter on practice management, and more - to keep readers up to date on the latest issues affecting practice today. Comprehensive content provides a complete foundation in the primary care of children from the unique perspective of the Nurse Practitioner and covers the full spectrum of health conditions seen in the primary care of children, emphasizing both prevention and management. In-depth guidance on assessing and managing pediatric health problems covers patients from infancy through adolescence. Four-part organization includes 1) an introductory unit on the foundations of global pediatric health, child and family health assessment, and cultural perspectives for pediatric primary care; 2) a unit on managing child development; 3) a unit on health promotion and management; and 4) a unit on disease management. Content devoted to issues of daily living covers issues that are a part of every child''s growth - such as nutrition and toilet training - that could lead to health problems unless appropriate education and guidance are given. Algorithms are used throughout the book to provide a concise overview of the evaluation and management of common disorders. Resources for providers and families are also included throughout the text for further information. Expert editor team well is well-versed in the scope of practice and knowledge base of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners (PNPs) and Family Nurse Practitioners (FNPs). NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest developments in our understanding of disease processes, disease management in children, and current trends in pediatric healthcare. NEW! Chapter on prescribing pediatric medications emphasizes the unique needs of children in pharmacotherapy. NEW! Practice Alerts highlight situations that may require urgent action, consultation, or referral for additional treatment outside the primary care setting. NEW! Full-color design and illustrations improve usability and learning. NEW! Graduate-level QSEN integration: Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) is now introduced in the Preface. The QSEN Safety competency is now emphasized via the new Practice Alert highlights and integration of National Patient Safety Goals and Core Measures. The Informatics competency is addressed with new informatics content in a refocused Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice chapter. The Teamwork and Collaboration competency is addressed by new content on the trending topic of interprofessional collaboration, also in the Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice chapter. The Evidence-Based Practice competency is integrated through icons that reference evidence-based guidelines. Reorganized application of Gordon''s Functional Health Patterns provides a more conceptually consistent flow with Gordon''s model. Expanded integration of Healthy People 2020 goes beyond the emphasis on physical activity in the previous edition. Expanded coverage of health literacy includes application of health literacy principles - the ability to obtain, read, understand, and use healthcare information to make appropriate health decisions and follow instructions for treatment - in relevant chapters. Additional coverage of growth and development includes a thorough revision of the chapter on developmental management in pediatric primary care along with inclusion of developmental milestones in appropriate chapters. Expanded coverage of assessment, genetics and epigenetics, mental health issues, the Children with Special Health Care Needs (CSHCN) Services Program, and global health reflect the growing impact of these trends on pediatric primary care. Updated coverage of the Affordable Care Act includes a focus on the impact of the Affordable Care Act (including Medicaid expansion) and its implications for access to pediatric healthcare. Updated coverage of the Bright Futures guidelines goes beyond the previous edition''s focus on mental health and sexual development. NEW! Focus on diversity (vs culture) offers a greater emphasis on diversity in its many dimensions rather than on culture alone. Refocused practice management chapter has been retitled Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice and eliminates general practice management content that is already covered in other parts of the curriculum to focus on content more specific to pediatric practice management - including the various settings for pediatric primary care, informatics, and other essential topics influenced by the Affordable Care Act, National Patient Safety Goals, and the growing trend of interprofessional collaboration.
Pediatric Primary Care by
Pediatric Primary Care: Practice Guidelines for Nurses, Fourth Edition is a comprehensive resource for well-child management and acute care management of childhood illnesses in a primary care setting. Written by practicing experts, this text is intended for advanced practice nursing students as a quick reference guide once they enter clinical practice. To manage initial and follow-up visits, the Fourth Edition features templates for gathering first visit history, as well as a template to record new information since the last visit. Instructions for gathering medical history information are also included. The Fourth Edition is divided into two sections. The first section covers well-child care and includes new patient intake with a family, well-child visits, and normal growth and development. The second section covers common childhood disorders in each system of the body. It is organized by body system and presents common medical conditions, diagnosis, treatment, complications, and patient/family education. New to the Fourth Edition: * Updated pediatric practice guidelines * Coverage of concussions and guidelines for safe return to activities * Additional content related to screening for child abuse * Images reflecting common childhood dermatological conditions * Links to the current immunization schedule from the CDC and STI diagnosis and treatment * Updated case studies
Primary Care of the Child with a Chronic Condition by
Written by nurse practitioners for nurse practitioners, this one-of-a-kind resource provides the expert guidance you need to provide comprehensive primary care to children with special needs and their families. It addresses specific conditions that require alterations in standard primary care and offers practical advice on managing the major issues common to children with chronic conditions. A consistent format makes it easy to locate essential information on each condition. Plus, valuable resources help you manage the issues and gaps in health care coverage that may hinder quality care. This is the only book authored by Nurse Practitioners that focuses on managing the primary health care needs of children with chronic conditions. More than 60 expert contributors provide the most current information available on specific conditions. Comprehensive summary boxes at the end of all chronic conditions chapters provide at-a-glance access to key information. Resource lists at the end of each chronic condition chapter direct you to helpful websites, national organizations, and additional sources of information that you can share with parents and families. Updated references ensure you have access to the most current, evidence-based coverage of the latest research findings and management protocols. Four new chapters - Celiac Disease, Eating Disorders, Muscular Dystrophy, and Obesity - keep you up to date with the latest developments in treating these conditions. Autism content is updated with the latest research on autism spectrum disorders, including current methods of evaluation, identification, and management. Coverage of systems of care features new information on how to help families obtain high-quality and cost-effective coordinated services within our complex health care system. Easy-to-find boxes in the chronic conditions chapters summarize important information on treatment, associated problems, clinical manifestations, and differential diagnosis.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioural sciences. It provides invaluable guidance on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias in language. Well-known for its authoritative and easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, and tone that will result in strong, simple, and elegant scientific communication. The sixth edition offers new and expanded instruction on publication ethics, statistics, journal article reporting standards, electronic reference formats, and the construction of tables and figures. The sixth edition has been revised and updated to include: new ethics guidance on such topics as determining authorship and terms of collaboration, duplicate publication, plagiarism and self-plagiarism, disguising of participants, validity of instrumentation, and making data available to others for verification; new journal article reporting standards to help readers report empirical research with clarity and precision; simplified APA heading style to make it more conducive to electronic publication; updated guidelines for reducing bias in language to reflect current practices and preferences, including a new section on presenting historical language that is inappropriate by present standards; new guidelines for reporting inferential statistics and a significantly revised table of statistical abbreviations; and, new instruction on using supplemental files containing lengthy data sets and other media. This book includes significantly expanded content on the electronic presentation of data to help readers understand the purpose of each kind of display and choose the best match for communicating the results of the investigation, with new examples for a variety of data displays, including electro physiological and biological data. It offers consolidated information on all aspects of reference citations, with an expanded discussion of electronic sources emphasising the role of the digital object identifier (DOI) as a reliable way to locate information. It features expanded discussion of the publication process, including the function and process of peer review. It contains a discussion of ethical, legal, and policy requirements in publication; and guidelines on working with the publisher while the article is in press. Key to this edition of the Publication Manual is an updated and expanded Web presence. Look up additional supplemental material keyed to this book. This book lets you test your knowledge of APA Style with a free tutorial on style basics. It lets you learn about the changes in the sixth edition with a free tutorial reviewing key revisions. Sign up for an on-line course to enrich and enhance your understanding of APA Style. Read the APA Style blog and share your comments on writing and referencing. Consult frequently asked questions to sharpen your understanding of APA Style. This title lets you examine additional resources on such topics as ethics, statistics, and writing. It lets you familiarise yourself with submission standards for APA books and journals.
Zuckerman Parker Handbook of Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics for Primary Care by
This substantially updated edition is clear and concise, packed with precisely written summaries of developmental and behavioral issues for all pediatric clinicians and other healthcare professionals. In a succinct, heavily bulleted style, the authors offer practical guidance on addressing important questions many parents ask about their children's development and behavior. Ideal for the busy clinician to quickly and efficiently access helpful clinical information on the fly. New chapters on behavioral health integration, social emotional screening, and gender and sexual identification, growth mindset New high-profile contributors who bring expertise from their practices Ideal for primary care clinicians but also helpful for all level clinicians who are new to pediatrics Covers a range of critical issues, from common behaviors such as biting and toilet training to exposure to violence and child abuse, as well as strategies to prevent problems Features an extensive bibliography for professionals and parents Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
2019 Nelson's Pediatric Antimicrobial Therapy by
This best-selling and widely used resource on pediatric antimicrobial therapy provides instant access to reliable, up-to-the-minute recommendations for treatment of all infectious diseases in children. For each disease, the authors provide a commentary to help health care providers select the best of all antimicrobial choices. Drug descriptions cover pediatric-appropriate antimicrobials and include complete information about dosing regimens. In response to growing concerns about overuse of antibiotics, the program includes guidelines on when not to prescribe antibiotics. Now in color to help you find the best options quickly! New in the 25th edition: * Includes recommendations for new intravenous broad-spectrum beta-lactam/beta-lactamase inhibitor combinations. * Provides options for treatment of increasing resistance in Escherichia coli for urinary tract infections. * Includes updates for management of diarrhea, including recommendations for Giardia with tinidazole and nitazoxanide as drugs of choice, based on the new Infectious Diseases Society of America (IDSA) guidelines. * Clarifies specific, new, and evolving recommendations about antifungal therapeutic drug levels for several invasive fungal infections, particularly in immunocompromised children. * Reorganizes antiviral table for easier reading: common viral pathogens are in one table and HIV, hepatitis B, and hepatitis C are in a second table. * Provides guidance for neonates during the ongoing cefotaxime shortage, including alternatives to achieve similar antibacterial activity in similar tissue sites, with a similar safety profile. * Includes updates, such as new information on drug therapy and steroid therapy for neurocysticercosis, incorporating the new IDSA and American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene guidelines. * Incorporates new IDSA coccidioidomycosis guidelines in updated recommendations. * Simplifies navigation with color-coded tabs and tables that make it easier to find the best treatment options for susceptibility of bacterial, fungal, viral, and parasitic pathogens.
Advanced Pediatric Assessment by
Now in its second edition, Advanced Pediatric Assessment is an in-depth, current guide to pediatric-focused assessment, addressing the unique anatomic and physiological differences among infants, children, and adults as they bear upon pediatric assessment. The second edition is updated to reflect recent advances in understanding of pediatric assessment for PNPs, FNPs, and other practitioners, as well as students enrolled in these advance practice educational programs. This includes a new chapter on the integration of pediatric health history and physical assessment, a Notable Clinical Findings section addressing abnormalities and their clinical significance at the end of each assessment chapter, updated clinical practice guidelines for common medical conditions, updated screening and health promotion guidelines, and summaries in each chapter. Based on a body-system framework, which highlights developmental and cultural considerations, the guide emphasizes the physical and psychosocial principles of growth and development, with a focus on health promotion and wellness. Useful features include a detailed chapter on appropriate communication techniques to be used when assessing children of different ages and developmental levels and chapters on assessment of child abuse and neglect and cultural considerations during assessment. The text presents nearly 300 photos and helpful tables and boxes depicting a variety of commonly encountered pediatric physical findings, and sample medical record documentation in each chapter. NEW TO THE SECOND EDITION: A chapter on the integration of pediatric health history and physical assessment Notable Clinical Findings addressing important abnormalities and their clinical significance in each assessment chapter Updated clinical practice guidelines for common medical conditions Updated screening and health promotion guidelines Accompanying student case study workbook (to be purchased separately) KEY FEATURES: Focuses exclusively on the health history and assessment of infants, children, and adolescents Provides the comprehensive and in-depth information needed by APN students and new practitioners to assess children safely and accurately Includes family, developmental, nutritional, and child mistreatment assessment Addresses cultural competency, including specific information about the assessment of immigrant and refugee children Fosters confidence in APNs new to primary care with children Ellen M. Chiocca, MSN, CPNP, APN, RNC-NIC, is a clinical assistant professor in the School of Nursing at DePaul University. She received a master of science degree in nursing and a postmaster nurse practitioner certificate from Loyola University, Chicago, and a bachelor of science degree in nursing from St. Xavier University. Prior to joining the faculty at DePaul University, she taught at Loyola University, Chicago, from 1991 to 2013. Ms. Chiocca's clinical specialty is the nursing of children. Her research focuses on how various forms of violence affect children's health. She is certified in neonatal intensive care nursing and as a pediatric nurse practitioner. In addition to teaching at DePaul, Ms. Chiocca also continues clinical practice as a pediatric nurse practitioner at a community clinic in Chicago. Ms. Chiocca has published more than 25 journal articles and book chapters, and is also a peer reviewer for the journal Neonatal Network. She is currently pursuing a PhD in nursing.
Berkowitz's Pediatrics by
The reference of choice for pediatricians, residents and medical students, the newly revised and expanded 6th edition provides clear, practice-oriented guidance on the core knowledge in pediatrics. Edited by a leading primary care authority with more than one hundred contributors, the 6th edition provides comprehensive coverage of hundreds of topics ranging from temper tantrums and toilet training to adolescent depression and suicide. More than 155 (including 5 brand new) clinical chapters review pertinent epidemiology and pathophysiology, then give concise guidelines on what symptoms to look for, what alternative diagnoses to consider, what tests to order, and how to treat your patient. New in the 6th edition All chapters have been reviewed and updated to address current issues. Five new chapters are included on the following: Health Systems Science Population Health for Pediatricians Social Determinants of Health: Principles Adverse Childhood Experiences: Trauma Informed Care Commercially Exploited Children and Human Trafficking Student worksheets corresponding to each chapter's case study questions will be posted online in a user-friendly format so that they can be completed in preparation of discussions. Case study questions have been enhanced and resources have been revised. This edition is completely reorganized into 15 sections using a systems-based approach.
