The library is in the process of updating all Library Resource Guides. This guide will be updated soon. If you have any questions, reach out to the library here: Contact the Library
DNP PMHNP Textbooks
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association,, 7th edition by American Psychological AssociationThe Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: WZ 345 P976 2020 (Reference and Reserve)
Publication Date: 2020, 7th edition
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition by American Psychological Association StaffThe Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioural sciences. It provides invaluable guidance on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias in language. Well-known for its authoritative and easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, and tone that will result in strong, simple, and elegant scientific communication. The sixth edition offers new and expanded instruction on publication ethics, statistics, journal article reporting standards, electronic reference formats, and the construction of tables and figures. The sixth edition has been revised and updated to include: new ethics guidance on such topics as determining authorship and terms of collaboration, duplicate publication, plagiarism and self-plagiarism, disguising of participants, validity of instrumentation, and making data available to others for verification; new journal article reporting standards to help readers report empirical research with clarity and precision; simplified APA heading style to make it more conducive to electronic publication; updated guidelines for reducing bias in language to reflect current practices and preferences, including a new section on presenting historical language that is inappropriate by present standards; new guidelines for reporting inferential statistics and a significantly revised table of statistical abbreviations; and, new instruction on using supplemental files containing lengthy data sets and other media. This book includes significantly expanded content on the electronic presentation of data to help readers understand the purpose of each kind of display and choose the best match for communicating the results of the investigation, with new examples for a variety of data displays, including electro physiological and biological data. It offers consolidated information on all aspects of reference citations, with an expanded discussion of electronic sources emphasising the role of the digital object identifier (DOI) as a reliable way to locate information. It features expanded discussion of the publication process, including the function and process of peer review. It contains a discussion of ethical, legal, and policy requirements in publication; and guidelines on working with the publisher while the article is in press. Key to this edition of the Publication Manual is an updated and expanded Web presence. Look up additional supplemental material keyed to this book. This book lets you test your knowledge of APA Style with a free tutorial on style basics. It lets you learn about the changes in the sixth edition with a free tutorial reviewing key revisions. Sign up for an on-line course to enrich and enhance your understanding of APA Style. Read the APA Style blog and share your comments on writing and referencing. Consult frequently asked questions to sharpen your understanding of APA Style. This title lets you examine additional resources on such topics as ethics, statistics, and writing. It lets you familiarise yourself with submission standards for APA books and journals.
Call Number: WZ 345 P976 2010
Publication Date: 2010, 6th edition
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders by American Psychiatric Association StaffThis new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5® easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
Kaplan and Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry by Benjamin James Sadock (Editor); Virginia Alcott Sadock (Editor); Pedro Ruiz (Editor)Throughout eight prior editions, "CTP" has been established as the cornerstone text in the field of psychiatry and mental health. This Ninth Edition provides a wealth of new and updated information in neural science, genetics, neuropsychiatry, psychopharmacotherapy, and other key areas. A distinguished new co-editor, Pedro Ruiz, MD, has joined Drs. Benjamin and Virginia Sadock for this edition, and over 500 contributors provide the most up-to-date information in every area of psychiatry and mental health. The book includes case histories, the most current DSM-IV-TR criteria and tables, and up-to-date comparative classification codes from ICD-10. A companion Website will offer the fully searchable text.
Psychotherapy for the Advanced Practice Psychiatric Nurse by Kathleen WheelerDr. Wheeler has skillfully crafted a text that covers basic psychiatric principles and skills from developing a therapeutic relationship and assessing and diagnosing the client to providing evidence-based psychotherapy for a variety of patient populations... This text is an excellent primer for teaching therapy skills and, although targeting graduate psychiatric nursing students, would prove equally valuable for students of any mental health discipline. It is also a resource for experienced clinicians wanting to expand their understanding of trauma and how adaptive information processing might be used as an organizing framework for all psychotherapy. --Linda Mabey, Journal of EMDR Practice and Research DESCRIPTION This is a how-to compendium of evidence-based approaches to practicing psychotherapy for both the experienced and neophyte advanced practice psychiatric nurse. This book integrates neuroscience with relationship science and unites disparate psychotherapeutic approaches into a model that is concise and straightforward, yet sufficiently comprehensive to provide a framework for practice. The most useful therapeutic models are highlighted with principles, and techniques of treatment for nurse psychotherapists and those with prescriptive authority. This second edition expands the award-winning first edition, providing guidelines, forms, and case studies to assist APPNs in deciding which treatment to use based on psychotherapy outcome studies and practice guidelines. New Chapters in the Second Edition: Motivational Interviewing Dialectical Behavior Therapy Group Therapy Family Therapy Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR) Therapeutic Approaches for Addictions New CPT Codes & Reimbursement Awards and Reviews for the First Edition: APNA Media Award AJN Book of the Year Award 5 Star Amazon Reviews 4 Star Doody Review Lays out a holistic paradigm for advanced psychiatric nursing (APN) practice by drawing upon a neuroscience of information processing, human development, attachment theory, and trauma. . . (and) explains the essentials of psychotherapy by melding principles underlying the therapeutic alliance, adaptive information processing (AIP), change, and a hierarchically arranged treatment format that fosters healing through the resolution of dysfunctional memory this important text holds true to the historical basis for psychiatric nursing being organized around phases and principles of the nurse-patient relationship. Margaret England, PhD, RN, CNS, Perspectives in Psychiatric Care Wheeler offers the field a scholarly training manual. . . grounded in Shapiro's (2001) adaptive information processing paradigm . . .(where) the brain is viewed as an information processing system with innate self-healing mechanisms that regulate its internal environment to survive and to maintain a stable, constant condition through dynamic regulation. Robert M. Greenfield, PhD, Journal of Trauma & Dissociation
Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing by American Psychiatric Nurses Association Staff; International Society of Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurses StaffPsychiatric-mental health (PMH) nursing is the nursing practice specialty committed to promoting mental health through the assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of behavioral problems, mental disorders, and comorbid conditions across the lifespan. PMH nursing intervention employs a purposeful use of self and a wide range of nursing, psychosocial, and neurobiological evidence to produce effective outcomes. The American Psychiatric Nurses Association and the International Society of Psychiatric Mental-Health Nurses convened a task force of nurse experts from across their practice to review and revise Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, published in 2007. With input from across the nursing profession that was facilitated by ANA, the task force developed this all-new edition. It is the definitive and up-to-date delineation of psychiatric-mental health nursing, articulating the competent level of nursing practice and professional performance of all PMH registered nurses, whatever their practice level or setting. The publication's scope of practice addresses what is expected of all psychiatric-mental health nurses, specifying the who, what, where, when, why, and how of their practice. The detailed discussion of that scope of practice provides the context needed to understand and use the standards, presenting the underlying assumptions, characteristics, environments and settings, education and training requirements, key issues and trends, and ethical and conceptual bases of the specialty. The standards themselves are authoritative statements that describe the responsibilities by which psychiatric-mental health nurses are held accountable in their practice. Each standard is measurable by a set of specific competencies that serve as evidence of minimal compliance with that standard. While this foundational volume is primarily for those directly involved with psychiatric-mental health nursing practice, education, and research, other nursing and allied healthcare providers, researchers, and scholars will find value in this content. In addition, it is a resource for employers, insurers, lawyers, policy makers, regulators, and stakeholders. Since the late 1990s, ANA has partnered with other nursing organizations to establish a formal process for recognition of specialty areas of nursing practice. This includes the criteria for approving the specialty itself and the scope statement, and an acknowledgment by ANA of the standards of practice for that specialty. Because of the significant changes in the evolving nursing and healthcare environments, ANA's approval of specialty nursing scope statements and its acknowledgment of specialty standards of practice remain valid for five years, starting from the publication date of the documents. The standards in this publication are based on language from ANA's Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, Second Edition, a helpful supplement to this specialty text, which in turn is of optimal use with two complementary ANA texts: Nursing's Social Policy Statement: The Essence of the Profession and Guide to the Code of Ethics for Nurses: Interpretation and Application. These three books are also available as a set, ANA's Foundation of Nursing Package, to guide nursing practice, thinking, and decision-making. The set is proving useful as a professional reference, classroom textbook, in-service training guide, and credentialing exam resource. For more on these publications, go to www.Nursesbooks.org. Book jacket.
