Pediatric Primary Care by
Get an in-depth look at pediatric primary care through the eyes of a Nurse Practitioner! Pediatric Primary Care, 6th Edition guides readers through the process of assessing, managing, and preventing health problems in infants, children, and adolescents. Key topics include developmental theory, issues of daily living, the health status of children today, and diversity and cultural considerations. This sixth edition also features a wealth of new content and updates - such as a new chapter on pediatric pharmacology, full-color design and illustrations, new QSEN integration, updated coverage of the impact of the Affordable Care Act, a refocused chapter on practice management, and more - to keep readers up to date on the latest issues affecting practice today. Comprehensive content provides a complete foundation in the primary care of children from the unique perspective of the Nurse Practitioner and covers the full spectrum of health conditions seen in the primary care of children, emphasizing both prevention and management. In-depth guidance on assessing and managing pediatric health problems covers patients from infancy through adolescence. Four-part organization includes 1) an introductory unit on the foundations of global pediatric health, child and family health assessment, and cultural perspectives for pediatric primary care; 2) a unit on managing child development; 3) a unit on health promotion and management; and 4) a unit on disease management. Content devoted to issues of daily living covers issues that are a part of every child''s growth - such as nutrition and toilet training - that could lead to health problems unless appropriate education and guidance are given. Algorithms are used throughout the book to provide a concise overview of the evaluation and management of common disorders. Resources for providers and families are also included throughout the text for further information. Expert editor team well is well-versed in the scope of practice and knowledge base of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners (PNPs) and Family Nurse Practitioners (FNPs). NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest developments in our understanding of disease processes, disease management in children, and current trends in pediatric healthcare. NEW! Chapter on prescribing pediatric medications emphasizes the unique needs of children in pharmacotherapy. NEW! Practice Alerts highlight situations that may require urgent action, consultation, or referral for additional treatment outside the primary care setting. NEW! Full-color design and illustrations improve usability and learning. NEW! Graduate-level QSEN integration: Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) is now introduced in the Preface. The QSEN Safety competency is now emphasized via the new Practice Alert highlights and integration of National Patient Safety Goals and Core Measures. The Informatics competency is addressed with new informatics content in a refocused Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice chapter. The Teamwork and Collaboration competency is addressed by new content on the trending topic of interprofessional collaboration, also in the Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice chapter. The Evidence-Based Practice competency is integrated through icons that reference evidence-based guidelines. Reorganized application of Gordon''s Functional Health Patterns provides a more conceptually consistent flow with Gordon''s model. Expanded integration of Healthy People 2020 goes beyond the emphasis on physical activity in the previous edition. Expanded coverage of health literacy includes application of health literacy principles - the ability to obtain, read, understand, and use healthcare information to make appropriate health decisions and follow instructions for treatment - in relevant chapters. Additional coverage of growth and development includes a thorough revision of the chapter on developmental management in pediatric primary care along with inclusion of developmental milestones in appropriate chapters. Expanded coverage of assessment, genetics and epigenetics, mental health issues, the Children with Special Health Care Needs (CSHCN) Services Program, and global health reflect the growing impact of these trends on pediatric primary care. Updated coverage of the Affordable Care Act includes a focus on the impact of the Affordable Care Act (including Medicaid expansion) and its implications for access to pediatric healthcare. Updated coverage of the Bright Futures guidelines goes beyond the previous edition''s focus on mental health and sexual development. NEW! Focus on diversity (vs culture) offers a greater emphasis on diversity in its many dimensions rather than on culture alone. Refocused practice management chapter has been retitled Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice and eliminates general practice management content that is already covered in other parts of the curriculum to focus on content more specific to pediatric practice management - including the various settings for pediatric primary care, informatics, and other essential topics influenced by the Affordable Care Act, National Patient Safety Goals, and the growing trend of interprofessional collaboration.
Primary Care Medicine by
Clinicians and students at all levels and in all primary care disciplines will benefit from the clear, practical, evidence-based writing and recommendations that address the full spectrum of clinical problems encountered in the adult primary care practice. Whether it's the answer to a screening, prevention, evaluation, or management question or a comprehensive approach to a complex condition, the reader will find a review of best evidence integrated with considerations of affordability, cost-effectiveness, convenience and patient preference. Chapters present actionable, scientifically validated guidance that allows physicians to go beyond standard consensus guidelines and provide highly personalized care. Special consideration is given to team-based approaches of primary care delivery, recognizing its increasing importance to achieving high levels of practice performance. Primary Care Medicine 's digital format and quarterly updates ensure current, point-of-care decision support. New, online resources include a recommended curriculum for trainees and faculty, emphasizing a core knowledge base needed for all members of the primary care team, and access to state-of-the-art, condition-specific decision grids to facilitate patient participation in shared decision-making. Features: Interactive eBook with searchable text with quarterly updates integrating important new evidence Unique problem-based chapter organization covers the spectrum of adult primary care, including expanded sections on complementary and alternative therapies, men's and women's health issues, ADHD, posttraumatic stress disorder, and biologic therapies for cancer and autoimmune disorders. All chapters are completely updated with new data from nearly 3000 of the latest and best randomized trials, systematic reviews, meta-analyses, and cost-effectiveness studies, addressing such issues as revised treatment goals for diabetes, hypertension, and hypercholesterolemia; new oral anticoagulants for stroke prophylaxis; new antiviral therapies for HIV and hepatitis C; new diagnostic standards for mental health disorders; and best approaches to screening for lung cancer and coronary disease. New sections on evidence-based approaches to team care that enhance patient outcomes. Over 300 tables, figures, and photographs, many in color. Bulleted recommendations, blending best consensus guidelines with approaches to personalizing care. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Searchable text with quarterly updates integrating important new evidence Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search tool that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use The result is an invaluable tool for decision support and learning at the point of care. "Compared with other primary care books written for use in the office at the point of care, Primary Care Medicine is the one to own." Journal of the American Medical Association
Advanced Assessment : Interpreting Findings and Formulating Differential Diagnoses by
Your essential guide in the assessment and diagnostic process. Step by step, you'll hone your ability to perform effective health assessments, obtain valid data, interpret the findings, and recognize the range of conditions that can be indicated by specific findings to reach an accurate differential diagnosis. You'll have coverage of 170 conditions and symptoms across the lifespan at your fingertips. See what students and practitioners are saying online... Really good organization. Helpful descriptions. Easy to find information. "I actually really liked this text for my Advanced Assessment course. I liked how it was broken down by area or body system, and then further broken down my differential diagnosis. The information is organized in a way that makes sense and is super easy to skim to find exactly what you need."--Alexx Happy I bought this book. "This is my number one resource for Differential Diagnosis. The information in this book is making my Assessment class easier. I'm glad I bought it!"-- Aida G. "I use it everyday in my practice, it helped me improve my assessment skills."--Ernest C.
Gomella and Haist's Clinician's Pocket Reference, 12th Edition by
An all new edition of the original Scut Monkey Handbook--the acclaimed survival guide for the wards and the clinic 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW "This pocket reference is packed with information that is important for medical students and interns on a day-to-day basis. It is rich with practical information that might otherwise be located in different manuals.... The fundamental information is important for all clinicians to master, thus the book serves house staff quite well also.... This book continues to be a favorite among medical students and house staff for good reason."--Doody's Review Service (on a previous edition) This portable, pocket-sized "manual of manuals" provides medical students and residents with essential patient care information, including up-to-date coverage of current treatment protocols, clinical microbiology, critical care, and commonly used medications. Readers will find step-by-step guidance on the history and physical examination, differential diagnosis, key lab and diagnostic tests, and much more. The Twelfth Edition is highlighted by NEW specialty Pearls; NEW chapters on the Patient Presentation, Specialized Diagnostics, Hospice and Palliative Care, Interdisciplinary Health Care Teams, and Principles of Ambulatory Care; and "must know" board tips at the end of each chapter; and NEW laboratory tests.
Pediatric Primary Care by
Get an in-depth look at pediatric primary care through the eyes of a Nurse Practitioner! Pediatric Primary Care, 6th Edition guides readers through the process of assessing, managing, and preventing health problems in infants, children, and adolescents. Key topics include developmental theory, issues of daily living, the health status of children today, and diversity and cultural considerations. This sixth edition also features a wealth of new content and updates - such as a new chapter on pediatric pharmacology, full-color design and illustrations, new QSEN integration, updated coverage of the impact of the Affordable Care Act, a refocused chapter on practice management, and more - to keep readers up to date on the latest issues affecting practice today. Comprehensive content provides a complete foundation in the primary care of children from the unique perspective of the Nurse Practitioner and covers the full spectrum of health conditions seen in the primary care of children, emphasizing both prevention and management. In-depth guidance on assessing and managing pediatric health problems covers patients from infancy through adolescence. Four-part organization includes 1) an introductory unit on the foundations of global pediatric health, child and family health assessment, and cultural perspectives for pediatric primary care; 2) a unit on managing child development; 3) a unit on health promotion and management; and 4) a unit on disease management. Content devoted to issues of daily living covers issues that are a part of every child''s growth - such as nutrition and toilet training - that could lead to health problems unless appropriate education and guidance are given. Algorithms are used throughout the book to provide a concise overview of the evaluation and management of common disorders. Resources for providers and families are also included throughout the text for further information. Expert