Basic and Clinical Pharmacology by Bertram G. Katzung; Anthony J. TrevorMaster key pharmacological concepts and practices with the most comprehensive, authoritative guide available Presented in full-color and packed with hundreds of illustrations, Basic and Clinical Pharmacology is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades. Organized to reflect the course sequence in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, the guide covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. This edition has been extensively updated to provide expanded coverage of transporters, pharmacogenomics, and new drugs Delivers the knowledge and insight needed to excel in every facet of pharmacology!. Encompasses all aspects of medical pharmacology, including botanicals and over-the-counter drugs Major revisions of the chapters on immunopharmacology, antiseizure, antipsychotic, antidepressant, antidiabetic, anti-inflammatory, and antiviral drugs, prostaglandins, and central nervous system neurotransmitters New chapter on the increasingly relevant topic of cannabis pharmacology Each chapter opens with a case study, covers drug groups and prototypes, and closes with summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information Revised full-color illustrations provide more information about drug mechanisms and effects and help clarify important concepts Trade Name/Generic Name tables are provided at end of each chapter for easy reference when writing a chart order or prescription Includes descriptions of important new drugs released through May 2019 New and updated coverage of general concepts relating to recently discovered receptors, receptor mechanisms, and drug transporters
Burger's Medicinal Chemistry and Drug DiscoveryThis link opens in a new windowBurger's Medicinal Chemistry, Drug Discovery and Development provides a comprehensive source on medicinal chemistry and drug discovery and development. This authoritative resource incorporates the entire drug development cycle (preclinical testing, clinical trials, etc.), alongside medicinal chemistry and drug discovery.
Foye's Principles of Medicinal Chemistry by Victoria F. Roche; Thomas Lemke; David A. Williams; S. William ZitoWith expert contributions from experienced educators, research scientists and clinicians, Foye's Principles of Medicinal Chemistry, Eighth Edition is an invaluable resource for professional students, graduate students and pharmacy faculty alike. This 'gold standard' text explains the chemical basis of drug action, emphasizing the structure-activity relationships, physicochemical-pharmacokinetic properties, and metabolic profiles of the most commonly used drugs. Comprehensive coverage of the most cutting edge understanding of drug chemistry, organized and written for ready comprehension Extensively referenced to allow learners to explore areas of interest in greater depth Contemporary focus on drugs viewed by practitioners as the most clinically important in today's health care environment Clinical Significance testimonials that provide a clinician's view of the relevance of medicinal chemistry to practice Science-practice interface made explicit through drug monographs that highlight therapeutic indications, adverse reactions and drug-drug interactions End-of-Chapter exercises that allow learners to test their understanding and recall of key concepts eBook available . Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more
Call Number: Boards, Rotations and Texts (former SASSI collection)
Publication Date: 2020, 8th edition
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics by Laurence Brunton; Bjorn Knollmann; Randa Hilal-DandanThe gold-standard of pharmacology texts - completely updated to reflect the latest research and developments A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, Thirteenth Edition represents the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. Goodman & Gilman's careful balance of basic science and clinical application has guided thousands of practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing, and treating disease. The Thirteenth Edition includes more than 500 color illustrations, with many new figures emphasizing mechanisms of drug action. More than 30 new contributors have added to this edition, while the focus on basic principles is undiminished. This edition is enhanced by timely new content: * NEW chapters including Treatment of Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension, Immunity and Inflammation, Immunoglobulins and Vaccines, and Treatment of Viral Hepatitis * Expanded coverage of cardiovascular disease, with separate chapters on myocardial ischemia, hypertension, and heart failure * Increased emphasis on cellular signaling pathways involved in drug action * Summary tables at the end of each chapter that organize drugs discussed in that chapter into relevant categories and detail therapeutic usage, clinical pharmacology, and tips * Chapter Content Outlines at the beginning of each chapter * Abbreviation boxes in every chapter to easily identify the abbreviations appearing in that chapter More than a textbook, Goodman & Gilman's is a working template for the effective and rational prescribing of drugs in daily practice.