Call Number: WY 160 P974 2014
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
The Psychiatric Interview by Daniel CarlatThis publication is included on the ANCC: American Nurses Credentialing Center's reference list. With an engaging conversational style, The Psychiatric Interview, focuses on the practical skills psychiatrists need to conduct effective psychiatric interviews. The book begins with the general principles essential to effective interviewing , and guides readers through a range of issues, including the seductive patient, the malingerer, borderline personalities, and others. The new edition includes information on interviews to help readers complete important rating scales and also provides practical tips on working with electronic medical records in the setting of a psychiatric interview.
Call Number: WM 34 C278p 2012
Publication Date: 2011-10-11
Kaplan and Sadock's Synopsis of Psychiatry by Benjamin James Sadock; Pedro Ruiz; Virginia A. SadockThe Best-Selling Resource in Psychiatry NOW UPDATED with DSM-5! The new and thoroughly updated 11th edition of Kaplan and Sadock's Synopsis of Psychiatry: Behavioral Sciences/Clinical Psychiatry is a complete overview of the entire field of psychiatry for clinicians, residents, students, and all others who provide mental health care. In this best-selling textbook in psychiatry for over 40 years, the reader will find a thorough discussion of both the behavioral sciences and clinical psychiatry. The 11th edition integrates all the DSM-5 criteria and provides a detailed and comprehensive overview of treatment methods for every known mental disorder. The 11th edition is set apart from any other reference you have and includes: DSM-5 diagnostic tables on every major psychiatric disorder. A psychopharmacology section organized according to mechanisms of action and updated to include all of the new drugs including those in preparation. Extensive use of case studies and illustrations to enhance the learning experience. The most current treatment methods including a description of all newly introduced psychotherapeutic techniques. A completely revised section on neurocognitive disorders organized along the DSM-5 model. An updated and expanded section on child psychiatry; now includes a guide to diagnosis and treatment of autism spectrum disorder and other disorders of childhood. A fully searchable eBook, bundled with the print. This publication is included on the ANCC: American Nurses Credentialing Center's reference list. The Synopsis of Psychiatry has been the leading clinical psychiatric resource for psychiatrists both in the US and around the world. It has the reputation of being an independent, accurate, reliable and objective compendium of new events in the field of psychiatry. Now in its 11th edition, the tradition continues, both in print and digital formats--from the authorities you can trust. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search tool that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Call Number: WM 140 S126k 2015
Publication Date: 2014-09-03
The Prescriber's Guide by Stephen M. StahlNow established as the indispensable formulary in psychopharmacology, this latest edition of The Prescriber's Guide has been completely revised and updated to reflect the most current practice in the use of psychotropic drugs. Easy to navigate and easy to use, The Prescriber's Guide combines evidence-based information with clinically informed guidance to support clinicians in making the most effective prescribing decisions for the good of their patients. With coverage of twelve brand-new drugs - including antidepressants, antipsychotics, hypnotics, nonstimulants for ADHD and medical foods - and incorporating information on the newest indications, new formulations, new recommendations and new safety data, this edition continues to provide the essential practical support required by anyone prescribing in the field of mental health.
Call Number: QV 39 S781s 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-18
Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics by Karen Marcdante; Robert M. KliegmanPart of the highly regarded Nelson family of pediatric references, Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 8th Edition, is a concise, focused resource for medical students, pediatric residents, PAs, and nurse practitioners. Ideal for pediatric residencies, clerkships, and exams, this 8th Edition offers a readable, full-color format; high-yield, targeted chapters; and new features that make it even more user-friendly for today's in-training professionals or practitioners. Focuses on the core knowledge you need to know, while also providing complete coverage of recent advances in pediatrics. Coverage includes normal childhood growth and development, as well as the diagnosis, management, and prevention of common pediatric diseases and disorders. Includes new Pearls for Practitioners bullets at the end of each section, providing key clinical points and treatment information. Features well written, high-yield coverage throughout, following COMSEP curriculum guidelines relevant to your pediatric clerkship or rotation. Uses a full-color format with images and numerous new tables throughout, so you can easily visualize complex information. Provides real-world insights from chapter authors who are also Clerkship Directors, helping you gain the knowledge and skills necessary to succeed both in caring for patients and in preparing for clerkship or in-service examinations. Includes Student Consult access which features the full contents of the book, now integrated with select decision-making algorithms from Pediatric Decision-Making Strategies by Pomeranz et al. (ISBN: 978-0-323-29854-4), online at Student Consult.
