50 Studies Every Doctor Should Know : The Key Studies that Form the Foundation of Evidence-Based Medicine (2 edn) by Michael E. Hochman; Steven D. HochmanThe inaugural volume of the 50 Studies series, 50 Studies Every Doctor Should Know presents key studies that have shaped the practice of medicine. Selected using a rigorous methodology, the studies cover topics ranging from dieting to cardiovascular disease, insomnia to obstetrics. For each study, a concise summary is presented with an emphasis on the results and limitations of the study, and its implications for practice. Brief information on other relevant studies is provided, and an illustrative clinical case concludes each review. A section of review questions and answers is included at the back of the book to ensure that readers take away the key messages from each study. For this new edition, the contents were reorganized to include ten new studies, and the references, guidelines, and implications of existing studies were thoroughly updated. This book is a must-read for health care professionals and anyone who wants to learn more about the data behind clinical practice.
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Oxford (unlimited simultanous users)
Publication Date: 2021, 2nd edition
50 Studies Every Intensivist Should Know by Edward A. Bittner (Editor)50 Studies Every Intensivist Should Know presents key studies that have shaped the practice of critical care medicine. Selected using a rigorous methodology, the studies cover topics including: sedation and analgesia, resuscitation, shock, ARDS, nutrition, renal failure, trauma, infection, diabetes, and physical therapy. For each study, a concise summary is presented with an emphasis on the results and limitations of the study, and its implications for practice. An illustrative clinical case concludes each review, followed by brief information on other relevant studies. This book is a must-read for health care professionals and anyone who wants to learn more about the data behind clinical practice. "While clinicians in the intensive care unit increasingly rely on practice guidelines that take into account the best available published research data, sorting through the studies efficiently, and separating the good from the not-so-good is a daunting task even for seasoned practitioners, much less trainees. This superb effort by Dr. Bittner and his group of extremely accomplished and experienced clinicians is a huge step in the right direction. 50 Studies Every Intensivist Should Know provides an excellent list of the landmark studies in the arena of critical care medicine and should be required reading for all our residents and critical care fellows." Hasan B. Alam, MD Norman Thompson Professor and Head of General Surgery University of Michigan
Evidence-Based Endocrinology by A. CamachoSelected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Providing summaries of the latest and best publications, clinical trials, and evidence in endocrinology, this portable handbook is a time-saving addition to your professional library. In a concise, easy-to-read format, it offers evidence-based recommendations for the diagnosis and treatment of endocrine disorders and provides a comprehensive summary of pertinent clinical studies supporting the practice recommendations. Covers the major areas of endocrinology: hypothalamic-pituitary, thyroid, adrenal, metabolic bone, reproductive, diabetes, lipid disorders, obesity and nutrition, endocrine malignancies, and genetics Features hundreds of new references and careful revision of every chapter to bring you up to date Provides updated tables for quick reference Presents a comprehensive update of new therapies and the latest clinical guidelines for diabetes, thyroid, and metabolic bone diseases Includes a new chapter on the management of transgender patients Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: Ovid (unlimited simultaneous users)
Publication Date: 2020, 4th edition
Evidence-Based Medicine by Sharon E. Straus; Paul Glasziou; W. Scott Richardson; R. Brian HaynesNow in its fifth edition, this classic introduction to the practice and teaching of evidence-based medicine is written for busy clinicians at any stage of their career who want to learn how to practise and teach evidence-based medicine (EBM). It is short and practical, emphasizing direct clinical application of EBM and tactics to practise and teach EBM in real-time. The online toolkit includes Critical appraisal worksheets, Educational prescription, Pocket Cards, EBM calculators, Educational Prescriptions, Clinical Questions log, Self evaluations. Thoroughly updated with examples from latest evidence/studies. Revised electronic ancillaries, now available online Expanded coverage of audit and measuring quality improvement. Teaching moments now indexed for easy reference. New contributing authors Reena Pattani and Areti Angeliki Veroniki
Call Number: EBSCO (limit of 3 simultaneous users)
Publication Date: 2019, 5th edition
Evaluating Research for Evidence-Based Nursing by Jacqueline Fawcett; Joan Garity
Call Number: TO ORDER as of 2021-12-07
Publication Date: 2009
Two noted authors and educators provide a practical and systematic method of critically analyzing and using research as the foundation of evidence-based nursing care.
Evidence-Based Nursing : the Research-Practice Connection by Sarah Jo BrownEvidence-Based Nursing: The Research-Practice Connection, Third Edition is a key resource designed to teach nursing students how to engage in evidence-based practice (EBP). The text provides basic knowledge regarding research methodology and gives readers the confidence they need to appraise published research critically. Evidence-Based Nursing: The Research-Practice Connection, Third Edition is written in a plain and informal style that appeals to both students and educators, and the content is timely as it links EBP to recent work in the Safety and Quality programs that are underway in healthcare and nursing. This text is unique because it is based on a learning progression to helps readers move from an understanding of how research is evidence is produced to appraisal of evidence at a critical thinking level. In the first section of the text, Sarah Jo Brown offers five common research designs, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines by using a consistent, easy-to-read 'WHY-HOW-WHAT' approach. An exemplar study report for each type of evidence is followed by a 'Profile and Commentary' that points out methodological features and explains results of the study. The second section follows up with information on how to engage in EBP, including how to focus a question for an EBP inquiry, how to locate evidence, and how to appraise the forms of evidence introduced in the first section. This approach to the text is beneficial for readers in that it relies heavily on the use of exemplar research reports, provides a concrete context for learning about abstract research and appraisal concepts, and helps students see how the various components of a study are related to one another.
Call Number: R2 Library (limit of 1 simultaneous user)
Publication Date: 2014, 3rd edition
Smith's Patient Centered Interviewing: an Evidence-Based Method, Fourth Edition by Robert C. Smith; Auguste H. Fortin; Francesca C. Dwamena; Richard M. Frankel; Brenda L. LepistoA comprehensive, evidence-based introduction to the principles and practices of patient communication in a clinical setting Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing, Fourth Edition presents a step-by-step methodology for mastering every aspect of the medical interview. Readers will learn how to confidently obtain from patients accurate biomedical facts, as well as critical personal, social, and emotional information, allowing them to make a precise diagnosis, develop effective treatment plans, and forge strong clinician-patient relationships. The most evidence-based guide available on the topic, Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing, Fourth Edition applies the proven 5-step approach, which integrates patient- and clinician-centered skills to improve effectiveness without adding extra time to the interview duration. The book's user-friendly design features icons, boxed case vignettes, and use of color to highlight key points, and pedagogy includes learning an practice exercises in each chapter.
AccessMedicine (ACM) is an online medical resource that provides students with the tools they need to excel in basic and advanced studies, clerkships, and crucial test prep. ACM provides residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with interactive content, self-assessment, and leading medical texts to enhance decision-making at the point-of-care. It and allows for practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure best patient outcomes. It includes a complete full-text library of clinical and basic science textbooks, including Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, The Color Atlas of Family Medicine, and many others.
-Over 1,100 e-book titles.
-All Elsevier imprints or related.
-To browse by specialty, after clicking link above, click Books in upper right corner, then click Specialties filter in upper left corner.
-Free individual ClinicalKey account required to download PDF version of content.
-Some content is only available in HTML format, not PDF.
-Site license allows unlimited simultaneous users on and off-campus.
600+ e-books focused on the health professions.
Limit of 1, 3 or unlimited simultaneous user, varies by title.
Save/download PDF limit of pages per day, per title, varies by title.
Off-line download of complete title is generally not available.