Critical Care Medicine
by
Now completely revised to bring you up to date with the latest advances in the field, Critical Care Medicine: Principles of Diagnosis and Management in the Adult, 5th Edition, delivers expert, practical guidance on virtually any clinical scenario you may encounter in the ICU. Designed for intensivists, critical care and pulmonology residents, fellows, practicing physicians, and nurse practitioners, this highly regarded text is clinically focused and easy to reference. Led by Drs. Joseph Parrillo and Phillip Dellinger, the 5th Edition introduces numerous new authors who lend a fresh perspective and contribute their expertise to that of hundreds of top authorities in the field. Includes new chapters on current applications of bedside ultrasound in the ICU, both diagnostic and procedural; mechanical assist devices; and extra-corporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO). Contains new administrative chapters that provide important information on performance improvement and quality, length of stay, operations, working with the Joint Commission, and more. Features new videos and images that provide visual guidance and clarify complex topics. Keeps you up to date with expanded chapters on echocardiography in the ICU and valvular heart disease, including TAVR. Includes separate chapters on mechanical ventilation of obstructive airway disease and acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS) - including the many recent changes in approach to positive end expiratory pressure setting in ARDS. Covers key topics such as patient-ventilator synchrony and non-invasive ventilation for treating chronic obstructive pulmonary disease patients with acute respiratory failure. Reflects the recent literature and guidance on amount of fluids, type of fluid, vasopressor selection, mean arterial pressure target, and decision on steroid use in septic shock. Provides questions and answers in every chapter, perfect for self-assessment and review. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2025
by
The #1 annualguide in adult internal medicine. Each year CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment (CMDT) undergoes extensive revision to deliver new clinical developments in every field of adult internal medicine--making it the most popular annual textbook of its kind. For more than six decades, CMDT has been disseminating authoritative information that students, residents, and clinicians need to build their medical knowledge, expertise, and confidence. Written by top experts in their fields, chapters are formatted so you can find the most relevant diagnostic tools for day-to-day practice. CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2025 provides: Emphasis on the practical aspects of clinical diagnosis and disease management Coverage of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders Hundreds of quick-access drug treatment tables with indexed trade names Essentials of Diagnosis provides snapshot of common diseases/disorders Diagnostic and treatment algorithms and tables present critical information at a glance Carefully curated references provide peer-reviewed, evidence-based information and PMID numbers for quick online access Hundreds of full-color photographs and illustrations CMDT 2025 updates include: "Year in Review" table highlights nearly 100 recent advances impacting clinical practice New chapter on Substance Use Disorders New photos reflecting clinical conditions in a variety of skin tones Key updates to Viral & Rickettsial Infections chapter including concise directives on COVID-19 and measles Expanded coverage of major GI Disorders such as Crohn disease and ulcerative colitis
Gomella and Haist's Clinician's Pocket Reference, 12th Edition
by
An all new edition of the original Scut Monkey Handbook--the acclaimed survival guide for the wards and the clinic 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW "This pocket reference is packed with information that is important for medical students and interns on a day-to-day basis. It is rich with practical information that might otherwise be located in different manuals.... The fundamental information is important for all clinicians to master, thus the book serves housestaff quite well also.... This book continues to be a favorite among medical students and housestaff for good reason."--Doody's Review Service (on a previous edition) This portable, pocket-sized "manual of manuals" provides medical students and residents with essential patient care information, including up-to-date coverage of current treatment protocols, clinical microbiology, critical care, and commonly used medications. Readers will find step-by-step guidance on the history and physical examination, differential diagnosis, key lab and diagnostic tests, and much more. The Twelfth Edition is highlighted by NEW specialty Pearls; NEW chapters on the Patient Presentation, Specialized Diagnostics, Hospice and Palliative Care, Interdisciplinary Health Care Teams, and Principles of Ambulatory Care; and "must know" board tips at the end of each chapter; and NEW laboratory tests.
