Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological AssociationThe Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: WZ 345 P976 2020
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Pediatric Acute Care by Beth Nachtsheim Bolick (Editor); Karin Reuter-Rice (Editor); Maureen A. Madden (Editor); Paul N. Severin (Editor)Stay up-to-date on the latest evidence and clinical practice in pediatric acute care with the definitive textbook in the field. Now in its second edition, Pediatric Acute Care: A Guide for Interprofessional Practice takes an evidence-based, interprofessional approach to pediatric acute care as it exemplifies the depth and diversity that's needed for the dynamic healthcare environments in which acutely ill children receive care. Coverage includes how to work with the pediatric patient and family, major acute care disorders and their management, emergency preparedness, common acute care procedures, and much more. With contributions from more than 200 practicing clinicians and academic experts, it represents a wide variety of disciplines including medicine, nursing, pharmacy, child life, nutrition, law, integrative medicine, education, public health, and psychology, among others. The second edition also features the addition of new physician and nurse practitioner co-editors as well as extensive content updates including updated evidence-based content throughout the text, the integration of the 2016 IPEC Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice, a new full-color design, and new vivid illustrations throughout. UNIQUE! Interprofessional collaborative approach includes contributions from more than 200 practicing clinicians and academic experts from the U.S. and Canada, including nursing, medicine, pharmacy, child life, nutrition, law, integrative medicine, education, public health, and psychology. Consistent organization within disorder chapters begins with a section on Physiology and continues with sections on Pathophysiology, Epidemiology and Etiology, Presentation, Differential Diagnosis, Diagnostic Studies, and a Plan of Care that include Therapeutic Management, Consultation, Patient and Family Education and Disposition and Discharge Planning. Comprehensive content spanning five units divides coverage into introductory information, the approach to the pediatric patient and family, major acute care disorders and their management, emergency preparedness, and common acute care procedures. NEW! Updated evidence-based content has been added throughout to ensure that you're up-to-date on all topics needed to provide care for pediatric patients in acute, inpatient, emergency, transport, and critical care settings. NEW! Full-color design and illustrations enhance learning and make content easier to navigate and digest. NEW! Integration of the 2016 IPEC Core Competencies ensure that you're learning the professional skills and protocols required for effective, contemporary interprofessional collaborative practice. UPDATED! Streamlined procedures unit focuses more sharply on need-to-know content.
Call Number: ProQuest EBook Central (limit 3 simultaneous users)
Publication Date: 2020-06-22
Caffey's Pediatric Diagnostic Imaging by Brian D. ColeyFor more than 70 years, Caffey's Pediatric Diagnostic Imaging has been the comprehensive, go-to reference that radiologists have relied upon for dependable coverage of all aspects of pediatric imaging. In the 13th Edition, Dr. Brian Coley leads a team of experts to bring you up to date with today's practice standards in radiation effects and safety, as well as in head and neck, neurologic, thoracic, cardiac, gastrointestinal, genitourinary, and musculoskeletal pediatric imaging. This two-volume bestselling reference is a must-have resource for pediatric radiologists, general radiologists, pediatric subspecialists, pediatricians, hospitals, and more - anywhere clinicians need to ensure safe, effective, and up-to-date imaging of children. Provides access to 50 online videos, including hypertrophic pyloric stenosis, disorders of swallowing, fetal swallowing, fetal bowel obstruction, upper GI and ultrasound evaluation of malrotation and volvulus, congenital heart disease MRI evaluation, and many more. Includes separate chapters on radiation effects and safety, pre-natal imaging, neoplasms, trauma, techniques, embryology, genetic anomalies, and common acquired conditions. Takes an updated, contemporary approach with more focused and consistently formatted content throughout. Clinical content includes Overview; Etiologies, Pathophysiology, and Clinical Presentation; Imaging, including pros and cons, costs, evidence-based data, findings, and differential diagnostic considerations; and Treatment, including follow-up. Features 8,500 high-quality images - 1,000 new or updated. Provides expanded coverage of advanced imaging and diagnostics, including genetics and fetal imaging, MRI and advanced MR techniques, low-dose CT, ultrasound, nuclear medicine, and molecular imaging, as well as the latest quality standards, evidence-based data, and practice guidelines. Features new Key Points boxes and more tables and flowcharts that make reference faster and easier. Focuses on safety, particularly in radiation dosing, as part of the Image Gently® campaign to improve pediatric imaging while limiting radiation exposure and unneeded studies. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: ClinicalKey (unlimited users)
Publication Date: 2018-04-30
Pediatric and Neonatal Dosage Handbook by Carol K. Taketomo; Jane Hurlburt Hodding; Donna M. Kraus
Publication Date: 2013-08-15
Rogers' Handbook of Pediatric Intensive Care by Donald H. ShaffnerPortable and easy to use, Rogers' Handbook of Pediatric Intensive Care, Fifth Edition , contains key information from the best-selling Rogers' Textbook in a handy format designed for everyday use. Nearly 100 chapters offer a clinically relevant synopsis of core information needed for quick reference and safe practice in the PICU. Key Features: New chapters cover Rapid Response Systems; Non-Invasive Ventilation; Abusive Head Trauma; Pulmonary Hypertension; Dengue and Other Viral Hemorrhagic Fevers (including Ebola); Gastrointestinal Bleeding; Diagnostic Imaging of the Abdomen; and more. All chapters have been thoroughly updated and rewritten. Numerous tables and line drawings facilitate quick retrieval of information. Distills the authoritative, essential information you need in the PICU, in an easy-to-manage handbook format. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Every three years, The Harriet Lane Handbook is carefully updated by residents, edited by chief residents, and reviewed by expert faculty at The Johns Hopkins Hospital. Easy to use, concise, and complete, this essential manual keeps you current with new guidelines, practice parameters, pharmacology, and more. The 22nd Edition of this portable reference continues to be the #1 source of pediatric point-of-care clinical information for pediatric residents, students, nurses, and all healthcare professionals who treat young patients. Trusted for more than 65 years for fast, accurate information on pediatric diagnosis and treatment. Updated and expanded content includes an all-new chapter on Psychiatry, plus reorganized information on Emergency and Critical Care Management, as well as Traumatic Injuries. The popular Pediatric Drug Formulary, updated by Carlton K. K. Lee, PharmD, MPH, provides the latest in pharmacologic treatment of pediatric patients. Outline format ensures you'll find information quickly and easily, even in the most demanding circumstances. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pediatric Physical Examination by Karen DuderstadtKnown for its accuracy, consistency, and portability, Pediatric Physical Examination: An Illustrated Handbook, 3rd Edition teaches the unique range of skills needed to assess children of all ages. Spiral-bound for quick reference in clinical settings, this photo-rich, step-by-step guide to physical examination for advanced practice providers prepares you to expertly examine children from birth through adolescence. Body system chapters begin with fetal development and take you through the key developmental stages of childhood. For infants and young children, Duderstadt uses the quiet-to-active approach favored by pediatric experts and considered more effective for this age-group than the traditional head-to-toe approach used for adults. This edition features a new chapter on newborn physical examination, expanded coverage of skin conditions and new Red Flag highlights that help you recognize high-priority health issues. Expert guidance for the pediatric exam employs the quiet-to-active approach to the examination and assessment of infants - including preterm infants - and young children. This pediatric assessment approach, which starts with listening and moves on to touching, yields the best results in this age group. Richly illustrated in full color to help facilitate learning, with more than 300 photos and drawings that familiarize you with assessment techniques and common assessment findings. Easy-to-use two-column format provides quick access to concise guidance for the pediatric physical exam. Quick-reference special features, including: Information Gathering tables highlight questions and data needed from the patient/guardian, with questions conveniently separated by age group, to guide history-taking. Concise Conditions tables summarize common abnormal findings for each examination area. Pediatric Pearls highlight effective physical examination findings and techniques gleaned from years of expert practice. Family, Cultural, and Racial Considerations sections address the increasingly important areas of family and cultural assessment to prepare you for differences to anticipate when assessing children of various cultural or racial groups. Evidence-Based Practice Tips highlight useful research findings that guide clinical practice. Bulleted Summary of Examination lists at the end of each examination chapter highlight key assessment points associated with each body system and serve as a convenient learning aid and quick reference. End-of-chapter Charting examples demonstrate how to record physical examination findings in the health record and familiarize you with documentation language and format. Convenient spiral binding lets you lay the book flat or fold it back for easy visualization and quick reference in clinical settings. NEW! Completely new Newborn Assessment chapter equips you to provide comprehensive assessment of newborn patients. UPDATED! Expanded coverage of skin conditions equips you to effectively assess the common pediatric skin conditions that you will encounter in day-to-day practice. NEW and UNIQUE! Red Flag feature alerts you to recognize such issues as trauma, neglect, health issues related to conflict-related geographic displacement, and other high-priority health issues that practitioners encounter (e.g., croup, developmental delay). UNIQUE! Interprofessional Collaboration feature promotes engagement with other healthcare and non-healthcare professionals, such as Occupational Therapists, Physical Therapists, physicians, medical specialists, counselors, or other professional resources. NEW! Updated content throughout, including the latest coverage of gender considerations, autism spectrum disorder screening, and electronic documentation (charting via the EHR).