editor team well is well-versed in the scope of practice and knowledge base of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners (PNPs) and Family Nurse Practitioners (FNPs). NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest developments in our understanding of disease processes, disease management in children, and current trends in pediatric healthcare. NEW! Chapter on prescribing pediatric medications emphasizes the unique needs of children in pharmacotherapy. NEW! Practice Alerts highlight situations that may require urgent action, consultation, or referral for additional treatment outside the primary care setting. NEW! Full-color design and illustrations improve usability and learning. NEW! Graduate-level QSEN integration: Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) is now introduced in the Preface. The QSEN Safety competency is now emphasized via the new Practice Alert highlights and integration of National Patient Safety Goals and Core Measures. The Informatics competency is addressed with new informatics content in a refocused Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice chapter. The Teamwork and Collaboration competency is addressed by new content on the trending topic of interprofessional collaboration, also in the Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice chapter. The Evidence-Based Practice competency is integrated through icons that reference evidence-based guidelines. Reorganized application of Gordon''s Functional Health Patterns provides a more conceptually consistent flow with Gordon''s model. Expanded integration of Healthy People 2020 goes beyond the emphasis on physical activity in the previous edition. Expanded coverage of health literacy includes application of health literacy principles - the ability to obtain, read, understand, and use healthcare information to make appropriate health decisions and follow instructions for treatment - in relevant chapters. Additional coverage of growth and development includes a thorough revision of the chapter on developmental management in pediatric primary care along with inclusion of developmental milestones in appropriate chapters. Expanded coverage of assessment, genetics and epigenetics, mental health issues, the Children with Special Health Care Needs (CSHCN) Services Program, and global health reflect the growing impact of these trends on pediatric primary care. Updated coverage of the Affordable Care Act includes a focus on the impact of the Affordable Care Act (including Medicaid expansion) and its implications for access to pediatric healthcare. Updated coverage of the Bright Futures guidelines goes beyond the previous edition''s focus on mental health and sexual development. NEW! Focus on diversity (vs culture) offers a greater emphasis on diversity in its many dimensions rather than on culture alone. Refocused practice management chapter has been retitled Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice and eliminates general practice management content that is already covered in other parts of the curriculum to focus on content more specific to pediatric practice management - including the various settings for pediatric primary care, informatics, and other essential topics influenced by the Affordable Care Act, National Patient Safety Goals, and the growing trend of interprofessional collaboration.
Primary Care Medicine by
Clinicians and students at all levels and in all primary care disciplines will benefit from the clear, practical, evidence-based writing and recommendations that address the full spectrum of clinical problems encountered in the adult primary care practice. Whether it's the answer to a screening, prevention, evaluation, or management question or a comprehensive approach to a complex condition, the reader will find a review of best evidence integrated with considerations of affordability, cost-effectiveness, convenience and patient preference. Chapters present actionable, scientifically validated guidance that allows physicians to go beyond standard consensus guidelines and provide highly personalized care. Special consideration is given to team-based approaches of primary care delivery, recognizing its increasing importance to achieving high levels of practice performance. Primary Care Medicine 's digital format and quarterly updates ensure current, point-of-care decision support. New, online resources include a recommended curriculum for trainees and faculty, emphasizing a core knowledge base needed for all members of the primary care team, and access to state-of-the-art, condition-specific decision grids to facilitate patient participation in shared decision-making. Features: Interactive eBook with searchable text with quarterly updates integrating important new evidence Unique problem-based chapter organization covers the spectrum of adult primary care, including expanded sections on complementary and alternative therapies, men's and women's health issues, ADHD, posttraumatic stress disorder, and biologic therapies for cancer and autoimmune disorders. All chapters are completely updated with new data from nearly 3000 of the latest and best randomized trials, systematic reviews, meta-analyses, and cost-effectiveness studies, addressing such issues as revised treatment goals for diabetes, hypertension, and hypercholesterolemia; new oral anticoagulants for stroke prophylaxis; new antiviral therapies for HIV and hepatitis C; new diagnostic standards for mental health disorders; and best approaches to screening for lung cancer and coronary disease. New sections on evidence-based approaches to team care that enhance patient outcomes. Over 300 tables, figures, and photographs, many in color. Bulleted recommendations, blending best consensus guidelines with approaches to personalizing care. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Searchable text with quarterly updates integrating important new evidence Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search tool that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use The result is an invaluable tool for decision support and learning at the point of care. "Compared with other primary care books written for use in the office at the point of care, Primary Care Medicine is the one to own." Journal of the American Medical Association
Advanced Assessment : Interpreting Findings and Formulating Differential Diagnoses by
Your essential guide in the assessment and diagnostic process. Step by step, you'll hone your ability to perform effective health assessments, obtain valid data, interpret the findings, and recognize the range of conditions that can be indicated by specific findings to reach an accurate differential diagnosis. You'll have coverage of 170 conditions and symptoms across the lifespan at your fingertips. See what students and practitioners are saying online... Really good organization. Helpful descriptions. Easy to find information. "I actually really liked this text for my Advanced Assessment course. I liked how it was broken down by area or body system, and then further broken down my differential diagnosis. The information is organized in a way that makes sense and is super easy to skim to find exactly what you need."--Alexx Happy I bought this book. "This is my number one resource for Differential Diagnosis. The information in this book is making my Assessment class easier. I'm glad I bought it!"-- Aida G. "I use it everyday in my practice, it helped me improve my assessment skills."--Ernest C.