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twenty-First Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2)
by
The Voice of Clinical Reason : Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine is the world's most trusted clinical medicine text--and a superb resource for learning the art and science of clinical reasoning. Recognized by healthcare professionals worldwide as the leading authority on applied pathophysiology and clinical medicine, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine provides the informational foundation you need for the best patient care possible. This new edition is fully updated with timely new chapters and essential updates across the spectrum of internal medicine. Written and edited by the world's top experts in their respective fields, this landmark guide provides comprehensive, accurate, and essential coverage of the pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment of disease. Harrison's is world-renowned as the most authoritative source for: * Clear, concise schemas that facilitate the generation of differential diagnoses to reason efficiently through complex real world clinical cases * The physiologic and epidemiologic basis of signs and symptoms, which are covered through a wealth of unsurpassed expert guidance and linked to the disease-specific chapters that follow * Updated clinical trial results and recommended guidelines * Excellent and extensive visual support, including radiographs, clinical photos, schematics, and high-quality drawings * Coverage of both therapeutic approaches and specific treatment regimens * Practical clinical decision trees and algorithms * Organ/system-specific sections, with clinically relevant pathophysiology and practical clinical advice on the approach to the patient, strategies towards building a differential diagnosis, outstanding clinical algorithms and diagnostic schema, a wealth of clinical images and diagrams, current clinical guidelines, and general and specific approaches to therapy Harrison's remains the most trusted resource in a world influenced by endless sources of medical information. The most timely and comprehensive updates from the world's top experts are featured in the 21st edition: * Current coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of diseases, from COVID to dementia to sepsis to multiple sclerosis to lung cancer * Updated content that reflects new approved therapeutics and new practice-changing guidelines and evidence summaries * More than 1000 clinical, pathological, and radiographic photographs, diagnostic and therapeutic decision trees, and clear schematics and diagrams describing pathophysiologic processes * Numerous atlases featuring curated collections of important visual aspects of diagnosis and management * Updated and time-saving curation and synthesis of established and new medical literature and studies * Clinically relevant coverage of disease mechanics and pathophysiology, and related therapeutic mechanisms
Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, Eighth Edition
by
The undisputed leader on the subject of geriatrics has been updated with the most recent advances in the field for assessing and managing diverse groups of older adults in various settings Authored by a team of the world's most respected geriatricians, Hazzard's Principles of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, Eighth Edition combines gerontology principles with clinical geriatrics to provide unmatched coverage of the health and well-being impacts of population aging. Anchored in science, evidence-based medicine, and patient-centered practice, it presents the most up-to-date, medical information available. This practical guide focuses on the implementation of key concepts and covers the foundation for geriatrics, as well as frequently encountered syndromes found in older people. In addition, it provides valuable insights into the simultaneous management of multiple problems, including psychological and social issues, and their interactions, an intrinsic aspect of geriatric patient care. Updates include: NEW: Chapters on Geroscience; Value-Based Care; The Patient's Perspective; Multi-Morbidity; Disparities: Social Determinants of Health and Access to Care; Age Friendly Care; Self-Management of Health Behavior NEW: Updated coverage of COVID-19 in geriatric patients NEW: Free access to updates (case-based, studies/trials and hot topics) on accessmedicine.com NEW: Chapters on costs of care in the management of diseases, including an international comparative approach
Integrating Nurse Practitioners and Physician Assistants into the ICU
by
As the roles of nurse practitioners (NPs) and physician assistants (PAs) in the ICU expand, so does the need to promote their proper and optimal utilization as members of the critical care team. Integrating Nurse Practitioners & Physician Assistants Into the ICU provides vital information and resources for how to do just that.. With staffing schedule models, orientation/training templates, and other practical educational resources, this essential reference also serves as a resource for clinicians and institutions that seek to enhance patient care by introducing or further expanding their use of NPs and PAs into their the multiprofessional ICU workforce teams.
Manual of Emergency and Critical Care Ultrasound
by
Ultrasound has revolutionized a physician's ability to make urgent and emergent diagnoses at the bedside, and has changed the management of many acute injuries and conditions. This is a practical, concise introduction to what is rapidly becoming an essential tool for all critical care physicians: bedside emergency ultrasound. The Manual covers the full spectrum of conditions diagnosed using ultrasound and gives practical guidance in how to use ultrasound for common invasive procedures. Major applications are introduced using focused diagnostic questions and reviewing the image-acquisition skills needed to answer them. Images of positive and negative findings are presented, and scanning tips for improving image quality. The second edition has been substantially revised and expanded, with new images, updated literature reviews, new applications and clinical algorithms. New chapters cover additional procedures, musculoskeletal and pediatric applications, and the use of ultrasound in resuscitation. This text is invaluable for emergency physicians at all levels.
