Center for Healthcare Improvement and Patient Simulation (CHIPS)

AccessMedicine is an online medical resource providing access to medical information, including textbooks, multimedia resources, and tools for diagnosis and treatment. It is designed for medical students, residents, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and practicing physicians.

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) covers journals, books and other materials in nursing and the allied health/health profession fields. Some full-text included.

ClinicalKey provides quick access to full-text medical resources including ebooks, journal articles, clinical practice guidelines, point-of-care clinical monographs, procedural guides, images, videos, drug information, and patient education handouts.

A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs).

Embase is a comprehensive biomedical and pharmacological database, providing access to research articles and conference abstracts, particularly strong in pharmacology and drug safety.

UpToDate Lexidrug is a comprehensive clinical database that provides access to current drug and disease information. Features include drug identification, drug dosing calculation, AHFS content, patient education materials, and more.

MEDLINE is the world's premiere database of biomedical literature. Its topics include basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, and more.

MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Provides evidence-based information on drugs, disease management, toxicology, neonatal dosing, alternative medicines, and patient education.
NOTE: NetID login is required to access, even when on UTHSC campus.

Natural Medicines provides high quality, evidence-based information on dietary supplements (including herbs, vitamins, and minerals), functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises, and medical conditions.

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 38 million citations and abstracts of biomedical and life sciences literature. The bulk of citations span from the 1940s to the present.

SciFinder-n is a research discovery tool that accesses the Chemical Abstract Service (CAS) databases, which contains literature from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more. Individual SciFinder accounts are required. SciFinder-n is now available as of March 1, 2020

Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journal articles, books, and conference proceedings. In addition to publication information, Scopus provides author, publication, and journal impact metrics as well as free author profiles.

A clinical search tool to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.

An evidence-based resource for clinicians and patients with the most current information on more than 20 specialties. NOTE: NetID login is required to access, even when on UTHSC campus.
For mobile: After downloading respective app : App Store (iOS) and Google Play , use the UpToDate username and password you created on desktop or laptop.
You must renew your UpToDate username at least every 90 days on desktop/laptop at: https://libguides.uthsc.edu/uptodate 
You will get an email reminder as the date approaches.

VisualDx is an award-winning diagnostic clinical decision support system based on images from the physical exam and designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety.