-Free personal ClinicalKey account required to download PDF version of content if available.
Title list current as of 2021-12-17
A Rational Approach to Clinical Infectious Diseases
Clinical Cases in Tropical Medicine
Coronavirus Disease: From Origin to Outbreak
Hunter's Tropical Medicine and Emerging Infectious Diseases
Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases
Manson's Tropical Diseases
Netter's Infectious Disease
The Opioid Epidemic and Infectious Diseases
Pathology of Infectious Diseases
Pediatric Transplant and Oncology Infectious Diseases
Peters' Atlas of Tropical Medicine and Parasitology
Principles and Practice of Pediatric Infectious Diseases
Remington and Klein's Infectious Diseases of the Fetus and Newborn Infant
Sande's HIV/AIDS Medicine
Travel and Tropical Medicine Manual, The
The Vaccine Book
Zika and Other Neglected and Emerging Flaviviruses
Biofilm Infections by Thomas Bjarnsholt (Editor); Peter Ostrup Jensen (Associate Editor); Claus Moser (Editor); Niels Høiby (Editor)This book will cover both the evidence for biofilms in many chronic bacterial infections as well as the problems facing these infections such as diagnostics and treatment regimes. A still increasing interest and emphasis on the sessile bacterial lifestyle biofilms has been seen since it was realized that that less than 0.1% of the total microbial biomass lives in the planktonic mode of growth. The term was coined in 1978 by Costerton et al. who defined the term biofilm for the first time.In 1993 the American Society for Microbiology (ASM) recognised that the biofilmmode of growth was relevant to microbiology. Lately many articles have been published on the clinical implications of bacterial biofilms. Both original articles and reviews concerning the biofilm problem are available.
Call Number: EBSCO (limit of 1 simultaneous user)
Publication Date: 2011
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment of Sexually Transmitted Diseases by Edward W. Hook; Jeffrey D. KlausnerGet problem-oriented and disease-specific guidance in treating STDs-in one quick-access source For more than 70 years, professors, students, and clinicians have trusted LANGE for high-quality, current, concise medical information in a convenient, affordable, portable format. Whether for coursework, clerkships, USMLE prep, specialty board review, or patient care, there's a LANGE book that guarantees success. Featuring the trusted, practical format of the CURRENT series, this authoritative, quick-access guide delivers a top-to-bottom overview of STDs commonly encountered in clinical practice. The book begins with an insightful introduction to the field that emphasizes the patient-doctor relationship, and then explores clinical problems with STDs in terms of diagnostic, management, and treatment considerations. A-to-Z, up-to-the-minute coverage of common STDs-filled with crucial point-of-care guidelines A focus on prevention interventions, including counseling, in recognition of the need to change high-risk sexual behaviors Practical diagnostic algorithms that summarize key protocols and facilitate patient management Detailed, easy-to-locate treatment tables that list specific drugs (generic and trade names), doses, and schedules A thought-provoking final chapter that includes a brief discussion of the latest STD research, plus unresolved questions and future concerns Useful appendices that include diagnostic protocols, treatment tables, and websites for further information Authoritative, on-the-spot information you can quickly apply to your practice - without sifting through pages of data An essential clinical companion for internists, family physicians, pediatricians, nurse practitioners, obstetricians-gynecologists, HIV care specialists, and other healthcare professionals who see patients with STDs Turn to any chapter on specific STDs, and you'll find expert perspectives on biology, epidemiology, clinical manifestations, diagnosis, treatment, prevention, and issues related to special populations
Expert Guide to Infectious Diseases by Tan, James; File, Thomas; Tan, Michael; Robert Salata; James S. Tan (Editor); Thomas M. File (Editor); Robert A. Salata (Editor); Michael J. Tan (Editor); James Tan; Thomas File; Michael TanThis fully revised and updated new edition keeps readers current with the latest etiologic agents, the most appropriate diagnostic tests, and the most effective management options. ""Expert Guide to Infectious Diseases, Second Edition"" is the expert guidance practitioners need to diagnose and treat the most commonly encountered infections. The updated edition features new chapters on Antimicrobial Agents for the Primary Care Physician and Prosthetic Joint Infections. It has focus on the common and uncommon diseases most often seen in primary care practices. It puts key information at the reader's fingertips with diagnostic and treatment tables throughout the text. It reviews the clinical manifestations of each infections as well as recent advances in clinical microbiology. It features individual chapters on HIV, herpes virus, Lyme disease, and malaria. It examines infections of the central nervous system, heart and blood vessels, gastrointestinal tract, genitourinary system, respiratory tract, skeletal system, and the skin.
