The Elements of Style by
You know the authors' names. You recognize the title. You've probably used this book yourself. This is The Elements of Style, the classic style manual, now in a fourth edition. A new Foreword by Roger Angell reminds readers that the advice of Strunk & White is as valuable today as when it was first offered.This book's unique tone, wit and charm have conveyed the principles of English style to millions of readers. Use the fourth edition of "the little book" to make a big impact with writing.
Essentials of Writing Biomedical Research Papers by
Provides immediate help for anyone preparing a biomedical paper by givin specific advice on organizing the components of the paper, effective writing techniques, writing an effective results sections, documentation issues, sentence structure and much more. The new edition includes new examples from the current literature including many involving molecular biology, expanded exercises at the end of the book, revised explanations on linking key terms, transition clauses, uses of subheads, and emphases. If you plan to do any medical writing, read this book first and get an immediate advantage.
Grant Seeking in Higher Education by
Written for anyone in higher education who is responsible for submitting and running a grant-funded project, Grant Seeking in Higher Education offers a hands-on resource for developing and managing the grant process from start to finish. Step by step, the authors will help you to identify and sort through potential sponsors, tap into campus support that is already in place, and prepare to write a targeted grant proposal that can generate results. Once you have completed the research, the book outlines the keys to writing a winning proposal, including an effective proposal narrative, thorough budget, and readable proposal package. To give grant seekers an extra edge, the book contains a toolkit of tested materials. These proven tools--templates, examples, and cheat sheets--are designed to help you approach your project as a grants professional would. Grant Seeking in Higher Education also spotlights the need for academic leaders to create a campuswide culture that fosters efficient and effective grant seeking. Praise for Grant Seeking in Higher Education "This book realistically provides great advice on proposal development and grants management. Additionally, readers receive a bonus as the authors have included some very helpful tools and templates that have assisted them in their grant endeavors." --Gail Vertz, chief executive officer, Grant Professionals Association "This book is well researched, especially with regard to issues of collaboration, helpfully organized, and chock-full of practical advice--a must-have for any research development professional's bookcase!" --Holly Falk-Krzesinski, founding president, National Organization of Research Development Professionals (NORDP)
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper by
Now thoroughly updated and expanded, this new edition of a classic guide offers practical advice on preparing and publishing journal articles as well as succeeding in other communication-related aspects of a scientific career. * Provides practical, easy-to-read, and immediately applicable guidance on preparing each part of a scientific paper: from the title and abstract, through each section of the main text, to the acknowledgments and references * Explains step by step how to decide to which journal to submit a paper, what happens to a paper after submission, and how to work effectively with a journal throughout the publication process * Includes key advice on other communication important to success in scientific careers, such as giving presentations and writing proposals * Presents an insightful insider's view of how journals actually work-and describes how best to work with them
On Writing Well by
On Writing Well has been praised for its sound advice, its clarity and the warmth of its style. It is a book for everybody who wants to learn how to write or who needs to do some writing to get through the day, as almost everybody does in the age of e-mail and the Internet. Whether you want to write about people or places, science and technology, business, sports, the arts or about yourself in the increasingly popular memoir genre, On Writing Well offers you fundamental priciples as well as the insights of a distinguished writer and teacher. With more than a million copies sole, this volume has stood the test of time and remains a valuable resource for writers and would-be writers.
Science Research Writing by
This book is designed to enable non-native English speakers to write science research for publication in English. It can also be used by English speakers and is a practical, user-friendly book intended as a fast, do-it-yourself guide for those whose English language proficiency is above intermediate. The approach is based on material developed from teaching graduate students at Imperial College London and has been extensively piloted. The book guides the reader through the process of writing science research and will also help with writing a Master's or Doctoral thesis in English.Science writing is much easier than it looks because the structure and language are conventional. The aim of this book is to help the reader discover a template or model for science research writing and then to provide the grammar and vocabulary tools needed to operate that model. There are five units: Introduction, Methodology, Results, Discussion/Conclusion and Abstract. The reader develops a model for each section of the research article through sample texts and exercises; this is followed by a Grammar and Writing Skills section designed to respond to frequently-asked questions as well as a Vocabulary list including examples of how the words and phrases are to be used.
Scientific English by
This entertaining and highly readable book gives anyone writing in the sciences a clear and easy-to-follow guide to the English language. * Includes cartoons and humorous illustrations that help reinforce important concepts * Provides a glossary that allows readers to easily reference the meanings of grammatical terms used in the book * Incorporates a wide variety of quotations to provide humor, make points, or reinforce key concepts * Includes an entire chapter on electronic media as well as new material on self-editing
Writing in the Biological Sciences by
Practical and easy to use, Writing in the Biological Sciences provides students with all of the techniques and information they need to communicate their scientific ideas, insights, and discoveries. Angelika H. Hofmann introduces students to the underlying principles and guidelines ofprofessional scientific writing and then teaches them how to apply these methods when composing essential forms of scientific writing and communication.Ideal as a free-standing textbook for courses on writing in the biological sciences - or as an accompanying text or reference guide in courses and laboratories with writing-intensive components - this indispensable handbook gives students the tools they need to succeed in their undergraduate sciencecareers and beyond.
Writing Science by
As a scientist, you are a professional writer: your career is built on successful proposals and papers. Success isn't defined by getting papers into print, but by getting them into the reader's consciousness. Writing Science is built upon the idea that successful science writing tells a story.It uses that insight to discuss how to write more effectively. Integrating lessons from other genres of writing with those from the author's years of experience as author, reviewer, and editor, the book shows scientists and students how to present their research in a way that is clear and that willmaximize reader comprehension.The book takes an integrated approach, using the principles of story structure to discuss every aspect of successful science writing, from the overall structure of a paper or proposal to individual sections, paragraphs, sentences, and words. It begins by building core arguments, analyzing why somestories are engaging and memorable while others are quickly forgotten, and proceeds to the elements of story structure, showing how the structures scientists and researchers use in papers and proposals fit into classical models. The book targets the internal structure of a paper, explaining how towrite clear and professional sections, paragraphs, and sentences in a way that is clear and compelling. The ideas within a paper should flow seamlessly, drawing readers along. The final section of the book deals with special challenges, such as how to discuss research limitations and how to writefor the public. Writing Science is a much-needed guide to succeeding in modern science. Its insights and strategies will equip science students, scientists, and professionals across a wide range of scientific and technical fields with the tools needed to communicate effectively.
Writing the NIH Grant Proposal by
Authors William Gerin, Christine Kapelewski, and Niki L. Page are here to help you secure NIH funding for your research! Writing the NIH Grant Proposal, Third Edition offers hands-on advice that simplifies, demystifies, and takes the fear out of writing a federal grant application. Acting as a virtual mentor, this book provides systematic guidance for every step of the NIH application process, including the administrative details, developing and managing collaborative relationships, budgeting, and building a research team. Helpful hints along the way provide tips from researchers who have received grants themselves. New to this Edition: Much more user-friendly in response to the updated NIH website Covers the new Application Submission System & Interface for Submission Tracking (ASSIST) online submission form for both single and multiple projects Revamped advice on substantive sections of the proposal to address lowered page allowance Coverage of the new scoring system and reviewer reporting system Coverage of the usage and submission of the new SF 424 forms