Handbook of Nonprescription Drugs Quick Reference by Cortney Mospan (Editor); Miranda Wilhelm (Editor)This book provides a succinct summary of the most common self-care conditions for which community pharmacists provide treatment recommendations. It presents the most essential information that is needed in the OTC aisle to assess if patients are candidates for self-care. Appropriate treatment recommendations are also indicated based on the patient's presentation, current medications, and chronic conditions. The chapters are presented in the QuEST SCHOLAR-MAC format, providing a standardized process to help student pharmacists and practitioners quickly assess and treat their patients in the community pharmacy. Key Features:¿ Indicates how to use QuEST SCHOLAR during patient assessment to make self-care decisions¿ Emphasizes specific nonprescription interventions¿ Provides key drug information about nonprescription medicines by condition¿ Contains only necessary and most-essential information for practice¿ Highly readable and jargon-free for use in the OTC aisle
Call Number: EBSCO (limit of 1 simultaneous user)
Publication Date: 2019
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by Stephen L. Hauser; Dan L. Longo; Joseph Loscalzo; J. Larry Jameson; Anthony S. Fauci; Dennis L. KasperIntroducing the Landmark Twentieth Edition of the Global Icon of Internal Medicine The definitive guide to internal medicine is more essential than ever with the latest in disease mechanisms, updated clinical trial results and recommended guidelines, state-of-the art radiographic images, therapeutic approaches and specific treatments, hundreds of demonstrative full-color drawings, and practical clinical decision trees and algorithms A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Recognized by healthcare professionals worldwide as the leading authority on applied pathophysiology and clinical medicine, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine gives you the informational foundation you need to provide the best patient care possible. Essential for practice and education, the landmark 20th Edition features: Thoroughly revised content--covering the many new breakthroughs and advances in clinical medicine that have occurred since the last edition of Harrison's. Chapters on acute and chronic hepatitis, management of diabetes, immune-based therapies in cancer, multiple sclerosis, cardiovascular disease, HIV, and many more, deliver the very latest information on disease mechanisms, diagnostic options, and the specific treatment guidance you need to provide optimal patient care. State-of-the-art coverage of disease mechanisms: Harrison's focuses on pathophysiology with rigor, and with the goal of linking disease mechanisms to treatments. Improved understanding of how diseases develop and progress not only promotes better decision-making and higher value care, but also makes for fascinating reading and improved retention. Harrison's summarizes important new basic science developments, such as the role of mitochondria in programmed and necrotic cell death, the immune system's role in cancer development and treatment, the impact of telomere shortening in the aging and disease processes, and the role of the microbiome in health and disease. Understanding the role of inflammation in cardiovascular disease, the precise mechanisms of immune deficiency in HIV/AIDS, prions and misfolded proteins in neurodegenerative diseases, and obesity as a predisposition to diabetes are just a few examples of how this edition provides essential pathophysiology information for health professionals. All-new sections covering a wide range of new and emerging areas of vital interest to all healthcare professionals. New sections include: Sex and Gender-based Issues in Medicine; Obesity, Diabetes Mellitus, and Metabolic Syndrome; and Consultative Medicine-- Plus, a new Part covering cutting-edge topics in research and clinical medicine includes great new chapters on the role of Epigenetics in Health and Disease, Behavioral Strategies to Improve Health, Genomics and Infectious Diseases, Emerging Neuro-Therapeutic Technologies, and Telomere Function in Health and Disease, and Network System Medicine. Important and timely new chapters--such as Promoting Good Health, LGBT Health, Systems of Healthcare, Approach to Medical Consultation, Pharmacogenomics, Antimicrobial Resistance, Worldwide Changes in Patterns of Infectious Diseases, Neuromyelitis Optica, and more--offer the very latest, definitive perspectives on must-know topics in medical education and practice. Updated clinical guidelines, expert opinions, and treatment approaches from renowned editors and authors contribute to the accuracy and immediacy of the text material and present a clear blueprint for optimizing patien
Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases by John E. Bennett; Raphael Dolin; Martin J. BlaserFor four decades, physicians and other healthcare providers have trusted Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases to provide expert guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of these complex disorders. The 9th Edition continues the tradition of excellence with newly expanded chapters, increased global coverage, and regular updates to keep you at the forefront of this vitally important field. Meticulously updated by Drs. John E. Bennett, Raphael Dolin, and Martin J. Blaser, this comprehensive, two-volume masterwork puts the latest information on challenging infectious diseases at your fingertips. Provides more in-depth coverage of epidemiology, etiology, pathology, microbiology, immunology, and treatment of infectious agents than any other infectious disease resource. Features an increased focus on antibiotic stewardship; new antivirals for influenza, cytomegalovirus, hepatitis C, hepatitis B., and immunizations; and new recommendations for vaccination against infection with pneumococci, papillomaviruses, hepatitis A, and pertussis. Covers newly recognized enteroviruses causing paralysis (E-A71, E-D68); emerging viral infections such as Ebola, Zika, Marburg, SARS, and MERS; and important updates on prevention and treatment of C. difficile infection, including new tests that diagnose or falsely over-diagnose infectious diseases. Offers fully revised content