X9 is available for download through UTK as of Monday, September 10, 2018 with NetId:
EndNote recommends uninstalling previoius Endnote versions before installing X9, see here for more details: https://support.clarivate.com/Endnote/s/article/EndNote-Upgrade-from-an-older-version?language=en_US
Also, recommended: do NOT store your EndNote library (The Data folder and the .enl file) on cloud or network storage of any kind (iCloud, DropBox, OneDrive etc.) EndNote libraries not stored locally can become corrupt over time. Instead, create an EndNote online account and sync your library to the EndNote cloud to prevent corruption. http://clarivate.libguides.com/endnote_training/home
Also remember, when editing or removing references while using CWYW, do not delete using backspace in Word. Instead, use the EndNote toolbar to edit references, find it and remove it using EndNote tools. This prevents corruption or your Word document.
UTHSC Library staff are still familiarizing ourselves with X9, but send us your questions and issues if you dive in and upgrade!
New features include:
EndNote is bibliographic management software that helps collect and manage citations for your research or coursework.
You can also use EndNote to organize PDF files and references. Watch this video to learn more:
Here are 3 videos for the Windows version.
The first one is 6 minutes, the second is 25 minutes, the third is one hour.
Choose whichever works best for your learning style.
Here's a little longer 25 minute intro:
And here is a 58 minute recorded class from vendor:
Here are 3 videos for the Mac version.
The first one is 6 minutes, the second 25 minutes, the third one hour.
Choose whichever works best for your learning style.
Here's a 25 minute class recording from the vendor:
Here's a 1 hour, 3 minute class recording from the vendor (for Mac users):
EndNote X8.2 Update
January 23, 2018-- EndNote X8.2 is now available for Mac.
The EndNote X8.2 Mac (Build: 184.108.40.20602) update contains:
January 09, 2018-- EndNote X8.2 is now available for Windows.
The EndNote X8.2 Windows (Build: 220.127.116.1143) update contains:
EndNote X8.1 Update
This update contains the following:
EndNote X8.0.1 Update
This update contains the following optimizations and fixes:
X8 for Mac (10.10 Yosemite to 10.12 Sierra) is now available through the UTK OIT Download Site as of Nov. 9, 2016.
X8 for Windows is also now available and the install is succesful as of Friday, Nov. 11, 2016, 10am. Note the Windows directions you are now required to download before downloading the installer file, say to install 7-zip to properly extract the licence.dat file. This is not necessarily required. If you right click on the zip file and see the option "Extract All" this should properly extract the installer and license file. Where you run into problems is just double-clicking on the zip file, then the installer won't see the license.dat file. Extract All or 7-zip solve this issue.
Attention MAC users: In preparation for Apple’s release of macOS Sierra on September 20, 2016 the developer has been testing various versions of EndNote. Through their testing, they discovered some issues with the EndNote PDF viewer.
These issues have been reported to Apple, but in the meantime, the developer recommends that you DO NOT upgrade to macOS Sierra.
The developers are not currently planning a fix to EndNote X7, but will continue to work with Apple to resolve these issues for X8. EndNote X8 should be fully macOS Sierra compatible.
X8 is scheduled for release in November. http://endnote.com/product-details/X8
7.7.1 was released October 2016
This release contains a critical update for users experiencing PDF import issues.
7.7 for Mac and Windows was released Sept. 2016
This release contains critical updates, optimizations and other improvements for:
Attention Microsoft Word 2016 for Mac users, for the best experience, please update Word to version 15.24 or later.
7.6 for Mac was released August 23, 2016
This update makes EndNote fully compatible with the 64-bit version of Microsoft Word 2016 (Office 15.25 and later)
7.5.3 for Mac was released May 2016
OS X Yosemite (10.10) users:
For the best Cite While You Write experience, do not install this update nor Microsoft Word 2016 version 15.21. We will let you know when Microsoft releases a new version of Word 2016 that is compatible with Cite While You Write.
For all other Mac users, this release contains:
7.5 for Windows was released April 5, 2016
Contains critical updates, optimizations and other improvements for:
7.5 for Mac was released Feb. 2, 2016
This release contains features, critical updates, optimizations and other improvements for:
7.4 was released August 2015. It has critical updates and official compatibly with Microsoft® Windows 10.
Manuscript Matcher, the EndNote Online new feature (March 2015), finds the journals that best fit your manuscript, then helps you submit your work to the journal of your choice. Watch this video to learn more about this feature.
7.3.1 was released April 1, 2015 to the base X7 desktop version available from the UTK download site.
7.3.1 has critical fixes to Cite While You Write regarding ambiguous citations.
Updates are free and should be downloaded within Endnote using "Check for Updates..."
For directions from Endnote, see http://endnote.com/kb/129024
EndNote X7.2 was released Sept. 30, 2014. The key feature of that update was to have the ability to share your EndNote Library with up to 14 users. You can:
Note that you will need to have an EndNote Online account for sharing and syncing.
Update Term List (Medical). (November 2014) Some publishers require citations to include full journal titles while others require abbreviations. Journal Term List can address this issue. By default, EndNote uses whatever form of the journal name you have in your EndNote records. The term list provides an alternative to this default. The following file is the latest journal term list (Medical) that includes more journals. Follow these steps to do the update: