Find the best UTHSC library databases, ebook jumpstarts and related websites for your research.
New Databases page as of May 28, 2024
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Although named “for Nursing” great review or overview of Anatomy and Physiology for students in any program.
Recorded lectures with interactive learning features including drawing and quizzes.
Register for free account with @uthsc.edu email address to save your work.
Use tablet stylus to annotate.
Download graphics for offline use or cite elsewhere.
Included via Tenn-Share Stat!Ref Nursing subscription.
The most frequently-used databases
AccessMedicine (ACM) is an online medical resource that provides students with the tools they need to excel in basic and advanced studies, clerkships, and crucial test prep. ACM provides residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with interactive content, self-assessment, and leading medical texts to enhance decision-making at the point-of-care. It and allows for practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure best patient outcomes. It includes a complete full-text library of clinical and basic science textbooks, including Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, The Color Atlas of Family Medicine, and many others.
Funded by UTHSC College of Pharmacy
AccessPharmacy from McGraw-Hill Medical is a database of text books and more, designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education and practice today. Updated regularly and optimized for viewing on any device, this comprehensive, content-rich online pharmacy resource allows users to explore leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, research drugs and supplements.
Gives pharmacy students instant access to videos, games, Q&A, and leading pharmacy textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning, and allows practicing pharmacists to get information instantly about drugs, herbs and supplements, and consult features and editorials concerning the vast array of current pharmacy publications.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) covers journals, books and other materials in nursing and the allied health/health profession fields.
Some full-text included.
Access other via “UT Links” and submit free Interlibrary Loan as needed.
Updated interface coming in 2025, preview here: https://ezproxy.uthsc.edu/login?url=https://research.ebsco.com/c/x47oyz/search/advanced/filters?db=ccm
On roadmap for Jan. 2025 Export up to 25,000 and search history.
ClinicalKey includes the MDConsult database but also adds hundreds of additional eBooks, eJournals, guidelines, videos, images, First Consult, Procedure Consult, and more into one platform.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) plus:
*Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
*Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs)
New as of October 21, 2020.
EMBASE Features:
*Journal coverage from 1947 to the present
*Over 32 million records, including MEDLINE titles
*Over 8,500 journals from over 95 countries, including MEDLINE titles
*Over 2,900 indexed journals unique to Embase
*Over 1.5 million records added yearly, with an average of over 6,000 each day
*Over 2.3 million conference abstracts indexed from more than 7,000 conferences dating from 2009
*Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data
*Local literature modules available as add-on
Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery for UTHSC faculty, staff, residents, fellows and students.
ILL requests have been free to UTHSC faculty, staff, students and residents since Feb. 2016, however please only request what you need and plan to use.
UTHSC does incur some borrowing and copyright fees.
Clinical information and publications from the American Medical Association.
The LibKey Nomad browser extension now for Chrome, Edge, Firefox, Brave and Vivaldi.
Displays UTHSC access options on PubMed search result pages, other databases and journal publisher pages.
From the same people that bring you Browzine!
MEDLINE is the world's premiere database of biomedical literature. Its topics include basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, and more.
Provides evidence-based information on drugs, disease management, toxicology, neonatal dosing, alternative medicines, and patient education.
NOTE: NetID login is required to access, even when on UTHSC campus.
For mobile app codes: After login with NetID and password on regular Micromedex website, click on "Download Mobile Apps" in lower right corner of Micromedex, codes are provided for each app.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 19 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1940's.
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journal articles, books, and conference proceedings. In addition to publication information, Scopus provides author, publication, and journal impact metrics as well as free author profiles.
15+ full text electronic books related to nursing.
Limit of 10 simultaneous users across multiple libraries in Tennessee.
An evidence-based resource for clinicians and patients with the most current information on more than 20 specialties.
NOTE: NetID login is required to access, even when on UTHSC campus.
For mobile: After downloading respective app : App Store (iOS) and Google Play , use the UpToDate username and password you created on desktop or laptop.
You must renew your UpToDate username at least every 90 days on desktop/laptop at: https://libguides.uthsc.edu/uptodate
You will get an email reminder as the date approaches.
Drug information database.
Formerly known as Lexicomp.
Includes Fact and Comparison data, which is also searchable on separate browser session:, however do NOT toggle in same browser session, may need to Chrome and Edge, Firefox, Safari https://libguides.uthsc.edu/fandc
