Clinical Data Mining for Physician Decision Making and Investigating Health Outcomes by
Clinical Data Mining for Physician Decision Making and Investigating Health Outcomes: Methods for Prediction and Analysis demonstrates how concern for detail in datasets and the use of data mining techniques can extract important and meaningful knowledge from healthcare databases. Basic information on processing data with step-by-step instructions is provided, allowing readers to use their own data and follow the instructions to find meaningful results.
Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders by
According to the Human Genome Project, as well as numerous medical research groups, significant new findings on genetic disorders occur nearly every week. Information on many of these disorders, however, is extremely difficult to come by -- until now. The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders addresses the need for current, hard-to-find facts on these emerging discoveries. The 2-vol. Encyclopedia provides clear, complete information on genetic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies, in articles that are both comprehensive and easy to understand in language accessible to laypersons. Students will want to consult the Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders for useful information on a range of well known disorders, including Down Syndrome, Trisomy, Hemophilia and Tourette Syndrome, and rarely seen diseases such as Meckel Syndrome, Neuraminidase Deficiency and Phenylketonuria. Presented in a single alphabetical sequence, entries range in length from 1,500 to 5,000 words. Entries relating to genetic disorders are presented in articles arranged in a standardized format for quick comparison and ease of use, while nondisorder topics are covered in detail with extended entries. Articles contain some or all of the following sections: Definitions Demographics Descriptions -- overview of the disorder Diagnosis -- Normal and abnormal test results are described Genetic Profile Key terms Prognosis Resources -- bibliographies or contact information are provided Symptoms Treatment & Management
High-Yield Q&a Review for USMLE Step 1: Biochemistry and Genetics by
Essential for USMLE Step 1 review! A rigorous full-color review for any biochemistry or medical biochemistry examination This full-color review offers a fast and effective way for you to prepare for regular course examinations in biochemistry and medical biochemistry, as well as medical board exams and the USMLE Step 1. A unique feature is the integration of medical biochemistry with physiology, pathophysiology, pathology, and anatomy, making it perfect for today's rapidly changing medical school curriculum. Packed with valuable learning aids, including: * 1,100 multiple-choice questions, half of which are USMLE Step 1 style * Thorough explanations for each answer * 350 full-color illustrations * Detailed clinical boxes that present high-yield information concerning diseases and disorders related to defects in the pathways being discussed * Every chapter includes: o An outline listing the major topics covered o A list of high-yield terms related to the content o Numerous explanatory figures and tables designed to increase your understanding of must-know material o A checklist that recaps important and high-yield concepts
Human Genetics and Genomics by
This fourth edition of the best-selling textbook, Human Genetics and Genomics, clearly explains the key principles needed by medical and health sciences students, from the basis of molecular genetics, to clinical applications used in the treatment of both rare and common conditions. A newly expanded Part 1, Basic Principles of Human Genetics, focuses on introducing the reader to key concepts such as Mendelian principles, DNA replication and gene expression. Part 2, Genetics and Genomics in Medical Practice, uses case scenarios to help you engage with current genetic practice. Now featuring full-color diagrams, Human Genetics and Genomics has been rigorously updated to reflect today's genetics teaching, and includes updated discussion of genetic risk assessment, "single gene" disorders and therapeutics. Key learning features include: Clinical snapshots to help relate science to practice 'Hot topics' boxes that focus on the latest developments in testing, assessment and treatment 'Ethical issues' boxes to prompt further thought and discussion on the implications of genetic developments 'Sources of information' boxes to assist with the practicalities of clinical research and information provision Self-assessment review questions in each chapter Accompanied by the Wiley E-Text digital edition (included in the price of the book), Human Genetics and Genomics is also fully supported by a suite of online resources at www.korfgenetics.com, including: Factsheets on 100 genetic disorders, ideal for study and exam preparation Interactive Multiple Choice Questions (MCQs) with feedback on all answers Links to online resources for further study Figures from the book available as PowerPoint slides, ideal for teaching purposes The perfect companion to the genetics component of both problem-based learning and integrated medical courses, Human Genetics and Genomics presents the ideal balance between the bio-molecular basis of genetics and clinical cases, and provides an invaluable overview for anyone wishing to engage with this fast-moving discipline.
