Essentials of Stem Cell Biology by
First developed as an accessible abridgement of the successful Handbook of Stem Cells, Essentials of Stem Cell Biology serves the needs of the evolving population of scientists, researchers, practitioners and students that are embracing the latest advances in stem cells. Representing the combined effort of seven editors and more than 200 scholars and scientists whose pioneering work has defined our understanding of stem cells, this book combines the prerequisites for a general understanding of adult and embryonic stem cells with a presentation by the world's experts of the latest research information about specific organ systems. From basic biology/mechanisms, early development, ectoderm, mesoderm, endoderm, methods to application of stem cells to specific human diseases, regulation and ethics, and patient perspectives, no topic in the field of stem cells is left uncovered.
The Human Microbiota by
The Human Microbiota offers a comprehensive review of all human-associated microbial niches in a single volume, focusing on what modern tools in molecular microbiology are revealing about human microbiota, and how specific microbial communities can be associated with either beneficial effects or diseases. An excellent resource for microbiologists, physicians, infectious disease specialists, and others in the field, the book describes the latest research findings and evaluates the most innovative research approaches and technologies. Perspectives from pioneers in human microbial ecology are provided throughout.
Jawetz Melnick & Adelbergs Medical Microbiology 28 E by
Understand the clinically relevant aspects of microbiology with this student-acclaimed, full-color review --- bolstered by case studies and hundreds of USMLE®-style review questions Since 1954, Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology has been hailed by students, instructors, and clinicians as the single-best resource for understanding the roles microorganisms play in human health and illness. Concise and fully up to date, this trusted classic links fundamental principles with the diagnosis and treatment of microbial infections. Along with brief descriptions of each organism, you will find vital perspectives on pathogenesis, diagnostic laboratory tests, clinical findings, treatment, and epidemiology. The book also includes an entire chapter of case studies that focuses on differential diagnosis and management of microbial infections. Here's why Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology is essential for USMLE® review: * 640+ USMLE-style review questions * 350+ illustrations * 140+ tables * 22 case studies to sharpen your differential diagnosis and management skills * An easy-to-access list of medically important microorganisms * Coverage that reflects the latest techniques in laboratory and diagnostic technologies * Full-color images and micrographs * Chapter-ending summaries * Chapter concept checks Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology, Twenty-Eighth Edition effectively introduces you to basic clinical microbiology through the fields of bacteriology, mycology, and parasitology, giving you a thorough yet understandable review of the discipline. Begin your review with it and see why there is nothing as time tested or effective.
Molecular Typing in Bacterial Infections by
Molecular Typing in Bacterial Infections covers common bacterial pathogenic agents, with the most effective methods for their identification and classification in the light of their specific epidemiology. The book will be a valuable resource for molecular typing of infectious diseases agents encountered in both the research and hospital clinical lab settings, as well as culture collections. Each chapter provides an overview of molecular approaches to typing bacterial pathogens. Part I gives a general overview of typing methods used in the traditional microbiology laboratory in comparison to molecular methods of epidemiology. In Part II, the relative strengths and weaknesses of the different methods applicable to the specific agents of infectious diseases are emphasized. Specific emphasis is placed on recent changes and updates in molecular typing.
Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology by
Technological advances have taken testing and imaging to remarkable new places--yet establishing patient history and performing physical examinations are more important now than ever. This classic guide has been showing students and clinicians how to approach the diagnostic process thoughtfully and systematically for decades--and this revised edition brings you completely up to date. Part physical examination primer, part differential diagnosis tool, DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination provides the information and insights you need to make accurate, evidence-based diagnostic hypotheses. Covering all physical exam techniques and procedures, this updated edition shows how to collect clinical findings gleaned from the physical examination and synthesize them into a differential diagnosis. * Covers the latest developments in evidence-based physical examinations * Explains how to obtain a complete patient history and perform a thorough physical exam * Organized by signs, symptoms, and syndromes to make finding what you need quick and easy * Connects symptoms and signs with disease pathophysiology * Facilitates efficient, cost-effective diagnostic testing using focused differential diagnoses This classic guide continues to effectively combine current diagnostic practices with the unchanging aspects of clinical medicine.
Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology by
The most concise, clinically relevant, and current review of medical microbiology and immunology Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology is a succinct, high-yield review of the medically important aspects of microbiology and immunology. It covers both the basic and clinical aspects of bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and immunology and also discusses important infectious diseases using an organ system approach. The book emphasizes the real-world clinical application of microbiology and immunology to infectious diseases and offers a unique mix of narrative text, color images, tables and figures, Q&A, and clinical vignettes. * Content is valuable to any study objective or learning style * Essential for USMLE review and medical microbiology coursework * 650 USMLE-style practice questions test your knowledge and understanding * 50 clinical cases illustrate the importance of basic science information in clinical diagnosis * A complete USMLE-style practice exam consisting of 80 questions helps you prepare for the exam * Pearls impart important basic science information helpful in answering questions on the USMLE * Concise summaries of medically important organisms * Self-assessment questions with answers appear at the end of each chapter * Color images depict clinically important findings, such as infectious disease lesions * Gram stains of bacteria, electron micrographs of viruses, and microscopic images depict fungi, protozoa, and worms * Chapters on infectious diseases from an organ system perspective
Ryan & Sherris Medical Microbiology, Eighth Edition by
The most dynamic, comprehensive, and student-friendly text on the nature of microorganisms and the fascinating processes they employ in producing infections disease A Doody's Core Title For more than a quarter-of-a-century, no other text has explained the link between microbiology and human disease states better than Sherris Medical Microbiology. Through a vibrant, engaging approach, this classic gives readers a solid grasp of the significance of etiologic agents, the pathogenic processes, epidemiology, and the basis of therapy for infectious diseases. Part I opens with a chapter that explains the nature of infection and the infectious agents at the level of a general reader. The following four chapters give more detail on the immunologic, diagnostic, and epidemiologic nature of infection with minimal detail about the agents themselves. Parts II through V form the core of the text with chapters on the major viral, bacterial, fungal, and parasitic diseases, and each begins with its own chapters on basic biology, pathogenesis, and antimicrobial agents. Chapters that simply and clearly describe the strains of viruses, bacteria, fungi, and parasites that can bring about infectious diseases Explanations of host-parasite relationship, dynamics of infection, and host response A clinical case with USMLE-style questions concludes each chapter on the major viral, bacterial, fungal, and parasitic diseases All tables, photographs, and illustrations are in full color Clinical Capsules cover the essence of the disease(s) caused by major pathogens Margin Notes highlight key points within a paragraph to facilitate review In addition to the chapter-ending case questions, a collection of 100 practice questions is also included STUDENT-DRIVEN STUDY AIDS Study aids are the product of a Student Advisory Group Boxed narrative OVERVIEW opening each disease-oriented chapter or major section, Highlighted MARGINAL NOTES judged to be "high yield" for Step 1 preparation Bulleted lists of KEY CONCLUSIONS at the end of major sections. A THINK ➔ APPLY feature randomly inserts thought-provoking questions into the body of the text, which are answered at the bottom of the page. These new features are explained in detail and illustrated on pages iv and v. The back of the book includes two more review tools: o Infectious Diseases: Syndromes and Etiologies is a set of tables that brings together the infectious agents (viruses, bacteria, fungi, parasites) discussed separately in Parts II through V as probable causes of the major infection syndromes (pneumonia, arthritis, diarrhea, etc. o 100 Practice Questions are in USMLE format and in addition to the ones at the end of earlier chapters.
This link opens in a new window
Sherris Medical Microbiology by
The most dynamic, comprehensive, and student-friendly text on the nature of microorganisms and the fascinating processes they employ in producing infections disease A Doody's Core Title for 2019! For more than a quarter-of-a-century, no other text has explained the link between microbiology and human disease states better than Sherris Medical Microbiology, Seventh Edition. Through a vibrant, engaging approach, this classic gives readers a solid grasp of the significance of etiologic agents, the pathogenic processes, epidemiology, and the basis of therapy for infectious diseases. Part I of Sherris Medical Microbiology opens with a non-technical chapter that explains the nature of infection and the infection agents. The following four chapters provide more detail about the immune response to infection and the prevention, epidemiology, and diagnosis of infectious disease. Parts II through V form the core of the text with chapters on the major viral, bacterial, fungal, and parasitic diseases. Each of these sections opens with chapters on basic biology, pathogenesis, and antimicrobial agents. No other text clarifies the link between microbiology and human disease states like Sherris. * 57 chapters that simply and clearly describe the strains of viruses, bacteria, fungi, and parasites that can bring about infectious diseases * Explanations of host-parasite relationship, dynamics of infection, and host response * A clinical cases with USMLE-style questions concludes each chapter on the major viral, bacterial, fungal, and parasitic diseases * All tables, photographs, and illustrations are in full color * Clinical Capsules cover the essence of the disease(s) caused by major pathogens * Margin Notes highlight key points within a paragraph to facilitate review * In addition to the chapter-ending case questions, a collection of 100 practice questions is also included
Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry, Thirty-Second Edition by
Gain a thorough understanding of the principles of biochemistry as they relate to clinical medicine The Thirty-Second Edition of Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry combines top-quality full-color illustrations with authoritative integrated coverage of biochemical disease and clinical information. Featuring numerous medically relevant examples, this respected text presents a clear, succinct review of the fundamentals that every student must understand in order to succeed in medical school. All 58 chapters help you understand the medical relevance of biochemistry. Full-color presentation with 600+ illustrations Chapters have been updated to reflect the latest information Case studies emphasize the clinical relevance of biochemistry Review questions follow each of the 11 sections Boxed objectives define the goals of each chapter Tables encapsulate important information Each chapter contains a section on biomedical importance and a summary of the topics covered Applauded by medical students for its current and engaging style, Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry is an essential for USMLE review and the single best reference for learning the clinical relevance of any biochemistry topic.
