Anesthesiology

AccessAnesthesiology from McGraw Hill Medical offers a new approach to anesthesiology reference, research, and curricular instruction all in one place. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online anesthesiology resource covers the entire spectrum of anesthesiology from the basics to specialty-specific content optimized for viewing on any device.

Authoritative, trusted, and comprehensive, AccessAnesthesiology is the field’s leading website guided by an esteemed Advisory Board that includes three distinguished physician-educators: Mark Dershwitz, MD, PHD; David E. Longnecker, MD, FRCA; and Brian D. Sites, MD.

AccessAnesthesiology can help students excel in their clerkship; assist residents in strengthening their skills with instant access to procedural videos, self-assessment, and leading anesthesiology textbooks that will establish a solid base for learning; allow practicing anesthesiologists to reinforce their medical knowledge for recertification; and provide CRNAs with an important foundation in their career.

AccessMedicine (ACM) is an online medical resource that provides students with the tools they need to excel in basic and advanced studies, clerkships, and crucial test prep. ACM provides residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with interactive content, self-assessment, and leading medical texts to enhance decision-making at the point-of-care. It and allows for practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure best patient outcomes. It includes a complete full-text library of clinical and basic science textbooks, including Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, The Color Atlas of Family Medicine, and many others.

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) covers journals, books and other materials in nursing and the allied health fields. Comprehensive Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature.

ClinicalKey includes the MDConsult database but also adds hundreds of additional eBooks, eJournals, guidelines, videos, images, First Consult, Procedure Consult, and more into one platform.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) plus:
*Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
*Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs)

New as of October 21, 2020.

EMBASE Features:
*Journal coverage from 1947 to the present
*Over 32 million records, including MEDLINE titles
*Over 8,500 journals from over 95 countries, including MEDLINE titles
*Over 2,900 indexed journals unique to Embase
*Over 1.5 million records added yearly, with an average of over 6,000 each day
*Over 2.3 million conference abstracts indexed from more than 7,000 conferences dating from 2009
*Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data
*Local literature modules available as add-on

Drug information database.

MEDLINE is the world's premiere database of biomedical literature. Its topics include basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, and more.

Health information for patients from the National Library of Medicine.

Provides evidence-based information on drugs, disease management, toxicology, neonatal dosing, alternative medicines, and patient education.
NOTE: NetID login is required to access, even when on UTHSC campus.

For mobile app codes: After login with NetID and password on regular Micromedex website, click on "Download Mobile Apps" in lower right corner of Micromedex, codes are provided for each app.

Natural Medicines provides high quality, evidence-based information on dietary supplements (including herbs, vitamins, and minerals), functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises, and medical conditions.

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 19 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1940's.

SciFinder-n is now available as of March 1, 2020

Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journal articles, books, and conference proceedings. In addition to publication information, Scopus provides author, publication, and journal impact metrics as well as free author profiles.

A clinical search tool to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.

An evidence-based resource for clinicans and patients with the most current information on more than 20 specialties.
NOTE: NetID login is required to access, even when on UTHSC campus.

New as of Jan. 31, 2022. VisualDx is an award-winning diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety. Features include: the world’s best curated medical image library; smart search for chief complaints, diagnoses, and drug reactions; and custom patient-specific differential diagnosis builder