15+ full text electronic books related to nursing.
Limit of 10 simultaneous users across multiple libraries in Tennessee.
Advancing Your Career : Concepts of Professional Nursing by
Advance your career to the next level of professional practice! Here are all the concepts and theories practicing RNs need to continue their education and reach the next level of professional practice. You'll find in-depth coverage of the critical components of professional nursing practice, including effective communication, professional ethics, leadership, group theory, teaching/learning, and multicultural issues. Explore the challenges and issues that are changing the field of nursing. Then, apply them to the situations you encounter in practice today . . . and to the challenges you'll encounter tomorrow. The Textbook of Choice For West Haven University's RN to BSN "We are pleased to select Dr. Kearny's Advancing Your Career: Concepts of Professional Nursing as the textbook for Transition to Professional Nursing, the foundational course in our RN to BSN completion program. The book is expertly written by professionals within the field of nursing who have an appreciation for the needs of returning RN students in a unique training environment. From time management to conflict resolution in a dynamic health care setting, this book covers it all. It is simply a panoply of the essential ingredients needed to cultivate the nursing leaders of tomorrow. In a word, it is excellent." --Dr. Charles M. Frye, President, West Haven University, Amazon Reviewer I love it. "The book is handy and very rich in education, research and evidenced-based nursing. I love it and will continue to use it even after the course in my nursing practice." --Dominique, Amazon Reviewer Updating your Career Path. "This book is a must for every person who wants to stay current and move ahead in the area of nursing. Looking for the current "buzz words"? They are here. Definitely worth your time and money. --Amazon Reviewer
Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses by
Highly anticipated and fully updated Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, Third Edition, is a practical and useful guide for nurses who need to bridge the gap from incomplete sentences to a published manuscript. Lead Author and Editor Cynthia Saver removes the fear of confusion most nurses have about the writing and publishing process. Along the way, 25 of nursing's top writing experts and decision makers share important insights to increase the likelihood that your manuscript is accepted for publication. In this book, you will learn how to: NEW Collaborate and coauthor with professionals in other healthcare disciplines NEW Navigate interprofessional continuing education (IPCE) NEW Write qualitative studies and report the different instruments used NEW Avoid being the victim of predatory publishing Turn your dissertation or capstone project into a published article Write a letter to the editor or write a book review Work with and manage contributors when writing a book Understand open access, SQUIRE, APA, and more Doody 5 Star Review "This book is easy to read and is useful for novice and experienced authors. It is an excellent resource and should be on the bookshelf of any nurse interested in publishing." -Michalene A King, PhD, RN, CNE(Robert Morris University) (c)Doody's Review Service(TM)
Contemporary Nursing Knowledge by
What is nursing? What do nurses do? How do you define it? The 3rd Edition of this AJN Book-of-the-Year Award-Winner helps you answer those questions with a unique approach to the scientific basis of nursing knowledge. Using conceptual models, grand theories, and middle-range theories as guidelines you will learn about the current state and future of nurse educators, nurse researchers, nurse administrators, and practicing nurses. A bonus CD-ROM in every book features conceptual model- and theory-based practice applications, practice tools, research applications, and research instruments, as well as a complete bibliography and lists of additional resources to help you study. Please note: The CD packaged with this book contains a program (Adobe AIR) that is not compatible with current Mac and Windows operating systems.
Davis's Comprehensive Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications by
Best money I have spent in a LONG time. ;"I'm a nursing student and part of our clinical rotation was to write down our patient's lab results and note on any abnormals why they were abnormal for my particular patient. This book lists out not just the normal levels, but what conditions can contribute to the high or low values. Sometimes it's pages and pages of possible reasons. This baby is a fantastic time saver for me."--Online Reviewer Great for nursing school, you will use it constantly. "Best nursing lab book I've encountered. Definitely worth the money."--Online Reviewer Accuracy. "Very useful in clinical settings. Easy to read! Love this book!"--Katrina, Online Reviewer The information nurses need...when, where, and how they need it! Nursing-focused and easy-to-read, this full-color manual delivers all the information you need to understand how tests work, interpret their results, and provide quality patient care--pre-test, intra-test, and post-test. Tests and procedures are listed in alphabetical order by their complete name for quick reference. The integrated index allows fast searches by abbreviation, synonym, disease/disorder, specimen type, or test classification. Explore MORE online! An access code in new print texts unlocks Fast Find: Lab & Dx, the complete study library online, anytime, anywhere.
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by
#1 DRUG BOOK for Nursing Students! "This is the perfect drug book for nursing school! All the information on the meds is in-depth and all that you need to know."--Abby W. SAFETY FIRST! Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses®, Seventeenth Edition delivers all the information you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan--well-organized monographs for hundreds of generic and thousands of trade-name drugs. FREE DIGITAL ACCESS Redeem the access code to unlock your one-year, free subscription to DrugGuide.com, Davis's Drug Guide Online, powered by Unbound Medicine. You'll have access to more than 1,700 monographs from your desktop, laptop, or any mobile device with a web browser. Search the complete 5,000-drug database and appendices quickly and efficiently. Build your knowledge with extensively cross-referenced drugs. Keep up to date with FDA drug news. LIFE-SAVING GUIDANCE ... AT A GLANCE New! The AGS Beers Criteria for Potentially Inappropriate Medication Use in Older Adults #1 Drug Guide for patient safety Red tab for high alert medications, plus in-depth high alert and patient safety coverage Red, capitalized letters for life-threatening side effects REMS (Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategies) icon Drug-drug, drug-food, drug-natural product interactions Special considerations for patient populations. Geri heading identifies special concerns for older adults. OB and Lact headings highlight information for pregnant and breastfeeding patients. Pedi heading identifies concerns for children. Rep heading identifies considerations for patients of reproductive age. IV Administration subheads Pharmacogenomic content Canadian-specific content In-depth guidance for patient and family teaching FREE LEARNING, CARE PLANNING, AND PATIENT EDUCATION TOOLS Online at FADavis.com Audio Library of 1,200+ drug names help you pronounce important terms Two tutorials, each with a self-test Preventing Medication Errors Psychotropic Drugs Easy-to-Use Calculators Body mass index (BMI) Metric conversions IV drip rates Dosage/KG Fahrenheit/Celsius Interactive Case Studies - brief, real-life scenarios that are followed by a series of questions Audio podcasts delivering information on... Risk Evaluation Mitigation Systems (REMS) How to use Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses® Detecting and managing ADRs Evidence-based practice and Pharmacotherapeutics Pharmacogenomics Medication errors Special dosing considerations Educating patients about Safe Medication Use Video clips illustrating the safe administration of medications ONLINE REVIEWS OF THE 16TH EDITION OF DAVIS'S DRUG GUIDE FOR NURSES Five Stars. "I LOVE that this includes nursing interventions, patient teaching and an online access code. Highly recommend."--E.G. Accurate and up to date. "Top notch for nursing students! Includes many things other drug guides l
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research by
" Named a Choice Outstanding Academic Title for 2007 and an AJN Book of the Year The award-winning Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, now in its third edition, is the comprehensive resource for tracking developments in the field. With over 20 new areas of research, and meticulous updates of original entries, the encyclopedia presents key terms and concepts and their application to practice. Pithy entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives, and will be a starting point for future content and references. Nurse researchers, educators, students, and all clinical specialties will find the encyclopedia an important introduction to the breadth of nursing research today. New topics include NIH-funded research areas, a comprehensive survey of major nursing research journals, addictions care, palliative care, translational science, simulation, trauma care, family-centered care, mild cognitive impairment, active surveillance for cancer care, workplace and empowerment research, nurse engagement, nurse-physician collaboration, CAM and empowerment research, spirituality, synthesis and action research, mixed methods research, systematic review, ethnopharmacology, and more. Key Features: Includes NIH-funded research topics Provides a comprehensive survey of major nursing research journals Adds over 20 new areas of research and updates original entries Written by over 200 nursing research experts Organized alphabetically for easy access to information "
The Essential Guide to Nursing Practice: Applying Ana's Scope and Standards of Practice and Education by
This informative, new 240-page instructional guide is for everyone who currently refers to and utilizes the current editions of Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice (2010), and Nursing's Social Policy Statemen: The Essence of the Profession (2010). These two foundational texts, together with ANA's other foundational document, ANA Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements, form ANA's popular Foundation of Nursing Package. Written by nurse experts from across the profession, this guide will facilitate teaching and instruction in both nursing courses and the professional development activities of hospitals and healthcare organizations. Each of the 16 Standards of Professional Nursing Practice is presented in its own uniformly structured chapter, each of which provides: * The underlying definitions, concepts, processes, and other information necessary for understanding the standard; * Applications of the standard in the practice setting of education, administration, quality improvement, and research; * One or more case studies and accompanying discussion topics; * Power Point presentations* to accompany text; and * References and online resources. Other chapters set the context with discussions of ANA's scope of nursing practice, the nursing standards as a whole, and nursing's social policy statement, each with case studies, discussion topics, and Power Point presentations. In professional practice settings, this instructional guide also offers added value to healthcare facilities that are pursuing excellence. Any facility that encourages and empowers its nursing staff to emphasize autonomy, evidence-based practice, professional ethics, professional practice models, safe workplaces, and quality issues will find a valuable resource in this publication. In any classroom and practice setting offering professional development, this Guide can serve as a powerful, practical learning tool at any nursing level and setting.
Fundamental and Advanced Nursing Skills by
This fully revised, full-color edition equips nurses with the skills they need to survive and thrive in today's changing health care environment. Using a straight-forward approach, organized around the nursing process, the third edition of Fundamental & Advanced Nursing Skills provides a great resource. Nursing Skills, Third Edition provides a great resource for any nurse from the hospital to the home.
Introduction to Nursing Informatics by
This 4th edition of Introduction to Nursing Informatics is designed for use by practicing nurses and students in undergraduate programs of study. It presents the fundamental concepts of Nursing Informatics, and includes a number of contributions from leading experts who have practiced in the field of informatics over a number of years. The information is presented and integrated in a purposeful manner to encourage you to explore key concepts, starting with the fundamental concepts and then progressing on to core concepts and practice applications in the later sections. Briefly, the word CARE is presented as an acronym for Connected Health, Administration, Research and Education and the book is organised in sections with these sub themes. Critically, the content is linked with case-based examples to contextualize the theory presented.
Leininger's Transcultural Nursing: Concepts, Theories, Research & Practice, Fourth Edition by
The Cornerstone Text on Transcultural Nursing Concepts - Updated with the Latest Advances and Breakthroughs A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Leininger's Transcultural Nursing: Concepts, Theories, Research & Practices, Fourth Edition offers theoretical and practical guidance about the provision of client-focused care by integrating cultural values, beliefs, and lifeways into an individualized plan of care. This acclaimed resource presents a global comparative perspective about Western and non-Western cultures and examines the potential future directions for transcultural nursing with insights into rural and urban cultures in the United States including the culture of homeless mothers and children. The book covers important topics such as transcultural nursing, research, and healthcare in Kenya, Southeast Asia, Haiti, Syria, and Taiwan, as well as translational research, globalization, conflict resolution, mental health considerations, Ayurvedic medicine, genetics and genomics in healthcare, integration of care and caring, and an overview of transcultural history, concepts, and principles. Reflecting the work of experts and scholars in the discipline, the Fourth Edition includes twenty-five new chapters. There are also major updates to the Theory of Culture Care Diversity and Universality, Ethnonursing Research Method, Sunrise Enabler, and other enablers. SPECIAL FOR FACULTY: Chapter PowerPoints available online at MHProfessional.com, including learning objectives, figures, and chapter summaries to support classroom use.
