Recruitment Guide

The mission of the Health Sciences Library is to provide an environment conducive to student learning and the biomedical information resources necessary for teaching, research, service, and patient care, and to support efforts to improve the health of Tennesseans

Library Faculty and Staff Directory

See what we're up to on social media!

 Twitter      Facebook     Instagram 

Research and Learning Services (RLS)

• Provides research support services
• Provides library instructional programs online and in-person
• Provides each college with a library liaison via the embedded librarian program
• Provides library liaison House Calls services
• Manages the Information Desk and library study space
• Manages Ask a Librarian email account

Electronic Collections and Services (ECS)

• Manages individual and package subscriptions, analyzes usages, makes recommendation on cancellations and renewals  
• Manages and makes those subscriptions available through a variety of means (e.g., holdings management, Link resolver, Library catalog, Discovery Search, Library research guides, Ezproxy)
• Makes articles and books available that aren't available immediately through subscriptions (interlibrary loan) using ILLIad
• Provides consultation and advisory role on research data and scholarly communication issues

Archive and Special Collections (ASC)

• Acquires, catalogs, preserves, and makes available for research materials documenting the history of UTHSC and its predecessor institutions, as well as materials of historical significance to the health sciences and their practitioners, especially in Memphis, Tennessee and the Mid-South region
• Includes rare and antiquarian books, manuscripts, artifacts, photographs, oral histories, and biographical information on Tennessee physicians
• Includes a special collection by UTHSC Anatomy Professor Dr. Simon R. Bruesch, a book lover and history enthusiast. Dr. Bruesch collected thousand of books, documents, and objects throughout his lifetime. After his retirement, he donated his collection to the UTHSC Library.