Lin Wu, MLIS, AHIP
Assistant Director/Associate Professor
Research & Learning Services
Health Sciences Library
University of Tennessee Health Science Center
877 Madison Ave. Room 218
Memphis, TN 38163
https://libguides.uthsc.edu/lwu
14 titles
-Free personal ClinicalKey account required to download PDF version of content if available.
Title list current as of 2021-12-6
Includes:
Berne and Levy Physiology
Cellular Physiology and Neurophysiology
Endocrine and Reproductive Physiology
Gastrointestinal Physiology
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology
Hematology
Medical Physiology
Medical Sciences
Netter's Essential Physiology
Physiology
Pocket Companion to Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology
Pocket Companion to Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology
Renal Physiology
Respiratory Physiology
Big Picture Physiology-Medical Course and Step 1 Review by Jonathan D. KibblePublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Get the BIG PICTURE of medical physiology―with high yield content that makes learning easier and quicker than ever Packed with easy-to-understand bulleted copy focusing only on the facts you need to know, Medical Physiology: The Big Picture - Medical Course and Step 1 provides text and videos, all in one location to help the reader better comprehend content. This complete, yet concise treatment covers all the major topics in medical physiology. You'll find chapters on neurophysiology, blood, cardiovascular physiology, pulmonary physiology, renal and acid base balance, the gastrointestinal system, the endocrine system, and reproductive physiology―each of which includes video. Here is everything you need to learn and review physiology quickly and efficiently. This invaluable resource features: 450 full-color figures illustrating essential processes 190 board exam-style questions and answers Complementary videos for every chapter (videos are in 4-7 minute segments) Special icons highlighting important clinical information High yield clinical pearls and clinical examples highlighting the relevance and application of physiologic concepts A full practice test organized by body system to allow either comprehensive testing or focused review.
Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology by Kim E. Barrett; Susan M. Barman; Jason Yuan; Heddwen L. BrooksThe leading text on human physiology for more than four decades--enhanced by all new video tutorials A Doody's Core Title for 2019! For more than four decades, Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology has been helping those in the medical field understand human and mammalian physiology. Applauded for its interesting and engagingly written style, Ganong's concisely covers every important topic without sacrificing depth or readability, and delivers more detailed, high-yield information per page than any other similar text or review. Thoroughly updated to reflect the latest research and developments in important areas such as chronic pain, reproductive physiology, and acid-base homeostasis, Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology, Twenty-Sixth Edition incorporates examples from clinical medicine to illustrate important physiologic concepts. Ganong's will prove valuable to students who need a concise review for the USMLE, or physicians who want to keep pace with the ever-changing world of medical physiology. * More than 600 full-color illustrations * Two types of review questions: end-of-chapter and board-style * NEW! Increased number of clinical cases and flow charts * NEW! Video tutorials from the author; high-yield Frequently Asked Question feature with detailed explanations; improved legends that eliminate the need to refer back to the text
Cardiovascular Physiology by David E. Mohrman; Lois Jane HellerThe best cardiovascular physiology text for USMLE and exam review Cardiovascular Physiology, Ninth Edition is a concise and enjoyable way for medical students to gain a fundamental knowledge of the basic operating principles of the intact cardiovascular system and how those principles apply to clinical medicine. Succinct but thorough, it focuses on the facts and concepts students must know to get a solid "big picture" overview of how the cardiovascular system operates in normal and abnormal situations. No other text will prove more valuable in enhancing medical students' ability to evaluate the myriad new information they will be exposed to throughout their career, than Cardiovascular Physiology. *Clarifies the details of physiologic mechanisms and their role in pathologic states *Links cardiovascular physiology to diagnosis and treatment *Summarizes key concepts at the end of each chapter *Highlights must-know information with chapter objectives *Reinforces learning with study questions at the end of each chapter
Endocrine Physiology by Patricia E. MolinaThe principles of endocrinology and metabolism clearly and simply explained on a system-by-system, organ-by-organ basis ESSENTIAL FOR USMLE® STEP 1 REVIEW! A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Applauded by medical students for its clarity, comprehensiveness, and portability, Endocrine Physiology, Fifth Edition delivers unmatched coverage of the fundamental concepts of hormone biological actions. These concepts provide a solid foundation for first-and-second year medical students to understand the physiologic mechanisms involved in neuroendocrine regulation of organ function. With its emphasis on must-know principles, Endocrine Physiology is essential for residents and fellows, and is the single-best endocrine review available for the USMLE® Step 1. Here's why this is essential for USMLE® Step 1 review: * Informative first chapter describes the organization of the endocrine system, as well as general concepts of hormone production and release, transport and metabolic rate, and cellular mechanisms of action * Boxed case studies help you apply principles to real-world clinical situations * Each chapter includes bulleted Objectives, Key Concepts, Study Questions, Suggested Readings, and diagrams encapsulating key concepts If you've been looking for a student-tested, basic yet comprehensive review of endocrinology and metabolism, your search ends here.
Gastrointestinal Physiology by Kim E. BarrettGain a complete understanding of the functioning of the gastrointestinal system with this concise, engagingly written text Gastrointestinal Physiology explains the operation and performance of one of the body's most crucial systems. Using clear, compelling language, the book's presentation makes it easy to absorb the content andintegrate it as you learn the physiology of other bodilysystems. Written to help you understand essential conceptsrather than merely memorize facts, this unique textexamines many medically relevant facets of this important body system, including anatomy, pathophysiology, andtherapeutics, in concert with physiological information. FEATURES: Provides a thorough review of core concepts and highlights clinical application Covers the physiologic principles needed to understand and treat patients with digestive and liver diseases Includes clinical examples that link basic science with the practice of medicine Incorporates new information on emerging topics such as the communication between the intestine and central nervous system that controls food intake, the myriad rolesnewly ascribed to the intestinal microbiota, contemporary approaches to therapy for a number of GI maladies, and the role of the gut in obesity Enhanced by valuable learning aids such as study questions, learning objectives, key concepts, numerous illustrations and charts, and recommended readings
Pathophysiology of Disease by Gary D. Hammer; Stephen J. McPheeA full-color case-based review of the essentials of pathophysiology covering all major organs and systems. More than 130 case studies with Q&A A Doody's Core Title for 2019! The goal of this trusted text is to introduce you to clinical medicine by reviewing the pathophysiologic basis of 132 diseases (and associated signs and symptoms) commonly encountered in medical practice. The authors, all experts in their respective fields, have provided a concise review of relevant normal structure and function of each body system, followed by a description of the pathophysiologic mechanisms that underlie several common diseases related to that system. The accessible presentation features high-quality full-color illustrations, and numerous tables and diagrams. Each chapter of Pathophysiology of Disease concludes with a collection of case studies and questions designed to test your understanding of the pathophysiology of each clinical entity discussed. These case studies allow you to apply your knowledge to specific clinical situations. Detailed answers to each case study question are provided at the end of the book. This unique interweaving of physiological and pathological concepts will put you on the path toward thinking about signs and symptoms in terms of their pathophysiologic basis, giving you an understanding of the "why" behind illness and treatment. HERE ARE SOME OF THE MANY UPDATES AND ADDITIONS: * Twelve additional case studies, bringing the total to 132, one for each of the clinical entities discussed in the book's 24 chapters * More than 2/3 of the chapters are enhanced and refreshed by the input of new contributors * Totally revised chapter on neoplasia * New chapter sections on urticaria, spinocerebellar ataxia, idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, and spondyloarthropathies * New tables summarizing adverse prognostic signs in acute pancreatitis, genetic syndromes associated with pancreatic cancer, and causes of end-stage renal disease * New diagnosis and etiologic classification of diabetes mellitus, and review of mechanisms of newest pharmacologic agents for its treatment * Updates on fine-needle aspiration biopsy of thyroid nodules, and thyroid disorders in pregnancy * Updated references throughout the book
Physiology of the Heart by Arnold M. KatzDr. Arnold Katz's internationally acclaimed classic, Physiology of the Heart , is now in its thoroughly revised Fifth Edition, incorporating the latest molecular biology research and extensively exploring the clinical applications of these findings. In the single authored, expert voice that is this book's unique strength, Dr. Katz provides a comprehensive overview of the physiological and biophysical basis of cardiac function, beginning with structure and proceeding to biochemistry, biophysics, and pathophysiology in arrhythmias, ischemia, and heart failure. Emphasis is on the interrelationships of basic processes among the cell, cardiac muscle function, and the biophysics of contractile and electrical behavior. This edition includes new material on cell signaling and molecular biology.
Call Number: R2Library (limit of 1 simultaneous user)
ISBN: 1608311716
Publication Date: 2011, 5th edition
Pulmonary Physiology by Michael G. LevitzkyEssential for USMLE and certification review! Gain a complete understanding of the aspects of pulmonary physiology essential to clinical medicine For more than thirty-five years, this trusted review has provided students, residents, and fellows with a solid background in the aspects of pulmonary physiology that are essential for an understanding of clinical medicine. The book clearly describes how and why the human respiratory system works in a style that is easy to absorb and integrate with your existing knowledge of other body systems. Features: * Thoroughly updated with new figures, tables, and end-of-chapter references and clinical correlations * Each chapter includes clearly stated learning objectives, summaries of key concepts, illustrations of essential concepts, clinical correlations, problems, and pulmonary function test data to interpret, and suggested readings * Enables you to understand the basic concepts of pulmonary physiology well enough to apply them with confidence in future practice * Provides detailed explanations of physiologic mechanisms and demonstrates how they apply to pathologic states If you're in need of a concise, time-tested, basic review of pulmonary physiology -- one that encourages comprehension rather than memorization, your search ends here.
Vanders Renal Physiology by Douglas C. Eaton; John PoolerPerfect for USMLE® and Course Review in Renal Physiology! Combining the latest research with a fully integrated teaching approach, Vander's Renal Physiology, Ninth Edition clearly and expertly explains how the kidneys affect other body systems and how they in turn are affected by these systems. There is no better way learn the fundamental principles of the structure, function, and pathologies of the human kidney that are essential for an understanding of clinical medicine, than this time-tested resource. Here's why Vander's is the best review of renal physiology available for the USMLE® Step 1: * Begins with the basics and works up to advanced principles * Learning Aids include flow charts, diagrams, key concepts, clinical examples, boxed statements to emphasize major points, learning objectives, and review questions with answers and explanations * Focuses on the goals of renal processes and the logic of them * Presents the normal function of the kidney with clinical correlations to disease states
AccessMedicine (ACM) is an online medical resource that provides students with the tools they need to excel in basic and advanced studies, clerkships, and crucial test prep. ACM provides residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with interactive content, self-assessment, and leading medical texts to enhance decision-making at the point-of-care. It and allows for practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure best patient outcomes. It includes a complete full-text library of clinical and basic science textbooks, including Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, The Color Atlas of Family Medicine, and many others.
AccessPharmacy from McGraw-Hill Medical is a database of text books and more, designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education and practice today. Updated regularly and optimized for viewing on any device, this comprehensive, content-rich online pharmacy resource allows users to explore leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, research drugs and supplements.
Gives pharmacy students instant access to videos, games, Q&A, and leading pharmacy textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning, and allows practicing pharmacists to get information instantly about drugs, herbs and supplements, and consult features and editorials concerning the vast array of current pharmacy publications.
-Over 1,100 e-book titles.
-All Elsevier imprints or related.
-To browse by specialty, after clicking link above, click Books in upper right corner, then click Specialties filter in upper left corner.
-Free individual ClinicalKey account required to download PDF version of content.
-Some content is only available in HTML format, not PDF.
-Site license allows unlimited simultaneous users on and off-campus.
600+ e-books focused on the health professions.
Limit of 1, 3 or unlimited simultaneous user, varies by title.
Save/download PDF limit of pages per day, per title, varies by title.
Off-line download of complete title is generally not available.
Free PDF books from the National Academies Press that focus on on issues affecting the health of the public, including population-based public health measures and the public health infrastructure.
Over 150 titles now available (June 2015). Browse by discipline.
Limit of 1 simultaneous user per title.
Email unlimited single pages in HTML format to review at your convenience.
New to UTHSC for 2023, access to 2020-2023 ebook titles in the Biomedical and Life Sciences ebook package.
