Varney's Midwifery 7th Edition by
Varney's Midwifery continues to be the gold standard for midwifery practice in an updated seventh edition. New lead editors assembled a team of expert contributors and authors to continue the legacy of Varney's Midwifery as the trusted, must-have resource for students, professional midwives, and women's health practitioners.Varney's Midwifery uses current evidence-based guidelines to address the care of individuals throughout the lifespan, including primary care, gynecology, perinatal care in a variety of settings, and newborn care. The Seventh Edition reflects the new ACNM Core Competencies for Basic Midwifery Practice published in 2020, including care of transgender individuals and abortion-related care. It also provides updated information on promotion of health equity, new techniques for fetal screening, diagnosis across the lifespan, and chronic conditions in pregnancy.
Women's Gynecologic Health by
Women's Gynecologic Health, Second Edition equips students and practicing clinicians with comprehensive information about women's gynecologic health, including health promotion, maintenance and treatment. Based on the most recent research, the authors provide authoritative content written from a feminist perspective. Completely updated and revised, this second edition includes four new chapters on diagnosis of pregnancy at the gynecologic visit, women's health after bariatric surgery, sexual assault, and urinary tract infections. In addition, the chapter on gynecologic health care for sexual and gender minorities has been expanded to include care not only for lesbians, but also for bisexual women and transgender individuals.Key features include:* Clinical considerations specific to the different physical and psychosocial life stages of women* Emphasis on physiologic mechanisms in order to enhance understanding of normal and abnormal processes* Evidence-based content* Content and presentation suitable for students and practicing clinicians
Gynecologic Health Care by 
Clinical Practice Guidelines for Midwifery and Women's Health by 
Oxorn-Foote Human Labor and Birth, Seventh Edition by
The go-to guide to childbirth--completely revised and updated with new chapters Highly acclaimed for its authoritative coverage of obstetric care and concise, easy-to-read format, Oxorn-Foote Human Labor & Birth is an essential resource for anyone performing or assisting in childbirth. Written for the real world of clinical practice, the popular guide expertly examines all mechanisms of labor and delivery. Updated and revised, this seventh edition offers proven best practices and step-by-step guidance to obstetric procedures, techniques, and patient management. Oxorn-Foote Human Labor & Birth opens with a valuable review of clinical anatomy, followed by a thorough examination of the three stages of labor, with a focus on proper management and birthing techniques. The authors provide specific guidance on the full spectrum of complications and delivery situations, including Cesarean section, breech presentation, transverse lie, umbilical cord issues, dystocia, and more. Critical concerns such as preterm labor, antepartum hemorrhage, maternal and fetal complications, intrapartum infections, and post-term pregnancy are also addressed. No other book presents so much vital information in such a clearly illustrated manner. Features New! Patient Safety and Quality Assurance chapter with guidance on incorporating quality improvement into an obstetrics program New! Medical Education chapter with a summary of adult learning theory and advice on providing individual and interprofessional team training Full-color design with hundreds of original images clearly illustrating the techniques described Key points are bulleted throughout to facilitate quick and easy retrieval of information
Obstetrics: Normal and Problem Pregnancies by
Highly readable, well-illustrated, and easy to understand, Gabbe's Obstetrics: Normal and Problem Pregnancies is an ideal day-to-day reference or study tool for residents and clinicians. This 8th Edition of this bestselling text offers fast access to evidence-based, comprehensive information, now fully revised with substantial content updates, new and improved illustrations, and a new, international editorial team that continues the tradition of excellence established by Dr. Steven Gabbe. Puts the latest knowledge in this complex specialty at your fingertips, allowing you to quickly access the information you need to treat patients, participate knowledgably on rounds, and perform well on exams. Contains at-a-glance features such as key points boxes, bolded text, chapter summaries and conclusions, key abbreviations boxes, and quick-reference tables, management and treatment algorithms, and bulleted lists throughout. Features detailed illustrations from cover to cover-many new and improved-including more than 100 ultrasound images that provide an important resource for normal and abnormal fetal anatomy. Covers key topics such as prevention of maternal mortality, diabetes in pregnancy, obesity in pregnancy, vaginal birth after cesarean section, and antepartum fetal evaluation. Provides access to 11 videos that enhance learning in areas such as cesarean delivery and operative vaginal delivery. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
The Developing Human by
