The library is in the process of updating all Library Resource Guides. This guide will be going away soon. If you have any questions, reach out to the library here: Contact the Library
Welcome to the UTHSC Health Sciences Library's Occupational Therapy Resource Guide.
I am the library's liaison to your department.
Library Liaisons, or subject librarians, are the primary contact for any questions or issues regarding library resources and services. We provide information services to support the teaching, research, and clinical needs of your program. Examples of liaison services include but are not limited to:
Please contact me to ask any questions on existing resources or to recommend other resources.
Thank you!
Lin Wu
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Occupational & Environmental Medicine by
This comprehensive guide builds your understanding of OEM complexities while providing practical information you need for daily care Concise yet fully comprehensive, CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment: Occupational & Environmental Medicine, Sixth Edition is the definitive guide to diagnosing, treating, preventing, and remediating common occupational and environmental illnesses. It provides valuable insights into the role of non-physician health and safety professionals, how they interact with physicians, and the value of team collaboration. Providing quick access to critical information, this thorough guide also covers important legal aspects of occupational and environmental medicine. Extra materials for your day-to-day needs include workers comp specs by state/region, physical exam guidelines (photos, videos), pain scales, OSHA/NIOSH questionnaires, screening questions, AOEC/NAICS/SOC information, blood/urine toxicology values, pain management guidelines, and more.
This link opens in a new window
Evidence-Based Rehabilitation : A Guide to Practice by
In Evidence-Based Rehabilitation, Third Edition Drs. Mary Law and Joy MacDermid, along with their contributors, explain evidence-based rehabilitation, the concepts underlying EBP, and build the reader's knowledge and skills through specific learning. The text is organized by the steps of the EBP process—introduction to EBP, finding the evidence, assessing the evidence, and using the evidence. EBP focuses first and foremost on making the best decisions for each client and using the best information available. For many rehabilitation practitioners, building skills in EBP is best done one step at a time. Evidence-Based Rehabilitation helps the rehabilitation student and practitioner develop his or her knowledge and skills to implement evidence-based rehabilitation in practice. Designed and written by an occupational therapist and a physical therapist with extensive research, education, and practice experience, Evidence-Based Rehabilitation: A Guide to Practice, Third Edition will guide both occupational therapy and physical therapy students and practitioners as they incorporate evidence-based practice into their work. Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional materials to be used for teaching in the classroom.
Essentials of Environmental Health by
This best-selling offering from the APHA/Jones & Bartlett Learning Essential Public Health series is a clear and comprehensive study of the major topics of environmental health, including: Background of the field and "tools of the trade" (environmental epidemiology, environmental toxicology, and environmental policy and regulation), Environmental diseases (microbial agents, ionizing and non-ionizing radiation), Applications and domains of environmental health (water and air quality, food safety, waste disposal, and occupational health).With a straightforward, non-technical approach, the author has included many examples and illustrations of environmental health issues. Perfect for the beginning student as well as the experienced health professional, each chapter concludes with study questions and exercises to engage the reader in further study.
Group Dynamics in Occupational Therapy by
In occupational therapy practice, well designed groups represent social and cultural contexts for occupational performance in everyday life. Group Dynamics in Occupational Therapy: The Theoretical Basis and Practice Application of Group Intervention, the best-selling text for over 25 years by Marilyn B. Cole, has been updated to a Fifth Edition, offering strategies and learning tools to place clients in effective groups for enhanced therapeutic interventions. Updated to meet the AOTA's Occupational Therapy Practice Framework, Third Edition, this Fifth Edition provides guidelines for occupational therapy group design and leadership and guides application of theory-based groups. The theory section clarifies how occupation based models and frames of reference change the way occupational therapy groups are organized and how theory impacts the selection of group activities, goals, and outcomes. Recent examples and evidence are added in this Fifth Edition to reflect the design and use of groups for evaluation and intervention within the newly evolving paradigm of occupational therapy. The third section focuses on the design of group protocols and outlines a series of group experiences for students. These are intended to provide both personal and professional growth, as well as a format for practice in group leadership, self-reflection, cultural competence, and community service learning. A new chapter focusing on the recovery model and trauma-informed care suggests ways for occupational therapists to design group interventions within these broadly defined approaches. Cole's 7-step format for occupational therapy group leadership provides a concrete, user-friendly learning experience for students to design and lead theory based groups. The settings for which students can design group interventions has been updated to include current and emerging practice settings. Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional material to be used for teaching in the classroom. With a client-centered theoretical approach, Group Dynamics in Occupational Therapy: The Theoretical Basis and Practice Application of Group Intervention, Fifth Edition continues a 25-year tradition of education for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant students and clinicians.
Leading and Managing Occupational Therapy Services by
Covers all of the leadership and management content required by the 2011 ACOTE Standards for accredited OT programs. Uses an evidence-based approach to leadership and management that facilitates decision making. Opens each chapter with a "Real-life Situation" that sets the stage and its conclusion at the end wraps up the content. Offers case studies/vignettes that demonstrate how to apply leadership and management principles and technical knowledge in practice. Includes text boxes and tables to reinforce and summarize key information.
Occupational and Environmental Health by
Occupational and environmental health is the public health and multidisciplinary approach to the recognition, diagnosis, treatment, prevention, and control of disease, injuries, and other adverse health conditions resulting from hazardous environmental exposures in the workplace, the home, orthe community. These are essential elements of public health practice and the core course in Environmental Health in Masters of Public Health programs.Thoroughly updated and expanded upon, the sixth edition of Occupational and Environmental Health provides comprehensive coverage and a clear understanding of occupational and environmental health and its relationships to public health, environmental science, and governmental policy. New chaptersinclude Toxicology, Risk Communication, Health Equity and Social Justice, Occupational and Environmental Health Surveillance, Food Safety, Protecting Disaster Rescue and Recovery Workers, Implementing Programs and Policies for a Healthy Workforce, and Addressing the Built Environment and Health. Theauthors also expand on chapters included in previous chapters, and the book features practical case studies, numerous tables, graphs, and photos, and annotated bibliographies.
Occupational Therapy for Children and Adolescents by
Focusing on children from infancy to adolescence, Occupational Therapy for Children and Adolescents, 7th Edition provides comprehensive, full-color coverage of pediatric conditions and treatment techniques in all settings. Its emphasis on evidence-based practice includes updated references, research notes, and explanations of the evidentiary basis for specific interventions. And coverage of new research and theories, new techniques, and current trends, with additional case studies, keeps you in step with the latest advances in pediatric OT practice. Written by educators Jane Case-Smith and Jane Clifford O'Brien, this text is the Number One book in pediatric OT! Case studies help you apply concepts to actual situations you may encounter in practice. Research Notes boxes and evidence-based summary tables help you interpret evidence and strengthen your clinical decision-making skills. Learning resources on Evolve include video clips, review activities, and additional case studies. Learning objectives indicate what you will be learning in each chapter and serve as checkpoints in studying for examinations. A glossary makes it easy to look up key terms. NEW video clips and case studies on the Evolve website demonstrate important concepts and rehabilitation techniques. NEW Autism Spectrum Disorder chapter contains important information for OTs not addressed in other texts. NEW Neuromotor: Cerebral Palsy chapter addresses the most prevalent cause of motor dysfunction in children. NEW Adolescent Development chapter helps you manage the special needs of teenagers and young adults. NEW contemporary design includes full-color photos and illustrations. UPDATED content and references ensure you have access to the comprehensive, research-based information that will guide you in making optimal decisions in practice.
Occupational Therapy in Mental Health by
"This is a text we have all been waiting for...I can't help but think that our earlier leaders in mental health--Dr. Adolph Meyer, Dr. William Dutton, and Eleanor Clark Slagle, to name a few--who knew the power of occupation and stressed the importance of engagement in an enabling environment, would be pleased to see this work come to a format that would guide clinicians to make a difference in the everyday lives of people with mental challenges that require the skills of an occupational therapist." --Carolyn M. Baum, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA Past President American Occupational Therapy Association (2004 to 2007) from the Foreword This Client-centered, recovery-oriented text gives voice to the lived experience of mental illness across the life span. You will be guided through the assessment and interventions of individuals with mental health conditions and those whose life circumstances generate significant challenges to their participation in valued activities.
Occupational Therapy in Mental Health by
Uses the Person-Environment-Occupation (PEO) model as a framework to promote the full participation in the lives of individuals with mental illness and those struggling with psychosocial issues related to their disabilities. Features first-person "The Lived Experience," narratives that give voice to the experience of living with a mental illness Incorporates "Photo Voice" features, a blend of photography and personal stories that enable individuals to record their visions and experiences to promote dialogue about important issues. Addresses co-occurring conditions such as depression, stroke, substance abuse and spinal cord injury, and attention deficit disorder and learning disabilities. Promotes best practices with "Evidence-Based Practice "boxes that synthesize significant research and implications for practice. Offers extensive information on theory and evidence-based interventions Employs active learning strategies to facilitate the application of knowledge, skills, and attitudes essential for mental health and psychosocial interventions. Addresses occupational therapy in a variety of practice settings for individuals from all cultures across the life span. Discusses non-diagnosis-based populations, such as the homeless, as well as the continuum of care from institution or hospital to the community.
Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy by
Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy has been a leading resource for more than 15 years and has provided occupational therapy professionals and students with pertinent information right at their fingertips. Now revised and updated into a Sixth Edition, this pocket-size resource includes the latest information in the field of occupational therapy. Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy, Sixth Edition by Dr. Karen Jacobs and Laela Simon remains the only comprehensive dictionary available specifically for occupational therapy. The handy, conveniently sized dictionary provides a quick reference to words, their definitions, and important resources used in daily practice and academic training. The changes in diagnoses that have recently occurred, as well as changes in the U.S. health care system, have also been incorporated into this Sixth Edition. Nearly 4,000 terms are defined and more than 70 appendices are included. Some of the 70 new appendices include: * Useful Apps for Occupational Therapy * Evidence-Based Practice, Levels of Evidence, and Qualitative Research * Stages of Alzheimer's Disease - Seven Stages From the Alzheimer's Foundation * Energy Conservation Techniques * Nutrition * Safe Patient Handling and Movement Skills * Thoracic Outlet Syndrome * Grip Development and Stages of Writing Occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistants, clinicians, faculty, and students will benefit from the easy-to-use format and updated information that Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy, Sixth Edition has to offer. This valuable tool can be used by students completing fieldwork and new practitioners just starting out, and also serves as a handy reference for seasoned practitioners.
Research for the Health Professional by
Your guide to research and evidence-based practice This classic text explains the hows and whys of conducting and writing a research project. Step-by-step guidance shows you how to select topics; how to select the appropriate methodology and theoretical framework; how to collect, analyze, and interpret the data; and how to write, present, and publish your project.