Advanced Assessment
by
The 3rd Edition of this AJN Book of the Year shows you how to perform a focused history and physical based on presenting complaints and then interpret the findings to arrive at a definitive differential diagnosis. Its complaint-focused organization makes it the perfect point-of-care resource for the classroom and in the clinical setting. Look for the Plus Code inside new, printed texts--your key to unlocking the instructor and student resources online at DavisPlus, including your Davis Digital Version and interactive case studies.
Rapid Interpretation of EKG's
by
The reader's rapid assimilation of medical concepts is the key to the continuing success of this best-selling book. A caption explains the concept illustrated on each page, and a few simple sentences reinforce the concept with interactive (programmed) learning, which links to the following page. Dr Dubin's light and entertaining style, known world-wide, makes learning enjoyable. Practice twelve-lead tracings at the end establish self-confidence, and summarised reference sheets with examples (designed to be copied) provide an excellent review. Most recently updated in February 2006.
Symptom to Diagnosis
by
Learn the diagnostic process in internal medicine with this engaging, case-based approach A Doody's Core Title for 2017! Symptom to Diagnosis teaches you an evidence-based, step-by-step process for evaluating, diagnosing, and treating patients based on their clinical complaints.By applying this process, you will be able to recognize specific diseases and prescribe the most effective therapy. Each chapter addresses one common complaint and begins with a case and guidance on how to organize the differential diagnosis. As the case progresses, clinical reasoning is explained in detail. The differential diagnosis for that particular case is summarized in tables that highlight the clinical clues and important testsfor the leading diagnostic hypothesis and alternative diagnostic hypotheses. As the chapter progresses, the pertinent diseases are reviewed. Just as in real life, the case unfolds in a stepwise fashion as tests are performed and diagnoses are confirmed or refuted. The third edition is enhanced by the addition of five new chapters--Bleeding Disorders, Dysuria, Hematuria, Hypotension, and Sore Throat--as well as a greater emphasis on how to master the process of working from patient level data (signs, symptoms, and laboratory tests). All chapters incorporate the latest research resulting in new and refined approaches to common symptomsencountered in clinical medicine.
Guide to Clinical Documentation
by
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing and Healthcare
by
Pathophysiology of Disease
by
A full-color, case-based review of the essentials of pathophysiology--covering all major organs and systems The goal of this trusted text is to introduce you to clinical medicine by reviewing the pathophysiologic basis of 120 diseases (and associated signs and symptoms) commonly encountered in medical practice. The authors, all experts in their respective fields, have provided a concise review of relevant normal structure and function of each body system, followed by a description of the pathophysiologic mechanisms that underlie several common diseases related to that system. Each chapter of Pathophysiology of Disease concludes with a collection of case studies and questionsdesigned to test your understanding of the pathophysiology of each clinical entity discussed. These case studies allow you to apply your knowledge to specific clinical situations. Detailed answers to each case study question are provided at the end of the book. This unique interweaving of physiological and pathological concepts will put you on the path toward thinking about signs and symptoms in terms of their pathophysiologic basis, giving you an understanding of the "why" behind illness and treatment. Features 120 case studies (9 new) provide an opportunity for you to test your understanding of the pathophysiology of each clinical entity discussed Checkpoint questions provide review and appear in every chapter Updates and revisions throughout this new edition reflect the latest research and developments Numerous tables and diagrams encapsulate important information Updated references for each chapter topic Pathophysiology of Disease is a true must-have resource for medical students preparing for the USMLEStep 1 exam, as well as students engaged in their clerkship studies. House officers, nurses, nursepractitioners, physicians' assistants, and allied health practitioners will find its concise presentation and broad scope a great help in facilitating their understanding of common disease entities.
Outcome Assessment in Advanced Practice Nursing
by
As the role of the nurse continues to expand in today's health care environment, APRNs and DNPs are more frequently tasked with quantifying, evaluating, and improving their individual care processes, as well as demonstrating the impact of their care. Revised to provide APRN and DNP students, educators, and nursing administrators with the most up-to-date information on outcome assessment, the fourth edition of this award-winning text is still the only nursing resource to focus exclusively on outcome assessment. Written by expert practitioners, educators, and researchers, this fourth edition continues to analyze the foundations of outcome assessment, provide guidelines for selecting assessment instruments and measuring results, discuss design and implementation challenges in outcome assessment, and provide an unequaled wellspring of information that will help nurses increase their skill level and enhance their professional practice role. Sections new to this edition focus on practice-specific quality metrics for demonstrating impact of nursing care, and provide information on a national collaborative launched specifically to showcase outcomes of nurseled initiatives as part of the Choosing Wisely Campaign. New to the Fourth Edition: Expanded coverage of Doctor of Nursing Practice impact on outcomes Complete updates on practice-specific outcomes for all clinical areas of APRN practice, including those of nurse practitioners, clinical nurse specialists, certified registered nurse anesthetists, and certified nurse midwives An instructor's manual, including algorithms and teaching tools Key Features: Examines in depth the foundations of outcome assessment Addresses specialty areas of practice and specialty-specific considerations for outcome evaluation Provides guidelines for selecting assessment instruments and measuring the results Describes design and implementation pitfalls Helps nurses increase skill level regarding evaluation of outcomes
Neonatal Nurse Practitioner Certification Intensive Review
by
The definitive Certification Review for exam success! Written by leading APRN Neonatal educators and clinicians, this authoritative study guide delivers all the tools Neonatal Nurse Practitioners need to pass the NCC certification exam and the Continuing Competency Assessment (CCA). User friendly and concise, this review's content mirrors that of the actual exam and is structured in accordance with the most updated test plan blueprint. This resource's numerous exam-style questions and answers with rationale help readers uncover gaps in their knowledge. This review synthesizes the knowledge required to pass the exam, saving the reader time and effort by omitting extraneous material. In addition to spotlighting essential content throughout the text, recommended references provide the reader with the option to seek out additional information as needed. Additional benefits include important information about the exam along with savvy study and test-taking tips. This review will ensure exam success for both new NNPs and those who are taking the Continuing Competency Assessment exam. Key Features: Mirrors the format of the certification exam Concise outline format for easy access to essential content Written by leading NNP educators and clinicians Includes valuable Study and test-taking tips Exam-style questions and answers with rationale Practice Exam included!
Core Curriculum for Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing
by
Ensure you're referencing the most accurate information surrounding nursing practice in today's neonatal intensive care unit with AWHONN's Core Curriculum for Maternal-Newborn Nursing, 6th Edition. Developed by one of the most authoritative associations in neonatal intensive nursing care, AWHONN, this renowned guide provides in-depth coverage of the most common neonatal disorders and their management - focusing on the latest evidence-based practice for preterm infants, medications, and antepartum-intrapartum complications. Additionally, the concise outline format makes information easy to find as it highlights the essentials of each condition including the definition, etiology, pathophysiology, signs and symptoms, diagnostic tests, treatments, and outcomes. With timely content that sets the standard for neonatal nursing practice, this trusted reference is an excellent resource for practicing nurses working in any NICU worldwide. Content developed by AWHONN, one of the most authoritative associations in neonatal intensive care nursing, ensures the information is both accurate and relevant. Concise outline format provides access to important nursing considerations associated with the management of the most common conditions in the neonate. Full-scope coverage of neonatal nursing practice provides information on families, ethics, legal issues, research, case management, the transition to home, and more. Focus on evidence-based practice related to preterm infants, medications, and antepartum-intrapartum complications sets the standard for neonatal nursing practice. Strategies to promote inclusionary care better reflect today's nursing care today with a focus on family-centered care, comprehensive perinatal records, health care teams in the NICU, and infant care best practices. NEW! Expanded information on breastfeeding and acquired opioid dependency keep you informed with the latest best practices related to these two everchanging areas. NEW! Updated neonatal resuscitation guidelines ensures you follow the most up-to-date protocols and procedures in this critical skill area. NEW! Additional tables and boxes help you quickly find important information.
Care of the Well Newborn
by
Care of the Well Newborn is a unique text that focuses on care of the term newborn for the first month of life. Written by distinguished experts in the field, it teaches students and professionals how and what to assess in the care of the nonverbal newborn, while also providing criteria for recognizing deviations from normal and strategies for managing complications that arise. The first text of its kind, it provides easily accessible information on evidence-based neonatal care that follows current guidelines, standards, and recommendations. Also explored are physiology and pathophysiology, data collection, differential diagnosis, cultural considerations, and parental education. An ideal resource for both students and professionals, each chapter includes multiple choice questions, case studies, or activities to facilitate critical thinking and learning.
Merenstein and Gardner's Handbook of Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing
by
Co-authored by an interprofessional collaborative team of physicians and nurses, Merenstein & Gardner's Handbook of Neonatal Intensive Care, 9th Edition is the leading resource for interprofessional, collaborative care of critically ill newborns. It offers comprehensive coverage with a unique interprofessional collaborative approach and a real-world perspective that make it a practical guide for both nurses and physicians. The new ninth edition features a wealth of expanded content on delivery-room care; new evidence-based care "bundles"; palliative care in the NICU; interprofessional collaborative care of parents with depression, grief, and complicated grief; and new pain assessment tools. Updated high-quality references have also been reintegrated into the book, making it easier for clinicians to locate research evidence and standards of care with minimal effort. These additions, along with updates throughout, ensure that clinicians are equipped with the very latest clinical care guidelines and practice recommendations - all in a practical quick-reference format for easy retrieval and review. UNIQUE! Core author team of two physicians and two nurses gives this internationally recognized reference a true interprofessional collaborative approach that is unmatched by any other resource. Consistent organization within clinical chapters include Physiology/Pathophysiology, Etiology, Prevention, Data Collection (History, Signs and Symptoms, and Laboratory Data), Treatment/Intervention, Complications, and Parent Teaching sections. UNIQUE! Color-highlighted point-of-care clinical content makes high-priority clinical content quick and easy to find. UNIQUE! Parent Teaching boxes outline the relevant information to be shared with a patient's caregivers. Critical Findings boxes outline symptoms and diagnostic findings that require immediate attention to help the provider prioritize assessment data and steps in initial care. Case studies demonstrate how to apply essential content to realistic clinical scenarios for application-based learning. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest evidence-based practice, national and international guidelines, and current protocols for interprofessional collaborative practice in the NICU. NEW! Up-to-date, high-quality references are now reintegrated into the text for quick retrieval, making it easier for clinicians to locate research evidence and standards of care with minimal effort. NEW! Expanded content on delivery-room care includes the impact of staffing on quality of care, delayed cord clamping, resuscitation, and more. NEW! Coverage of the new evidence-based care "bundles" keeps clinicians up to date on new guidelines that have demonstrated improved outcomes of very preterm infants. NEW! Coverage of new pain assessment tools equips NICU providers with essential resources for maintaining patient comfort. NEW! Expanded coverage of palliative care in the NICU provides the tools needed to ensure patient comfort. NEW! Expanded coverage of interprofessional collaborative care of parents with depression, grief, and complicated grief prepares clinicians for this essential area of practice.
Feigin and Cherry's Textbook of Pediatric Infectious Diseases
by
Offering unparalleled coverage of infectious diseases in children and adolescents, Feigin & Cherry's Textbook of Pediatric Infectious Diseases 8th Edition, continues to provide the information you need on epidemiology, public health, preventive medicine, clinical manifestations, diagnosis, treatment, and much more. This extensively revised edition by Drs. James Cherry, Gail J. Demmler-Harrison, Sheldon L. Kaplan, William J. Steinbach, and Peter J. Hotez, offers a brand-new full-color design, new color images, new guidelines, and new content, reflecting today's more aggressive infectious and resistant strains as well as emerging and re-emerging diseases Discusses infectious diseases according to organ system, as well as individually by microorganisms, placing emphasis on the clinical manifestations that may be related to the organism causing the disease. Provides detailed information regarding the best means to establish a diagnosis, explicit recommendations for therapy, and the most appropriate uses of diagnostic imaging. Features expanded information on infections in the compromised host; immunomodulating agents and their potential use in the treatment of infectious diseases; and Ebola virus. Contains hundreds of new color images throughout, as well as new guidelines, new resistance epidemiology, and new Global Health Milestones. Includes new chapters on Zika virus and Guillain-Barré syndrome. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Red Book 2021
by
"Refer to the Red Book." That's been the watchword for generations of healthcare professionals seeking trustworthy guidance on pediatric infectious disease prevention, management, and control Now the 32nd edition continues this tradition of excellence with the latest clinical guidance on the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis and treatment of more than 200 childhood infectious diseases. The 32nd edition provides evidence-based guidance on pediatric infections and vaccinations based on the recommendations of the committee as well as the combined expertise of the CDC, FDA, and hundreds of physician contributors. Red Book® is an indispensable reference for pediatricians and pediatric infectious disease specialists and is useful for family medicine and emergency medicine physicians as well. Public health and school health professionals, medical residents, and students also will find it a high-yield source of pediatric infectious disease and vaccine information.
Remington and Klein's Infectious Diseases of the Fetus and Newborn Infant
by
Creasy and Resnik's Maternal-Fetal Medicine: Principles and Practice
by
Long recognized as the authoritative leader in the field, Creasy and Resnik's Maternal-Fetal Medicine, 8th Edition, continues to provide the latest evidence-based guidelines for obstetric and neonatal management, helping you minimize complications and offer patients the best possible care. Written by renowned experts in obstetrics, gynecology, and perinatology, this comprehensive resource has been thoroughly updated and reflects new information in every area, including recent tremendous advances in genetics, imaging, and more. Focuses on complicated obstetric issues, highlighting the most commonly encountered anomalies and providing clear guidelines for obstetric and neonatal management. Offers comprehensive updates on rapidly changing topics, including a completely revised section on genetics and genetic technology for prenatal diagnoses, as well as an expanded imaging section accompanied by new videos on abdominal, urogenital, and skeletal imaging. Includes four new chapters: Molecular Genetic Technology, MRI in Obstetrical Imaging, Obesity in Pregnancy, and Pregnancy as a Window to Future Health. Features numerous flow charts for quick access to diagnosis and treatment protocols and to clarify complex material. Presents the knowledge and expertise of new editors Dr. Joshua Copel, an expert in the field of fetal therapy who has pioneered new diagnostic techniques for unborn patients and their mothers, and Dr. Robert Silver, a leader in the maternal-fetal medicine community. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Fetal Medicine
by
Covering pertinent basic science and offering today's most authoritative guidance on clinical management, Fetal Medicine, 3rd Edition, is a must-have resource for obstetricians and other healthcare professionals involved in care of the fetus. An international team of expert contributors delivers the knowledge and background you need to effectively diagnose and treat fetal disorders - everything from prenatal screening and diagnostic tests to common and rare prenatal conditions, early pregnancy loss, ethical issues, and much more. Focuses on fetal medicine throughout, bringing you today's most reliable information in both basic science and clinical topics. Offers updated information from cover to cover, including new coverage of genetics, embryology, and clinical management. Features new self-assessment questions, new video clips, and new images throughout - for a total of nearly 1,000 photographs and line drawings, as well as more than 150 quick-reference tables. Details fast-changing developments in fetal medicine, including advances in ultrasound imaging, cytogenetics, molecular biology, and biochemistry. Helps you learn and retrieve complex information quickly thanks to succinct, highly structured text; key points at the beginning of each chapter; and concise chapter summaries. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Human Embryology and Developmental Biology
by
Completely revised from cover to cover, Human Embryology and Developmental Biology, 6th Edition, helps you master complex concepts on every aspect of normal and abnormal human development. Dr. Bruce M. Carlson provides authoritative, readable coverage of today's scientific knowledge in this fast-changing field, keeping you up to date with what you need to know for coursework, exams, and clinical practice. Features an extensive, full-color illustration program, with hundreds of superb clinical photos and embryological drawings - more than 50 new to this edition. Presents information in an integrated, easy-to-follow manner, incorporating molecular, experimental, and morphological material into each relevant area of the text. Includes numerous new, high-quality photos of congenital malformations. Provides major updates to many topics, including neuroembryology, early embryology, fetal imaging techniques, somite formation, and craniofacial development. Newly added series of animations for visualization of complex embryological processes. Offers helpful bonus material online, including the animations, there is also self-assessment questions, up-to-date references, and much more. Helps you understand the molecular basis of embryology, including the processes of branching and folding - essential knowledge for determining the root of many abnormalities. Features clinical vignettes and Clinical Correlations boxes to help you better understand the clinical manifestations of developmental abnormalities. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Maternal, Fetal, and Neonatal Physiology
by
Provide the best care possible with expert insight and clinically relevant coverage of the physiologic changes that occur throughout all major periods of the perinatal experience - prenatal, intrapartum, postpartum, and neonatal. Maternal, Fetal & Neonatal Physiology: A Clinical Perspective, 4th Edition gives you a solid foundation for assessment and therapeutic interventions, featuring an emphasis on the evolving interrelationships between mother, fetus, and neonate and adaptations of preterm and term infants to the extrauterine environment. Solid coverage of the physiologic bases for assessment and therapeutic interventions make this an ideal resource for advanced practice. Synthesis of the latest research studies and evidence-based practice provides vital data on normal physiologic changes during the antepartum, intrapartum and postpartum periods; anatomic and functional development of the fetus; and developmental physiology of preterm and term neonates. Pharmacology tables offer quick access to key pharmacology information and drug effects with clinical examples. Coverage of pathophysiology and interventions for the pregnant woman, fetus, and newborn for selected abnormal events provides a solid understanding of physiologic adaptations and developmental physiology relating to major body systems and metabolic processes. Comprehensive tables, diagrams, and illustrations highlight important concepts and summarize key information Thoroughly updated content offers the very latest evidence-based information, contemporary research, and clinical developments related to maternal, fetal, and neonatal physiology. New coverage on the late pre-term infant provides the most current practice guidelines to promote quality care. Expanded discussions of reproductive processes reflect cutting-edge research and the clinical implications of physiologic and genetic effects brought to bear from both the female and the male. Extensive and reliable web sources allow for further study or checking for updated information. New NICHD standard definitions on fetal monitoring enable you to identify fetal heart rate patterns using standardized nomenclature.
Caffey's Pediatric Diagnostic Imaging
by
For more than 70 years, Caffey's Pediatric Diagnostic Imaging has been the comprehensive, go-to reference that radiologists have relied upon for dependable coverage of all aspects of pediatric imaging. In the 13th Edition, Dr. Brian Coley leads a team of experts to bring you up to date with today's practice standards in radiation effects and safety, as well as in head and neck, neurologic, thoracic, cardiac, gastrointestinal, genitourinary, and musculoskeletal pediatric imaging. This two-volume bestselling reference is a must-have resource for pediatric radiologists, general radiologists, pediatric subspecialists, pediatricians, hospitals, and more - anywhere clinicians need to ensure safe, effective, and up-to-date imaging of children. Provides access to 50 online videos, including hypertrophic pyloric stenosis, disorders of swallowing, fetal swallowing, fetal bowel obstruction, upper GI and ultrasound evaluation of malrotation and volvulus, congenital heart disease MRI evaluation, and many more. Includes separate chapters on radiation effects and safety, pre-natal imaging, neoplasms, trauma, techniques, embryology, genetic anomalies, and common acquired conditions. Takes an updated, contemporary approach with more focused and consistently formatted content throughout. Clinical