Call Number: R2Library (limit of 1 simultaneous user)
Publication Date: 2008, 2nd edition
Forgotten People, Forgotten Diseases by Peter J. HotezThe neglected tropical diseases (NTDs) are among the most common infections of the world's poorest people and have profound ramifications on affected populations, including physical, mental, social, and economic. This third edition of Forgotten People, Forgotten Diseases coincides with the third decade of the NTDs movement, which has given access to essential NTD preventative treatments and medications to more than 1 billion people. Professor Peter Hotez, MD, PhD, one of the founders of the NTD movement, discusses how the NTD space evolved and control was implemented against these ancient scourges, through alliances between nongovernmental development organizations and private-public partnerships. Forgotten People, Forgotten Diseases also Reports on the health and economic effects of the NTDs, and the challenges of measuring diseases that do not always kill, but adversely affect productivity, child development, pregnancy outcome, and economic development. Lays a roadmap for continued control of existing and newly identified NTDs and spotlights potential opportunities for reducing global poverty and "repairing the world." Describes a global initiative to provide annual mass drug administration for more than one billion people affected by NTDs. Highlights the role of innovation and product development partnerships for new treatments and vaccines. Explains how science and vaccine diplomacy ensure that a new generation of biotechnologies reaches the world's poorest people. Forgotten People, Forgotten Diseases remains an essential resource for anyone seeking insight into global advocacy coordination and mobilization of resources to combat NTDs and continues to tell the story of the world's people who live in extreme poverty and what it means for them to live with these devastating diseases. "Like Dr. Hotez, I have struggled with how to best get the word out about our need to address NTDs and their link to poverty. Now he has provided us all with a remarkable tool, a book for people without an extensive scientific or medical background. Forgotten People, Forgotten Diseases is an excellent 'one-stop' primer about NTDs."--Soledad O'Brien, Host, Matter of Fact with Soledad O'Brien
Call Number: Wiley (unlimited simultaneous users)
Publication Date: 2021, 3rd edition
Infectious Diseases: a Clinical Short Course by Frederick S. SouthwickMaster the principles of clinical infectious disease in 30 days or less! Infectious Diseases: A Clinical Short Course, Fourth Edition provides busy physicians, students, nurse practitioners, and PAs with the kind of concise overview they need to understand, diagnose, and treat common infectious diseases safely and effectively. Organized by system/region--as opposed to pathogens--to simulate the ways you encounter common pathogens and disorders in rounds or in practice, this new edition includes key updates and aligns content with information tested on the USMLE Step 2. By indicating the number of days you should spend on each chapter, the author has created a schedule for completion of each lesson. A wide array of tables summarizing the methods of clinical assessment, anti-infective agent doses, and drug toxicities--critical facts that do not require memorization, but need to be referred to when caring for patients--facilitate this condensed learning schedule. * Key Points summarize the most important facts you need to know when managing each infection and facilitate board review * Guiding Questions kick off each chapter * An estimate of the potential severity of each disease provides insight into how quickly you should initiate treatment * Case examples highlight real-world clinical application of the content * Dozens of color plates depict major pathogens * All chapters have been updated to reflect the most current treatment and diagnostic guidelines from the Infectious Diseases Society of America
The Immune Response to Infectious Diseases by Stefan H. E. Kaufmann; Barry T. Rouse (Editor); David Sacks; David L. Sacks (Editor)Examines the mechanisms of both the innate and adaptive immune systems as they relate to infection and disease. Explores the underlying mechanisms of immunity and the many sequelae of host-pathogen interactions, ranging from the sterile eradication of the invader, to controlled chronic infection, to pathologic corollaries of the host-pathogen crosstalk. Discusses the pathogenesis of certain autoimmune disorders and cancers that are induced by infectious agents but then become independent of the infection process. Serves as a resource for immunologists, molecular microbiologists, infectious disease clinicians, researchers, and students.