Middle Range Theory for Nursing by
Three-time recipient of the AJN Book of the Year Award Praise for the third edition: "This is an outstanding edition of this book. It has great relevance for learning about, developing, and using middle range theories. It is very user friendly, yet scholarly." Score: 90, 4 Stars -Doody's Medical Reviews The fourth edition of this invaluable publication on middle range theory in nursing reflects the most current theoretical advances in the field. With five additional chapters, new content incorporates exemplars that bridge middle range theory to advanced nursing practice. Additional content for DNP programs includes two new theories: Bureaucratic Caring and Self-Care of Chronic Illness. This user-friendly text stresses how theory informs practice and research in the everyday world of nursing. Divided into four sections, content sets the stage for understanding middle range theory by elaborating on disciplinary perspectives, an organizing framework, and evaluation of the theory. Middle Range Theory for Nursing, Fourth Edition, presents a broad spectrum of 13 middle range theories. Each theory is broken down into its purpose, development, and conceptual underpinnings, and includes a model demonstrating the relationships among the concepts, and the use of the theory in research and practice. Including concept building for research through the lens of middle range theory, a rigorous 10-phase process that moves from a practice story to a conceptual foundation, and exemplars that clarify the concept building process, this new edition remains an essential text for advanced practice theory and research courses. New to the Fourth Edition: Reflects new theoretical advancesFive completely new chaptersNew exemplars linking middle range theory to advanced nursing practiceNew content for DNP programsTwo new theories: Bureaucratic Caring and Self-Care of Chronic IllnessTwo articles from Advances in Nursing Science documenting a meta-perspective about middle range theory development over the decades Key Features: Provides a strong contextual foundation for understanding middle range theoryIntroduces the Ladder of Abstraction to clarify the "range" of nursing's theoretical foundationPresents 13 middle range theories with philosophical, conceptual, and empirical dimensions of each theoryExamines research application through exemplars demonstrating the use of middle range theory for advanced practice nursingIncludes Appendix summarizing middle range theories from 1988 to 2017
Mosby's 2015 Nursing Drug Reference by
Find the drug information you need fast! Trusted by nurses for over 25 years, Mosby's 2015 Nursing Drug Reference features a full-color design and convenient A-to-Z organization that offer quick and easy access to the latest and most vital information on the drugs you administer most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled and updated in drug monograph format - including 20 new drugs recently approved by the FDA. And no other drug handbook places a higher emphasis on patient safety, with Black Box Warnings for dangerous or life-threatening adverse reactions, Safety Alert icons for situations requiring special attention, and highlighted Common and Life-Threatening Side Effects. Comprehensive coverage also includes IV drug dosage and administration instructions, including special considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. The companion Evolve website offers even more helpful features, such as additional drug monographs (including infrequently used or recently approved drugs); guidelines to safe handling of chemotherapeutic agents; combination products; controlled-substance chart; drug name safety; drugs metabolized by known P450s; drugs to use cautiously for geriatric patients; herbal products; patient teaching guides in English and Spanish; and Canadian resources. More than 5,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug you will administer in practice or in clinicals. Attractive full-color design highlights important information for quick and easy access. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to dangerous or life-threatening adverse reactions. Safety Alert icon identifies situations that require special attention. Common and life-threatening side effects are organized by body system, showing signs to watch for during assessments. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Coverage of IV drug administration highlights dosage and IV administration instructions, including special considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Comprehensive drug monographs include generic names, Rx or OTC availability, pronunciations, U.S. and Canadian trade names, functional and chemical classification, controlled-substance schedule, do-not-confuse drugs, action, uses, unlabeled uses, dosages and routes, available forms, side effects, contraindications, precautions, pharmacokinetics, interactions (including drug/herb, drug/food and drug lab test), nursing considerations, and treatment of overdose. Complete pharmacokinetic information includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Flexible, water-resistant cover provides durability in the clinical setting. A companion website includes updates with infrequently used or recently approved drugs, a full-color pill atlas, guidelines to safe handling of chemotherapeutic agents, combination products, drugs metabolized by known P450s, medications to be cautiously for geriatric patients, herbal products, a listing of high-alert Canadian medications and immunization schedules, patient teaching guides in English and Spanish, and more. 20 NEW monographs provide current content on added or newly released drugs.