Management of Genetic Syndromes by
The bestselling guide to the medical management of common genetic syndromes --now fully revised and expanded A review in the American Journal of Medical Genetics heralded the first edition of Management of Genetic Syndromes as an "unparalleled collection of knowledge." Since publication of the first edition, improvements in the molecular diagnostic testing of genetic conditions have greatly facilitated the identification of affected individuals. This thorough revision of the critically acclaimed bestseller offers original insights into the medical management of sixty common genetic syndromes seen in children and adults, and incorporates new research findings and the latest advances in diagnosis and treatment of these disorders. Expanded to cover five new syndromes, this comprehensive new edition also features updates of chapters from the previous editions. Each chapter is written by an expert with extensive direct professional experience with that disorder and incorporates thoroughly updated material on new genetic findings, consensus diagnostic criteria, and management strategies. Edited by two of the field's most highly esteemed experts, this landmark volume provides: A precise reference of the physical manifestations of common genetic syndromes, clearly written for professionals and families Extensive updates, particularly in sections on diagnostic criteria and diagnostic testing, pathogenesis, and management A tried-and-tested, user-friendly format, with each chapter including information on incidence, etiology and pathogenesis, diagnostic criteria and testing, and differential diagnosis Up-to-date and well-written summaries of the manifestations followed by comprehensive management guidelines, with specific advice on evaluation and treatment for each system affected, including references to original studies and reviews A list of family support organizations and resources for professionals and families Management of Genetic Syndromes, Third Edition is a premier source to guide family physicians, pediatricians, internists, medical geneticists, and genetic counselors in the clinical evaluation and treatment of syndromes. It is also the reference of choice for ancillary health professionals, educators, and families of affected individuals looking to understand appropriate guidelines for the management of these disorders. From a review of the first edition: "An unparalleled collection of knowledge . . . unique, offering a gold mine of information." --American Journal of Medical Genetics
Practical Genetic Counseling by
Now, in a seventh edition, this best-selling book provides invaluable, up-to-date guidance, distilling the profusion of new information of those at risk from inherited disorders. With a clear layout and an accessible style, Dr. Harper brings an unparalleled reputation for providing helpful advice and guidance. This is essential reading for genetic counselors and anyone in the field of genetics.
Precision Medicine: A Guide to Genomics in Clinical Practice by
A complete how-to guide for incorporating genomics into all applicable areas of clinical medicine Precision Medicine: A Guide to Genomics in Clinical Practice is a comprehensive, yet succinct overview of the practice of genomic medicine. It is written for general healthcare practitioners, specialists, and trainees with the goal of providing detailed guidance on how to incorporate genomic medicine into daily practice. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book intentionally avoids excessive technical content and consistently emphasizes real-life patient care and decision support. Precision Medicine: A Guide to Genomics in Clinical Practice follows the course of a human life, beginning before conception through pregnancy, childhood, and adulthood, discussing the current and future applications of genomics and precision medicine at each stage. This organization allows healthcare providers to easily find the information relevant to their practice. Throughout, the authors highlight common pitfalls - technical and ethical - that might complicate the delivery of quality genomic healthcare. The book is enhanced by eleven valuable appendices that cover important topics ranging from the basics of genetics to ethical issues to regulation and reimbursement. If you are searching for a clinically relevant, non-technical resource that will teach you how genomic medicine can and should be practiced in your specific field of interest, Precision Medicine: A Guide to Genomics in Clinical Practice belongs on your desk.
AccessMedicine (ACM) is an online medical resource that provides students with the tools they need to excel in basic and advanced studies, clerkships, and crucial test prep. ACM provides residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with interactive content, self-assessment, and leading medical texts to enhance decision-making at the point-of-care. It and allows for practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure best patient outcomes. It includes a complete full-text library of clinical and basic science textbooks, including Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, The Color Atlas of Family Medicine, and many others.
Funded by UTHSC College of Pharmacy
AccessPharmacy from McGraw-Hill Medical is a database of text books and more, designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education and practice today. Updated regularly and optimized for viewing on any device, this comprehensive, content-rich online pharmacy resource allows users to explore leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, research drugs and supplements.
Gives pharmacy students instant access to videos, games, Q&A, and leading pharmacy textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning, and allows practicing pharmacists to get information instantly about drugs, herbs and supplements, and consult features and editorials concerning the vast array of current pharmacy publications.
A list of all e-books accessible by UTHSC faculty, staff and students.
-Over 1,100 e-book titles.
-All Elsevier imprints or related.
-To browse by specialty, after clicking link above, click Books in upper right corner, then click Specialties filter in upper left corner.
-Free individual ClinicalKey account required to download PDF version of content.
-Some content is only available in HTML format, not PDF.
-Site license allows unlimited simultaneous users on and off-campus.
600+ e-books focused on the health professions.
Limit of 1, 3 or unlimited simultaneous user, varies by title.
Save/download PDF limit of pages per day, per title, varies by title.
Off-line download of complete title is generally not available.
15+ full text electronic books related to nursing.
Limit of 10 simultaneous users across multiple libraries in Tennessee.