Call Number: R2Library (limit of 1 simultaneous user)
Publication Date: 2011, 1st edition
Red Book by MD, FAAP, Larry K Pickering (Editor); Baker (Associate Editor); MD, FAAP, David W Kimberlin (Associate Editor); MD, FAAP, Sarah S Long (Associate Editor)Consult the gold standard ID problem-solver. Extending a 7 decade tradition of excellence, the 2012 Red Book provides page after page of "must-know" information and practice-proven guidelines for state-of-the-art pediatric care. Turn here for today's most up to date, most reliable, most clinically useful findings on the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment of more than 200 childhood infectious diseases. Stay in step with all the latest and best. The new 29th edition's timely, topical coverage spans immunization...school health...blood safety...STIs...drug therapy...antimicrobial prophylaxis...diseases from anthrax and smallpox to West Nile virus, tuberculosis, influenza, and pneumococcal infections...plus much more. Rely on today's most trustworthy sources. Developed by the AAP Committee on Infectious Diseases, the Red Book includes contributions from hundreds of experienced practitioners. And its content is carefully reviewed by the CDC and FDA. So it is a resource you can always use with total confidence.
Call Number: R2Library (limit of 1 simultaneous user)
Publication Date: 2012, 29th edition
Red Book by David W. Kimberlin (Editor); Sarah S. Long (Associate Editor); Michael T. Brady (Associate Editor); Mary Anne Jackson (Associate Editor)Extending an 8-decade tradition of excellence, Red Book® provides the most reliable and clinically useful information on the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis and treatment of more than 200 childhood infectious diseases. The 31st edition provides evidence-based guidance to practicing clinicians on pediatric infections and vaccinations based on the recommendations of the committee as well as the combined expertise of the CDC, the FDA, and hundreds physician contributors. New in Red Book 2018: All chapters were assessed for relevance given the dynamic environment in pediatric medicine today and every chapter has been modified since the last edition 3 new chapters added (Chikungunya, Coagulase-Negative Staphylococcal Infections, and Zika). Standardized approaches to disease prevention through immunizations, antimicrobial prophylaxis, and infection-control practices have been updated throughout Recommendations for the use of doxycycline have been liberalized. References to evidence-based policy recommendations have been recommended Appropriate chapters have been updated to be consistent with 2018 AAP and CDC vaccine recommendations, CDC recommendations for immunization of health care personnel, and drug recommendations from 2018 Nelson's Pediatric Antimicrobial Therapy. Red Book® is an indispensable reference for pediatricians and pediatric infectious disease specialists and is useful for family medicine and emergency medicine physicians as well. Public health and school health professionals, medical residents, and students also will find it a high-yield source of pediatric infectious disease and vaccine information.
Call Number: EBSCO (unlimited simultaneous users)
Publication Date: 2018, 31st edition
Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology : a guide to clinical infectious diseases by Warren E. LevinsonAce your medical courses and pass the Boards with the most up-to-date review of medical microbiology and immunology Covering everything you need to know for academic and career success, Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology delivers a high-yield review of the most important aspects of the topic in a concise yet comprehensive style. It explores both the basic and clinical aspects of bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and immunology and discusses important infectious diseases using an organ system approach. With an effective mix of engaging text, color images, tables, figures, Q&As, and clinical vignettes, this is the proven, one-stop guide to mastering the application of microbiology and immunology to infectious diseases. * Facilitates any study objective or learning style * Essential for USMLE review and medical microbiology coursework * 650 USMLE-style practice questions * Complete USMLE-style practice exam * Pearls impart basic science necessary for passing the USMLE * 50 clinical cases illustrate the importance of basic science information in clinical diagnosis * Concise summaries of medically important organisms * Chapter-ending self-assessment questions with answers * Color images depict clinically important findings, such as infectious disease lesions * Gram stains of bacteria, electron micrographs of viruses, and microscopic images depict fungi, protozoa, and worms * Chapters on infectious diseases from an organ system perspective