Statistics on Health Disparities in Memphis, TN
Memphis, TN
Poverty Rates
2016 Poverty Fact Sheet (Data from 2015 ACS) - This report is based on the data from the 2015 American Community Survey. The overall poverty rate for Memphis city is 26.2%. The full report includes graphs, details on demographics, and a discussion on poverty trends.
Medically Underserved Regions
The city of Memphis is part of a Medically Underserved Area (MUA) classified by the US Department of Health and Human Services. Below, the map shows Shelby County and the purple area in the middle represents the MUA population in the heart of Memphis.
Health Disparities
Shelby County, TN
Poverty Rates
2016 Poverty Fact Sheet (Data from 2015 ACS) - This report is based on the data from the 2015 American Community Survey. The overall poverty rate for Shelby County is 20.1%. The full report includes graphs, details on demographics, and a discussion on poverty trends.
TN Health Outcomes and Health Factors Ranking - Produced by Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, countyhealthrankings.org publishes Tennessee Rankings Data (2010-2017) for 95 counties. The ranking data include a summary report in PDF, and Health Outcomes and Health Factors in downloadable excel file.
Medically Underserved Regions
Health Disparities
2016 Drive Your County to the Top Ten - This report compares how Shelby county ranks compared to the top 10 counties in Tennessee on a wide range of economic and healthcare related factors.
Mobilizing for Action through Planning and Partnerships (MAPP) Strategic Health Priority for Shelby County, TN: Health disparities and social determinants of health were selected by MAPP as areas for improvement through strategic planning and a community of practice approach. Resources include a brochure and Vision and Value Statements.
Statistics on Health Disparities in TN
Poverty Rates
Feeding America is an organization dedicated to raising awareness of food insecurity in America. Using their website you can explore data collected from their annual Map the Meal Gap project. Overall food insecurity data for Tennessee in 2015. Food Insecurity data for Tennessee by County in 2015. Interactive food insecurity data map for Tennessee in 2015.
Medically Underserved Regions
Tennessee Department of Health Safety Net Report - This report focuses on primary care, behavioral health, case management and emergency dental services to uninsured adults age 19-64. It includes information on Health Care Provider Shortage Areas (HPSAs) across the state.
Health Disparities
2016 drive your county to the top ten special report. This report compares how Shelby county ranks compared to the top 10 counties in Tennessee on a wide range of economic and healthcare related factors.
America's Health Rankings: United Health Foundation Tennessee 2016 data.
2014 Report on understanding County health trends - ten health-related measures for each county are displayed in this report. Each county has an individual report displaying which health measures are improving and which measure are not improving. Numbers for population, median household income, unemployment, over 65 and minority population are also included.
County Health Rankings and Roadmaps: A Robert Wood Johnson foundation program. State of Tennessee summary report. Shelby County Data.
Healthy People 2020 on Social Determinants of Health
CDC: Social Determinants of Health: Know What Affects Health
Association of Academic Health Centers (AAHC): Academic Health Centers and the Social Determinants of Health: Challenges & Barriers, Responses & Solutions
Just Health Action (JHA) Curriculum
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation: A new way to talk about SDOH
Seeing is Believing: Patterns of Life Expectancy, Poverty, Equity & Health in Shelby County TN: A presentation at the 2016 National Association of City and County Health Officials (NACCO). The presenters are Dr. Lilian Ogari and Dr. David Sweat from the Office of Epidemiology & Infectious Diseases of the Shelby County Health Department.
Definition
As defined by the HealthPeople 2020, social determinants of health are conditions in the environments in which people are born, live, learn, work, play, worship, and age that affect a wide range of health, functioning, and quality-of-life outcomes and risks. Conditions (e.g., social, economic, and physical) in these various environments and settings (e.g., school, church, workplace, and neighborhood) have been referred to as “place.” In addition to the more material attributes of “place,” the patterns of social engagement and sense of security and well-being are also affected by where people live.
Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion.(2017). Social determinants of health. Retrieved from https://www.healthypeople.gov/2020/topics-objectives/topic/social-determinants-of-health
Figure 39-1. Five-domain Model of Social Determinants of Health
Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion.(2017). Healthy People 2020: Midcourse review data on social determinants of health. Retrieved from https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/data/hpdata2020/HP2020MCR-C39-SDOH.pdf
Literature on the history of SDOH (24 references. For the complete list, click the link on the left)
Literature on SDOH/Graduate Education (41 references. For the complete list, click the link on the left)
Use this link to access the complete list of the 59 references.
AccessMedicine has rich resources related to SDOH.
MINDER Collection: Minority and Diversity Educational Resources (216 titles)
Ratcliff, K. S. (2017). The social determinants of health : Looking upstream. Cambridge, UK: Polity. (Online access limit to 3 seats)
Committee on Educating Health Professionals to Address the Social Determinants of Health, Board on Global Health, Institute of Medicine, & National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. (2016). A framework for educating health professionals to address the social determinants of health. Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK395983/
Original literature used to develop the topic:
SDOH/History (Link to MyNCBI Collection)
SDOH/Graduate Medical Education (Link to MyNCBI Collection)
The Advisory Committee on Training in Primary Care Medicine and Dentistry. (2016). Addressing the social determinants of health: The role of health professions education. Retrieved from https://www.hrsa.gov/advisorycommittees/bhpradvisory/actpcmd/actpcmd_13th_report_sdh_final.pdf.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation: Messaging guide: A new way to talk about the social determinants of health
The document contains three chapters and two appendices.
Chapter 1 explains the process and research behind the creation of this guide.
Chapter 2 shares 7 lessons learned about communicating around the social determinants of health, six ways to talk about the social determinants of health, and a glossary of "other terms" to use in place of typical phrasing.
Chapter 3 discusses how to effectively communicate facts and data with this new frame around the social determinants of health.
Appendix A outlines Democratic and Republican perspectives on the social determinants of health, and provides communications strategies and common ground between the parties.
Appendix B details a study that attempted to identify ways of talking with the general public about the social determinants of health, and includes keys to effective messaging on social determinants.
Education-Centered Medical Home (ECMH): A learning module, created by the Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, provides students with early and comprehensive educational exposure to team-based medicine in an authentic outpatient environment. Students work with the same preceptor and peers over four years to help care for patients and measure their progress. This learning model helps students build a professional identity as early as the first year of medical school, offers 360-degree assessment opportunities, and allows for patients, peers and preceptors to give feedback on the student's progress in their eight core competencies.
Health Extension Toolkit: A learning module, led and created by the University of New Mexico, consists of 6 chapters and involves learning communities over 10 states.
