Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association,, 7th edition by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioural sciences. It provides invaluable guidance on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias in language. Well-known for its authoritative and easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, and tone that will result in strong, simple, and elegant scientific communication. The sixth edition offers new and expanded instruction on publication ethics, statistics, journal article reporting standards, electronic reference formats, and the construction of tables and figures. The sixth edition has been revised and updated to include: new ethics guidance on such topics as determining authorship and terms of collaboration, duplicate publication, plagiarism and self-plagiarism, disguising of participants, validity of instrumentation, and making data available to others for verification; new journal article reporting standards to help readers report empirical research with clarity and precision; simplified APA heading style to make it more conducive to electronic publication; updated guidelines for reducing bias in language to reflect current practices and preferences, including a new section on presenting historical language that is inappropriate by present standards; new guidelines for reporting inferential statistics and a significantly revised table of statistical abbreviations; and, new instruction on using supplemental files containing lengthy data sets and other media. This book includes significantly expanded content on the electronic presentation of data to help readers understand the purpose of each kind of display and choose the best match for communicating the results of the investigation, with new examples for a variety of data displays, including electro physiological and biological data. It offers consolidated information on all aspects of reference citations, with an expanded discussion of electronic sources emphasising the role of the digital object identifier (DOI) as a reliable way to locate information. It features expanded discussion of the publication process, including the function and process of peer review. It contains a discussion of ethical, legal, and policy requirements in publication; and guidelines on working with the publisher while the article is in press. Key to this edition of the Publication Manual is an updated and expanded Web presence. Look up additional supplemental material keyed to this book. This book lets you test your knowledge of APA Style with a free tutorial on style basics. It lets you learn about the changes in the sixth edition with a free tutorial reviewing key revisions. Sign up for an on-line course to enrich and enhance your understanding of APA Style. Read the APA Style blog and share your comments on writing and referencing. Consult frequently asked questions to sharpen your understanding of APA Style. This title lets you examine additional resources on such topics as ethics, statistics, and writing. It lets you familiarise yourself with submission standards for APA books and journals.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders by
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behavior available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis. With contributions from over 200 subject matter experts, this updated volume boasts the most current text updates based on the scientific literature. Now in four-color and with the ability to authenticate each printed copy, DSM-5-TR provides a cohesive, updated presentation of criteria, diagnostic codes, and text. This latest volume offers a common language for clinicians involved in the diagnosis and study of mental disorders and facilitates an objective assessment of symptom presentations across a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. Stay current with these important updates in DSM-5-TR: * Fully revised text for each disorder with updated sections on associated features, prevalence, development and course, risk and prognostic factors, culture, diagnostic markers, suicide, differential diagnosis, and more.* Addition of Prolonged Grief Disorder (PGD) to Section II--a new disorder for diagnosis* Over 70 modified criteria sets with helpful clarifications since publication of DSM-5* Fully updated Introduction and Use of the Manual to guide usage and provide context for important terminology* Considerations of the impact of racism and discrimination on mental disorders integrated into the text* New codes to flag and monitor suicidal behavior, available to all clinicians of any discipline and without the requirement of any other diagnosis* Fully updated ICD-10-CM codes implemented since 2013, including over 50 coding updates new to DSM-5-TR for substance intoxication and withdrawal and other disorders* Updated and redesigned Diagnostic Classification This manual is a valuable resource for other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists. The new DSM-5-TR is the most definitive resource for the diagnosis and classification of mental disorders.
Massachusetts General Hospital Psychopharmacology and Neurotherapeutics by
Put today's best approaches to work for your patients with this practical guide to cutting-edge psychopharmacologic and somatic treatments for psychiatric and neurologic conditions. Edited by Drs. Theodore A. Stern, Maurizio Fava, Timothy E. Wilens, and Jerrold F. Rosenbaum, and comprised of key chapters from the second edition of Stern et al.'s Massachusetts General Hospital Comprehensive Clinical Psychiatry, this user-friendly resource focuses on current psychotropic treatments, electroconvulsive therapy, and neurotherapeutics, making it an ideal quick reference for psychiatrists, psychologists.
Kaplan and Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry by
Throughout eight prior editions, "CTP" has been established as the cornerstone text in the field of psychiatry and mental health. This Ninth Edition provides a wealth of new and updated information in neural science, genetics, neuropsychiatry, psychopharmacotherapy, and other key areas. A distinguished new co-editor, Pedro Ruiz, MD, has joined Drs. Benjamin and Virginia Sadock for this edition, and over 500 contributors provide the most up-to-date information in every area of psychiatry and mental health. The book includes case histories, the most current DSM-IV-TR criteria and tables, and up-to-date comparative classification codes from ICD-10. A companion Website will offer the fully searchable text.
Psychotherapy for the Advanced Practice Psychiatric Nurse by
Dr. Wheeler has skillfully crafted a text that covers basic psychiatric principles and skills from developing a therapeutic relationship and assessing and diagnosing the client to providing evidence-based psychotherapy for a variety of patient populations... This text is an excellent primer for teaching therapy skills and, although targeting graduate psychiatric nursing students, would prove equally valuable for students of any mental health discipline. It is also a resource for experienced clinicians wanting to expand their understanding of trauma and how adaptive information processing might be used as an organizing framework for all psychotherapy. --Linda Mabey, Journal of EMDR Practice and Research DESCRIPTION This is a how-to compendium of evidence-based approaches to practicing psychotherapy for both the experienced and neophyte advanced practice psychiatric nurse. This book integrates neuroscience with relationship science and unites disparate psychotherapeutic approaches into a model that is concise and straightforward, yet sufficiently comprehensive to provide a framework for practice. The most useful therapeutic models are highlighted with principles, and techniques of treatment for nurse psychotherapists and those with prescriptive authority. This second edition expands the award-winning first edition, providing guidelines, forms, and case studies to assist APPNs in deciding which treatment to use based on psychotherapy outcome studies and practice guidelines. New Chapters in the Second Edition: Motivational Interviewing Dialectical Behavior Therapy Group Therapy Family Therapy Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR) Therapeutic Approaches for Addictions New CPT Codes & Reimbursement Awards and Reviews for the First Edition: APNA Media Award AJN Book of the Year Award 5 Star Amazon Reviews 4 Star Doody Review Lays out a holistic paradigm for advanced psychiatric nursing (APN) practice by drawing upon a neuroscience of information processing, human development, attachment theory, and trauma. . . (and) explains the essentials of psychotherapy by melding principles underlying the therapeutic alliance, adaptive information processing (AIP), change, and a hierarchically arranged treatment format that fosters healing through the resolution of dysfunctional memory this important text holds true to the historical basis for psychiatric nursing being organized around phases and principles of the nurse-patient relationship. Margaret England, PhD, RN, CNS, Perspectives in Psychiatric Care Wheeler offers the field a scholarly training manual. . . grounded in Shapiro's (2001) adaptive information processing paradigm . . .(where) the brain is viewed as an information processing system with innate self-healing mechanisms that regulate its internal environment to survive and to maintain a stable, constant condition through dynamic regulation. Robert M. Greenfield, PhD, Journal of Trauma & Dissociation
Kaplan and Sadock's Synopsis of Psychiatry by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Accurate, reliable, objective, and comprehensive, Kaplan & Sadock's Synopsis of Psychiatry has long been the leading clinical psychiatric resource for clinicians, residents, students, and other health care professionals both in the US and worldwide. Now led by a new editorial team of Drs. Robert Boland and Marcia L. Verduin, it continues to offer a trusted overview of the entire field of psychiatry while bringing you up to date with current information on key topics and developments in this complex specialty. The twelfth edition has been completely reorganized to make it more useful and easier to navigate in today's busy clinical settings. A revised table of contents moves the most clinically relevant material to the beginning of the book, including sections on diagnosis, psychopathology and psychiatric conditions, treatment across the lifespan, and therapy and other interventions. Reformats clinical chapters to include clearer section headings and easy-to-digest summaries of important information, all with the goal of helping you find information quickly and easily locate answers to specific problems. Includes numerous case studies to enhance the learning experience. Presents the most current treatment methods including descriptions of all modern psychotherapeutic techniques. Includes descriptive tables for all relevant DSM-5 and ICD-10 diagnoses and an up-to-date psychopharmacology section organized according to mechanisms of action. Carries on the tradition of excellence established by Drs. Benjamin J. Sadock and Virginia A. Sadock, with Dr. Pedro Ruiz returning as Consulting Editor. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics by
Part of the highly regarded Nelson family of pediatric references, Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 8th Edition, is a concise, focused resource for medical students, pediatric residents, PAs, and nurse practitioners. Ideal for pediatric residencies, clerkships, and exams, this 8th Edition offers a readable, full-color format; high-yield, targeted chapters; and new features that make it even more user-friendly for today's in-training professionals or practitioners. Focuses on the core knowledge you need to know, while also providing complete coverage of recent advances in pediatrics. Coverage includes normal childhood growth and development, as well as the diagnosis, management, and prevention of common pediatric diseases and disorders. Includes new Pearls for Practitioners bullets at the end of each section, providing key clinical points and treatment information. Features well written, high-yield coverage throughout, following COMSEP curriculum guidelines relevant to your pediatric clerkship or rotation. Uses a full-color format with images and numerous new tables throughout, so you can easily visualize complex information. Provides real-world insights from chapter authors who are also Clerkship Directors, helping you gain the knowledge and skills necessary to succeed both in caring for patients and in preparing for clerkship or in-service examinations. Includes Student Consult access which features the full contents of the book, now integrated with select decision-making algorithms from Pediatric Decision-Making Strategies by Pomeranz et al. (ISBN: 978-0-323-29854-4), online at Student Consult.
Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics by
After more than 75 years, Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics remains your indispensable source for definitive, state-of-the-art answers on every aspect of pediatric care. Embracing the new advances in science as well as the time-honored art of pediatric practice, this classic reference provides the essential information that practitioners and other care providers involved in pediatric health care throughout the world need to understand to effectively address the enormous range of biologic, psychologic, and social problems that our children and youth may face. Brand-new chapters and comprehensive revisions throughout ensure that you have the most recent information on diagnosis and treatment of pediatric diseases based on the latest recommendations and methodologies. "The coverage of such a wide range of subjects relating to child health makes this textbook still the gold standard and companion for all pediatricians across the world." Reviewed by Neel Kamal, Sept 2015 "All in all, this is an excellent and detailed paediatric review textbook which represents excellent value for money..truly a textbook for the global community" Reviewed by glycosmedia.com, Sept 2015 Form a definitive diagnosis and create the best treatment plans possible using evidence-based medicine and astute clinical experiences from leading international authors-many new to this edition. A NEW two-volume layout provides superior portability and exceptional ease of use. Gain a more complete perspective. Along with a broader emphasis on imaging and molecular diagnoses and updated references, the new edition includes an increased focus on international issues to ensure relevance in pediatrics practice throughout the world. Effectively apply the latest techniques and approaches with complete updates throughout 35 new chapters, including: Innovations in Addressing Child Health and Survival in Low Income Settings; Developmental Domains and Theories of Cognition; The Reggio Emilia Educational Approach Catatonia ; Refeeding Syndrome; Altitude-associated Illness; Genetic Approaches to Rare and Undiagnosed Diseases; Healthcare?Associated Infections; Intrapartum and Peripartum Infections; Bath salts and other drugs of abuse; Small Fiber Polyneuropathy; Microbiome; Kingella kingae; Mitochondrial Neurogastrointestinal Encephalomyopathy; Nonalcoholic Fatty Liver Disease; Plagiocephaly; CNS Vasculitis; Anterior Cruciate Ligament Rupture; and Sports-Related Traumatic Brain Injury. Recognize, diagnose, and manage genetic and acquired conditions more effectively. A new Rehabilitation section with 10 new chapters, including: Evaluation of the Child for Rehabilitative Services; Severe Traumatic Brain Injury; Spinal Cord Injury and Autonomic Crisis Management; Spasticity; Birth Brachial Plexus Palsy; Traumatic and Sports-Related Injuries; Meningomyelocele; Health and Wellness for Children with Disabilities. Manage the transition to adult healthcare for children with chronic diseases through discussions of the overall health needs of patients with congenital heart defects, diabetes, and cystic fibrosis. Understand the principles of therapy and which drugs and dosages to prescribe for every disease. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Child and Adolescent Clinical Psychopharmacology by
The sixth edition of this classic text continues to provide clinically-oriented information on medications used to treat common mental health conditions and disorders in children and adolescents. The book boasts an accessible style--with even more tables, graphs, and clinical pearls than ever before--that is designed for easy reading and comprehension. Substantially updated with expanded medication coverage for new FDA approved indications, this practical guide is perfect for residents and practitioners in psychiatry and pediatrics, as well as family medicine. Emphasizes new and highly used medications and discusses FDA-approved and off-label usage. Adds new chapters on de-prescribing and managing substance use disorders in adolescents. Beefs up coverage of injectable medications and third-generation anti-psychotics as well as weight stabilization medications. Prominently displays precautions and warnings to mitigate prescribing errors and adverse interactions. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
