EndNote: Download & Set Up

Common Mac Issue: EndNote Library doesn't automatically open after installation

• Once you’ve installed EndNote, you may not see any new window open. From your Applications or your Menu Bar, click EndNote 20 icon. You should see the top bar of your Mac say “EndNote 20” right next to the Apple icon.
• Next to EndNote 20 on the top bar, select File > New. Create a new library. The window should then open.

As UTHSC has a site license for EndNote, you should NOT be asked for the product key. To avoid this:

Option One

• After downloading EndNote, be sure to right click and “Extract All” before installing. 
• If you do NOT see the "Extract All" option you may have another ZIP extractor program installed which has changed your file type associations. You may be able to use that program unzip the ENX7Inst.msi and License.dat together.  The installer must see the License.dat file automatically. 

Option Two

• Return to your downloaded EndNote installer; it will be in a zipped file. Open the zipped file, select BOTH the .msi and .dat files, and move them to another place on your local storage (desktop, documents, etc). You must select the individual files, not the zipped folder.
•  After moving the files, double click the .msi file in its new location. This should bypass the product key prompt.

EndNote offers the option to find full text usually in PDF format downloaded to your EndNote Library. Before doing this, it is highly recommended that you set Find Full Text Preferences in EndNote.  This way you will find more full text PDFs because you connect your EndNote Library with the UTHSC Library's resources. Follow the following to set the EndNote preferences:

• Choose Find Full Text under EndNote Preferences (For PC users the EndNote Preferences is under Edit; For Mac users the EndNote Preferences is under EndNote menu)
• Check all the four boxes if they are not already checked
• Enter UTHSC library's OpenURL and authenticate With URL:

OpenURL Path is:  https://resolver.ebsco.com/c/urqjfc/result?

Authenticate with: https://ezproxy.uthsc.edu/login?url=

Note that 1) the EndNote Find Full Text feature will not find everything for you. Some journals and database services (e.g., JSTOR, EBSCO, sciencedirect.com) will not work with it. 2) If your computer is on campus, you do not need to enter Authenticate with URL

To add Output Styles to your options, navigate to Tools > Output Styles > Open Style Manager. Here you can add or remove reference styles to format your citations and bibliographies. If you do not see the style you are looking for, you can download additional styles at EndNote's website.

If you need to combine EndNote libraries, either because someone sent you a library or you have switched computers, you can do so through merging. To do this, the file must be an .enlx file. Before merging two libraries, you need to double click the .enlx file so that it will be extracted and saved as an .enl file.

There are multiple ways to merge library files. The recommended method to use is to Import one library into another. This allows you to filter out duplicates.

Method 1: Importing EndNote Libraries

1. Open the EndNote Library into which you want to import the references.
2. Go to Import from the File menu.
3. Browse to the library you want to import. It should be an .enl file.
4. In Import Options, choose EndNote Library.
5. Text translation is on 'No translation'
6. Click Import.

Method 2: Using Drag and Drop

1. To copy specific references from one library to another, simply select them in one library.
2. Click on any part of the selection and use the mouse to drag the selection to another library.
3. The selected references are copied to the library where they were “dropped.”

Method 3: Copying References in Libraries

1. Select the references that you want to copy and choose Copy from the Edit menu.
2. Open the library to which you want to add the references and choose Paste from the Edit menu.

If a compressed file won't open, EndNote may not be installed. You will have to open it on a computer that has EndNote installed.

No additional databases can be added to EndNote's Online Search that is built into the software.

Sometimes, bibliographic information is missing when PDF files are imported. This is especially true when the imported PDF file is a scanned document. To correct this, do the following: 

1. Start from your EndNote Library.
2. Double click the file that only imported the PDF attachment.
3. Enter the metadata manually.

Why does this happen? When importing PDF files, EndNote scans the metadata and the first two pages of the PDF file to locate a DOI (Digital Object Identifier). If a single DOI is found, that DOI is sent to the CrossRef system. If CrossRef recognizes the DOI, the bibliographic information is imported into EndNote. For bibliographic information to be entered automatically into EndNote when importing PDFs, only one DOI must be present in the article, and that DOI must be on a single line.

Tips for entering references manually:

• You don't have to fill out all the fields
• Don't apply any formatting (e.g,. bold, italic) just enter plain text
• Each author entering on a new line (First name last name; Last name, first name)
• End corporate author name with a comma (e.g., University of Tennessee,)
• Author term in red means it is new. As you type, EndNote will suggest authors to you
• Years should be entered as a 4-digit number
• Page numbers can be entered as a range or truncated (e.g., 112-119 or 112-9)

To move your EndNote Library to another location, you need to first compress the original EndNote Library or Groups of the Library you want to move.

Step 1: Compress your EndNote Library file:

• Open the EndNote Library.
• From the "File" menu, select "Compressed Library (.enlx)" for PC and Mac.
• Name the EndNote Compressed Library.
• Create or Save the Library to create a zip file (filename.enlx).

Step 2: Move the compressed file to the second computer:

• Option 1: Email the zip file to yourself.
• Option 2: Use cloud storage service such as OneDrive if the zip file is too big to email.
• Option 3: Transport the zip file using a flash drive.

Step 3: Restore the compressed library file:

• Option 1: Open the compressed EndNote Library (filename.enlx).
• Option 2: Double click the compressed EndNote Library (filename.enlx).
• This will extract the compressed library into a regular EndNote Library.