Pediatric Primary Care by
Get an in-depth look at pediatric primary care through the eyes of a Nurse Practitioner! Pediatric Primary Care, 6th Edition guides readers through the process of assessing, managing, and preventing health problems in infants, children, and adolescents. Key topics include developmental theory, issues of daily living, the health status of children today, and diversity and cultural considerations. This sixth edition also features a wealth of new content and updates - such as a new chapter on pediatric pharmacology, full-color design and illustrations, new QSEN integration, updated coverage of the impact of the Affordable Care Act, a refocused chapter on practice management, and more - to keep readers up to date on the latest issues affecting practice today. Comprehensive content provides a complete foundation in the primary care of children from the unique perspective of the Nurse Practitioner and covers the full spectrum of health conditions seen in the primary care of children, emphasizing both prevention and management. In-depth guidance on assessing and managing pediatric health problems covers patients from infancy through adolescence. Four-part organization includes 1) an introductory unit on the foundations of global pediatric health, child and family health assessment, and cultural perspectives for pediatric primary care; 2) a unit on managing child development; 3) a unit on health promotion and management; and 4) a unit on disease management. Content devoted to issues of daily living covers issues that are a part of every child''s growth - such as nutrition and toilet training - that could lead to health problems unless appropriate education and guidance are given. Algorithms are used throughout the book to provide a concise overview of the evaluation and management of common disorders. Resources for providers and families are also included throughout the text for further information. Expert editor team well is well-versed in the scope of practice and knowledge base of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners (PNPs) and Family Nurse Practitioners (FNPs). NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest developments in our understanding of disease processes, disease management in children, and current trends in pediatric healthcare. NEW! Chapter on prescribing pediatric medications emphasizes the unique needs of children in pharmacotherapy. NEW! Practice Alerts highlight situations that may require urgent action, consultation, or referral for additional treatment outside the primary care setting. NEW! Full-color design and illustrations improve usability and learning. NEW! Graduate-level QSEN integration: Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) is now introduced in the Preface. The QSEN Safety competency is now emphasized via the new Practice Alert highlights and integration of National Patient Safety Goals and Core Measures. The Informatics competency is addressed with new informatics content in a refocused Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice chapter. The Teamwork and Collaboration competency is addressed by new content on the trending topic of interprofessional collaboration, also in the Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice chapter. The Evidence-Based Practice competency is integrated through icons that reference evidence-based guidelines. Reorganized application of Gordon''s Functional Health Patterns provides a more conceptually consistent flow with Gordon''s model. Expanded integration of Healthy People 2020 goes beyond the emphasis on physical activity in the previous edition. Expanded coverage of health literacy includes application of health literacy principles - the ability to obtain, read, understand, and use healthcare information to make appropriate health decisions and follow instructions for treatment - in relevant chapters. Additional coverage of growth and development includes a thorough revision of the chapter on developmental management in pediatric primary care along with inclusion of developmental milestones in appropriate chapters. Expanded coverage of assessment, genetics and epigenetics, mental health issues, the Children with Special Health Care Needs (CSHCN) Services Program, and global health reflect the growing impact of these trends on pediatric primary care. Updated coverage of the Affordable Care Act includes a focus on the impact of the Affordable Care Act (including Medicaid expansion) and its implications for access to pediatric healthcare. Updated coverage of the Bright Futures guidelines goes beyond the previous edition''s focus on mental health and sexual development. NEW! Focus on diversity (vs culture) offers a greater emphasis on diversity in its many dimensions rather than on culture alone. Refocused practice management chapter has been retitled Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice and eliminates general practice management content that is already covered in other parts of the curriculum to focus on content more specific to pediatric practice management - including the various settings for pediatric primary care, informatics, and other essential topics influenced by the Affordable Care Act, National Patient Safety Goals, and the growing trend of interprofessional collaboration.
Health Promotion by
Promote health and wellness for all ages and population groups! Health Promotion Throughout the Life Span, 9th Edition provides a comprehensive guide to leading health promotion concepts, from assessment to interventions to application. Its lifespan approach addresses patients' unique needs with case studies and care plans, with an assessment framework based on Gordon's Functional Health Patterns. New to this edition is expanded coverage of genomics and QSEN competencies. Written by nursing experts Carole Edelman and Elizabeth Kudzma, this bestselling text covers all the latest research and trends in health promotion and disease prevention. Separate chapters on population groups - the individual, family, and community - highlight the unique aspects of assessment and health promotion for each group. Coverage of growth and development helps you apply health promotion concepts to each age and each stage of development through the lifespan. Case studies present realistic situations with questions asking you to apply key concepts, and care plans include nursing diagnoses, defining characteristics, related factors, expected outcomes, and interventions. Quality and Safety Scenario boxes focus on QSEN-related competencies with examples of health promotion. Innovative Practice boxes outline unique and creative health promotion programs and projects currently being implemented. Healthy People 2020 boxes present goals and objectives relating to national health issues and priorities. Research for Evidence-Based Practice boxes summarize current health-promotion studies showing the links between research, theory, and practice. Diversity Awareness boxes address cultural perspectives relating to planning care. Hot Topics boxes introduce significant issues, trends, and controversies in health promotion. Think About It clinical scenarios open each chapter, and include questions to encourage critical thinking. NEW! An increased focus on genomics reflects scientific evidence supporting the use of genetic tests and family health history to guide public health interventions. NEW! Expanded discussion of QSEN competencies is included, as related to health promotion. NEW! Guidelines and recommendations are included from the latest Guide to Clinical Preventive Services from the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. NEW! The latest information about the Affordable Care Act is included. NEW! Updated photos reflect the latest in health promotion and disease prevention.