Psychotherapy for the Advanced Practice Psychiatric Nurse by
The leading textbook on psychotherapy for advanced practice psychiatric nurses and students. Award-winning and highly lauded, Psychotherapy for the Advanced Practice Psychiatric Nurse is a how-to compendium of evidence-based approaches for both new and experienced advanced practice psychiatric nurses and students. This expanded third edition includes a revised framework for practice based on new theory and research on attachment and neurophysiology. It advises the reader on when and how to use techniques germane to various evidence-based psychotherapy approaches for the specific client problems encountered in clinical practice. The skillful therapist knows how to respond, engage, and accurately assess the problem to formulate a treatment plan. This textbook guides the reader in accurate assessment through a comprehensive understanding of development and the application of neuroscience to make sense of what is happening for the patient in treatment. Contributed by leaders in the field, chapters integrate the best evidence-based approaches into a relationship-based framework and provides helpful patient-management strategies, from the first contact through termination. This gold-standard textbook and reference honors the heritage of psychiatric nursing, reaffirms the centrality of relationship for psychiatric advanced practice, and celebrates the excellence, vitality, depth, and breadth of knowledge of the specialty.
Understanding Nursing Research by
As the bestselling nursing research text, Understanding Nursing Research: Building an Evidence-Based Practice, 6th Edition offers unique insights into understanding, appraising, and applying published research to evidence-based practice. It is known for its authoritative content, time-tested systematic approach, and unique research example format -- newly redesigned for the sixth edition to better demonstrate how the steps of the research process relate to evidence-based nursing. "This would be excellent for student nurses, nurses new to research or any nurse with an interest in research." Reviewed by: Helen Reeves, St Giles Walsall Hospice on behalf of Nursing Times, December 2015 Authoritative content is written by two of the true pioneers in nursing research, who offer unique, first-hand insights into the field. Research examples provide practice in working with published studies, with many of the examples including Critical Appraisal and Implications for Practice sections. Clear, step-by-step organization introduces the research process and demonstrates how this systematic framework relates to evidence-based practice. Strong emphasis on evidence-based practice helps you develop skills in studying and appraising published research, so you are prepared for your role in working with research evidence. Critical Appraisal Guidelines boxes provide step-by-step guidance in appraising published research studies. Emphasis on critical appraisal versus critique reflects contemporary usage in nursing research and evidence-based practice. Balanced coverage of qualitative research prepares you to approach research questions and clinical questions with an unbiased view of the researcher''s methodology. Presentation of two different appraisal processes covers both the traditional in-depth critical appraisal process that prepares you for graduate-level work in research, and the concise, practice-focused research appraisal process that equips you for quick and accurate evaluation of the applicability of research findings to clinical practice. NEW! Redesigned research example format includes research examples have been thoroughly redesigned with a clear hierarchy of subcategories. NEW! Improved focus on need-to-know content and greater use of bulleting, creative illustrations, and tables, employs a more consistent, streamlined approach from chapter to chapter. NEW! Updated research examples ensure you are learning through the most clinically relevant topics and studies. NEW! Detailed directions on how to critically appraise research syntheses - such as systematic reviews, meta-analyses, meta-syntheses, and mixed-methods systematic reviews - increase your understanding of the types of research syntheses conducted in nursing and how to determine the quality of these syntheses and the relevance of their findings for practice. NEW! A unique emphasis on QSEN, aided by the input of a QSEN consultant, increases the book''s relevance to national curriculum standards and promotes the safe practice of nursing by using the most current research. NEW! Chapter on the Enhanced Literature Review provides guidelines for structure of reviews written for different purposes. NEW! More practically focused chapter on Outcomes Research better addresses the trending topic of outcomes research. NEW! Expanded coverage of mixed-methods research and translational research responds to the growing emphasis on these research emphases. NEW! Expanded coverage of cultural competency and cultural validity provides valuable information for providing care to diverse populations and understanding the validity of research instruments in various cultures. NEW! Quick-reference tools include a Brief Table of Contents, a new Levels of Knowledge illustration, and other evidence-based practice information inside the front cover. A Research Designs and Statistical Analysis Techniques Reference and a new Key to Statistical Symbols are located inside the back cover. NEW! Enhanced illustration program incorporates re-colorized illustrations and additional full-color illustrations in each chapter. NEW! Additional design enhancements include a special 1-column adaptation of the RN Design standard, table row separators, and newly designed chapter openers.