This link opens in a new window
Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry by
Gain a full understanding of the principles of biochemistry as it relates to clinical medicine A Doody's Core Title for 2019! The Thirty-First Edition of Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry continues to emphasize the link between biochemistry and the understanding of disease states, disease pathology, and the practice of medicine. Featuring a full-color presentation and numerous medically relevant examples, Harper's presents a clear, succinct review of the fundamentals of biochemistry that every student must understand in order to succeed in medical school. All 58 chapters help you understand the medical relevance of biochemistry: * Full-color presentation includes more than 600 illustrations * Case studies emphasize the clinical relevance of biochemistry * NEW CHAPTER on Biochemistry of Transition Metals addresses the importance and overall pervasiveness of transition metals * Review Questions follow each of the eleven sections * Boxed Objectives define the goals of each chapter * Tables encapsulate important information * Every chapter includes a section on the biomedical importance of a given topic NEW TO THIS EDITION: * Emphasis throughout on the integral relationship between biochemistry and disease, diagnostic pathology, and medical practice * Hundreds of references to disease states throughout * New chapter addressing the biochemical roles of transition metals * Many updated review questions * Frequent tables summarizing key links to disease states * New text on cryo-electron microscopy (cryo-EM) * Cover picture of the protein structure of the Zika virus, solved by cryo-EM Applauded by medical students and online reviewers for its currency and engaging style, Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry is essential for USMLE® review and the single-best reference for learning the clinical relevance of any biochemistry topic.
High-Yield Q&a Review for USMLE Step 1: Biochemistry and Genetics by
Essential for USMLE Step 1 review! A rigorous full-color review for any biochemistry or medical biochemistry examination This full-color review offers a fast and effective way for you to prepare for regular course examinations in biochemistry and medical biochemistry, as well as medical board exams and the USMLE Step 1. A unique feature is the integration of medical biochemistry with physiology, pathophysiology, pathology, and anatomy, making it perfect for today's rapidly changing medical school curriculum. Packed with valuable learning aids, including: * 1,100 multiple-choice questions, half of which are USMLE Step 1 style * Thorough explanations for each answer * 350 full-color illustrations * Detailed clinical boxes that present high-yield information concerning diseases and disorders related to defects in the pathways being discussed * Every chapter includes: o An outline listing the major topics covered o A list of high-yield terms related to the content o Numerous explanatory figures and tables designed to increase your understanding of must-know material o A checklist that recaps important and high-yield concepts
Medical Biochemistry: the Big Picture by
Get the BIG PICTURE of Medical Biochemistry - and target what you really need to know to ace the course exams and the USMLE Step 1 300 FULL-COLOR ILLUSTRATIONS Medical Biochemistry: The Big Picture is a unique biochemistry review that focuses on the medically applicable concepts and techniques that form the underpinnings of the diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment of medical conditions. Those preparing for the USMLE, residents, as well as clinicians who desire a better understanding of the biochemistry behind a particular pathology will find this book to be an essential reference. Featuring succinct, to-the-point text, more than 300 full-color illustrations, and a variety of learning aids, Medical Biochemistry: The Big Picture is designed to make complex concepts understandable in the shortest amount of time possible. This full-color combination text and atlas features: Progressive chapters that allow you to build upon what you've learned in a logical, effective manner Chapter Overviews that orient you to the important concepts covered in that chapter Numerous tables and illustrations that clarify and encapsulate the text Sidebars covering a particular disease or treatment add clinical relevance to topic discussed Essay-type review questions at the end of each chapter allow you to assess your comprehension of the major topics USMLE-style review questions at the end of each section Three appendices, including examples of biochemically based diseases, a review of basic biochemical techniques, and a review of organic chemistry/biochemistry
AccessMedicine (ACM) is an online medical resource that provides students with the tools they need to excel in basic and advanced studies, clerkships, and crucial test prep. ACM provides residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with interactive content, self-assessment, and leading medical texts to enhance decision-making at the point-of-care. It and allows for practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure best patient outcomes. It includes a complete full-text library of clinical and basic science textbooks, including Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, The Color Atlas of Family Medicine, and many others.
Funded by UTHSC College of Pharmacy
AccessPharmacy from McGraw-Hill Medical is a database of text books and more, designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education and practice today. Updated regularly and optimized for viewing on any device, this comprehensive, content-rich online pharmacy resource allows users to explore leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, research drugs and supplements.
Gives pharmacy students instant access to videos, games, Q&A, and leading pharmacy textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning, and allows practicing pharmacists to get information instantly about drugs, herbs and supplements, and consult features and editorials concerning the vast array of current pharmacy publications.
A list of all e-books accessible by UTHSC faculty, staff and students.
-Over 1,100 e-book titles.
-All Elsevier imprints or related.
-To browse by specialty, after clicking link above, click Books in upper right corner, then click Specialties filter in upper left corner.
-Free individual ClinicalKey account required to download PDF version of content.
-Some content is only available in HTML format, not PDF.
-Site license allows unlimited simultaneous users on and off-campus.
600+ e-books focused on the health professions.
Limit of 1, 3 or unlimited simultaneous user, varies by title.
Save/download PDF limit of pages per day, per title, varies by title.
Off-line download of complete title is generally not available.
15+ full text electronic books related to nursing.
Limit of 10 simultaneous users across multiple libraries in Tennessee.