Marino's the ICU Book
by
Dr. Paul L. Marino's concise, engaging writing style is just one of many reasons that Marino's The ICU Book is the best-selling reference in critical care. This highly regarded, full-color resource contains the essential information needed to care for patients in any ICU, regardless of the specialty designation of the unit. The newly revised Fifth Edition continues the focus on practical aspects of patient care and will appeal to anyone with an interest in the care of critically ill patients. The intended audience incudes medical students, interns and residents in medicine, surgery, and anesthesiology, critical care physicians and nurses, physician's assistants, respiratory therapists, and paramedics. Dr. Marino has been a practicing critical care specialist for 44 years, and the material in his book is a reflection of this vast experience. The text has been completely rewritten and incorporates the latest concepts and most recent clinical practice guidelines. Because this is a single-author text, the writing and style are consistent from chapter to chapter, and redundancies are held to a minimum. New chapters have been added on fluid management, approaches to clinical shock, acute pulmonary embolism, liver failure, and acute pancreatitis. As in prior editions, there are numerous illustrations and tables that highlight the material in the text, and each chapter ends with a section called "A Final Word" that presents a take-home message from the chapter. The text will be updated quarterly to include recently published guidelines and pertinent clinical studies. Enrich your eBook reading experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care
by
Primary care clinicians are performing more varied procedures than ever before, and physicians, residents, and students need a comprehensive, authoritative resource that provides trusted information in an easy-to-follow format. Through three outstanding editions, Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care has been the go-to reference for step-by-step strategies for nearly every medical procedure that can be performed in an office, hospital, or emergency care facility by primary care providers. This 4th Edition continues that tradition with new section editors, updated illustrations, new chapters, and much more. No other primary care procedure book compares with Pfenninger and Fowler's breadth and depth of practical, step-by-step content! Access to this product, which may be at the discretion of your institution, is up to 3 years of online and perpetual offline access. Elsevier reserves the right to restrict or remove access due to changes in product portfolio or other market conditions. Provides comprehensive, real-world coverage of more than 230 procedures that arise in the primary care setting, including many that were previously performed only in subspecialty settings, such as joint injections and cosmetic procedures. Includes new chapters: Esophageal Foreign Body Removal, Manual Testicular Detorsion, Symphysiotomy, Zipper Injury Management, and Blood Products. Presents the "how-to" expertise of six new section editors, for a fresh, contemporary perspective throughout the book. Additional focus on the evidence, with plentiful citations to key references, makes this the most evidence-based edition yet. Features numerous updated illustrations, including many more in full color, and incorporates updated ICD-10-CM codes throughout. Provides access to online resources including patient education handouts and consent forms, lists of device manufacturers, and more. Utilizes a concise outline format, detailed text and illustrations, and abundant boxes and tables for quick access to the information you need. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Pocket Guide to POCUS: Point-Of-Care Tips for Point-of-Care Ultrasound
by
A unique pocket guide to the use of ultrasound at the point of care
Lately, there has been an enormous amount of interest in the use of ultrasound for both procedural and diagnostic guidance at the point of care. Understanding that physicians both in practice and in training have limited time, Pocket Guide to POCUS has been intentionally and thoughtfully designed to be a portable quick reference to real-world clinical situations. Pocket Guide to POCUS provides tips and reminders for issues and challenges encountered at the point of care. Questions such as what images to acquire, and how to get them are addressed as well as a quick glance at pathology in comparison to a normal image. For learners at all levels, this pocket guide will minimize the angst of scanning and prevent some of the more common pitfalls the authors have observed over their more than 50 cumulative years' experience. Each chapter of the book is divided into four sections: * Key Images * Acquisition Tips * Interpretation and Pitfalls * Examples of Pathology This information is conveniently located on cards that can be removed from the book and brought with you to the bedside. You can take notes on the cards, check off the scans that you've done, and of course, refer to them in order to provide your patients with the best care possible.
Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: a Comprehensive Study Guide, 9th Edition
by
The long-awaited new edition of the world's most widely used and highly regarded textbook and reference of emergency medicine. A Doody's Core Title for 2020! Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine is THE essential resource for everyone working in, and teaching emergency medicine. The Ninth Edition provides the depth and breadth of coverage that reflects the complexity and expertise needed to practice emergency medicine in today's fast-paced environments. This comprehensive text is an important clinical resource for physicians, residents and students, advance practice providers, emergency nurses, EMTs, and paramedics. It is a necessary resource for in-training and board examinations, and recertification. Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine covers everything from prehospital care, disaster preparedness, and basic and advanced resuscitative techniques, to all the significant medical, traumatic, and environmental conditions requiring emergency treatment in adults, children and neonates. Highlights of the Ninth Edition: * Full-color design with more tables than ever to succinctly present key information * Extensive updates to all sections, incorporating the latest clinical and evidence-based information * Online access to over 100 videos, covering a wide range of diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and POCUS for obstetric/gynecologic, pediatric, musculoskeletal, and vascular conditions * World-class pediatric section on the care of neonates, infants, and children * Expanded chapters on the management of gynecologic and obstetric conditions and emergencies * Updated information on toxicologic and environmental emergencies * Contemporary, concise discussion of ED identification and treatment of opioid use disorders * Updated information on procedural sedation * Expert advice on the management and care of transgender patients * Latest information available on neurologic and cardiac emergencies From the reviews of the seventh edition: "Collectively, they have once again produced an excellent text that manages to cover the broad scope of emergency medicine while remaining an easily readable and practical resource....Last, for the inevitable comparison of this current edition of Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine with other available emergency medicine textbooks available: in my opinion, Tintinalli's still comes out on top. It is more concise and easier to read than some, yet it covers the breadth of emergency medicine practice more comprehensively than others....Just as previous editions did, the seventh presents all of the most pertinent and up-to-date information in a well-organized format that is comprehensive yet easy to read. That and many of the attractive new features in this current edition will ensure its place on my bookshelf for years to come."―JAMA
The Washington Manual of Medical Therapeutics
by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2023! The Washington Manual® of Medical Therapeutics, 37th Edition, provides essential information you need for successful patient care, with concise, high-yield content that reflects today's fast-changing advances in medical technology and therapeutics. Written by faculty, residents, and fellows and edited by chief residents of the distinguished Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, the Washington Manual presents brief, logical approaches to diagnosis and management of commonly encountered medical conditions, including new therapies that improve patient outcomes. Discover why housestaff and faculty around the world depend on this best-selling resource for day-to-day clinical practice in internal medicine. Provides comprehensive coverage of many areas of medicine and the core subspecialties--all at your fingertips for quick review and reference Features a new, colorful presentation with easy-to-follow guidelines, tables, diagrams, and dosing and treatment information Includes easy-to-use algorithms for fast visual guidance Addresses challenges that residents, interns, medical students, and other practitioners confront every day Features content carefully edited by Internal Medicine Chief Residents from the Washington University School of Medicine and Barnes-Jewish Hospital in St. Louis The Washington Manual® is a registered mark belonging to Washington University in St. Louis to which international legal protection applies. The mark is used in this publication by Wolters Kluwer Health under license from Washington University. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
There are two certifying bodies for the adult gerontology acute care nurse practitioner. They are American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) and the American Association of Critical Care Nurses (AACN). I encourage you to go onto the websites and look around.
When you pass ANCC you will have the title of AGACNP
When you pass AACN you will have the title of ACNP-AG
AccessMedicine (ACM) is an online medical resource that provides students with the tools they need to excel in basic and advanced studies, clerkships, and crucial test prep. ACM provides residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with interactive content, self-assessment, and leading medical texts to enhance decision-making at the point-of-care. It and allows for practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure best patient outcomes. It includes a complete full-text library of clinical and basic science textbooks, including Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, The Color Atlas of Family Medicine, and many others.
-Over 1,100 e-book titles.
-All Elsevier imprints or related.
-To browse by specialty, after clicking link above, click Books in upper right corner, then click Specialties filter in upper left corner.
-Free individual ClinicalKey account required to download PDF version of content.
-Some content is only available in HTML format, not PDF.
-Site license allows unlimited simultaneous users on and off-campus.
600+ e-books focused on the health professions.
Limit of 1, 3 or unlimited simultaneous user, varies by title.
Save/download PDF limit of pages per day, per title, varies by title.
Off-line download of complete title is generally not available.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) covers journals, books and other materials in nursing and the allied health/health profession fields.
Some full-text included.
Access other via “UT Links” and submit free Interlibrary Loan as needed.
Export up to 25,000 and search history marked as complete as of Jan. 2025.
Updated interface coming after Memorial Day 2025, preview at: https://ezproxy.uthsc.edu/login?url=https://research.ebsco.com/c/x47oyz/search/advanced/filters?db=ccm
New as of October 21, 2020.
EMBASE Features:
*Journal coverage from 1947 to the present
*Over 32 million records, including MEDLINE titles
*Over 8,500 journals from over 95 countries, including MEDLINE titles
*Over 2,900 indexed journals unique to Embase
*Over 1.5 million records added yearly, with an average of over 6,000 each day
*Over 2.3 million conference abstracts indexed from more than 7,000 conferences dating from 2009
*Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data
*Local literature modules available as add-on
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 19 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1940's.
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journal articles, books, and conference proceedings. In addition to publication information, Scopus provides author, publication, and journal impact metrics as well as free author profiles.
An evidence-based resource for clinicians and patients with the most current information on more than 20 specialties.
NOTE: NetID login is required to access, even when on UTHSC campus.
For mobile: After downloading respective app : App Store (iOS) and Google Play , use the UpToDate username and password you created on desktop or laptop.
You must renew your UpToDate username at least every 90 days on desktop/laptop at: https://libguides.uthsc.edu/uptodate
You will get an email reminder as the date approaches.