Bright Futures by
This essential resource provides key background information and recommendations for themes critical to healthy child development along with well-child supervision standards for 31 age-based visits--from Newborn through 21 Years. What's in the Bright Futures Guidelines, Fourth Edition? Twelve health promotion themes addressing · lifelong health for families and communities NEW · family support · health for children and youth with special health care needs NEW · healthy development · mental health · healthy weight · healthy nutrition · physical activity · oral health · healthy adolescent development · healthy and safe use of social media NEW · safety and injury prevention 31 age-based health supervision visits--Newborn to 21 Years All the information and guidance that's needed to give children optimal health outcomes -Context -Health Supervision -History -Surveillance of Development -Review of Systems -Observation of Parent-Child Interaction -Physical Examination -Medical Screening -Immunizations -Anticipatory Guidance What's NEW in the 4th Edition? ·Builds upon previous editions with new and updated content that reflects the latest research. ·Incorporates evidence-driven recommendations. ·Includes three new health promotion themes: -Promoting Lifelong Health for Families and Communities -Promoting Health for Children and Youth With Special Health Care Needs -Promoting the Healthy and Safe Use of Social Media ·Includes new screen time recommendations ·Provides greater focus on lifelong physical and mental health -Weaves social determinants of health throughout the Visits, allowing health care professionals to consider social factors like food insecurity, violence, and drug use that may affect a child's and family's health -Features updated Milestones of Development and Developmental Surveillance questions ·Provides new clinical content that informs health care professionals about the latest recommendations and provides guidance on how to implement them in practice: -Maternal depression screening, Safe sleep, Iron supplementation in breast fed infants, Fluoride varnish, Dyslipidemia blood screening ·Includes updates to several Adolescent screenings With Bright Futures, health care professionals can accomplish 4 tasks in 18 minutes! ·Disease detection ·Disease prevention ·Health promotion ·Anticipatory guidance What is Bright Futures? ·A set of theory-based, evidence-driven, and systems-oriented principles, strategies, and tools that health care professionals can use to improve the health and well-being of children through culturally appropriate interventions. Bright Futures addresses the current and emerging health promotion needs of families, clinical practices, communities, health systems, and policymakers. ·The Bright Futures Guidelines are the blueprint for health supervision visits for all children. ·Bright Futures is the health promotion and disease prevention part of the patient-centered medical home. Who can use Bright Futures? ·Child health professionals and practice staff who directly provide primary care ·Parents and youth who participate in well-child visits ·Public Health Professionals ·Policymakers ·Pediatric Educators ·MD Residents
Burns' Pediatric Primary Care, 8th Edition by
Build a comprehensive foundation in children’s primary care. Burns' Pediatric Primary Care, 8th Edition, covers the full spectrum of health conditions seen in primary care pediatrics, emphasizing both prevention and management. This in-depth, evidence-based textbook is the only one on the market written from the unique perspective of the Nurse Practitioner. It guides you through assessing, managing, and preventing health problems in children from infancy through adolescence. Key topics include developmental theory, issues of daily living, the health status of children today, and diversity and cultural considerations. Updated content throughout reflects the latest research evidence, national and international protocols, and standardized guidelines. Additionally, this edition includes three new chapters on topics such as palliative care; inclusivity, equity, diversity, and justice; and child maltreatment.
Care of the High-Risk Neonate by
Stay up to date with recent advances in the NICU with Klaus and Fanaroff's Care of the High-Risk Neonate, 6th Edition. This trusted neonatology reference thoroughly covers the new guidelines, equipment, drugs, and treatments that have greatly increased the chance of survival for high-risk infants. Expert contributors deliver the information you need to stay on top of the technological and medical advances in this challenging field. Consult this title on your favorite e-reader with intuitive search tools and adjustable font sizes. Elsevier eBooks provide instant portable access to your entire library, no matter what device you're using or where you're located. Benefit from the expert advice offered in concise, easy-to-read editorial comments throughout the book. Assess your knowledge with comprehensive question-and-answer sections at the end of each chapter. Understand the clinical relevance of what you've learned with case studies that highlight real-world application. Own the reference trusted for nearly 40 years by those who care for at-risk neonates in the dynamic and challenging NICU. Get fast access to need-to-know information on drugs used in the NICU, normal values, and much more in the fully updated appendices. Keep your knowledge up to date with expanded coverage of evidence-based medicine and the role of networks in generating evidence. Stay current with all aspects of neonatal care, including resuscitation, transport, nutrition, respiratory problems and assisted ventilation, and organ-specific care.
Handbook of Infant Mental Health Fourth Edition by
The definitive reference in the field--now significantly revised with 75% new material--this volume examines typical and atypical development from birth to the preschool years and identifies what works in helping children and families at risk. Foremost experts explore neurobiological, family, and sociocultural factors in infant mental health, with a major focus on primary caregiving relationships. Risk factors for developmental problems are analyzed, and current information on disorders and disabilities of early childhood is presented. The volume showcases evidence-based approaches to assessment and intervention and describes applications in mental health, primary care, child care, and child welfare settings. New to This Edition: *Chapters on genetic and epigenetic processes, executive functions, historical trauma, and neglect. *Chapters on additional clinical problems: hyperactivity and inattention, sensory overresponsivity, and relationship-specific disorder. *Chapters on additional interventions: attachment and biobehavioral catch-up, video-feedback intervention to promote positive parenting and sensitive discipline, parent-child interaction therapy, and home visiting programs. *Existing chapters all rewritten or revised to reflect a decade's worth of empirical and clinical advances.
Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, Twenty Second Edition by
Covering every aspect of general pediatric practice, as well as details for many pediatric subspecialists, Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, 22nd Edition, brings you fully up to date with everything from rapidly changing diagnostic and treatment protocols to new technologies to the wide range of biologic, psychologic, and social problems faced by children today. Edited and written by experts and prominent members of the pediatric medical community, this comprehensive two-volume reference covers both the science and art of pediatric practice. It remains the reference of choice among pediatricians, pediatric residents, and others involved in the care of young patients, delivering the information you need in a concise, easy-to-use format for everyday reference and study.
Pediatric Primary Care by
Get an in-depth look at pediatric primary care through the eyes of a Nurse Practitioner! Pediatric Primary Care, 6th Edition guides readers through the process of assessing, managing, and preventing health problems in infants, children, and adolescents. Key topics include developmental theory, issues of daily living, the health status of children today, and diversity and cultural considerations. This sixth edition also features a wealth of new content and updates - such as a new chapter on pediatric pharmacology, full-color design and illustrations, new QSEN integration, updated coverage of the impact of the Affordable Care Act, a refocused chapter on practice management, and more - to keep readers up to date on the latest issues affecting practice today. Comprehensive content provides a complete foundation in the primary care of children from the unique perspective of the Nurse Practitioner and covers the full spectrum of health conditions seen in the primary care of children, emphasizing both prevention and management. In-depth guidance on assessing and managing pediatric health problems covers patients from infancy through adolescence. Four-part organization includes 1) an introductory unit on the foundations of global pediatric health, child and family health assessment, and cultural perspectives for pediatric primary care; 2) a unit on managing child development; 3) a unit on health promotion and management; and 4) a unit on disease management. Content devoted to issues of daily living covers issues that are a part of every child''s growth - such as nutrition and toilet training - that could lead to health problems unless appropriate education and guidance are given. Algorithms are used throughout the book to provide a concise overview of the evaluation and management of common disorders. Resources for providers and families are also included throughout the text for further information. Expert editor team well is well-versed in the scope of practice and knowledge base of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners (PNPs) and Family Nurse Practitioners (FNPs). NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest developments in our understanding of disease processes, disease management in children, and current trends in pediatric healthcare. NEW! Chapter on prescribing pediatric medications emphasizes the unique needs of children in pharmacotherapy. NEW! Practice Alerts highlight situations that may require urgent action, consultation, or referral for additional treatment outside the primary care setting. NEW! Full-color design and illustrations improve usability and learning. NEW! Graduate-level QSEN integration: Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) is now introduced in the Preface. The QSEN Safety competency is now emphasized via the new Practice Alert highlights and integration of National Patient Safety Goals and Core Measures. The Informatics competency is addressed with new informatics content in a refocused Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice chapter. The Teamwork and Collaboration competency is addressed by new content on the trending topic of interprofessional collaboration, also in the Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice chapter. The Evidence-Based Practice competency is integrated through icons that reference evidence-based guidelines. Reorganized application of Gordon''s Functional Health Patterns provides a more conceptually consistent flow with Gordon''s model. Expanded integration of Healthy People 2020 goes beyond the emphasis on physical activity in the previous edition. Expanded coverage of health literacy includes application of health literacy principles - the ability to obtain, read, understand, and use healthcare information to make appropriate health decisions and follow instructions for treatment - in relevant chapters. Additional coverage of growth and development includes a thorough revision of the chapter on developmental management in pediatric primary care along with inclusion of developmental milestones in appropriate chapters. Expanded coverage of assessment, genetics and epigenetics, mental health issues, the Children with Special Health Care Needs (CSHCN) Services Program, and global health reflect the growing impact of these trends on pediatric primary care. Updated coverage of the Affordable Care Act includes a focus on the impact of the Affordable Care Act (including Medicaid expansion) and its implications for access to pediatric healthcare. Updated coverage of the Bright Futures guidelines goes beyond the previous edition''s focus on mental health and sexual development. NEW! Focus on diversity (vs culture) offers a greater emphasis on diversity in its many dimensions rather than on culture alone. Refocused practice management chapter has been retitled Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice and eliminates general practice management content that is already covered in other parts of the curriculum to focus on content more specific to pediatric practice management - including the various settings for pediatric primary care, informatics, and other essential topics influenced by the Affordable Care Act, National Patient Safety Goals, and the growing trend of interprofessional collaboration.
Pediatric Primary Care by
Pediatric Primary Care: Practice Guidelines for Nurses, Fourth Edition is a comprehensive resource for well-child management and acute care management of childhood illnesses in a primary care setting. Written by practicing experts, this text is intended for advanced practice nursing students as a quick reference guide once they enter clinical practice. To manage initial and follow-up visits, the Fourth Edition features templates for gathering first visit history, as well as a template to record new information since the last visit. Instructions for gathering medical history information are also included. The Fourth Edition is divided into two sections. The first section covers well-child care and includes new patient intake with a family, well-child visits, and normal growth and development. The second section covers common childhood disorders in each system of the body. It is organized by body system and presents common medical conditions, diagnosis, treatment, complications, and patient/family education. New to the Fourth Edition: * Updated pediatric practice guidelines * Coverage of concussions and guidelines for safe return to activities * Additional content related to screening for child abuse * Images reflecting common childhood dermatological conditions * Links to the current immunization schedule from the CDC and STI diagnosis and treatment * Updated case studies
Primary Care of the Child with a Chronic Condition by
Written by nurse practitioners for nurse practitioners, this one-of-a-kind resource provides the expert guidance you need to provide comprehensive primary care to children with special needs and their families. It addresses specific conditions that require alterations in standard primary care and offers practical advice on managing the major issues common to children with chronic conditions. A consistent format makes it easy to locate essential information on each condition. Plus, valuable resources help you manage the issues and gaps in health care coverage that may hinder quality care. This is the only book authored by Nurse Practitioners that focuses on managing the primary health care needs of children with chronic conditions. More than 60 expert contributors provide the most current information available on specific conditions. Comprehensive summary boxes at the end of all chronic conditions chapters provide at-a-glance access to key information. Resource lists at the end of each chronic condition chapter direct you to helpful websites, national organizations, and additional sources of information that you can share with parents and families. Updated references ensure you have access to the most current, evidence-based coverage of the latest research findings and management protocols. Four new chapters - Celiac Disease, Eating Disorders, Muscular Dystrophy, and Obesity - keep you up to date with the latest developments in treating these conditions. Autism content is updated with the latest research on autism spectrum disorders, including current methods of evaluation, identification, and management. Coverage of systems of care features new information on how to help families obtain high-quality and cost-effective coordinated services within our complex health care system. Easy-to-find boxes in the chronic conditions chapters summarize important information on treatment, associated problems, clinical manifestations, and differential diagnosis.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th Edition) by
The newest official release of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition. It is the official source for APA Style. The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields.
Zuckerman Parker Handbook of Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics for Primary Care by
This substantially updated edition is clear and concise, packed with precisely written summaries of developmental and behavioral issues for all pediatric clinicians and other healthcare professionals. In a succinct, heavily bulleted style, the authors offer practical guidance on addressing important questions many parents ask about their children's development and behavior. Ideal for the busy clinician to quickly and efficiently access helpful clinical information on the fly. New chapters on behavioral health integration, social emotional screening, and gender and sexual identification, growth mindset New high-profile contributors who bring expertise from their practices Ideal for primary care clinicians but also helpful for all level clinicians who are new to pediatrics Covers a range of critical issues, from common behaviors such as biting and toilet training to exposure to violence and child abuse, as well as strategies to prevent problems Features an extensive bibliography for professionals and parents Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Advanced Pediatric Assessment by
Now in its second edition, Advanced Pediatric Assessment is an in-depth, current guide to pediatric-focused assessment, addressing the unique anatomic and physiological differences among infants, children, and adults as they bear upon pediatric assessment. The second edition is updated to reflect recent advances in understanding of pediatric assessment for PNPs, FNPs, and other practitioners, as well as students enrolled in these advance practice educational programs. This includes a new chapter on the integration of pediatric health history and physical assessment, a Notable Clinical Findings section addressing abnormalities and their clinical significance at the end of each assessment chapter, updated clinical practice guidelines for common medical conditions, updated screening and health promotion guidelines, and summaries in each chapter. Based on a body-system framework, which highlights developmental and cultural considerations, the guide emphasizes the physical and psychosocial principles of growth and development, with a focus on health promotion and wellness. Useful features include a detailed chapter on appropriate communication techniques to be used when assessing children of different ages and developmental levels and chapters on assessment of child abuse and neglect and cultural considerations during assessment. The text presents nearly 300 photos and helpful tables and boxes depicting a variety of commonly encountered pediatric physical findings, and sample medical record documentation in each chapter. NEW TO THE SECOND EDITION: A chapter on the integration of pediatric health history and physical assessment Notable Clinical Findings addressing important abnormalities and their clinical significance in each assessment chapter Updated clinical practice guidelines for common medical conditions Updated screening and health promotion guidelines Accompanying student case study workbook (to be purchased separately) KEY FEATURES: Focuses exclusively on the health history and assessment of infants, children, and adolescents Provides the comprehensive and in-depth information needed by APN students and new practitioners to assess children safely and accurately Includes family, developmental, nutritional, and child mistreatment assessment Addresses cultural competency, including specific information about the assessment of immigrant and refugee children Fosters confidence in APNs new to primary care with children Ellen M. Chiocca, MSN, CPNP, APN, RNC-NIC, is a clinical assistant professor in the School of Nursing at DePaul University. She received a master of science degree in nursing and a postmaster nurse practitioner certificate from Loyola University, Chicago, and a bachelor of science degree in nursing from St. Xavier University. Prior to joining the faculty at DePaul University, she taught at Loyola University, Chicago, from 1991 to 2013. Ms. Chiocca's clinical specialty is the nursing of children. Her research focuses on how various forms of violence affect children's health. She is certified in neonatal intensive care nursing and as a pediatric nurse practitioner. In addition to teaching at DePaul, Ms. Chiocca also continues clinical practice as a pediatric nurse practitioner at a community clinic in Chicago. Ms. Chiocca has published more than 25 journal articles and book chapters, and is also a peer reviewer for the journal Neonatal Network. She is currently pursuing a PhD in nursing.