content includes Overview; Etiologies, Pathophysiology, and Clinical Presentation; Imaging, including pros and cons, costs, evidence-based data, findings, and differential diagnostic considerations; and Treatment, including follow-up. Features 8,500 high-quality images - 1,000 new or updated. Provides expanded coverage of advanced imaging and diagnostics, including genetics and fetal imaging, MRI and advanced MR techniques, low-dose CT, ultrasound, nuclear medicine, and molecular imaging, as well as the latest quality standards, evidence-based data, and practice guidelines. Features new Key Points boxes and more tables and flowcharts that make reference faster and easier. Focuses on safety, particularly in radiation dosing, as part of the Image Gently® campaign to improve pediatric imaging while limiting radiation exposure and unneeded studies. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Henry's Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory Methods
by
MacDonald's Atlas of Procedures in Neonatology
by
Fanaroff and Martin's Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine, 2-Volume Set
by
Fetal and Neonatal Physiology, 2-Volume Set
by
Klaus and Fanaroff's Care of the High-Risk Neonate
by
Nathan and Oski's Hematology and Oncology of Infancy and Childhood
by
Park's Pediatric Cardiology for Practitioners
by
Smith's Recognizable Patterns of Human Malformation
by
Essentials of Nursing Research
by
Written by AJN award-winning authors, along with its accompanying Study Guide for Essentials of Nursing Research, student learning ancillaries, and instructor teaching materials;present a unique, learning-teaching package that is designed to teach students how to read and critique research reports, and to appreciate the application of research findings to nursing practice. New to this edition: New text organization with separate sections on quantitative and qualitative research offer greater continuity of ideas to better meet the needs of students and faculty.
Berkowitz's Pediatrics
by
The reference of choice for pediatricians, residents and medical students, the newly revised and expanded 6th edition provides clear, practice-oriented guidance on the core knowledge in pediatrics. Edited by a leading primary care authority with more than one hundred contributors, the 6th edition provides comprehensive coverage of hundreds of topics ranging from temper tantrums and toilet training to adolescent depression and suicide. More than 155 (including 5 brand new) clinical chapters review pertinent epidemiology and pathophysiology, then give concise guidelines on what symptoms to look for, what alternative diagnoses to consider, what tests to order, and how to treat your patient. New in the 6th edition All chapters have been reviewed and updated to address current issues. Five new chapters are included on the following: Health Systems Science Population Health for Pediatricians Social Determinants of Health: Principles Adverse Childhood Experiences: Trauma Informed Care Commercially Exploited Children and Human Trafficking Student worksheets corresponding to each chapter's case study questions will be posted online in a user-friendly format so that they can be completed in preparation of discussions. Case study questions have been enhanced and resources have been revised. This edition is completely reorganized into 15 sections using a systems-based approach.
Yaffe and Aranda's Neonatal Pediatric Pharmacology 5
by
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) covers journals, books and other materials in nursing and the allied health/health profession fields.
Some full-text included.
Access other via “UT Links” and submit free Interlibrary Loan as needed.
Export up to 25,000 and search history marked as complete as of Jan. 2025.
Updated interface coming after Memorial Day 2025, preview at: https://ezproxy.uthsc.edu/login?url=https://research.ebsco.com/c/x47oyz/search/advanced/filters?db=ccm
New as of October 21, 2020.
EMBASE Features:
*Journal coverage from 1947 to the present
*Over 32 million records, including MEDLINE titles
*Over 8,500 journals from over 95 countries, including MEDLINE titles
*Over 2,900 indexed journals unique to Embase
*Over 1.5 million records added yearly, with an average of over 6,000 each day
*Over 2.3 million conference abstracts indexed from more than 7,000 conferences dating from 2009
*Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data
*Local literature modules available as add-on
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 19 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1940's.
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journal articles, books, and conference proceedings. In addition to publication information, Scopus provides author, publication, and journal impact metrics as well as free author profiles.
An evidence-based resource for clinicians and patients with the most current information on more than 20 specialties.
NOTE: NetID login is required to access, even when on UTHSC campus.
For mobile: After downloading respective app : App Store (iOS) and Google Play , use the UpToDate username and password you created on desktop or laptop.
You must renew your UpToDate username at least every 90 days on desktop/laptop at: https://libguides.uthsc.edu/uptodate
You will get an email reminder as the date approaches.