Series included:
AAPS Advances in the Pharmaceutical Sciences Series
AAPS Introductions in the Pharmaceutical Sciences
Advanced Clinical Pharmacy - Research, Development and Practical Applications
Advanced Sciences and Technologies for Security Applications
Advances in 21st Century Human Settlements
Advances in Anatomy, Embryology and Cell Biology
Advances in Biochemistry in Health and Disease
Advances in Cognitive Neurodynamics
Advances in Economic Botany
Advances in Environmental Microbiology
Advances in Experimental Medicine and Biology
Advances in Marine Bioprocesses and Bioproducts
Advances in Neurobiology
Advances in Olericulture
Advances in Photosynthesis and Respiration
Advances in Polar Ecology
Agriculture Automation and Control
Angewandte Forschung im Sport
Animal Signals and Communication
Animal Welfare
Aquatic Ecology Series
Bacilli in Climate Resilient Agriculture and Bioprospecting
BestMasters
Biofuel and Biorefinery Technologies
Biofuels and Biorefineries
Biological Magnetic Resonance
Biologically-Inspired Systems
Biology of Extracellular Matrix
Biomedical Visualization
Biosemiotics
Brain Science
Brazilian Marine Biodiversity
Cardiac and Vascular Biology
Cell Engineering
Cereals, Pulses and Oilseeds
Child Maltreatment
Children’s Well-Being: Indicators and Research
Cities and Nature
Clean Energy Production Technologies
Climate Change Management
Compendium of Plant Genomes
Computer-Aided Drug Discovery and Design
Concepts and Strategies in Plant Sciences
Contemporary Clinical Neuroscience
Copernicus Books
Coral Reefs of the World
Cuatro Ciénegas Basin: An Endangered Hyperdiverse Oasis
Current Topics in Behavioral Neurosciences
Current Topics in Microbiology and Immunology
Developments in Applied Phycology
Developments in Paleoenvironmental Research
Developments in Primatology: Progress and Prospects
Diagnostics and Therapeutic Advances in GI Malignancies
Disaster Resilience and Green Growth
Disaster Studies and Management
Ecological Research Monographs
Ecological Studies
Ecology and Ethics
Ecosystems of China
Entomology in Focus
Entomology Monographs
Environmental Challenges and Solutions
Environmental Chemistry for a Sustainable World
Environmental History
essentials
Estuaries of the World
Ethnobiology
Ethology and Behavioral Ecology of Marine Mammals
Evolutionary Biology – New Perspectives on Its Development
Evolutionary Studies
Experientia Supplementum
Fascinating Life Sciences
Fish & Fisheries Series
Flora Neotropica
Focus on Sexuality Research
Food and Health
Food Bioactive Ingredients
Food Engineering Series
Food Microbiology and Food Safety
Forschungsreihe der FH Münster
Frontiers in Ecoacoustics
Fundamental Biomedical Technologies
Fungal Biology
Fungal Diversity Research Series
Future City
Gels Horizons: From Science to Smart Materials
Grand Challenges in Biology and Biotechnology
Handbook of Experimental Pharmacology
Handbook of Modern Biophysics
Handbook of Plant Breeding
Handbooks of Sociology and Social Research
Healthy Ageing and Longevity
Heat Shock Proteins
Human Perspectives in Health Sciences and Technology
IMISCOE Research Series
Innovations in Landscape Research
Integrated Science
Integrating Food Science and Engineering Knowledge Into the Food Chain
Interdisciplinary Biotechnological Advances
Interdisciplinary Evolution Research
International Perspectives on Aging
Invading Nature - Springer Series in Invasion Ecology
Key-Concepts in MIN
Laboratory Animal Science and Medicine
Landscape Series
Learning Materials in Biosciences
Lecture Notes in Bioengineering
Lecture Notes in Computational Vision and Biomechanics
Livestock Diseases and Management
Managing Forest Ecosystems
Masterclass in Neuroendocrinology
Medical Virology: From Pathogenesis to Disease Control
Medicinal and Aromatic Plants of the World
Memoirs of The New York Botanical Garden
Methods in Physiology
Microbial Zoonoses
Microbiology Monographs
Microorganisms for Sustainability
Molecular and Integrative Toxicology
Nanotechnology in the Life Sciences
NATO Science for Peace and Security Series A: Chemistry and Biology
NATO Science for Peace and Security Series C: Environmental Security
Natural and Social Sciences of Patagonia
Neglected Tropical Diseases
New Paradigms of Living Systems
Nutritional Neurosciences
Parasitology Research Monographs
Perspectives in Physiology
Physiology in Clinical Neurosciences – Brain and Spinal Cord Crosstalks
Physiology in Health and Disease
Plant and Vegetation
Plant in Challenging Environments
Plant Life and Environment Dynamics
Plant Pathology in the 21st Century
Population Genomics
Progress in Biological Control
Progress in Botany
Progress in Drug Research
Progress in Inflammation Research
Progress in Molecular and Subcellular Biology
Progress in Precision Agriculture
Research for Development
Resistance to Targeted Anti-Cancer Therapeutics
Results and Problems in Cell Differentiation
Reviews of Physiology, Biochemistry and Pharmacology
Rhizosphere Biology
Risk, Systems and Decisions
RNA Technologies
Satoyama Initiative Thematic Review
Science and Fiction
Signaling and Communication in Plants
Smart Agriculture
Socio-Affective Computing
Soil Biology
Soil Forensics
Springer Biographies
Springer Earth System Sciences
Springer Handbook of Auditory Research
Springer Praxis Books
Springer Series in Biophysics
Springer Series in Computational Neuroscience
Springer Series on Biofilms
Springer Theses
SpringerBriefs in Aging
SpringerBriefs in Agriculture
SpringerBriefs in Animal Sciences
SpringerBriefs in Applied Sciences and Technology
SpringerBriefs in Bioengineering
SpringerBriefs in Evolutionary Biology
SpringerBriefs in Immunology
SpringerBriefs in Microbiology
SpringerBriefs in Pharmaceutical Science & Drug Development
SpringerBriefs in Plant Science
SpringerBriefs in Space Life Sciences
SpringerBriefs in Systems Biology
Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine
Subcellular Biochemistry
Sustainability in Plant and Crop Protection
Sustainability Sciences in Asia and Africa
Sustainable Agriculture Reviews
Sustainable Development and Biodiversity
Sustainable Development Goals Series
Sustainable Plant Nutrition in a Changing World
Techniques in Life Science and Biomedicine for the Non-Expert
The Anthropocene: Politik—Economics—Society—Science
The Frontiers Collection
The Handbook of Environmental Chemistry
The International Library of Bioethics
The Microbiomes of Humans, Animals, Plants, and the Environment
The Mycota
The Receptors
Theoretical Biology
Topics in Biodiversity and Conservation
Topics in Geobiology
Translational Bioinformatics
Translational Medicine Research
Tree Physiology
Tropical Forestry
United Nations University Series on Regionalism
Urban Agriculture
Vertebrate Paleobiology and Paleoanthropology
Wetlands: Ecology, Conservation and Management
Wildlife Research Monographs
World Forests
Zoological Monographs
New to UTHSC for 2023, access to 2020-2023 ebook titles in the Medicine collection.
Series included:
Acta Neurochirurgica Supplement
Advanced Practice in Nursing
Advanced Sciences and Technologies for Security Applications
Advances and Controversies in Hematopoietic Transplantation and Cell Therapy
Advances and Technical Standards in Neurosurgery
Advances in Experimental Medicine and Biology
Advances in Neuroethics
Advances in Predictive, Preventive and Personalised Medicine
Advances in Visual Science and Eye Diseases
Annual Update in Intensive Care and Emergency Medicine
BDJ Clinician’s Guides
Biosystems & Biorobotics
Cancer Dissemination Pathways
Cancer Drug Discovery and Development
Cancer Treatment and Research
Cardiovascular Medicine
Clinical Cases in Cardiology
Clinical Cases in Dermatology
Clinical Gastroenterology
Clinicians’ Guides to Radionuclide Hybrid Imaging
Cognitive Informatics in Biomedicine and Healthcare
Cognitive Systems Monographs
Community Quality-of-Life and Well-Being
Comprehensive Approach to Psychiatry
Comprehensive Gynecology and Obstetrics
Comprehensive Healthcare Simulation
Congenital Heart Disease in Adolescents and Adults
Contemporary Cardiology
Contemporary Endocrinology
Contemporary Medical Imaging
Contemporary Rheumatology
Current Cancer Research
Current Cardiovascular Therapy
Current Clinical Neurology
Current Clinical Pathology
Current Clinical Practice
Current Clinical Psychiatry
Current Human Cell Research and Applications
Current Practices in Ophthalmology
Current Topics in Environmental Health and Preventive Medicine
Difficult Decisions in Surgery: An Evidence-Based Approach
Emerging Infectious Diseases of the 21st Century
Essentials in Cytopathology
Essentials in Ophthalmology
Essentials of Diagnostic Pathology
European Manual of Medicine
GI Surgery Annual
Global Maternal and Child Health
Headache
Health Informatics
Health Information Technology Standards
Healthcare Delivery in the Information Age
Hematologic Malignancies
History, Philosophy and Theory of the Life Sciences
Hot Topics in Acute Care Surgery and Trauma
IDKD Springer Series
Imaging Informatics for Healthcare Professionals
Imaging Informatics for Healthcare Professionals
In Clinical Practice
Integrating Psychiatry and Primary Care
International Handbooks of Quality-of-Life
Internet of Things
ISGE Series
ISGE Series
Key-Concepts in MIN
Lecture Notes in Bioengineering
Lecture Notes in Bioengineering
Lessons from the ICU
Lessons from the ICU
Management of Urology
Management of Urology
Management of Urology
Medical Radiology
Modern Otology and Neurotology
Molecular and Translational Medicine
Molecular Pathology Library
Neurocultural Health and Wellbeing
New Paradigms in Healthcare
New Procedures in Spinal Interventional Neuroradiology
Nutrition and Health
Ocular Trauma
Palgrave Studies in Public Health Policy Research
Pediatric Oncology
Perspectives in Nursing Management and Care for Older Adults
Practical Anatomic Pathology
Practical Guides in Radiation Oncology
Practical Issues in Geriatrics
Psychiatry Update
Public Health in China
Radiology Illustrated
Rare Diseases of the Immune System
Recent Clinical Techniques, Results, and Research in Wounds
Recent Results in Cancer Research
Reproductive Medicine for Clinicians
Research Ethics Forum
Research for Development
Research Series on the Chinese Dream and China’s Development Path
Respiratory Disease Series: Diagnostic Tools and Disease Managements
Respiratory Medicine
Retina Atlas
Risk, Systems and Decisions
Springer Biographies
Springer Praxis Books
Springer Series on Bio- and Neurosystems
Springer Series on Epidemiology and Public Health
Springer Specialist Surgery Series
Springer Surgery Atlas Series
Springer Theses
SpringerBriefs for Data Scientists and Innovators
SpringerBriefs in Applied Sciences and Technology
SpringerBriefs in Public Health
SpringerBriefs in Well-Being and Quality of Life Research
Strategies in Fracture Treatments
Stroke Revisited
Success in Academic Surgery
Sustainable Development Goals Series
TELe-Health
Textbooks in Contemporary Dentistry
Translational Systems Sciences
Trends in Andrology and Sexual Medicine
UNIPA Springer Series
Updates in Clinical Dermatology
Updates in Hypertension and Cardiovascular Protection
Updates in Surgery
Urodynamics, Neurourology and Pelvic Floor Dysfunctions
What Radiology Residents Need to Know
Big Picture Physiology-Medical Course and Step 1 Review by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Get the BIG PICTURE of medical physiology―with high yield content that makes learning easier and quicker than ever Packed with easy-to-understand bulleted copy focusing only on the facts you need to know, Medical Physiology: The Big Picture - Medical Course and Step 1 provides text and videos, all in one location to help the reader better comprehend content. This complete, yet concise treatment covers all the major topics in medical physiology. You'll find chapters on neurophysiology, blood, cardiovascular physiology, pulmonary physiology, renal and acid base balance, the gastrointestinal system, the endocrine system, and reproductive physiology―each of which includes video. Here is everything you need to learn and review physiology quickly and efficiently. This invaluable resource features: 450 full-color figures illustrating essential processes 190 board exam-style questions and answers Complementary videos for every chapter (videos are in 4-7 minute segments) Special icons highlighting important clinical information High yield clinical pearls and clinical examples highlighting the relevance and application of physiologic concepts A full practice test organized by body system to allow either comprehensive testing or focused review.
Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology by
The leading text on human physiology for more than four decades--enhanced by all new video tutorials A Doody's Core Title for 2019! For more than four decades, Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology has been helping those in the medical field understand human and mammalian physiology. Applauded for its interesting and engagingly written style, Ganong's concisely covers every important topic without sacrificing depth or readability, and delivers more detailed, high-yield information per page than any other similar text or review. Thoroughly updated to reflect the latest research and developments in important areas such as chronic pain, reproductive physiology, and acid-base homeostasis, Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology, Twenty-Sixth Edition incorporates examples from clinical medicine to illustrate important physiologic concepts. Ganong's will prove valuable to students who need a concise review for the USMLE, or physicians who want to keep pace with the ever-changing world of medical physiology. * More than 600 full-color illustrations * Two types of review questions: end-of-chapter and board-style * NEW! Increased number of clinical cases and flow charts * NEW! Video tutorials from the author; high-yield Frequently Asked Question feature with detailed explanations; improved legends that eliminate the need to refer back to the text
Cardiovascular Physiology by
The best cardiovascular physiology text for USMLE and exam review Cardiovascular Physiology, Ninth Edition is a concise and enjoyable way for medical students to gain a fundamental knowledge of the basic operating principles of the intact cardiovascular system and how those principles apply to clinical medicine. Succinct but thorough, it focuses on the facts and concepts students must know to get a solid "big picture" overview of how the cardiovascular system operates in normal and abnormal situations. No other text will prove more valuable in enhancing medical students' ability to evaluate the myriad new information they will be exposed to throughout their career, than Cardiovascular Physiology. *Clarifies the details of physiologic mechanisms and their role in pathologic states *Links cardiovascular physiology to diagnosis and treatment *Summarizes key concepts at the end of each chapter *Highlights must-know information with chapter objectives *Reinforces learning with study questions at the end of each chapter
Endocrine Physiology by
The principles of endocrinology and metabolism clearly and simply explained on a system-by-system, organ-by-organ basis ESSENTIAL FOR USMLE® STEP 1 REVIEW! A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Applauded by medical students for its clarity, comprehensiveness, and portability, Endocrine Physiology, Fifth Edition delivers unmatched coverage of the fundamental concepts of hormone biological actions. These concepts provide a solid foundation for first-and-second year medical students to understand the physiologic mechanisms involved in neuroendocrine regulation of organ function. With its emphasis on must-know principles, Endocrine Physiology is essential for residents and fellows, and is the single-best endocrine review available for the USMLE® Step 1. Here's why this is essential for USMLE® Step 1 review: * Informative first chapter describes the organization of the endocrine system, as well as general concepts of hormone production and release, transport and metabolic rate, and cellular mechanisms of action * Boxed case studies help you apply principles to real-world clinical situations * Each chapter includes bulleted Objectives, Key Concepts, Study Questions, Suggested Readings, and diagrams encapsulating key concepts If you've been looking for a student-tested, basic yet comprehensive review of endocrinology and metabolism, your search ends here.