Primary Care Medicine by
Clinicians and students at all levels and in all primary care disciplines will benefit from the clear, practical, evidence-based writing and recommendations that address the full spectrum of clinical problems encountered in the adult primary care practice. Whether it's the answer to a screening, prevention, evaluation, or management question or a comprehensive approach to a complex condition, the reader will find a review of best evidence integrated with considerations of affordability, cost-effectiveness, convenience and patient preference. Chapters present actionable, scientifically validated guidance that allows physicians to go beyond standard consensus guidelines and provide highly personalized care. Special consideration is given to team-based approaches of primary care delivery, recognizing its increasing importance to achieving high levels of practice performance. Primary Care Medicine 's digital format and quarterly updates ensure current, point-of-care decision support. New, online resources include a recommended curriculum for trainees and faculty, emphasizing a core knowledge base needed for all members of the primary care team, and access to state-of-the-art, condition-specific decision grids to facilitate patient participation in shared decision-making. Features: Interactive eBook with searchable text with quarterly updates integrating important new evidence Unique problem-based chapter organization covers the spectrum of adult primary care, including expanded sections on complementary and alternative therapies, men's and women's health issues, ADHD, posttraumatic stress disorder, and biologic therapies for cancer and autoimmune disorders. All chapters are completely updated with new data from nearly 3000 of the latest and best randomized trials, systematic reviews, meta-analyses, and cost-effectiveness studies, addressing such issues as revised treatment goals for diabetes, hypertension, and hypercholesterolemia; new oral anticoagulants for stroke prophylaxis; new antiviral therapies for HIV and hepatitis C; new diagnostic standards for mental health disorders; and best approaches to screening for lung cancer and coronary disease. New sections on evidence-based approaches to team care that enhance patient outcomes. Over 300 tables, figures, and photographs, many in color. Bulleted recommendations, blending best consensus guidelines with approaches to personalizing care. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Searchable text with quarterly updates integrating important new evidence Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search tool that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use The result is an invaluable tool for decision support and learning at the point of care. "Compared with other primary care books written for use in the office at the point of care, Primary Care Medicine is the one to own." Journal of the American Medical Association
Advanced Assessment : Interpreting Findings and Formulating Differential Diagnoses by
Your essential guide in the assessment and diagnostic process. Step by step, you'll hone your ability to perform effective health assessments, obtain valid data, interpret the findings, and recognize the range of conditions that can be indicated by specific findings to reach an accurate differential diagnosis. You'll have coverage of 170 conditions and symptoms across the lifespan at your fingertips. See what students and practitioners are saying online... Really good organization. Helpful descriptions. Easy to find information. "I actually really liked this text for my Advanced Assessment course. I liked how it was broken down by area or body system, and then further broken down my differential diagnosis. The information is organized in a way that makes sense and is super easy to skim to find exactly what you need."--Alexx Happy I bought this book. "This is my number one resource for Differential Diagnosis. The information in this book is making my Assessment class easier. I'm glad I bought it!"-- Aida G. "I use it everyday in my practice, it helped me improve my assessment skills."--Ernest C.
Gomella and Haist's Clinician's Pocket Reference, 12th Edition by
An all new edition of the original Scut Monkey Handbook--the acclaimed survival guide for the wards and the clinic 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW "This pocket reference is packed with information that is important for medical students and interns on a day-to-day basis. It is rich with practical information that might otherwise be located in different manuals.... The fundamental information is important for all clinicians to master, thus the book serves housestaff quite well also.... This book continues to be a favorite among medical students and housestaff for good reason."--Doody's Review Service (on a previous edition) This portable, pocket-sized "manual of manuals" provides medical students and residents with essential patient care information, including up-to-date coverage of current treatment protocols, clinical microbiology, critical care, and commonly used medications. Readers will find step-by-step guidance on the history and physical examination, differential diagnosis, key lab and diagnostic tests, and much more. The Twelfth Edition is highlighted by NEW specialty Pearls; NEW chapters on the Patient Presentation, Specialized Diagnostics, Hospice and Palliative Care, Interdisciplinary Health Care Teams, and Principles of Ambulatory Care; and "must know" board tips at the end of each chapter; and NEW laboratory tests.
Pediatric Primary Care by
Get an in-depth look at pediatric primary care through the eyes of a Nurse Practitioner! Pediatric Primary Care, 6th Edition guides readers through the process of assessing, managing, and preventing health problems in infants, children, and adolescents. Key topics include developmental theory, issues of daily living, the health status of children today, and diversity and cultural considerations. This sixth edition also features a wealth of new content and updates - such as a new chapter on pediatric pharmacology, full-color design and illustrations, new QSEN integration, updated coverage of the impact of the Affordable Care Act, a refocused chapter on practice management, and more - to keep readers up to date on the latest issues affecting practice today. Comprehensive content provides a complete foundation in the primary care of children from the unique perspective of the Nurse Practitioner and covers the full spectrum of health conditions seen in the primary care of children, emphasizing both prevention and management. In-depth guidance on assessing and managing pediatric health problems covers patients from infancy through adolescence. Four-part organization includes 1) an introductory unit on the foundations of global pediatric health, child and family health assessment, and cultural perspectives for pediatric primary care; 2) a unit on managing child development; 3) a unit on health promotion and management; and 4) a unit on disease management. Content devoted to issues of daily living covers issues that are a part of every child''s growth - such as nutrition and toilet training - that could lead to health problems unless appropriate education and guidance are given. Algorithms are used throughout the book to provide a concise overview of the evaluation and management of common disorders. Resources for providers and families are also included throughout the text for further information. Expert editor team well is well-versed in the scope of practice and knowledge base of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners (PNPs) and Family Nurse Practitioners (FNPs). NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest developments in our understanding of disease processes, disease management in children, and current trends in pediatric healthcare. NEW! Chapter on prescribing pediatric medications emphasizes the unique needs of children in pharmacotherapy. NEW! Practice Alerts highlight situations that may require urgent action, consultation, or referral for additional treatment outside the primary care setting. NEW! Full-color design and illustrations improve usability and learning. NEW! Graduate-level QSEN integration: Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) is now introduced in the Preface. The QSEN Safety competency is now emphasized via the new Practice Alert highlights and integration of National Patient Safety Goals and Core Measures. The Informatics competency is addressed with new informatics content in a refocused Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice chapter. The Teamwork and Collaboration competency is addressed by new content on the trending topic of interprofessional collaboration, also in the Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice chapter. The Evidence-Based Practice competency is integrated through icons that reference evidence-based guidelines. Reorganized application of Gordon''s Functional Health Patterns provides a more conceptually consistent flow with Gordon''s model. Expanded integration of Healthy People 2020 goes beyond the emphasis on physical activity in the previous edition. Expanded coverage of health literacy includes application of health literacy principles - the ability to obtain, read, understand, and use healthcare information to make appropriate health decisions and follow instructions for treatment - in relevant chapters. Additional coverage of growth and development includes a thorough revision of the chapter on developmental management in pediatric primary care along with inclusion of developmental milestones in appropriate chapters. Expanded coverage of assessment, genetics and epigenetics, mental health issues, the Children with Special Health Care Needs (CSHCN) Services Program, and global health reflect the growing impact of these trends on pediatric primary care. Updated coverage of the Affordable Care Act includes a focus on the impact of the Affordable Care Act (including Medicaid expansion) and its implications for access to pediatric healthcare. Updated coverage of the Bright Futures guidelines goes beyond the previous edition''s focus on mental health and sexual development. NEW! Focus on diversity (vs culture) offers a greater emphasis on diversity in its many dimensions rather than on culture alone. Refocused practice management chapter has been retitled Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice and eliminates general practice management content that is already covered in other parts of the curriculum to focus on content more specific to pediatric practice management - including the various settings for pediatric primary care, informatics, and other essential topics influenced by the Affordable Care Act, National Patient Safety Goals, and the growing trend of interprofessional collaboration.