Berkowitz's Pediatrics by
The reference of choice for pediatricians, residents and medical students, the newly revised and expanded 6th edition provides clear, practice-oriented guidance on the core knowledge in pediatrics. Edited by a leading primary care authority with more than one hundred contributors, the 6th edition provides comprehensive coverage of hundreds of topics ranging from temper tantrums and toilet training to adolescent depression and suicide. More than 155 (including 5 brand new) clinical chapters review pertinent epidemiology and pathophysiology, then give concise guidelines on what symptoms to look for, what alternative diagnoses to consider, what tests to order, and how to treat your patient. New in the 6th edition All chapters have been reviewed and updated to address current issues. Five new chapters are included on the following: Health Systems Science Population Health for Pediatricians Social Determinants of Health: Principles Adverse Childhood Experiences: Trauma Informed Care Commercially Exploited Children and Human Trafficking Student worksheets corresponding to each chapter's case study questions will be posted online in a user-friendly format so that they can be completed in preparation of discussions. Case study questions have been enhanced and resources have been revised. This edition is completely reorganized into 15 sections using a systems-based approach.
Bright Futures by
This essential resource provides key background information and recommendations for themes critical to healthy child development along with well-child supervision standards for 31 age-based visits--from Newborn through 21 Years. What's in the Bright Futures Guidelines, Fourth Edition? Twelve health promotion themes addressing · lifelong health for families and communities NEW · family support · health for children and youth with special health care needs NEW · healthy development · mental health · healthy weight · healthy nutrition · physical activity · oral health · healthy adolescent development · healthy and safe use of social media NEW · safety and injury prevention 31 age-based health supervision visits--Newborn to 21 Years All the information and guidance that's needed to give children optimal health outcomes -Context -Health Supervision -History -Surveillance of Development -Review of Systems -Observation of Parent-Child Interaction -Physical Examination -Medical Screening -Immunizations -Anticipatory Guidance What's NEW in the 4th Edition? ·Builds upon previous editions with new and updated content that reflects the latest research. ·Incorporates evidence-driven recommendations. ·Includes three new health promotion themes: -Promoting Lifelong Health for Families and Communities -Promoting Health for Children and Youth With Special Health Care Needs -Promoting the Healthy and Safe Use of Social Media ·Includes new screen time recommendations ·Provides greater focus on lifelong physical and mental health -Weaves social determinants of health throughout the Visits, allowing health care professionals to consider social factors like food insecurity, violence, and drug use that may affect a child's and family's health -Features updated Milestones of Development and Developmental Surveillance questions ·Provides new clinical content that informs health care professionals about the latest recommendations and provides guidance on how to implement them in practice: -Maternal depression screening, Safe sleep, Iron supplementation in breast fed infants, Fluoride varnish, Dyslipidemia blood screening ·Includes updates to several Adolescent screenings With Bright Futures, health care professionals can accomplish 4 tasks in 18 minutes! ·Disease detection ·Disease prevention ·Health promotion ·Anticipatory guidance What is Bright Futures? ·A set of theory-based, evidence-driven, and systems-oriented principles, strategies, and tools that health care professionals can use to improve the health and well-being of children through culturally appropriate interventions. Bright Futures addresses the current and emerging health promotion needs of families, clinical practices, communities, health systems, and policymakers. ·The Bright Futures Guidelines are the blueprint for health supervision visits for all children. ·Bright Futures is the health promotion and disease prevention part of the patient-centered medical home. Who can use Bright Futures? ·Child health professionals and practice staff who directly provide primary care ·Parents and youth who participate in well-child visits ·Public Health Professionals ·Policymakers ·Pediatric Educators ·MD Residents
Burns' Pediatric Primary Care, 8th Edition by
Build a comprehensive foundation in children’s primary care. Burns' Pediatric Primary Care, 8th Edition, covers the full spectrum of health conditions seen in primary care pediatrics, emphasizing both prevention and management. This in-depth, evidence-based textbook is the only one on the market written from the unique perspective of the Nurse Practitioner. It guides you through assessing, managing, and preventing health problems in children from infancy through adolescence. Key topics include developmental theory, issues of daily living, the health status of children today, and diversity and cultural considerations. Updated content throughout reflects the latest research evidence, national and international protocols, and standardized guidelines. Additionally, this edition includes three new chapters on topics such as palliative care; inclusivity, equity, diversity, and justice; and child maltreatment.
Care of the High-Risk Neonate by
Stay up to date with recent advances in the NICU with Klaus and Fanaroff's Care of the High-Risk Neonate, 6th Edition. This trusted neonatology reference thoroughly covers the new guidelines, equipment, drugs, and treatments that have greatly increased the chance of survival for high-risk infants. Expert contributors deliver the information you need to stay on top of the technological and medical advances in this challenging field. Consult this title on your favorite e-reader with intuitive search tools and adjustable font sizes. Elsevier eBooks provide instant portable access to your entire library, no matter what device you're using or where you're located. Benefit from the expert advice offered in concise, easy-to-read editorial comments throughout the book. Assess your knowledge with comprehensive question-and-answer sections at the end of each chapter. Understand the clinical relevance of what you've learned with case studies that highlight real-world application. Own the reference trusted for nearly 40 years by those who care for at-risk neonates in the dynamic and challenging NICU. Get fast access to need-to-know information on drugs used in the NICU, normal values, and much more in the fully updated appendices. Keep your knowledge up to date with expanded coverage of evidence-based medicine and the role of networks in generating evidence. Stay current with all aspects of neonatal care, including resuscitation, transport, nutrition, respiratory problems and assisted ventilation, and organ-specific care.
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Pediatrics, Twenty-Sixth Edition by
The most practical, up-to-date guide available for accurately diagnosing and effectively treating child patients--from birth to adolescence A Doody's Core Title for 2023! The authoritative resource to pediatric medical conditions most often encountered in daily practice, CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatrics provides the evidence-based information readers need to deliver effective care in every situation. Packed with 200 photos and illustrations, this evidence-based text offers succinct, accurate overviews of important pediatric health concerns, such as childhood nutrition and eating disorders; substance use; psychiatric disorders; child abuse; oral medicine and dentistry; immunization; and emergencies and injuries. Complete with an invaluable guide to normal laboratory values, it provides detailed descriptions of diseases, as well as diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and present all information in the time-saving style that makes LANGE CURRENT books so popular: Problem, Essentials of Diagnosis, Clinical Findings, Differential Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prognosis. NEW to this edition:
Managing Chronic Health Needs in Child Care and Schools by
This fully revised and updated resource helps teachers and caregivers address the challenges of caring for children with chronic health conditions and special health care needs in child care and school settings. The health issues covered include chronic illnesses, acute situations, and selected developmental and behavioral problems, with a special emphasis on children with special health care needs. More than 50 quick reference sheets on specific conditions provide teachers and caregivers with guidance on how to help at a glance. New quick reference sheets include Childhood Obesity, Eczema, Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder, Food Allergies, Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease, and more. The guide addresses topics with universal relevancy such as Care Plan development and implementation, medication administration, emergency planning, and handling symptoms that develop while on-site. Also included are ready-to-use sample forms, letters, and Care Plans, for easy implementation.
Pediatric Primary Care by
Get an in-depth look at pediatric primary care through the eyes of a Nurse Practitioner! Pediatric Primary Care, 6th Edition guides readers through the process of assessing, managing, and preventing health problems in infants, children, and adolescents. Key topics include developmental theory, issues of daily living, the health status of children today, and diversity and cultural considerations. This sixth edition also features a wealth of new content and updates - such as a new chapter on pediatric pharmacology, full-color design and illustrations, new QSEN integration, updated coverage of the impact of the Affordable Care Act, a refocused chapter on practice management, and more - to keep readers up to date on the latest issues affecting practice today. Comprehensive content provides a complete foundation in the primary care of children from the unique perspective of the Nurse Practitioner and covers the full spectrum of health conditions seen in the primary care of children, emphasizing both prevention and management. In-depth guidance on assessing and managing pediatric health problems covers patients from infancy through adolescence. Four-part organization includes 1) an introductory unit on the foundations of global pediatric health, child and family health assessment, and cultural perspectives for pediatric primary care; 2) a unit on managing child development; 3) a unit on health promotion and management; and 4) a unit on disease management. Content devoted to issues of daily living covers issues that are a part of every child''s growth - such as nutrition and toilet training - that could lead to health problems unless appropriate education and guidance are given. Algorithms are used throughout the book to provide a concise overview of the evaluation and management of common disorders. Resources for providers and families are also included throughout the text for further information. Expert editor team well is well-versed in the scope of practice and knowledge base of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners (PNPs) and Family Nurse Practitioners (FNPs). NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest developments in our understanding of disease processes, disease management in children, and current trends in pediatric healthcare. NEW! Chapter on prescribing pediatric medications emphasizes the unique needs of children in pharmacotherapy. NEW! Practice Alerts highlight situations that may require urgent action, consultation, or referral for additional treatment outside the primary care setting. NEW! Full-color design and illustrations improve usability and learning. NEW! Graduate-level QSEN integration: Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) is now introduced in the Preface. The QSEN Safety competency is now emphasized via the new Practice Alert highlights and integration of National Patient Safety Goals and Core Measures. The Informatics competency is addressed with new informatics content in a refocused Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice chapter. The Teamwork and Collaboration competency is addressed by new content on the trending topic of interprofessional collaboration, also in the Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice chapter. The Evidence-Based Practice competency is integrated through icons that reference evidence-based guidelines. Reorganized application of Gordon''s Functional Health Patterns provides a more conceptually consistent flow with Gordon''s model. Expanded integration of Healthy People 2020 goes beyond the emphasis on physical activity in the previous edition. Expanded coverage of health literacy includes application of health literacy principles - the ability to obtain, read, understand, and use healthcare information to make appropriate health decisions and follow instructions for treatment - in relevant chapters. Additional coverage of growth and development includes a thorough revision of the chapter on developmental management in pediatric primary care along with inclusion of developmental milestones in appropriate chapters. Expanded coverage of assessment, genetics and epigenetics, mental health issues, the Children with Special Health Care Needs (CSHCN) Services Program, and global health reflect the growing impact of these trends on pediatric primary care. Updated coverage of the Affordable Care Act includes a focus on the impact of the Affordable Care Act (including Medicaid expansion) and its implications for access to pediatric healthcare. Updated coverage of the Bright Futures guidelines goes beyond the previous edition''s focus on mental health and sexual development. NEW! Focus on diversity (vs culture) offers a greater emphasis on diversity in its many dimensions rather than on culture alone. Refocused practice management chapter has been retitled Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice and eliminates general practice management content that is already covered in other parts of the curriculum to focus on content more specific to pediatric practice management - including the various settings for pediatric primary care, informatics, and other essential topics influenced by the Affordable Care Act, National Patient Safety Goals, and the growing trend of interprofessional collaboration.
Primary Care of Children with Chronic Conditions, 1st Edition by
Provide comprehensive primary care for the growing number of children with chronic conditions. Featuring contributions from more than 50 expert nurse practitioners and their interprofessional colleagues, Primary Care of Children with Chronic Conditions offers expert guidance on the management of children with special needs and their families. Comprehensive coverage presents the most current knowledge and insights available on these specific conditions, including information on the COVID-19 pandemic. This valuable resource helps providers improve pediatric care for chronic conditions and addresses the need for transitional care to adulthood and the issues and gaps in healthcare that may hinder the quality of care for this unique population.
Primary Care of the Child with a Chronic Condition by
Written by nurse practitioners for nurse practitioners, this one-of-a-kind resource provides the expert guidance you need to provide comprehensive primary care to children with special needs and their families. It addresses specific conditions that require alterations in standard primary care and offers practical advice on managing the major issues common to children with chronic conditions. A consistent format makes it easy to locate essential information on each condition. Plus, valuable resources help you manage the issues and gaps in health care coverage that may hinder quality care. This is the only book authored by Nurse Practitioners that focuses on managing the primary health care needs of children with chronic conditions. More than 60 expert contributors provide the most current information available on specific conditions. Comprehensive summary boxes at the end of all chronic conditions chapters provide at-a-glance access to key information. Resource lists at the end of each chronic condition chapter direct you to helpful websites, national organizations, and additional sources of information that you can share with parents and families. Updated references ensure you have access to the most current, evidence-based coverage of the latest research findings and management protocols. Four new chapters - Celiac Disease, Eating Disorders, Muscular Dystrophy, and Obesity - keep you up to date with the latest developments in treating these conditions. Autism content is updated with the latest research on autism spectrum disorders, including current methods of evaluation, identification, and management. Coverage of systems of care features new information on how to help families obtain high-quality and cost-effective coordinated services within our complex health care system. Easy-to-find boxes in the chronic conditions chapters summarize important information on treatment, associated problems, clinical manifestations, and differential diagnosis.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th Edition) by
The newest official release of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition. It is the official source for APA Style. The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields.