on bacterial pathogenesis, antibiotic use and toxicity, the human microbiome and its effects on health and disease, immunological mechanisms and immunodeficiency, and probiotics and alternative approaches to treatment of infectious diseases. Discusses up-to-date topics such as use of the new PCR panels for diagnosis of meningitis, diarrhea and pneumonia; current management of infected orthopedic implant infections; newly recognized infections transmitted by black-legged ticks in the USA: Borrelia miyamotoi and Powassan virus; infectious complications of new drugs for cancer; new drugs for resistant bacteria and mycobacteria; new guidelines for diagnosis and therapy of HIV infections; and new vaccines against herpes zoster, influenza, meningococci. PPID continues its tradition of including leading experts from a truly global community, including authors from Australia, Canada and countries in Europe, Asia, and South America. Includes regular updates online for the life of the edition. Features more than 1,500 high-quality, full-color photographs-with hundreds new to this edition. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs by Jeffrey K. Aronson (Editor)Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs: The International Encyclopedia of Adverse Drug Reactions and Interactions, Sixteenth Edition builds on the success of the 15 previous editions, providing an extensively reorganized and expanded resource that now comprises more than 1,500 individual drug articles with the most complete coverage of adverse reactions and interactions found anywhere. Each article contains detailed and authoritative information about the adverse effects of each drug, with comprehensive references to the primary literature, making this a must-have reference work for any academic or medical library, pharmacologist, regulatory organization, hospital dispensary, or pharmaceutical company. The online version of the book provides an unparalleled depth of coverage and functionality by offering convenient desktop access and enhanced features such as increased searchability, extensive internal cross-linking, and fully downloadable and printable full-text, HTML or PDF articles. Enhanced encyclopedic format with drug monographs now organized alphabeticallyCompletely expanded coverage of each drug, with more than 1,500 drug articles and information on adverse reactions and interactionsClearer, systematic organization of information for easier reading, including case histories to provide perspective on each listingExtensive bibliography with over 40,000 referencesA must-have reference work for any academic or medical library, pharmacologist, regulatory organization, hospital dispensary, or pharmaceutical company
Pathophysiology of Disease: an Introduction to Clinical Medicine by Gary D. Hammer; Stephen J. McPheePublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A full-color case-based review of the essentials of pathophysiology covering all major organs and systems More than 130 case studies with Q&A A Doody's Core Title for 2019! The goal of this trusted text is to introduce you to clinical medicine by reviewing the pathophysiologic basis of 132 diseases (and associated signs and symptoms) commonly encountered in medical practice. The authors, all experts in their respective fields, have provided a concise review of relevant normal structure and function of each body system, followed by a description of the pathophysiologic mechanisms that underlie several common diseases related to that system. The accessible presentation features high-quality full-color illustrations, and numerous tables and diagrams. Each chapter of Pathophysiology of Disease concludes with a collection of case studies and questions designed to test your understanding of the pathophysiology of each clinical entity discussed. These case studies allow you to apply your knowledge to specific clinical situations. Detailed answers to each case study question are provided at the end of the book. This unique interweaving of physiological and pathological concepts will put you on the path toward thinking about signs and symptoms in terms of their pathophysiologic basis, giving you an understanding of the "why" behind illness and treatment. HERE ARE SOME OF THE MANY UPDATES AND ADDITIONS: * Twelve additional case studies, bringing the total to 132, one for each of the clinical entities discussed in the book's 24 chapters * More than 2/3 of the chapters are enhanced and refreshed by the input of new contributors * Totally revised chapter on neoplasia * New chapter sections on urticaria, spinocerebellar ataxia, idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, and spondyloarthropathies * New tables summarizing adverse prognostic signs in acute pancreatitis, genetic syndromes associated with pancreatic cancer, and causes of end-stage renal disease * New diagnosis and etiologic classification of diabetes mellitus, and review of mechanisms of newest pharmacologic agents for its treatment * Updates on fine-needle aspiration biopsy of thyroid nodules, and thyroid disorders in pregnancy * Updated references throughout the book
Pediatric Injectable Drugs : The Teddy Bear Book by Stephanie J. Phelps, Tracy M. Hagemann, Kelley R$. Lee, and A. Jill ThompsonPediatric Injectable Drugs, also known as "The Teddy Bear Book," is one of the ASHP's most recognized and trusted resources dedicated to helping pharmacists treat pediatric patients with injectable drugs. For more than 20 years, pharmacists and hospital pediatric teams have looked to Pediatric Injectable Drugs (The Teddy Bear Book) for the most comprehensive research-based information on pediatric intravenous infusions. Now for the first time since 2013, a new edition of this trusted resource is available! The "Teddy Bear Book", is the only reference of its kind that focuses on the unique issues that pediatric practitioners face when dealing with pediatric injectable drugs, such as limited fluid amounts, limited intravenous sites, and maximum doses. The updated edition of this comprehensive resource by respected editors Stephanie J. Phelps, PharmD, BCPS, Kelley R. Lee, PharmD, Amanda Jill Thompson, PharmD, and Tracy M. Hagemann, PharmD, FCCP, includes 15 new monographs and updates based on the latest evidence-backed literature.