Primary Care Medicine by
Clinicians and students at all levels and in all primary care disciplines will benefit from the clear, practical, evidence-based writing and recommendations that address the full spectrum of clinical problems encountered in the adult primary care practice. Whether it's the answer to a screening, prevention, evaluation, or management question or a comprehensive approach to a complex condition, the reader will find a review of best evidence integrated with considerations of affordability, cost-effectiveness, convenience and patient preference. Chapters present actionable, scientifically validated guidance that allows physicians to go beyond standard consensus guidelines and provide highly personalized care. Special consideration is given to team-based approaches of primary care delivery, recognizing its increasing importance to achieving high levels of practice performance. Primary Care Medicine 's digital format and quarterly updates ensure current, point-of-care decision support. New, online resources include a recommended curriculum for trainees and faculty, emphasizing a core knowledge base needed for all members of the primary care team, and access to state-of-the-art, condition-specific decision grids to facilitate patient participation in shared decision-making. Features: Interactive eBook with searchable text with quarterly updates integrating important new evidence Unique problem-based chapter organization covers the spectrum of adult primary care, including expanded sections on complementary and alternative therapies, men's and women's health issues, ADHD, posttraumatic stress disorder, and biologic therapies for cancer and autoimmune disorders. All chapters are completely updated with new data from nearly 3000 of the latest and best randomized trials, systematic reviews, meta-analyses, and cost-effectiveness studies, addressing such issues as revised treatment goals for diabetes, hypertension, and hypercholesterolemia; new oral anticoagulants for stroke prophylaxis; new antiviral therapies for HIV and hepatitis C; new diagnostic standards for mental health disorders; and best approaches to screening for lung cancer and coronary disease. New sections on evidence-based approaches to team care that enhance patient outcomes. Over 300 tables, figures, and photographs, many in color. Bulleted recommendations, blending best consensus guidelines with approaches to personalizing care. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Searchable text with quarterly updates integrating important new evidence Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search tool that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use The result is an invaluable tool for decision support and learning at the point of care. "Compared with other primary care books written for use in the office at the point of care, Primary Care Medicine is the one to own." Journal of the American Medical Association
Advanced Assessment : Interpreting Findings and Formulating Differential Diagnoses by
Your essential guide in the assessment and diagnostic process. Step by step, you'll hone your ability to perform effective health assessments, obtain valid data, interpret the findings, and recognize the range of conditions that can be indicated by specific findings to reach an accurate differential diagnosis. You'll have coverage of 170 conditions and symptoms across the lifespan at your fingertips. See what students and practitioners are saying online... Really good organization. Helpful descriptions. Easy to find information. "I actually really liked this text for my Advanced Assessment course. I liked how it was broken down by area or body system, and then further broken down my differential diagnosis. The information is organized in a way that makes sense and is super easy to skim to find exactly what you need."--Alexx Happy I bought this book. "This is my number one resource for Differential Diagnosis. The information in this book is making my Assessment class easier. I'm glad I bought it!"-- Aida G. "I use it everyday in my practice, it helped me improve my assessment skills."--Ernest C.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5 by Pediatric Primary Care by
Get an in-depth look at pediatric primary care through the eyes of a Nurse Practitioner! Pediatric Primary Care, 6th Edition guides readers through the process of assessing, managing, and preventing health problems in infants, children, and adolescents. Key topics include developmental theory, issues of daily living, the health status of children today, and diversity and cultural considerations. This sixth edition also features a wealth of new content and updates - such as a new chapter on pediatric pharmacology, full-color design and illustrations, new QSEN integration, updated coverage of the impact of the Affordable Care Act, a refocused chapter on practice management, and more - to keep readers up to date on the latest issues affecting practice today. Comprehensive content provides a complete foundation in the primary care of children from the unique perspective of the Nurse Practitioner and covers the full spectrum of health conditions seen in the primary care of children, emphasizing both prevention and management. In-depth guidance on assessing and managing pediatric health problems covers patients from infancy through adolescence. Four-part organization includes 1) an introductory unit on the foundations of global pediatric health, child and family health assessment, and cultural perspectives for pediatric primary care; 2) a unit on managing child development; 3) a unit on health promotion and management; and 4) a unit on disease management. Content devoted to issues of daily living covers issues that are a part of every child''s growth - such as nutrition and toilet training - that could lead to health problems unless appropriate education and guidance are given. Algorithms are used throughout the book to provide a concise overview of the evaluation and management of common disorders. Resources for providers and families are also included throughout the text for further information. Expert editor team well is well-versed in the scope of practice and knowledge base of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners (PNPs) and Family Nurse Practitioners (FNPs). NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest developments in our understanding of disease processes, disease management in children, and current trends in pediatric healthcare. NEW! Chapter on prescribing pediatric medications emphasizes the unique needs of children in pharmacotherapy. NEW! Practice Alerts highlight situations that may require urgent action, consultation, or referral for additional treatment outside the primary care setting. NEW! Full-color design and illustrations improve usability and learning. NEW! Graduate-level QSEN integration: Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) is now introduced in the Preface. The QSEN Safety competency is now emphasized via the new Practice Alert highlights and integration of National Patient Safety Goals and Core Measures. The Informatics competency is addressed with new informatics content in a refocused Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice chapter. The Teamwork and Collaboration competency is addressed by new content on the trending topic of interprofessional collaboration, also in the Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice chapter. The Evidence-Based Practice competency is integrated through icons that reference evidence-based guidelines. Reorganized application of Gordon''s Functional Health Patterns provides a more conceptually consistent flow with Gordon''s model. Expanded integration of Healthy People 2020 goes beyond the emphasis on physical activity in the previous edition. Expanded coverage of health literacy includes application of health literacy principles - the ability to obtain, read, understand, and use healthcare information to make appropriate health decisions and follow instructions for treatment - in relevant chapters. Additional coverage of growth and development includes a thorough revision of the chapter on developmental management in pediatric primary care along with inclusion of developmental milestones in appropriate chapters. Expanded coverage of assessment, genetics and epigenetics, mental health issues, the Children with Special Health Care Needs (CSHCN) Services Program, and global health reflect the growing impact of these trends on pediatric primary care. Updated coverage of the Affordable Care Act includes a focus on the impact of the Affordable Care Act (including Medicaid expansion) and its implications for access to pediatric healthcare. Updated coverage of the Bright Futures guidelines goes beyond the previous edition''s focus on mental health and sexual development. NEW! Focus on diversity (vs culture) offers a greater emphasis on diversity in its many dimensions rather than on culture alone. Refocused practice management chapter has been retitled Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice and eliminates general practice management content that is already covered in other parts of the curriculum to focus on content more specific to pediatric practice management - including the various settings for pediatric primary care, informatics, and other essential topics influenced by the Affordable Care Act, National Patient Safety Goals, and the growing trend of interprofessional collaboration.
