Concepts of Research Methodology (HIIM 609)

X9 is available for download through UTK as of Monday, September 10, 2018 with NetID:

Mac: https://webapps.utk.edu/OIT/SoftwareDistribution/Download/Direct/2730/ClarivateAnalyticsEndNote/EndNoteX9forMacSept62018

Windows: https://webapps.utk.edu/OIT/SoftwareDistribution/Download/Direct/2436/ClarivateAnalyticsEndNote/EndNoteX9forWindowsSept62018

EndNote recommends uninstalling previous Endnote versions before installing X9, see here for more details:  https://support.clarivate.com/Endnote/s/article/EndNote-Upgrade-from-an-older-version?language=en_US

Also, recommended: do NOT store your EndNote library (The Data folder and the .enl file) on cloud or network storage of any kind (iCloud, DropBox, OneDrive etc.)  EndNote libraries not stored locally can become corrupt over time.  Instead, create an EndNote Online account and sync your library to the EndNote Cloud to prevent corruption.  http://clarivate.libguides.com/endnote_training/home

Also remember, when editing or removing references while using CWYW, do not delete using backspace in Word.  Instead, use the EndNote toolbar to edit references, find it and remove it using EndNote tools.  This prevents corruption on your Word document.

New features include:

• Enhanced reference-sharing capabilities
• New reference types
• Increased integration with Web of Science including Manuscript Matcher and Citation Report

EndNote is a bibliographic management software that helps collect and manage citations for your research or coursework.

You can also use EndNote to organize PDF files and references.  You can click the Windows or Mac tab above to find videos. 

Here are 3 videos for the Windows version.

The first one is 6 minutes, the second is 23 minutes, and the third is one hour.

Choose whichever works best for your learning style.

Here's a little longer 23 minute intro:

And here is a 58 minute recorded class:

Here are 2 videos for the Mac version.

The first one is 6 minutes and the second is 25 minutes.

Choose whichever works best for your learning style.

Here's a 25 minute class recording: 

Syncing your EndNote Library

This tutorial demonstrates how to set up syncing on your EndNote libraries:

EndNote X8.2 Update
January 23, 2018-- EndNote X8.2 is now available for Mac.

The EndNote X8.2 Mac (Build: 18.2.0.13302) update contains:

• EndNote X8.2 Mac Cite While You Write add-in compatibility for Microsoft Word 2016, version 16.x
• EndNote X8.2 Mac compatibility with macOS High Sierra

January 09, 2018-- EndNote X8.2 is now available for Windows.

The EndNote X8.2 Windows (Build: 18.2.0.11343) update contains:

• Improved Full Text performance with restored retrieval from IEEE and Taylor & Francis
• Issue attaching non-PDF files as relative links has been resolved
• Issue with syncing libraries whose pathnames contain non-ASCII characters has been corrected
• Rectified "Unable to contact online service" error when syncing/uploading a library which contained an empty file attachment
• Restored ability to scroll in Connection Status window
• Resolved issue where deleting PDFs from the library failed to also remove them from the library's data folder
• You can now drag and drop to attach .zip, .epub, .mp4 and .mp3 files

EndNote X8.1 Update

This update contains the following:

• Revised and updated bibliographic style, online search and import filter files
• Improved Full Text performance with restored:
  • retrieval from IEEE Xplore
  • ability for users to connect to their library's catalog with a SFX OpenURL resolver
• Automatically merge updates to unsaved references when syncing
• Sync updates and improvements

EndNote X8.0.1 Update

This update contains the following optimizations and fixes:

• Restore Unfiled Group reference count display upon library launch
• Improved metadata retrieval for reference creation upon PDF import
• Improved Full Text performance including better retrieval based on DOI and from the following sites and services:
  • ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers)
  • Allen Press
  • Annual Reviews
  • Emerald
  • Future Medicine
  • Institution of Civil Engineers
  • JSTOR
  • Microbiology Society
  • MIT Press Journals
  • Nature
  • New England Journal of Medicine
  • SAGE
  • Scitation/AIP (American Institute of Physics)
  • Taylor & Francis
  • ScienceDirect
• Restored links to Online User Guide under Help menu

X8 for Mac (10.10 Yosemite to 10.12 Sierra) is now available through the UTK OIT Download Site as of Nov. 9, 2016.

X8 for Windows is also now available and the install is succesful as of Friday, Nov. 11, 2016, 10am.  Note the Windows directions you are now required to download before downloading the installer file, say to install 7-zip to properly extract the licence.dat file.  This is not necessarily required.  If you right click on the zip file and see the option "Extract All" this should properly extract the installer and license file.  Where you run into problems is just double-clicking on the zip file, then the installer won't see the license.dat file.  Extract All or 7-zip solve this issue.