The Pharmacist's Guide to Evidence-Based Medicine for Clinical Decision Making by Patrick J. Bryant (Editor); Heather Pace (Editor)While most practicing pharmacists are familiar with the term and the general concept of evidence-based medicine, few are adequately trained in the clinical application of these skills. Developed to give clinical pharmacists an edge, this book provides a practical approach for applying sound EBM principles to your clinical decision making process. Decision making based on personal experience alone, without knowledge from well-designed, controlled, randomized trials with adequate sample size, often overestimates the efficacy and underestimates the safety risks associated with drugs. This book provides a roadmap that is instructional and, most importantly, practical for the pharmacist so these new skills can be applied immediately in practice. Based on a five-step process perfected over ten years at the University of Missouri, Kansas City, School of Pharmacy, this exciting new approach will: Reduce complexity; Shorten time for decision making support; Maintain rigor; Categorize quality of the evidence in a simple, straightforward, and logical manner; Provide a process designed specifically for pharmacists making drug therapy decisions. Use of examples, tables, diagrams, and key points highlighted throughout the book and summarized at the end of each chapter provide the pharmacist with skills they can implement the next day to begin applying EBM principles to their practice.
Call Number: EBSCO (limit of 3 simultaneous users)
Publication Date: 2009
Pharmacotherapy: a Pathophysiologic Approach, Eleventh Edition by Joseph T. DiPiro; Gary C. Yee; L. Michael Posey; Stuart T. Haines; Thomas D. Nolin; Vicki EllingrodThe classic guide to driving optimal patient outcomes using evidence-based medication therapies--updated with the latest advances and guidelines A Doody's Core Title for 2020!ALL E-CHAPTERS (ONLINE ONLY CHAPTERS) NOW AVAILABLE FREE go to https://accesspharmacy.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookID=2577 Presented in full color, Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach, 11th Edition helps you deliver the highest-quality patient care through evidence-based medication therapy derived from sound pharmacotherapeutic principles. It takes you beyond drug indications and dosages, showing how to properly select, administer, and monitor drugs--everything you need to provide safe, effective drug therapy across all therapeutic categories. With all-new monitoring tables and authoritative content from 300 expert contributors, this new edition has been fully updated to reflect the latest evidence-based information and recommendations. You'll find Key Concepts at the beginning of each chapter, Clinical Presentation tables that summarize disease signs and symptoms, and Clinical Controversies boxes that examine the complicated issues faced by students and clinicians in providing drug therapy. Why Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach is perfect for students, pharmacists, and other healthcare providers: * All chapters provide the most current, reliable, and relevant information available. * Key concepts kick off every chapter. * Clinical Presentation Tables summarize disease signs and symptoms. * The majority of sections include personalized pharmacotherapy content. * Clinical Controversies Boxes clarify the most complex drug therapy issues you'll face. * Diagnostic flow diagrams, treatment algorithms, dosing recommendations, and monitoring approaches have been updated in full color to distinguish treatment pathways. * Most disease-oriented chapters are enhanced by updated evidence-based treatment guidelines, which often include ratings of the level of evidence to support key therapeutic approaches. * Instructors who adopt this text are eligible for a PowerPoint presentation of all images and answers to Self-Assessment Questions! The most trusted guide of its kind for decades, Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach is the go-to text for students and practitioners seeking clear, objective coverage of core pathophysiologic and therapeutic elements.
