What is APPR?
The Annual Performance and Planning Review (APPR) process for faculty members will take place within Digital Measures in a seamless and accessible workflow.
To learn more about the UTHSC APPR Process for Faculty, please read the General Information provided by: UTHSC Faculty Handbook, Appendix J: Procedure for the Annual Performance-and-Planning Review, pp. 111.
The assignment of faculty workloads is the delegated responsibility of the Department Chair. The Chair is responsible for the equitable assignment of faculty responsibilities and assures an appropriate balance of time and effort committed to teaching, research, public service, and if applicable, patient care (Faculty Handbook, Section 4.4.1). It is expected that faculty will devote full-time to their academic duties, unless released time is officially approved.
Each spring, the Chair and individual faculty member agree upon the faculty member’s goals and the Chair’s expectations during the upcoming year (Faculty Handbook, Sections 4.14.3.2; 5.3.2). This process and these expectations are documented as part of the annual faculty evaluation [i.e., Annual Performance-and-Planning Review]. Specific teaching assignments are usually made on a semester basis by the Department Chair.
Educational activities in a health science center necessarily involve patient care, sophisticated research, and teaching of rapidly-changing and complex biomedical sciences. As is customary in most health science centers, faculty at UTHSC are assigned to specific duties consonant with their individual expertise in teaching, research, or patient care. Faculty are expected to engage in research (or equivalent scholarly activities), patient care, or both as necessary elements of health science education.
This rating designates that during the evaluation period the individual achieved and consistently exhibited unique and highly meritorious levels of professional performance beyond the agreed-upon goals and objectives. This rating will be assigned to an individual who achieves uncommon levels of meritorious performance in his or her field; and makes meaningful and significant contributions to the mission, goals and objectives of the department, college, and university, as well as to his or her professional field.
UTHSC Faculty Handbook, Appendix J: Procedure for the Annual Performance-and-Planning Review, pp. 100-101.
This rating designates that during the evaluation period, the faculty member achieved and consistently exhibited the level of the expected performance on the agreed upon goals and objectives and who has contributed to the mission, goals and objectives of the department, college and university, as well as to his or her professional field.
UTHSC Faculty Handbook, Appendix J: Procedure for the Annual Performance-and-Planning Review, pp. 100-101.
This rating designates that during the evaluation period, the individual exhibited a level of performance that did not consistently meet all the agreed-upon goals and objectives. This rating will be assigned to an individual who may require some assistance or feedback in achieving and sustaining a level of professional performance necessary to meet the agreed-upon goals and objectives. This rating is intended primarily as a means of formally communicating that a special effort must be made in addressing specific performance deficiencies. When this rating is given, it should be accompanied by a commitment by the Department Chair to assist the individual in identifying the mechanisms for overcoming the detected deficiencies, as deemed appropriate. This rating is a negative rating.
UTHSC Faculty Handbook, Appendix J: Procedure for the Annual Performance-and-Planning Review, pp. 100-101.
Unsatisfactory Performance in Teaching, Research, or Service is defined as adequate cause for termination of a faculty member’s appointment and includes the following: a. Failure to demonstrate professional competence in teaching, research, or service; or b. Failure to perform satisfactorily the duties or responsibilities of the faculty position, including but not limited to (1) failure to comply with a lawful directive of the Chair, Dean, or UTHSC Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs with respect to the faculty member's duties or responsibilities; or (2) inability to perform an essential function of the faculty position, given reasonable accommodation, if requested. This rating is a negative rating.
UTHSC Faculty Handbook, Appendix J: Procedure for the Annual Performance-and-Planning Review, pp. 100-101.
Goals/Assignments Guide
| Assignments: Area of assigned responsibility |
|
| Goals: Broad statement of the desired outcome |
|
Example Assignments and Goals
Serve as the instructor of record for XYZ101: Course name.
Submit at least two data-based manuscripts as primary/corresponding/lead author for publication in peer-reviewed journals.
Present a refereed presentation at a national professional conference.
Incorporate and evaluate the use of one new pedagogical practice in XYZ508: Course name.
Obtain initial certification [or complete recertification requirements] for ABC Specialty.
Implement MNO-strategy and assess for improved patient satisfaction in clinic.
Enroll in and complete the [whichever-is-relevant] track of the Teaching and Learning Center’s Teaching Excellence Institute.