Gastrointestinal Physiology by
Gain a complete understanding of the functioning of the gastrointestinal system with this concise, engagingly written text Gastrointestinal Physiology explains the operation and performance of one of the body's most crucial systems. Using clear, compelling language, the book's presentation makes it easy to absorb the content andintegrate it as you learn the physiology of other bodilysystems. Written to help you understand essential conceptsrather than merely memorize facts, this unique textexamines many medically relevant facets of this important body system, including anatomy, pathophysiology, andtherapeutics, in concert with physiological information. FEATURES: Provides a thorough review of core concepts and highlights clinical application Covers the physiologic principles needed to understand and treat patients with digestive and liver diseases Includes clinical examples that link basic science with the practice of medicine Incorporates new information on emerging topics such as the communication between the intestine and central nervous system that controls food intake, the myriad rolesnewly ascribed to the intestinal microbiota, contemporary approaches to therapy for a number of GI maladies, and the role of the gut in obesity Enhanced by valuable learning aids such as study questions, learning objectives, key concepts, numerous illustrations and charts, and recommended readings
Pathophysiology of Disease by
A full-color case-based review of the essentials of pathophysiology covering all major organs and systems. More than 130 case studies with Q&A A Doody's Core Title for 2019! The goal of this trusted text is to introduce you to clinical medicine by reviewing the pathophysiologic basis of 132 diseases (and associated signs and symptoms) commonly encountered in medical practice. The authors, all experts in their respective fields, have provided a concise review of relevant normal structure and function of each body system, followed by a description of the pathophysiologic mechanisms that underlie several common diseases related to that system. The accessible presentation features high-quality full-color illustrations, and numerous tables and diagrams. Each chapter of Pathophysiology of Disease concludes with a collection of case studies and questions designed to test your understanding of the pathophysiology of each clinical entity discussed. These case studies allow you to apply your knowledge to specific clinical situations. Detailed answers to each case study question are provided at the end of the book. This unique interweaving of physiological and pathological concepts will put you on the path toward thinking about signs and symptoms in terms of their pathophysiologic basis, giving you an understanding of the "why" behind illness and treatment. HERE ARE SOME OF THE MANY UPDATES AND ADDITIONS: * Twelve additional case studies, bringing the total to 132, one for each of the clinical entities discussed in the book's 24 chapters * More than 2/3 of the chapters are enhanced and refreshed by the input of new contributors * Totally revised chapter on neoplasia * New chapter sections on urticaria, spinocerebellar ataxia, idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, and spondyloarthropathies * New tables summarizing adverse prognostic signs in acute pancreatitis, genetic syndromes associated with pancreatic cancer, and causes of end-stage renal disease * New diagnosis and etiologic classification of diabetes mellitus, and review of mechanisms of newest pharmacologic agents for its treatment * Updates on fine-needle aspiration biopsy of thyroid nodules, and thyroid disorders in pregnancy * Updated references throughout the book
Physiology of the Heart by
Dr. Arnold Katz's internationally acclaimed classic, Physiology of the Heart , is now in its thoroughly revised Fifth Edition, incorporating the latest molecular biology research and extensively exploring the clinical applications of these findings. In the single authored, expert voice that is this book's unique strength, Dr. Katz provides a comprehensive overview of the physiological and biophysical basis of cardiac function, beginning with structure and proceeding to biochemistry, biophysics, and pathophysiology in arrhythmias, ischemia, and heart failure. Emphasis is on the interrelationships of basic processes among the cell, cardiac muscle function, and the biophysics of contractile and electrical behavior. This edition includes new material on cell signaling and molecular biology.
Pulmonary Physiology by
Essential for USMLE and certification review! Gain a complete understanding of the aspects of pulmonary physiology essential to clinical medicine For more than thirty-five years, this trusted review has provided students, residents, and fellows with a solid background in the aspects of pulmonary physiology that are essential for an understanding of clinical medicine. The book clearly describes how and why the human respiratory system works in a style that is easy to absorb and integrate with your existing knowledge of other body systems. Features: * Thoroughly updated with new figures, tables, and end-of-chapter references and clinical correlations * Each chapter includes clearly stated learning objectives, summaries of key concepts, illustrations of essential concepts, clinical correlations, problems, and pulmonary function test data to interpret, and suggested readings * Enables you to understand the basic concepts of pulmonary physiology well enough to apply them with confidence in future practice * Provides detailed explanations of physiologic mechanisms and demonstrates how they apply to pathologic states If you're in need of a concise, time-tested, basic review of pulmonary physiology -- one that encourages comprehension rather than memorization, your search ends here.
Vanders Renal Physiology by
Perfect for USMLE® and Course Review in Renal Physiology! Combining the latest research with a fully integrated teaching approach, Vander's Renal Physiology, Ninth Edition clearly and expertly explains how the kidneys affect other body systems and how they in turn are affected by these systems. There is no better way learn the fundamental principles of the structure, function, and pathologies of the human kidney that are essential for an understanding of clinical medicine, than this time-tested resource. Here's why Vander's is the best review of renal physiology available for the USMLE® Step 1: * Begins with the basics and works up to advanced principles * Learning Aids include flow charts, diagrams, key concepts, clinical examples, boxed statements to emphasize major points, learning objectives, and review questions with answers and explanations * Focuses on the goals of renal processes and the logic of them * Presents the normal function of the kidney with clinical correlations to disease states