Pharmacy Practice and the Law by Richard R. Abood; Kimberly A. BurnsThe Ninth Edition of the best-selling text, Pharmacy Practice and the Law goes beyond preparation for the board exam, helping students understand and critically analyze the law that governs both the profession and the products they distribute. The Ninth Edition continues to include the most up to date federal, legal, regulatory, policy developments, as well as new developments to various medical/pharmaceutical programs. Challenging, open-ended discussion questions and edited cases are included in every chapter to facilitate discussion and critical thinking. Critical issues are discussed in non-legal, easy-to-understand language. Pharmacy Practice and the Law, Ninth Edition is the most comprehensive and engaging resource for teaching the facts of federal pharmacy law and for encouraging critical thinking and analysis on the issues.
Call Number: EBSCO (limit of 3 simultaneous users)
Publication Date: 2020, 9th edition
Pharmacy Practice Skills: A Guide for Students and InstructorsThe book provides pharmacy educators, increasingly involved in team teaching, examples of class and experiential activities that have been shown to work in engaging students and promoting effective learning strategies. It should hopefully serve as an invaluable resource to all faculties under a swiftly evolving educational paradigm giving good quality peer-reviewed activities for faculty to use in their classrooms. It is designed to help junior faculty without much history to guide their teaching or for more seasoned faculty who have come to appreciate the need to alter their teaching approaches. Instead of re-inventing the wheel, just change a couple of the spokes. The editors of this text understand that there may be varying resources at other institution that prevent instructors from replicating each activity in its entirety, but we hope faculty will be able to adapt each activity based on their resources and needs.
Call Number: No longer available via SASSI, 1 copy missing; now in 4th edition, 2016, checking ebook availability via OVID / LWW
Publication Date: 2008, 2nd edition
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease by Vinay Kumar; Abul K. Abbas; Jon C. AsterReadable and highly illustrated, Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th Edition presents an in-depth, state-of-the-art overview of human diseases and their cellular and molecular basis. This best-selling text delivers the latest, most essential pathology knowledge in a readable, interesting manner, ensuring optimal understanding of the latest basic science and clinical content. More than 1,000 high-quality photographs and full-color illustrations highlight new information in molecular biology, disease classifications, new drugs and drug therapies, and much more. This superb learning package also includes an enhanced eBook with a full complement of ancillary content on Student Consult. Access to this product, which may be at the discretion of your institution, is up to 3 years of online and perpetual offline access. Elsevier reserves the right to restrict or remove access due to changes in product portfolio or other market conditions. Provides uniquely authoritative and readable coverage, ideal for USMLE or specialty board preparation, as well as for coursework. Covers the hot topics you need to know about, including novel therapies for hepatitis C, classification of lymphomas, unfolded protein response, non-apoptotic pathways of cell death, coronavirus infections, liquid biopsy for cancer detection, regulation of iron absorption, clonal hematopoiesis and atherosclerosis, thrombotic microangiopathies, heparin-induced thrombocytopenias, inflammatory myopathies, genetic tools for treatment of cystic fibrosis, and many more. Uses an outstanding full-color, user-friendly design to simplify your study and quickly direct you to the information you need to know, with learning features such as boldface overviews at the beginning of each section, key concepts boxes, suggested readings, schematic diagrams that illustrate complex concepts, and new gross and microscopic figures for clarity of morphology. Brings you up to date with the latest information in molecular and genetic testing, mechanisms of disease, personalized medicine and its impact on treatment of human diseases, the role of microbiome and metabolome in non-communicable diseases, and much more. Provides access to a wealth of interactive ancillaries online: pathology case studies, videos, self-assessment questions, Targeted Therapy boxes that discuss drug therapy for specific diseases, interactive cases, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy by David N. GilbertErrata Notice: Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy 2016: Print Edition Content Notices (shipped prior to 5/11/16) Antibacterial Activity Spectra (Table 4, p78): A column shift caused activity data to be displayed incorrectly for Linezolid, Tedizolid, Rifampin (combination), TMP-SMX, Fosfomycin and Metronidazole vs. Anaerobic gram-positive bacteria (the lower right quadrant of the page). A sticker is available to replace the page: http: //www.sanfor dguide.com/support/errata
Call Number: R2Library (limit of 1 simultaneous user)