Extensively revised to incorporate recent research and current clinical practice, The Developing Human: Clinically Oriented Embryology, 11th Edition, covers all aspects of normal and abnormal embryonic and fetal development. In a clear, concise manner and lavishly illustrated throughout, this textbook is designed to successfully meet the needs of medical and health sciences profession students, as well as those in graduate programs. It provides an easy-to-digest, comprehensive review of what can be a complex and challenging subject. BONUS online features such as multiple-choice questions and narrated animations further support student success. Guides readers month by month and stage by stage through embryo and fetal organ and systems development, using full-color photographs of clinical cases, relevant modern medical imaging, and numerous high-quality supportive figures. Includes many new 3D HD color rendered images of embryos and fetuses, as well as 3D reconstructions of whole embryos. Provides clinically-oriented problems for each chapter, with corresponding answers and explanations designed to facilitate discussion and learning. In addition, multiple-choice questions and answers are available online for supportive self-assessment. Features 18 exceptional color animations, now with narration, to help students as they explore and learn the complexity of embryological development. Provides the knowledge base needed for today's examinations, including USMLE Step 1, as well as for future clinical practice. Thoroughly updated information includes new annotations on fundamental molecular events during embryogenesis, now required for many professional examinations. Includes enhanced clinical material in all chapters, with updated tables, Clinical Case highlights and a critical chapter on common signalling pathways during development that covers gene editing (CRISPR/Cas9), induced pluripotent stem cells (iPS), a revision of the sonic hedgehog signalling pathway; and more. Details how molecular biology has affected clinical practice, including techniques such as recumbent DNA technology and stem cell manipulation. Includes an Enhanced eBook version with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Physical Assessment of the Newborn by
"The text is... a core text for any program preparing individuals for advanced practice roles in perinatal and neonatal care, and it should be a resource in every setting providing care to neonates. At all levels of practice, it serves as a convenient reference to normal parameters, common variations, and less commonly seen abnormalities." --Susan Tucker Blackburn, RN, PhD, FAAN Author of Maternal, Fetal, and Neonatal Physiology: A Clinical Perspective From the Foreword The newly revised, 25th anniversary edition of this definitive publication on neonatal care continues to illustrate how to systematically and accurately gather assessment data and interpret results. Because even normal newborns feature a wide range of physical variation, subtle signs that indicate internal malformations or syndromes may escape notice without a proper assessment. Many problems in the neonate can be noticed early by an astute nurse, neonatal nurse practitioner, neonatal physician assistant, or physician with honed assessment skills, long before electronic monitors or other equipment can detect them. Physical Assessment of the Newborn, Sixth Edition, addresses the physical, physiologic, neurologic, and behavioral implications of a thorough assessment, and explains how healthcare providers can reduce the risks associated with the transition to extrauterine life and the neonatal period. Grounded with a scientific basis and rationale, each system assessment represents the most up-to-date clinical content. Because assessment skills are such an integral aspect of practice, many individuals take them for granted, yet all health professionals who perform newborn examinations--including nurses, neonatal and pediatric nurse practitioners, nurse-midwives, physicians, therapists, and students preparing for advanced practice roles in neonatal care--can benefit from the essential content presented in this book. New to the Sixth Edition: Provides clinical updates throughoutPresents an enhanced art programOffers an all-new chapter on the perinatally substance-exposed neonateIncludes an image bank and PowerPoints Key Features: Addresses all key aspects of newborn assessmentProvides a well-organized evaluation of individual body systemsAssists practitioners in identifying infant state, behavioral clues, and signs of painExamines the wide range of variation among newborns of different gestational agesProvides information related to a maternal history, including antepartum testing and intrapartum monitoringWritten in an easy-to-read, user-friendly styleIncludes continuing education exam
Case Files Obstetrics and Gynecology, Fifth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. SHARPEN YOUR CRITICAL THINKING SKILLS AND IMPROVE PATIENT CARE Experience with clinical cases is key to mastering the art and science of medicine and ultimately to providing patients with competent clinical care. Case Files®: Obstetrics & Gynecology provides 60 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in obstetrics and gynecology. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and USMLE®-style review questions to reinforce your learning. With Case Files®, you'll learn instead of memorize. · Learn from 60 high-yield cases, each with board-style questions · Master key concepts with clinical pearls
Birthing Justice by
There is a global crisis in maternal health care for black women. In the United States, black women are over three times more likely to perish from pregnancy-related complications than white women; their babies are half as likely to survive the first year. Many black women experience policing, coercion, and disempowerment during pregnancy and childbirth and are disconnected from alternative birthing traditions. This book places black women's voices at the center of the debate on what should be done to fix the broken maternity system and foregrounds black women's agency in the emerging birth justice movement. Mixing scholarly, activist, and personal perspectives, the book shows readers how they too can change lives, one birth at a time.