Primary Care Medicine by
Clinicians and students at all levels and in all primary care disciplines will benefit from the clear, practical, evidence-based writing and recommendations that address the full spectrum of clinical problems encountered in the adult primary care practice. Whether it's the answer to a screening, prevention, evaluation, or management question or a comprehensive approach to a complex condition, the reader will find a review of best evidence integrated with considerations of affordability, cost-effectiveness, convenience and patient preference. Chapters present actionable, scientifically validated guidance that allows physicians to go beyond standard consensus guidelines and provide highly personalized care. Special consideration is given to team-based approaches of primary care delivery, recognizing its increasing importance to achieving high levels of practice performance. Primary Care Medicine 's digital format and quarterly updates ensure current, point-of-care decision support. New, online resources include a recommended curriculum for trainees and faculty, emphasizing a core knowledge base needed for all members of the primary care team, and access to state-of-the-art, condition-specific decision grids to facilitate patient participation in shared decision-making. Features: Interactive eBook with searchable text with quarterly updates integrating important new evidence Unique problem-based chapter organization covers the spectrum of adult primary care, including expanded sections on complementary and alternative therapies, men's and women's health issues, ADHD, posttraumatic stress disorder, and biologic therapies for cancer and autoimmune disorders. All chapters are completely updated with new data from nearly 3000 of the latest and best randomized trials, systematic reviews, meta-analyses, and cost-effectiveness studies, addressing such issues as revised treatment goals for diabetes, hypertension, and hypercholesterolemia; new oral anticoagulants for stroke prophylaxis; new antiviral therapies for HIV and hepatitis C; new diagnostic standards for mental health disorders; and best approaches to screening for lung cancer and coronary disease. New sections on evidence-based approaches to team care that enhance patient outcomes. Over 300 tables, figures, and photographs, many in color. Bulleted recommendations, blending best consensus guidelines with approaches to personalizing care. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Searchable text with quarterly updates integrating important new evidence Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search tool that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use The result is an invaluable tool for decision support and learning at the point of care. "Compared with other primary care books written for use in the office at the point of care, Primary Care Medicine is the one to own." Journal of the American Medical Association
Clinical Consult to Psychiatric Nursing for Advanced Practice by
This is the only advanced practice guide to provide an overview of the major DSM-5 disorders across the lifespan and complete clinical guidelines for their psychopharmacologic management. It has been compiled by expert practitioners in psychiatric care and is designed for use by nurse practitioners and other primary caregivers in clinical practice. The guide is organized in an easy-to-access format with disorders for which drugs can play a significant therapeutic role. The listing for each disorder includes clinical features and symptoms, as well as information about the most current and effective drugs for management. A clearly formatted table identifies the first and second lines of drug therapy along with adjunctive therapies for each disorder. Drugs are organized according to classification, and each listing provides the essential information needed to safely prescribe and monitor a patient's response to a particular drug. Brand and generic names, drug class, customary dosage, side effects, drug interactions, pharmacokinetics, precautions, and management of special populations are addressed. Convenient, practical, and portable, this guide will be a welcome and frequently used resource. Key Features: Presents psychopharmacological treatment guidelines for major DSM-5 disorders and parameters for use of each drug Prioritizes drugs according to their clinical efficacy and recommended treatment algorithms Includes brand and generic names, customary dosages, side effects, drug interactions, pharmacokinetics, precautions, and management of special populations Provides easy-to-read tables for quick clinical consultation Offers information on clinical algorithms, lab evaluation, and preventive services
Prescribing Mental Health Medication by
Prescribing Mental Health Medication is a text for practitioners who treat mental disorders with medication. It explains the entire process of medication assessment, management and follow up for general medical practitioners, mental health practitioners, students, residents, prescribing nurses and others perfecting this skill. Already used by providers and training institutions throughout the world, the newly revised second edition is completely updated and focuses on the following key issues: How to determine if medication is needed Proper dosing and how to start and stop medication When to change medication Dealing with difficult patients Specific mental health symptoms and appropriate medication Special populations including pregnant women, substance abusers, children and adolescents, and the elderly Monitoring medication with blood levels Management of medication side effects and avoidance of medication risk The misuse of medication Prescription of generic preparations Prescriptions via the Internet, telemedicine, and electronic medical records Organizing a prescriptive office and record-keeping Completely updated, this text includes information on all psychotropic medications in use in the United States and the United Kingdom. It incorporates clinical tips, sample dialogues for talking about medications to patients, and information specifically relevant in primary care settings.