Publication Date: 2018-03-29
Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics by Robert M. Kliegman; Bonita Stanton; Joseph St. Geme; Nina F. Schor; Richard E. BehrmanAfter more than 75 years, Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics remains your indispensable source for definitive, state-of-the-art answers on every aspect of pediatric care. Embracing the new advances in science as well as the time-honored art of pediatric practice, this classic reference provides the essential information that practitioners and other care providers involved in pediatric health care throughout the world need to understand to effectively address the enormous range of biologic, psychologic, and social problems that our children and youth may face. Brand-new chapters and comprehensive revisions throughout ensure that you have the most recent information on diagnosis and treatment of pediatric diseases based on the latest recommendations and methodologies. "The coverage of such a wide range of subjects relating to child health makes this textbook still the gold standard and companion for all pediatricians across the world." Reviewed by Neel Kamal, Sept 2015 "All in all, this is an excellent and detailed paediatric review textbook which represents excellent value for money..truly a textbook for the global community" Reviewed by glycosmedia.com, Sept 2015 Form a definitive diagnosis and create the best treatment plans possible using evidence-based medicine and astute clinical experiences from leading international authors-many new to this edition. A NEW two-volume layout provides superior portability and exceptional ease of use. Gain a more complete perspective. Along with a broader emphasis on imaging and molecular diagnoses and updated references, the new edition includes an increased focus on international issues to ensure relevance in pediatrics practice throughout the world. Effectively apply the latest techniques and approaches with complete updates throughout 35 new chapters, including: Innovations in Addressing Child Health and Survival in Low Income Settings; Developmental Domains and Theories of Cognition; The Reggio Emilia Educational Approach Catatonia ; Refeeding Syndrome; Altitude-associated Illness; Genetic Approaches to Rare and Undiagnosed Diseases; Healthcare?Associated Infections; Intrapartum and Peripartum Infections; Bath salts and other drugs of abuse; Small Fiber Polyneuropathy; Microbiome; Kingella kingae; Mitochondrial Neurogastrointestinal Encephalomyopathy; Nonalcoholic Fatty Liver Disease; Plagiocephaly; CNS Vasculitis; Anterior Cruciate Ligament Rupture; and Sports-Related Traumatic Brain Injury. Recognize, diagnose, and manage genetic and acquired conditions more effectively. A new Rehabilitation section with 10 new chapters, including: Evaluation of the Child for Rehabilitative Services; Severe Traumatic Brain Injury; Spinal Cord Injury and Autonomic Crisis Management; Spasticity; Birth Brachial Plexus Palsy; Traumatic and Sports-Related Injuries; Meningomyelocele; Health and Wellness for Children with Disabilities. Manage the transition to adult healthcare for children with chronic diseases through discussions of the overall health needs of patients with congenital heart defects, diabetes, and cystic fibrosis. Understand the principles of therapy and which drugs and dosages to prescribe for every disease. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2015-04-22
Child and Adolescent Clinical Psychopharmacology by Rick Bowers; Julia Jackson; Christina WestonThe sixth edition of this classic text continues to provide clinically-oriented information on medications used to treat common mental health conditions and disorders in children and adolescents. The book boasts an accessible style--with even more tables, graphs, and clinical pearls than ever before--that is designed for easy reading and comprehension. Substantially updated with expanded medication coverage for new FDA approved indications, this practical guide is perfect for residents and practitioners in psychiatry and pediatrics, as well as family medicine. Emphasizes new and highly used medications and discusses FDA-approved and off-label usage. Adds new chapters on de-prescribing and managing substance use disorders in adolescents. Beefs up coverage of injectable medications and third-generation anti-psychotics as well as weight stabilization medications. Prominently displays precautions and warnings to mitigate prescribing errors and adverse interactions. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.