Reproductive Justice by
Reproductive Justice is a first-of-its-kind primer that provides a comprehensive yet succinct description of the field. Written by two legendary scholar-activists, Reproductive Justice introduces students to an intersectional analysis of race, class, and gender politics. Loretta J. Ross and Rickie Solinger put the lives and lived experience of women of color at the center of the book and use a human rights analysis to show how the discussion around reproductive justice differs significantly from the pro-choice/anti-abortion debates that have long dominated the headlines and mainstream political conflict. Arguing that reproductive justice is a political movement of reproductive rights and social justice, the authors illuminate, for example, the complex web of structural obstacles a low-income, physically disabled woman living in West Texas faces as she contemplates her sexual and reproductive intentions. In a period in which women's reproductive lives are imperiled, Reproductive Justice provides an essential guide to understanding and mobilizing around women's human rights in the twenty-first century. Reproductive Justice: A New Vision for the Twenty-First Century publishes works that explore the contours and content of reproductive justice. The series will include primers intended for students and those new to reproductive justice as well as books of original research that will further knowledge and impact society. Learn more at www.ucpress.edu/go/reproductivejustice.
A history of midwifery in the United States : The Midwife Said Fear Not by
Written by two of the profession's most prominent midwifery leaders, this authoritative history of midwifery in the United States, from the 1600s to the present, is distinguished by its vast breadth and depth. The book spans the historical evolution of midwives as respected, autonomous health care workers and midwifery as a profession, and considers the strengths, weaknesses, threats, and opportunities for this discipline as enduring motifs throughout the text. It surveys the roots of midwifery, the beginnings of professional practice, the founding of educational institutions and professional organizations, and entry pathways into the profession. Woven throughout the text are such themes as the close link between midwives and the communities in which they live, their view of pregnancy and birth as normal life events, their efforts to promote health and prevent illness, and their dedication to serving women wherever they may be and in whatever health condition and circumstances they may be in. The text examines the threats to midwifery past and present, such as the increasing medicalization of childbearing care, midwifery's lack of a common identity based on education and practice standards, the inconsistencies in its legal recognition as a profession, and reimbursement issues for midwifery practice. Illustrations and historical photos depict the many facets of midwifery, and engaging stories provide cultural and spiritual context. This is a "must-have" for all midwives, historians, professional and educational institutions, and all those who share a passion for the history of midwifery and women. KEY FEATURES: Encompasses the most authoritative and comprehensive information available about the history of midwifery in the United States Considers the strengths, weaknesses, threats, and opportunities for midwifery Illustrated with historical photos and drawings Includes engaging stories filled with cultural and spiritual content, introductory quotes to each chapter, and plentiful chapter notes Written by two preeminent leaders in the field of midwifery
Taylor and Kelly's Dermatology for Skin of Color 2/e by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The highly anticipated update of the complete textbook of dermatologic science and practice focusing on the care of patients with moderately to heavily pigmented skin - 21 new chapters with more than 900 photographs! Dermatology for Skin of Color, Second Edition is a comprehensive reference that thoroughly details every aspect of dermatologic science as it applies to skin of color - from the development of the skin to the biology of hair and nails. All commonly encountered dermatologic problems of Africans, Asians, Arabs, Native Americans, and other peoples are covered, as are other diseases with significant skin manifestations. This second edition is significantly expanded with 21 new chapters covering dermatology for geriatric, adolescent, and pregnant patients, as well as depigmenting agents, viral infections, cutaneous manifestation of internal malignancy, neurofibromatosis, tuberous sclerosis, photoaging, photosensivity, laser treatment for skin-tightening, toxins and fillers, cosmetic practices in Mexico, effects of tattooing and piercing, sickle cell disease, drug eruptions, and the biology of oral mucosa. It also features many more clinical pictures and improved organization. Extensively illustrated with more than 900 full-color photos, Dermatology for Skin of Color provides comprehensive coverage of medical, surgical, and cosmetic treatment options, pediatric dermatology, differences between skin of color and Caucasian skin, differences between ethnic groups with skin of color, and important basic science information on the structure and function of skin of color. In addition, folk remedies and over-the-counter treatments specifically targeting this population are covered.
Acknowledgement: This guide design was adapted from UK Medical Center Library LibGuide CSS Template and Documentation © 2024 by Lauren E. Robinson is licensed under CC BY-NC 4.0. DOI 10.17605/OSF.IO/X5YFA