Publication Date: 2018-02-16
Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics by Karen Marcdante; Robert M. KliegmanPart of the highly regarded Nelson family of pediatric references, Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 8th Edition, is a concise, focused resource for medical students, pediatric residents, PAs, and nurse practitioners. Ideal for pediatric residencies, clerkships, and exams, this 8th Edition offers a readable, full-color format; high-yield, targeted chapters; and new features that make it even more user-friendly for today's in-training professionals or practitioners. Focuses on the core knowledge you need to know, while also providing complete coverage of recent advances in pediatrics. Coverage includes normal childhood growth and development, as well as the diagnosis, management, and prevention of common pediatric diseases and disorders. Includes new Pearls for Practitioners bullets at the end of each section, providing key clinical points and treatment information. Features well written, high-yield coverage throughout, following COMSEP curriculum guidelines relevant to your pediatric clerkship or rotation. Uses a full-color format with images and numerous new tables throughout, so you can easily visualize complex information. Provides real-world insights from chapter authors who are also Clerkship Directors, helping you gain the knowledge and skills necessary to succeed both in caring for patients and in preparing for clerkship or in-service examinations. Includes Student Consult access which features the full contents of the book, now integrated with select decision-making algorithms from Pediatric Decision-Making Strategies by Pomeranz et al. (ISBN: 978-0-323-29854-4), online at Student Consult.
Henry's Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory Methods by Richard A. McPherson; Richard I. McPherson; Matthew R. PincusRecognized as the definitive reference in laboratory medicine since 1908, Henry's Clinical Diagnosis continues to offer state-of-the-art guidance on the scientific foundation and clinical application of today's complete range of laboratory tests. Employing a multidisciplinary approach, it presents the newest information available in the field, including new developments in technologies and the automation platforms on which measurements are performed. Provides guidance on error detection, correction, and prevention, as well as cost-effective test selection. Features a full-color layout, illustrations and visual aids, and an organization based on organ system. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Features the latest knowledge on cutting-edge technologies of molecular diagnostics and proteomics. Includes a wealth of information on the exciting subject of omics; these extraordinarily complex measurements reflect important changes in the body and have the potential to predict the onset of diseases such as diabetes mellitus. Coverage of today's hottest topics includes advances in transfusion medicine and organ transplantation; molecular diagnostics in microbiology and infectious diseases; point-of-care testing; pharmacogenomics; and the microbiome. Toxicology and Therapeutic Drug Monitoring chapter discusses the necessity of testing for therapeutic drugs that are more frequently being abused by users.
Call Number: ClinicalKey (unlimited users)
Publication Date: 2016-05-12
Fleisher and Ludwig’s Textbook of Pediatric Emergency Medicine by Richard G. Bachur; Kathy N. Shaw (Editor)Overcome the latest clinical challenges in the emergency care of pediatric patients! Fleisher & Ludwig's Textbook of Pediatric Emergency Medicine has long been acknowledged as the indispensible comprehensive clinical reference on diagnosing and managing emergent health issues in children. Now, a new editorial team and an all-star collection of contributing authorities have meticulously updated this essential work, bringing you all of the most recent approaches to virtually any pediatric emergency you are likely to encounter in practice. A multitude of new chapters and comprehensive updates put the latest know-how at your fingertips, helping you to optimally manage young patients. A reorganized, streamlined table of contents and refined chapter template for medical emergencies, trauma, surgical emergencies, and behavioral health emergencies approaches pediatric emergencies the way you engage with them in practice. New clinical pathways section provide key steps for managing critical patients New related chapters feature in most chapters enables you to easily cross-reference content across chapters. New colorful design Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition , which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages , references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use Online-only content includes e-figures, e-tables and additional resources See the inside front cover to find out how to access your eBook!
Publication Date: 2015-12-25
Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics by Robert M. Kliegman; Bonita Stanton; Joseph St. Geme; Nina F. Schor; Richard E. BehrmanAfter more than 75 years, Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics remains your indispensable source for definitive, state-of-the-art answers on every aspect of pediatric care. Embracing the new advances in science as well as the time-honored art of pediatric practice, this classic reference provides the essential information that practitioners and other care providers involved in pediatric health care throughout the world need to understand to effectively address the enormous range of biologic, psychologic, and social problems that our children and youth may face. Brand-new chapters and comprehensive revisions throughout ensure that you have the most recent information on diagnosis and treatment of pediatric diseases based on the latest recommendations and methodologies. "The coverage of such a wide range of subjects relating to child health makes this textbook still the gold standard and companion for all pediatricians across the world." Reviewed by Neel Kamal, Sept 2015 "All in all, this is an excellent and detailed paediatric review textbook which represents excellent value for money..truly a textbook for the global community" Reviewed by glycosmedia.com, Sept 2015 Form a definitive diagnosis and create the best treatment plans possible using evidence-based medicine and astute clinical experiences from leading international authors-many new to this edition. A NEW two-volume layout provides superior portability and exceptional ease of use. Gain a more complete perspective. Along with a broader emphasis on imaging and molecular diagnoses and updated references, the new edition includes an increased focus on international issues to ensure relevance in pediatrics practice throughout the world. Effectively apply the latest techniques and approaches with complete updates throughout 35 new chapters, including: Innovations in Addressing Child Health and Survival in Low Income Settings; Developmental Domains and Theories of Cognition; The Reggio Emilia Educational Approach Catatonia ; Refeeding Syndrome; Altitude-associated Illness; Genetic Approaches to Rare and Undiagnosed Diseases; Healthcare?Associated Infections; Intrapartum and Peripartum Infections; Bath salts and other drugs of abuse; Small Fiber Polyneuropathy; Microbiome; Kingella kingae; Mitochondrial Neurogastrointestinal Encephalomyopathy; Nonalcoholic Fatty Liver Disease; Plagiocephaly; CNS Vasculitis; Anterior Cruciate Ligament Rupture; and Sports-Related Traumatic Brain Injury. Recognize, diagnose, and manage genetic and acquired conditions more effectively. A new Rehabilitation section with 10 new chapters, including: Evaluation of the Child for Rehabilitative Services; Severe Traumatic Brain Injury; Spinal Cord Injury and Autonomic Crisis Management; Spasticity; Birth Brachial Plexus Palsy; Traumatic and Sports-Related Injuries; Meningomyeloce≤ Health and Wellness for Children with Disabilities. Manage the transition to adult healthcare for children with chronic diseases through discussions of the overall health needs of patients with congenital heart defects, diabetes, and cystic fibrosis. Understand the principles of therapy and which drugs and dosages to prescribe for every disease. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2015-04-22
The Philadelphia Guide: Inpatient Pediatrics, 2nd Edition by Samir S. Shah; Marina Catallozzi; Lisa B. ZaoutisThe ONLY handbook on pediatric hospitalist medicine you need! Focusing specifically on caring for pediatric patients in the hospital setting, this unique handbook addresses more than 350 of the most commonly encountered inpatient pediatric medical conditions. Unlike similar handbooks on the subject, The Philadelphia Guide goes beyond diagnostic strategies to include complete treatment and management guidelines. The emphasis on the treatment of so many inpatient conditions makes the book valuable for practitioners of all levels - from attending physicians to physician assistants, advanced practice nurses, pediatric nurses, and health practitioners from all disciplines involved in the care of pediatric patients in the hospital setting. Designed for immediate access, the handbook features alphabetized clinical sections and consistent chapter subheadings to make the book especially useful at the point of care. Features Practical diagnostic strategies Extensive differential diagnosis suggestions Up-to-date treatment and management guidelines Content designed both for easy browsing and pinpointing specific information Alphabetical organization within chapters for rapid access Structured format with consistent headings throughout Bulleted content for efficient and effective access to relevant information Tables listing pediatric dosages for emergency, airway, and rapid sequence intubation medications, as well as defibrillation and cardioversion protocols Practical appendices covering normal vital signs, neonatal codes, and PALS algorithms NEW 2-color design Samir S. Shah, MD, MSCE is Director, Division of Hospital Medicine, James M. Ewell Endowed Chair, and Attending Physician in Hospital Medicine & Infectious Diseases at Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center; and Professor in the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine. Lisa B. Zaoutis, MD is Director of the Pediatrics Residency Program at The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia; and Associate Professor of Clinical Pediatrics in the Department of Pediatrics at the Perelman School of Medicine of the University of Pennsylvania. Marina Catallozzi, MD, MSCE is Assistant Professor of Population and Family Health and Assistant Professor of Clinical Pediatrics at the Columbia University Medical Center, College of Physicians and Surgeons. Gary Frank, MD is Chief Quality and Patient Safety Officer at Children's Healthcare of Atlanta; and Adjunct Associate Professor of Pediatrics in the Department of Pediatrics at Emory University School of Medicine.
Publication Date: 2016-01-07
Red Book 2018 by David W. Kimberlin (Editor); Sarah S. Long (Associate Editor); Michael T. Brady (Associate Editor); Mary Anne Jackson (Associate Editor)Extending an 8-decade tradition of excellence, Red Book® provides the most reliable and clinically useful information on the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis and treatment of more than 200 childhood infectious diseases. The 31st edition provides evidence-based guidance to practicing clinicians on pediatric infections and vaccinations based on the recommendations of the committee as well as the combined expertise of the CDC, the FDA, and hundreds physician contributors. New in Red Book 2018: All chapters were assessed for relevance given the dynamic environment in pediatric medicine today and every chapter has been modified since the last edition 3 new chapters added (Chikungunya, Coagulase-Negative Staphylococcal Infections, and Zika). Standardized approaches to disease prevention through immunizations, antimicrobial prophylaxis, and infection-control practices have been updated throughout Recommendations for the use of doxycycline have been liberalized. References to evidence-based policy recommendations have been recommended Appropriate chapters have been updated to be consistent with 2018 AAP and CDC vaccine recommendations, CDC recommendations for immunization of health care personnel, and drug recommendations from 2018 Nelson's Pediatric Antimicrobial Therapy. Red Book® is an indispensable reference for pediatricians and pediatric infectious disease specialists and is useful for family medicine and emergency medicine physicians as well. Public health and school health professionals, medical residents, and students also will find it a high-yield source of pediatric infectious disease and vaccine information.
You wil get an email reminder as the date approaches.
Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests by L. Michael Snyder; Mary A. WilliamsonOrdering the right test at the right time can be a complex process. The revised and updated Wallach's Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests , 10th edition is here to end the confusion. This practical, everyday guide expertly answers the questions physicians most often ask regarding individual disease states, lab tests, and infectious disease assessments. Recommendations are given on when to order tests and how to interpret results, based on evidence-based laboratory medicine. Explore the sample chapter now, and see how this guide will help you save time, avoid errors, and diagnose properly. Features: NEW chapters on genitourinary disorders and transfusion medicine NEW information on pulmonary, cardiac, and neurologic disease states, HLA, obstetric and gynecologic disorders, and molecular diagnostics NEW authors, including specialists in Cardiovascular Medicine, Transfusion Medicine and Pathology A completely revamped cardiovascular chapter with NEW symptoms (Dyspnea, Syncope, Sudden Cardiac Arrest), written by a Cardiovascular Medicine Specialist Includes current molecular diagnostic testing, cytogenetics, common pitfalls, test limitations, and identification of appropriate tests for specific clinical presentations Test sensitivity, specificity, and positive and negative infectious disease probabilities included where appropriate Detailed descriptions of routine and lesser-known tests listed alphabetically, with guidance on when to order and how to interpret results Improved and enhanced index Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search tool that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Call Number: EBSCO (unlimited users)
Publication Date: 2014-08-14
Introduction to Diagnostic Radiology by Khaled Elsayes; Sandra OldhamA practical clinically relevant introduction to diagnostic radiology Introduction to Basic Radiology is written to provide non-radiologists with the level of knowledge necessary to order correct radiological examinations, improve image interpretation, and enhance their interpretation of various radiological manifestations. The book focuses on the clinical scenarios most often encountered in daily practice and discusses practical imaging techniques and protocols used to address common problems. Relevant case scenarios are included to demonstrate how to reach a specific diagnosis. Introduction to Basic Radiology is divided into ten chapters. The first two chapters provide basic information on various diagnostic imaging techniques and control agents. Each of the following chapters discuss imaging of specific organ systems and begin with a description of the imaging modality of choice and illustrates the relevant features to help simplify the differential diagnosis. You will also find important chapters on pediatric radiology and women's imaging. Unlike other introductory texts on the subject, this book treats diagnosis from a practical point of view. Rather than discuss various diseases and classify them from the pathologic standpoint, Introduction to Basic Radiology utilizes cases from the emergency room and physician's offices and uses a practical approach to reach a diagnosis. The cases walk you through a radiology expert's analysis of imaging patterns. These cases are presented progressively, with the expert's thinking process described in detail. The cases highlight clinical presentation, clinical suspicion, modality of choice, radiologic technique, and pertinent imaging features of common disease processes.