This is a non-exhaustive list of apps recommended by your librarians, your professors, and by the medical community at large.
Native Voices: This is the official app for the popular Native Voices: Native Concepts of Health and Illness exhibition at the National Library of Medicine. Honoring the native tradition of oral history, NLM has gathered a multitude of healing voices from across the country so that you may hear their stories in their own words. Viewers can choose from 338 short video clips organized according to the following themes: The Individual, Community, Nature, Tradition, and Healing.
HIV Glossary: With definitions for more than 700 HIV/AIDS-related terms, the free AIDSinfo Glossary app offers easy access to the vocabulary of HIV/AIDS. Terms and definitions are written in plain language in English and Spanish, making this app useful for anyone interested in HIV. To aid understanding, many terms include images and links to related terms.
WISER: a system designed to assist emergency responders in hazardous material incidents. WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice.
Mobile REMM: (Radiation Emergency Medical Management)Guidance for health care providers, primarily physicians, about clinical diagnosis and treatment of radiation injury during radiological and nuclear emergencies
Turning the Pages: Explore beautiful historical medical texts with this app for your iPad. Manuscripts come from a variety of regions and eras, from the Islamic medieval world to 19th century Japan to Renaissance Europe. (iPad Only)
PubMed for Handhelds: Mobile site features multiple ways to search PubMed/MEDLINE: PICO (Patient, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome); askMEDLINE, a free-text, natural language search; and Consensus Abstracts. Apple iOS app includes these options as well as BabelMeSH which has search options in 13 languages.
LactMed: Need to know more about drugs and breastfeeding? LactMed can help. Find information about maternal and infant drug levels, possible effects on lactation and on breastfed infants, and alternative drugs to consider.
ACP guidelines: the ACP Clinical Guidelines app includes recommendations from ACP's clinical practice guidelines and guidance statements. Users can conveniently access clinical recommendations and rationale, summary tables, algorithms, and high value care advice for all currently active guidelines in an easy-to-read and interactive mobile format.
Guideline Central: Choose from thousands of official medical association guidelines representing all of the main specialties and therapeutic areas. These are official society guidelines, condensed into a quick reference pocket guide format that is current, practical and portable. The app offers over 2,000 free guideline summaries, as well as 200 premium guideline titles that are developed directly with the authoring associations.
Drug Shortages: FDA has developed an app that allows users to quickly identify current drug shortages, resolved shortages, and discontinuations of drug products. This app was developed to accelerate public access to important – and sometimes critical -- information about drug shortages. The application uses a searchable database to provide real-time information to key stakeholders, including health care practitioners and pharmacists.
Medscape: Medscape provides fast and accurate clinical answers at the point-of-care and is the leading medical resource for physicians, medical students, nurses, and other healthcare professionals.
Epocrates: The Epocrates app is designed for physicians and other healthcare professionals for use at the point of care. App users check drug dosing, drug interactions, drug safety details, medical news, disease diagnosis and management guidance, as well as evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
Read by QxMD: This iPhone & iPad app provides a simple interface that drives discovery and seamless access to the medical literature by reformatting it into a personalized digital journal.
Eponyms: Eponyms brings a short description of about 1800 common and obscure medical eponyms (e.g., Rovsing's sign, Virchow's node) to your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch. A perfect tool to quickly look up the meaning of any eponym.
MedPulse: Stay informed on the latest medical news with award-winning journalism and expert perspectives written specifically for physicians, medical students and healthcare professionals. Read the most essential news across medicine, customize the app by the topics important to you and keep up with the medical thought leaders you trust.