Atlas of Human Anatomy by
The only anatomy atlas illustrated by physicians, Atlas of Human Anatomy, 7th edition, brings you world-renowned, exquisitely clear views of the human body with a clinical perspective. In addition to the famous work of Dr. Frank Netter, you'll also find nearly 100 paintings by Dr. Carlos A. G. Machado, one of today's foremost medical illustrators. Together, these two uniquely talented physician-artists highlight the most clinically relevant views of the human body. In addition, more than 50 carefully selected radiologic images help bridge illustrated anatomy to living anatomy as seen in everyday practice.
Gray's Anatomy for Students by
Easy to read, superbly illustrated, and clinically relevant, Gray's Anatomy for Students, 4th Edition, is medical students' go-to text for essential information in human anatomy. This fully revised volume focuses on the core information students need to know, in an easy-access format and with additional multimedia tools that facilitate effective study and mastery of the material. A team of expert authors and global advisors share their extensive teaching and clinical experience, highlighted by more than 1,000 innovative, original illustrations throughout the text. Helps students understand the practical applications of anatomical concepts through unique coverage of surface anatomy, correlative diagnostic images, and clinical case studies. Presents anatomy logically by body region, and now offers bonus eBook chapters for each major body system to facilitate learning from a different perspective - covering the Cardiovascular System, Respiratory System, Gastrointestinal System, Urogenital System, Lymphatic System, and Nervous System. Features an all-new eBook chapter covering the essentials of neuroanatomy, so readers can learn key aspects of this challenging topic in the context of general anatomy. Offers new schematic drawings for key structures and topics in every chapter, providing an additional, simplified approach to introduce each topic-ideal for quick initial understanding and as a guide for students' own anatomy drawings. Includes new and improved online materials such as self-assessment questions, clinical cases, an Interactive Surface Anatomy tool, an online anatomy and embryology self-study course, and more. Provides fully revised and updated clinical content including numerous new In the Clinic boxes, plus new clinical cases, images, and correlates throughout. Enables readers to quickly review the basic concepts from each chapter with Conceptual Overviews. Includes an Enhanced eBook version with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Gray's Clinical Photographic Dissector of the Human Body by
Perfect for hands-on reference, Gray's Clinical Photographic Dissector of the Human Body, 2nd Edition is a practical resource in the anatomy lab, on surgical rotations, during clerkship and residency, and beyond! The fully revised second edition of this unique dissection guide uses superb full-color photographs to orient you more quickly in the anatomy lab, and points out the clinical relevance of each structure and every dissection. Perform dissections with confidence by comparing the 1,098 full-color photographs to the cadavers you study. Easily relate anatomical structures to clinical conditions and procedures. Understand the pertinent anatomy for more than 30 common clinical procedures such as lumbar puncture and knee aspiration, including where to make the relevant incisions. Depend on the same level of accuracy and thoroughness that have made Gray's Anatomy the defining reference on this complex subject, thanks to the expertise of the author team - all leading authorities in the world of clinical anatomy. Use this unique guide as a hands-on reference in the anatomy lab, on surgical rotations, during clerkship and residency, and beyond! New and improved photographs guide you through each dissection step-by-step. All new page design, incorporating explanatory diagrams alongside photographs to more easily orientate you on the cadaver. Corresponding Gray's illustrations added to aid understanding and add clarity to key anatomical structures. New coverage of the pelvis and perineum added to this edition. Access to the complete enhanced eBook version, including 68 BONUS dissection videos (with the printed book) Perform dissections with confidence by comparing the 1,098 full-color photographs to the cadavers you study. Easily relate anatomical structures to clinical conditions and procedures. Understand the pertinent anatomy for more than 30 common clinical procedures such as lumbar puncture and knee aspiration, including where to make the relevant incisions. Depend on the same level of accuracy and thoroughness that have made Gray's Anatomy the defining reference on this complex subject, thanks to the expertise of the author team - all leading authorities in the world of clinical anatomy. New and improved photographs guide you through each dissection step-by-step. All-new page design, incorporating explanatory diagrams alongside photographs to more easily orientate you on the cadaver. Corresponding Gray's illustrations added to aid understanding and add clarity to key anatomical structures. New coverage of the pelvis and perineum added to this edition. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references - including 68 bonus dissection videos - from the book on a variety of devices.
Histology by
Now in its revised, updated Sixth Edition, Histology: A Text and Atlas is ideal for medical, health professions, and undergraduate biology students. This best-selling combination text and atlas includes a detailed textbook description that emphasizes clinical and functional correlates of histology, fully supplemented by vividly informative illustrations and photographs. Separate, superbly illustrated atlas sections follow almost every chapter and feature large-size, full-color digital micrographs, with labels and legends that highlight details of microanatomy. For this edition, approximately 20 percent of the micrographs have been replaced with newly enhanced, sharper images. One third of the illustrations have been redrawn in a new style. A powerful online interactive atlas is included with the book and features all of the plates in the text with interactive functionality.
Junqueira's Basic Histology: Text and Atlas, Sixteenth Edition by
For more than four decades, this trusted classic has been considered the hands-down best overview of human tissue structure and function. Accessible yet comprehensive, Junqueiras Basic Histology provides everything you need to know about cell biology and histology, integrating the material with that of biochemistry, immunology, endocrinology, and physiology; it provides an excellent foundation for subsequent studies in pathology. It covers all tissues, every organ system, organs, bone and cartilage, blood, skin, and more. Formatted in a way that optimizes the learning process, Junqueira's explains how to study the structures of cells and tissues; the cell cytoplasm and nucleus; and the four basic tissue types and their role in the organ systems. Each chapter includes multiple-choice self-test questions enabling readers to assess their comprehension of important material; some questions utilizing clinical vignettes or cases to provide real-world relevance. Junqueira's is written specifically for students of medicine and other health-related professions, as well as for advanced undergraduate courses in tissue biology--and there is nothing else like it. Features: Self-test questions in every chapter Key points and summary tables highlight key content Clinical correlations presented with each topic Illustrations depict key aspects of cell biology and histology Electron and light micrographs deliver a definitive atlas of cell, tissue, and organ structures Valuable appendix explains light microscopy stains Lab manual alerts readers to see what they are actually reading about in real-life patients; enhanced lab manual available online Links to Junqueira micrographs
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease by
Readable and highly illustrated, Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th Edition presents an in-depth, state-of-the-art overview of human diseases and their cellular and molecular basis. This best-selling text delivers the latest, most essential pathology knowledge in a readable, interesting manner, ensuring optimal understanding of the latest basic science and clinical content. More than 1,000 high-quality photographs and full-color illustrations highlight new information in molecular biology, disease classifications, new drugs and drug therapies, and much more. This superb learning package also includes an enhanced eBook with a full complement of ancillary content on Student Consult. Access to this product, which may be at the discretion of your institution, is up to 3 years of online and perpetual offline access. Elsevier reserves the right to restrict or remove access due to changes in product portfolio or other market conditions. Provides uniquely authoritative and readable coverage, ideal for USMLE or specialty board preparation, as well as for coursework. Covers the hot topics you need to know about, including novel therapies for hepatitis C, classification of lymphomas, unfolded protein response, non-apoptotic pathways of cell death, coronavirus infections, liquid biopsy for cancer detection, regulation of iron absorption, clonal hematopoiesis and atherosclerosis, thrombotic microangiopathies, heparin-induced thrombocytopenias, inflammatory myopathies, genetic tools for treatment of cystic fibrosis, and many more. Uses an outstanding full-color, user-friendly design to simplify your study and quickly direct you to the information you need to know, with learning features such as boldface overviews at the beginning of each section, key concepts boxes, suggested readings, schematic diagrams that illustrate complex concepts, and new gross and microscopic figures for clarity of morphology. Brings you up to date with the latest information in molecular and genetic testing, mechanisms of disease, personalized medicine and its impact on treatment of human diseases, the role of microbiome and metabolome in non-communicable diseases, and much more. Provides access to a wealth of interactive ancillaries online: pathology case studies, videos, self-assessment questions, Targeted Therapy boxes that discuss drug therapy for specific diseases, interactive cases, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Robbins and Kumar Basic Pathology by
Readable, well-illustrated, and concise, Robbins and Kumar's Basic Pathology, 11th Edition, offers today's busy students a rich understanding of all essential pathology concepts from trusted names in the field. This updated edition thoroughly covers key pathologic processes and the time-honored tools of gross and microscopic analysis, while also retaining a strong emphasis on clinicopathologic correlations and the impact of molecular pathology on the practice of medicine. Outstanding artwork and schematic drawings, as well as a robust eBook experience with extensive additional features, make complex concepts easier to learn and retain. Includes fully updated clinical topics throughout. Features high-quality photomicrographs, gross photos, and radiologic images, as well as new artwork and over 150 new schematic diagrams that help summarize key or complex disease mechanisms. Contains a new Rapid Review section that uses bulleted summary boxes to deliver essential take-home messages and help you focus on the fundamentals. Includes tables of relevant laboratory tests for each chapter that link pathophysiology of disease and diagnostic testing. Highlights pathogenesis, morphology, and pathophysiologic content throughout. Features increased representation of diverse populations throughout the text, including clinical photographs of skin lesions in multiple skin types and a new section on the role of socially defined race in health disparities. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud-as well as access bonus content, including case studies, additional gross and microscopic figures, and more.
Wheater's Functional Histology by
Take a simple approach to understanding the fundamentals with Wheater's Functional Histology. Offering concise text accompanied by hundreds of captions and images of histology slides, this best-selling textbook will equip you with all the must-know histology information you need to complete your courses and ace your exams. Recognize the microscopic structure of normal human tissues and how it relates to function with the help of over 900 high-quality histology images and illustrations.Master how to apply histology in a clinical context through coverage of common clinical conditions in each chapter.Access the entire contents online at Student Consult, including all of the images, a virtual histolab, and USMLE-style self-assessment questions and rationales.
Autopsy Pathology by
A mainstay for pathology residents, Autopsy Pathology is designed with a uniquely combined manual and atlas format that presents today's most complete coverage of performing, interpreting, and reporting post-mortem examinations. This lasting and useful medical reference book offers a practical, step-by-step approach to discussing not only the basics of the specialty, but the performance of specialized autopsy procedures as well.
Diagnostic Pathology of Infectious Disease by
Comprehensive and up to date, the Second Edition of Diagnostic Pathology: Infectious Disease, by Dr. Richard Kradin, is an invaluable tool for the accurate diagnosis of any infectious disease―from the common to the most challenging. The organ-based format makes it an especially useful tool for surgical pathologists’ daily diagnostic and management issues. High-quality, full-color illustrations and differential diagnosis tables accompany each lesion, clearly depicting how to recognize the morphology of organisms and the spectrum of histological responses that they may cause.
Fischbach's a Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests by
Up-to-date and easy-to-navigate, A Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests, 10th Edition is the perfect point-of-care guide for nurses and health professionals caring for patients undergoing diagnostic tests and procedures. Organized the way a nurse thinks--by specimen and function--this proven resource describes an extensive array of tests for diverse populations, providing step-by-step guidance on correct procedure, tps for accurate interpretation, and expert information on patient preparation and aftercare. Find the right test with ease , whether you know the name or not. Reference critical safety information at a glance with Clinical Alerts . Quickly access relevant Abbreviations and units of measurements . Master key information with helpful tips, inclusion of both conventional and SI units, and coverage of clinical implications for increased and decreased values.
Jawetz Melnick & Adelbergs Medical Microbiology 28 E by
Understand the clinically relevant aspects of microbiology with this student-acclaimed, full-color review --- bolstered by case studies and hundreds of USMLE®-style review questions Since 1954, Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology has been hailed by students, instructors, and clinicians as the single-best resource for understanding the roles microorganisms play in human health and illness. Concise and fully up to date, this trusted classic links fundamental principles with the diagnosis and treatment of microbial infections. Along with brief descriptions of each organism, you will find vital perspectives on pathogenesis, diagnostic laboratory tests, clinical findings, treatment, and epidemiology. The book also includes an entire chapter of case studies that focuses on differential diagnosis and management of microbial infections. Here's why Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology is essential for USMLE® review: * 640+ USMLE-style review questions * 350+ illustrations * 140+ tables * 22 case studies to sharpen your differential diagnosis and management skills * An easy-to-access list of medically important microorganisms * Coverage that reflects the latest techniques in laboratory and diagnostic technologies * Full-color images and micrographs * Chapter-ending summaries * Chapter concept checks Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology, Twenty-Eighth Edition effectively introduces you to basic clinical microbiology through the fields of bacteriology, mycology, and parasitology, giving you a thorough yet understandable review of the discipline. Begin your review with it and see why there is nothing as time tested or effective.
Antibiotics Simplified by
"Antibiotics Simplified, Fourth Edition is a best-selling, succinct guide designed to bridge knowledge gained in basic sciences courses with clinical practice in infectious diseases. This practical text reviews basic microbiology and how to approach the pharmacotherapy of a patient with a presumed infection. It also contains concise Drug Class Reviews with an explanation of the characteristics of various classes of antibacterial drugs and antifungal drugs. This text simplifies learning infectious disease pharmacotherapy and condenses the many facts that are taught about antibiotics into one quick reference guide. This guide will help students learn the characteristics of antibiotics and why an antibiotic is useful for an indication. With an understanding of the characteristics of the antibiotics, students will be able to make a logical choice to treat an infection more easily"
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology by
The most up-to-date, comprehensive, and authoritative pharmacology text in health medicine--enhanced by a new full-color illustrations Organized to reflect the syllabi in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, Fourteenth Edition covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. Selection of the subject matter and order of its presentation are based on the authors' many years' experience in teaching this material to thousands of medical, pharmacy, dental, podiatry, nursing, and other health science students. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, and case studies that introduce clinical problems in many chapters. Presented in full color and enhanced by more than three hundred illustrations (many new to this edition), Basic & Clinical Pharmacology features numerous summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information. * Student-acclaimed summary tables conclude each chapter * Everything students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice * Strong emphasis on drug groups and prototypes * NEW! 100 new drug tables * Includes 330 full-color illustrations, case studies, and chapter-ending summary tables * Organized to reflect the syllabi of pharmacology courses * Descriptions of important new drugs
Basic Immunology by
Meticulously reviewed and updated for today's medical students, Basic Immunology, 6th Edition, is a concise text expertly written by the same distinguished author team as the best-selling, comprehensive text, Cellular and Molecular Immunology. This focused, easy-to-understand volume uses full-color illustrations and clinical images, useful tables, and practical features such as Summary Point boxes, end-of-chapter review questions, glossary terms, and clinical cases-all designed to help students master this complex topic in the most efficient, effective manner possible. Emphasizes clinical aspects of immunology, including disease pathogenesis, the development of novel therapies based on basic science, and an appendix of clinical cases for real-world application. Provides top-notch instruction from experienced teachers, course directors, and lecturers led by well-known editor and author Dr. Abul Abbas. Features a highly readable writing style and practical organization, now with fully revised content and updated images to reflect recent important advances in today's understanding of the immune system. Provides additional online features such as answers to in-book chapter review questions, helpful animations, and up to 10 self-assessment questions per chapter. Presents information in a format and style that maximizes usefulness to students and teachers studying medicine, allied health fields, and biology. Contains numerous features designed to help students understand key immunologic concepts: high-quality illustrations, practical tables, chapter outlines, bolded key points, and focus questions in every chapter for self-assessment and review. Includes an Enhanced eBook version with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Langman's Medical Embryology by
Langman's Medical Embryology covers embryology for medical, nursing, and health professions students with a strong clinical emphasis. The text is highly valued as a teaching and learning resource for its clinical correlation boxes, summaries, problems to solve, illustrations and clinical images, and clear, concise writing style--all of which make the subject matter accessible to students and relevant to instructors. Online material includes Simbryo--an animation program showing processes, organs, and systems developing in human embryos--as well as review questions and full text online. A separate Faculty Image Bank and PowerPoint presentations are also available.
Medical Physiology by
For a comprehensive understanding of human physiology - from molecules to systems -turn to the latest edition of Medical Physiology. This updated textbook is known for its unparalleled depth of information, equipping students with a solid foundation for a future in medicine and healthcare, and providing clinical and research professionals with a reliable go-to reference. Complex concepts are presented in a clear, concise, and logically organized format to further facilitate understanding and retention.
The Medical Interview by
The Medical Interview by Drs. Steven A. Cole and Julian Bird equips you to communicate effectively with your patients so you can provide optimal care This best-selling, widely adopted resource presents a practical, systematic approach to honing your basic interviewing skills and managing common challenging communicating situations. Its Three-Function Approach - "Build the Relationship," "Assess and Understand," and Collaborative Management" offers straightforward tasks, behaviors, and skills that can be easily mastered, making this an ideal learning tool for beginners and a valuable reference for experienced healthcare professionals.Effectively meet a full range of communication challenges including language and cultural barriers, sexual issues, elderly patients, breaking bad news, and non-adherence.
Thompson and Thompson Genetics in Medicine by
Updated to reflect the newest changes in genetics, Thompson & Thompson's Genetics in Medicine returns as one of the most favored texts in this fascinating and rapidly evolving field. By integrating the classic principles of human genetics with modern molecular genetics, this medical reference book utilizes a variety of learning tools to help you understand a wide range of genetic disorders.
Wheater's Pathology: A Text, Atlas, and Review of Histopathology by 
AJCC Cancer Staging Manual by
The AJCC Cancer Staging Manual is used by physicians and health care professionals throughout the world to facilitate the uniform description and reporting of neoplastic diseases. Proper classification and staging of cancer is essential for the physician to assign proper treatment, evaluate results of management and clinical trials, and to serve as the standard for local, regional and international reporting on cancer incidence and outcome. Significantly expanded and developed by international disease site expert panels, the Eighth Edition AJCC Cancer Staging Manual brings together all the currently available knowledge on staging of cancer at various anatomic sites. In this edition, evidence-based TNM staging is supplemented, as appropriate, by selected molecular markers and newly acquired insights into the molecular underpinnings of cancer. This edition features 12 entirely new staging systems, a wide range of changed or new staging definitions, and a refined emphasis on a personalized-medicine approach. To enhance the print and electronic usability of the cancer staging forms, they are now available exclusively for access and downloading at www.cancerstaging.org. The Eighth Edition AJCC Cancer Staging Manual remains the gold standard reference for oncologists, surgeons, pathologists, radiologists, cancer registrars and medical professionals world-wide to ensure that all those caring for cancer patients are fully versed in the language of cancer staging.
Manual of Surgical Pathology by
Offering complete, practical guidance on the evaluation of the surgical pathology specimen, the Manual of Surgical Pathology concentrates decades of experience from the faculty and staff of one of the busiest and most respected pathology departments in the world. From a specimen's arrival in the department to preparation of the final report, you'll find step-by-step instructions on specimen processing, tissue handling, gross dissection technique, histological examination, application of special stains, development of a differential diagnosis, and more. The fully revised 4th Edition is an invaluable reference for practicing pathologists, residents, and pathology assistants as a practical, everyday resource for learning and applying optimal specimen evaluation as well as an excellent guide for board review. Helps you find information quickly with a user-friendly design, concise paragraphs, numbered lists, and bulleted material throughout the text. Reflects the latest AJCC staging information, as well as updates throughout on reporting procedures, protocols, and safety. Offers detailed instructions on the dissection, description, and sampling of specimens, and explains the application of pathology reports to patient management. Provides procedures for new types of specimens including pulmonary image guided resections, endoscopic mucosal resection, endoscopic submucosal dissection, laparoscopic hysterectomy, or nephrectomy morcellation, vertical sleeve gastrectomy, and evaluation of breast implant capsules with a clinical suspicion of lymphoma Features dozens of illustrations that demonstrate the gross appearance of common pathologic lesions, and more than 150 tables that examine the interpretation of histochemical stains, immunohistochemical studies, electron microscopy findings, cytogenetic changes, and much more. Examines the specimens from every organ and system as well as bullets, medical devices, and foreign materials. Includes a new chapter on occupational hazards for pathologists ranging from visual and musculoskeletal problems to exposure and prevention of workplace acquired infection and cancer. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Latest AJCC staging information This edition will include short videos demonstrating grossing procedures General updates on reporting procedures, protocols, and safety
The Washington Manual of Surgical Pathology by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Focusing on the essential information you need to know for the clinical practice of surgical pathology, this award-winning volume in the Lippincott Manual series provides concise, high-yield content that reflects today's fast-changing advances in the field. In one convenient, portable resource, you'll find complete coverage of surgical pathology for every organ and anatomic site --all at your fingertips for quick review and reference. Washington Manual of Surgical Pathology, 3rd Edition, is an ideal reference for surgical pathologists at all levels of training and practice. Includes new WHO classifications and access to more than 2,700 high-quality images online. Offers brief, logical approaches to gross examination and dissection; microscopic diagnosis of medical as well as surgical diseases; and tumor classification. Features separate chapters devoted to ancillary surgical pathology techniques, including immunohistochemistry, immunofluorescence microscopy, electron microscopy, frozen section diagnosis, flow cytometry, DNA and RNA based molecular methods, and imaging technologies. Presents valuable content in a concise, practical format that includes easy-to-follow guidelines, tables, diagrams, and algorithms. Previous edition winner of the BMA Medical Book Award First Prize in Pathology. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook , powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Rosai and Ackerman's Surgical Pathology by