Zuckerman Parker Handbook of Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics for Primary Care by
This substantially updated edition is clear and concise, packed with precisely written summaries of developmental and behavioral issues for all pediatric clinicians and other healthcare professionals. In a succinct, heavily bulleted style, the authors offer practical guidance on addressing important questions many parents ask about their children's development and behavior. Ideal for the busy clinician to quickly and efficiently access helpful clinical information on the fly. New chapters on behavioral health integration, social emotional screening, and gender and sexual identification, growth mindset New high-profile contributors who bring expertise from their practices Ideal for primary care clinicians but also helpful for all level clinicians who are new to pediatrics Covers a range of critical issues, from common behaviors such as biting and toilet training to exposure to violence and child abuse, as well as strategies to prevent problems Features an extensive bibliography for professionals and parents Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Attachment by
In a society that values independence, self-preservation and individualistic thinking, we are missing the key to fulfillment: Connection through Attachment. Simply, attachment is the way that we connect to each other. Without attachment, people feel alone to deal with challenges they face, which leads to distress, dysfunction and mental health disorders. It is possible to repair dysfunctional attachment, but first it is necessary to recognize attachment style, unhealthy relationship patterns, and the impact they are having. Improve your client's relationships by teaching them strategies to feel more connected, reestablish trust, and restore positive emotions. Dr. Christina Reese, a recognized attachment and trauma professional, has created a comprehensive guide that explains attachment over a lifetime, and offers trauma-informed approaches to treat attachment at any age. Clinical examples, handouts and worksheets to use with clients of all ages Recognize attachment styles Identify key symptoms of attachment difficulties and their inception Interventions that repair attachment traumas to heal stress, shame, and anxiety Techniques to help clients improve their relationships (children, parents, friends, and significant others)
Bright Futures: Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children, and Adolescents (Tool Kit) by 
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5 by Handbook of Infant Mental Health Fourth Edition by
The definitive reference in the field--now significantly revised with 75% new material--this volume examines typical and atypical development from birth to the preschool years and identifies what works in helping children and families at risk. Foremost experts explore neurobiological, family, and sociocultural factors in infant mental health, with a major focus on primary caregiving relationships. Risk factors for developmental problems are analyzed, and current information on disorders and disabilities of early childhood is presented. The volume showcases evidence-based approaches to assessment and intervention and describes applications in mental health, primary care, child care, and child welfare settings. New to This Edition: *Chapters on genetic and epigenetic processes, executive functions, historical trauma, and neglect. *Chapters on additional clinical problems: hyperactivity and inattention, sensory overresponsivity, and relationship-specific disorder. *Chapters on additional interventions: attachment and biobehavioral catch-up, video-feedback intervention to promote positive parenting and sensitive discipline, parent-child interaction therapy, and home visiting programs. *Existing chapters all rewritten or revised to reflect a decade's worth of empirical and clinical advances.
Infant and Early Childhood Mental Health by
Infant and Early Childhood Mental Health: Core Concepts and Clinical Practice is a groundbreaking book that provides an overview of the field from both theoretical and clinical viewpoints. The editors and chapter authors -- some of the field's foremost researchers and teachers -- describe from their diverse perspectives key concepts fundamental to infant-parent and early childhood mental health work. The complexity of this emerging field demands an interdisciplinary approach, and the book provides a clear, comprehensive, and coherent text with an abundance of clinical applications to increase understanding and help the reader to integrate the concepts into clinical practice. Offering both cutting-edge coverage and a format that facilitates learning, the book boasts the following features and content: * A focus on helping working professionals expand their specialization skills and knowledge and on offering core competency training for those entering the field, which reflects the Infant-Parent Mental Health Postgraduate Certificate Program (IPMHPCP) and Fellowship in Napa, CA that was the genesis of the book.* Chapters written by a diverse group of authors with vastly different training, expertise, and clinical experience, underscoring the book's interdisciplinary approach. In addition, terms such as clinician, therapist, provider, professional, and teacher are intentionally used interchangeably to describe and unify the field. * Explication and analysis of a variety of therapeutic models, including Perry's Neurosequential Model of Therapeutics; Brazelton's neurodevelopmental and relational Touchpoints; attachment theory; the Neurorelational Framework; Mindsight; and Downing's Video Intervention Therapy.* An entire chapter devoted to diagnostic schemas for children ages 0--5, which highlights the Diagnostic Classification of Mental Health Disorders of Infancy and Early Childhood: Revised (DC:0-3R). With the release of DSM-5, this chapter provides a prototypical crosswalk between DC:0-3R and ICD codes.* A discussion of the difference between evidence-based treatments and evidence-based practices in the field, along with valuable information on randomized controlled trials, a research standard that, while often not feasible or ethically permissible in infant mental health work, remains a standard applied to the field.* Key points and references at the end of each chapter, and generous use of figures, tables, and other resources to enhance learning. The volume editors and authors are passionate about the pressing need for further research and the acquisition and application of new knowledge to support the health and well-being of individuals, families, and communities. Infant and Early Childhood Mental Health: Core Concepts and Clinical Practice should find a receptive audience for this critically important message.
Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics 9th Edition by
Concise, readable, and up to date, Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 9th Edition, provides the must-know information you need in pediatrics from the name you trust. A readable, full-color format; high-yield, targeted chapters; and thorough content updates ensure strong coverage of core knowledge as well as recent advances in the field. This focused resource is ideal for medical students, pediatric residents, PAs, and nurse practitioners in various educational and practice settings, including pediatric residencies, clerkships, and exams. Covers normal childhood growth and development, as well as the diagnosis, management, and prevention of common pediatric diseases and disorders. Contains new coverage of COVID-19, Multisystem Inflammatory Syndrome in Children (MIS-C), and Vaping-Induced Lung Injury. Includes Pearls for Practitioners at the end of each section, as well as updated immunization schedules and an expanded discussion of trauma-informed care. Features well written, high-yield coverage throughout, following COMSEP curriculum guidelines relevant to your pediatric clerkship or rotation. Uses a full-color format with images and numerous new tables throughout, so you can easily visualize complex information. Provides real-world insights from chapter authors who are also Clerkship Directors, helping you gain the knowledge and skills necessary to succeed both in caring for patients and in preparing for clerkship or in-service examinations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Evolve Instructor site with an image and test bank is available to instructors through their Elsevier sales rep or via request at https://evolve.elsevier.com.
Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, Twenty Second Edition by
Covering every aspect of general pediatric practice, as well as details for many pediatric subspecialists, Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, 22nd Edition, brings you fully up to date with everything from rapidly changing diagnostic and treatment protocols to new technologies to the wide range of biologic, psychologic, and social problems faced by children today. Edited and written by experts and prominent members of the pediatric medical community, this comprehensive two-volume reference covers both the science and art of pediatric practice. It remains the reference of choice among pediatricians, pediatric residents, and others involved in the care of young patients, delivering the information you need in a concise, easy-to-use format for everyday reference and study.
Pediatric Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice 2nd Edition by 
A Practical Guide to Child and Adolescent Mental Health Screening, Early Intervention, and Health Promotion by
This guide is designed for pediatric healthcare providers including PNPs, FNPs, pediatricians, family physicians, and licensed counselors. It will enhance providers' ability to screen for and intervene early in the treatment of common mental health problems in children and teens. The content is organized in a user-friendly format to provide easy access to nuts and bolts information about each mental health condition and its corresponding Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) criteria. Screening tools, web-based resources and educational handouts for parents as well as school-age children and teens are also included.
The Prescriber's Guide by
Now established as the indispensable formulary in psychopharmacology, this latest edition of The Prescriber's Guide has been completely revised and updated to reflect the most current practice in the use of psychotropic drugs. Easy to navigate and easy to use, The Prescriber's Guide combines evidence-based information with clinically informed guidance to support clinicians in making the most effective prescribing decisions for the good of their patients. With coverage of twelve brand-new drugs - including antidepressants, antipsychotics, hypnotics, nonstimulants for ADHD and medical foods - and incorporating information on the newest indications, new formulations, new recommendations and new safety data, this edition continues to provide the essential practical support required by anyone prescribing in the field of mental health.
Psychiatric Interview of Children and Adolescents by
The psychiatric interview is the foundation of the psychotherapeutic process and is critically important to establish trust, elicit useful responses, assess patient behavior and psychopathology, and establish treatment goals and plans. Building on the success of its predecessor, a highly regarded guide to interviewing young patients and their families, Psychiatric Interview of Children and Adolescents, has been thoroughly updated and painstakingly revised to address emerging issues and evolving treatment strategies in an accessible, down-to-earth, and comprehensive style and structure. The book retains its comprehensive coverage of the principles of interviewing, use of the AMSIT model for mental status examinations, and evaluation of both internalizing and externalizing symptoms, as well as its coverage of neuropsychiatric assessment, psychiatric formulation, comorbidities, resistances, and countertransference. Additional features, either notable or new to this book, include: * The importance of diagnostic and therapeutic engagement in establishing trust with the patient and family, and techniques for forging a positive emotional connection, which the authors view as an essential responsibility for the clinician and a linchpin of successful practice.* A new chapter on the psychiatric evaluation of preschoolers and very young children, which recognizes that assessment cannot be conducted based solely on adult report, and which presents the "multiples" model: multiple sessions, multiple informants, multiple experts, multiple modes of assessment, multicultural approach, and multiaxial emphasis.* Expanded coverage of bullying, including cyber bullying, which has a pervasive and potentially pernicious effect on young people steeped in social media.* Recognition, both throughout the book and in a separate chapter on family assessment, that behavior problems in a child or young adult cannot be understood without the relational context of the family, and that any family member's problems are best understood as manifestations of dysfunctions within the broader family unit.* Expanded coverage of the factors and issues involved in evaluating children and adolescents from special populations, including those with neurodevelopmental disorders or intellectual disabilities; those who are disadvantaged, displaced, or victims of discrimination; and those with posttraumatic stress disorder related to terrorism or burn trauma. The book's instructional aims are enhanced by the use of carefully chosen and compellingly crafted clinical vignettes that illustrate vital concepts and techniques, and key points at the end of each chapter help the reader identify and remember the most important material. Psychiatric Interview of Children and Adolescents will help clinicians master the skills and attain the insight they require to accurately assess and effectively treat this most vulnerable of patient populations.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th Edition) by
The newest official release of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition. It is the official source for APA Style. The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields.
Zuckerman Parker Handbook of Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics for Primary Care by
This substantially updated edition is clear and concise, packed with precisely written summaries of developmental and behavioral issues for all pediatric clinicians and other healthcare professionals. In a succinct, heavily bulleted style, the authors offer practical guidance on addressing important questions many parents ask about their children's development and behavior. Ideal for the busy clinician to quickly and efficiently access helpful clinical information on the fly. New chapters on behavioral health integration, social emotional screening, and gender and sexual identification, growth mindset New high-profile contributors who bring expertise from their practices Ideal for primary care clinicians but also helpful for all level clinicians who are new to pediatrics Covers a range of critical issues, from common behaviors such as biting and toilet training to exposure to violence and child abuse, as well as strategies to prevent problems Features an extensive bibliography for professionals and parents Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Clinical Manual for the Psychiatric Interview of Children and Adolescents by
Because of the importance of the interview in assessing behavioral disorders of childhood, practitioners need to refine the techniques they normally use with adults. This book offers a comprehensive and practical guide to the child and adolescent psychiatric interview, providing an outline of how first to elicit data from younger patients and their families, then how to organize and integrate this information to form a definitive program of care. Clinical Manual for the Psychiatric Interview of Children and Adolescents shows how to focus the exploration of common psychiatric syndromes while offering guidance in such matters as general principles of interviewing, use of the AMSIT in mental status examinations, and evaluation of both internalizing and externalizing symptoms. The manual is exceptionally practical, illustrated with clinical vignettes and enhanced with quick-reference tables that summarize key points. In addition to covering the psychiatric evaluation, it also brings users up to speed on such topics as neuropsychiatric assessment, psychiatric formulation, comorbidities, resistances, and countertransference. It expands greatly on the coverage in the author's previous book, Concise Guide to the Psychiatric Interview of Children and Adolescents, and features five new chapters: * Diagnostic and Therapeutic Engagement, showing how to achieve a positive and benevolent bond with both child and family through such traits as warmth, acceptance, humor, and empathic attunement, as well as how to respond to "reverse engagement"* Special Interviewing Techniques, helping examiners confront circumstances in which standard approaches are ineffective through such methods as role reversal, the double-chair technique, and the use of drawings to illuminate the child's issues* Family Assessment, presenting areas of inquiry such as marital or intergenerational conflict that need to be understood in order to gain a broad perspective of the family's organization and functioning* Providing Post evaluation Feedback to Families, emphasizing the importance of tact and sensitivity while helping the practitioner anticipate complications posed by situations such as divorce or abuse* Evaluation of Special Populations, alerting the examiner to relevant approaches when confronted with situations ranging from burn trauma to sensory deficits to displaced or refugee children "Anyone who wonders how best to approach psychiatric interviewing of children and adolescents will find this work a valuable guide," wrote the Journal of Clinical Psychiatry of Dr. Cepeda's Concise Guide. His manual now offers an even better handle on these difficult-to-manage situations.
Handbook of Infant Mental Health Fourth Edition by
The definitive reference in the field--now significantly revised with 75% new material--this volume examines typical and atypical development from birth to the preschool years and identifies what works in helping children and families at risk. Foremost experts explore neurobiological, family, and sociocultural factors in infant mental health, with a major focus on primary caregiving relationships. Risk factors for developmental problems are analyzed, and current information on disorders and disabilities of early childhood is presented. The volume showcases evidence-based approaches to assessment and intervention and describes applications in mental health, primary care, child care, and child welfare settings. New to This Edition: *Chapters on genetic and epigenetic processes, executive functions, historical trauma, and neglect. *Chapters on additional clinical problems: hyperactivity and inattention, sensory overresponsivity, and relationship-specific disorder. *Chapters on additional interventions: attachment and biobehavioral catch-up, video-feedback intervention to promote positive parenting and sensitive discipline, parent-child interaction therapy, and home visiting programs. *Existing chapters all rewritten or revised to reflect a decade's worth of empirical and clinical advances.
Pediatric Primary Care by
Pediatric Primary Care: Practice Guidelines for Nurses, Fourth Edition is a comprehensive resource for well-child management and acute care management of childhood illnesses in a primary care setting. Written by practicing experts, this text is intended for advanced practice nursing students as a quick reference guide once they enter clinical practice. To manage initial and follow-up visits, the Fourth Edition features templates for gathering first visit history, as well as a template to record new information since the last visit. Instructions for gathering medical history information are also included. The Fourth Edition is divided into two sections. The first section covers well-child care and includes new patient intake with a family, well-child visits, and normal growth and development. The second section covers common childhood disorders in each system of the body. It is organized by body system and presents common medical conditions, diagnosis, treatment, complications, and patient/family education. New to the Fourth Edition: * Updated pediatric practice guidelines * Coverage of concussions and guidelines for safe return to activities * Additional content related to screening for child abuse * Images reflecting common childhood dermatological conditions * Links to the current immunization schedule from the CDC and STI diagnosis and treatment * Updated case studies