Attention MAC users:  In preparation for Apple’s release of macOS Sierra on September 20, 2016 the developer has been testing various versions of EndNote. Through their testing, they discovered some issues with the EndNote PDF viewer. 

These issues have been reported to Apple, but in the meantime, the developer recommends that you DO NOT upgrade to macOS Sierra.

The developers are not currently planning a fix to EndNote X7, but will continue to work with Apple to resolve these issues for X8. EndNote X8 should be fully macOS Sierra compatible.

From: http://endnote.com/kb/140624

X8 is scheduled for release in November. http://endnote.com/product-details/X8

7.7.1 was released October 2016

This release contains a critical update for users experiencing PDF import issues.

7.7 for Mac and Windows was released Sept. 2016

This release contains critical updates, optimizations and other improvements for:

• Online Search and Find Full Text with PubMed via Secure Sockets Layer (SSL)
• Using short form, include the title field only when needed to disambiguate a citation
• Cite While You Write, includes track changes and format multiple citations via EndNote online
• Import PDFs
• Other bug fixes and stability improvements

Attention Microsoft Word 2016 for Mac users, for the best experience, please update Word to version 15.24 or later.

7.6 for Mac was released August 23, 2016

This update makes EndNote fully compatible with the 64-bit version of Microsoft Word 2016 (Office 15.25 and later)

7.5.3 for Mac was released May 2016

OS X Yosemite (10.10) users: 

For the best Cite While You Write experience, do not install this update nor Microsoft Word 2016 version 15.21. We will let you know when Microsoft releases a new version of Word 2016 that is compatible with Cite While You Write.

For all other Mac users, this release contains:

• Cite While You Write improvements and bug fixes
• OS X El Capitan (10.11) users, please update to Microsoft Word v15.21 or later for the best experience
• Restored support for Word 2011 and 2008 on OS X Snow Leopard (10.6)
• Compatibility with Trend Micro Internet Security on OS X El Capitan

7.5 for Windows was released April 5, 2016

Contains critical updates, optimizations and other improvements for:

• Cite While You Write for Microsoft Word 2016
• Syncing libraries with large file attachments
• User experience on Windows devices with higher screen resolution
• Find Full Text feature
   

7.5 for Mac was released Feb. 2, 2016

This release contains features, critical updates, optimizations and other improvements for:

• Cite While You Write for Microsoft Word 2016 (Mac)
• Compatibility with OS X El Capitan®
• Sync
• Restored Direct Export functionality for OS X Snow Leopard®

7.4 was released August 2015.  It has critical updates and official compatibly with Microsoft® Windows 10.

Manuscript Matcher, the EndNote Online new feature (March 2015), finds the journals that best fit your manuscript, then helps you submit your work to the journal of your choice. Watch this video to learn more about this feature. 

7.3.1 was released April 1, 2015 to the base X7 desktop version available from the UTK download site.  

7.3.1 has critical fixes to Cite While You Write regarding ambiguous citations.

Updates are free and should be downloaded within Endnote using "Check for Updates..."  

• On Windows, go to the Help menu, then the option is the 6th item down.
• On Mac, go to the EndNote menu in upper left, then the option is the 4th item down.

For directions from Endnote, see http://endnote.com/kb/129024

EndNote X7.2 was released Sept. 30, 2014.   The key feature of that update was to have the ability to share your EndNote Library with up to 14 users.  You can:

• Sync attachments, notes, and annotations in real-time for collaboration
• Share your entire EndNote library, including references, PDFs, and annotations
• Everyone can add to, annotate and use the library – at the same time
• There’s no charge for sharing, no library size limit and no charge for unlimited cloud storage

Note that you will need to have an EndNote Online account for sharing and syncing. 

Update Term List (Medical). (November 2014) Some publishers require citations to include full journal titles while others require abbreviations. Journal Term List can address this issue. By default, EndNote uses whatever form of the journal name you have in your EndNote records. The term list provides an alternative to this default.  The following file is the latest journal term list (Medical) that includes more journals. Follow these steps to do the update:

1. Download the attached file and add/save it to your EndNote Terms folder
2. Open your EndNote Library 
3. Go to Tools —> Open Journal Term Lists —> Journal Term List
4. Click Lists and then Import List…
5. Browse to Terms folder  and select the file you just added to the folder: Medical 11-20-14
6. Click Choose, and now your list is updated