Skip to main content

Research & Learning Connection

This research guide provides information and services to advance the research success of UTHSC faculty, staff, and students.

House Calls: Bringing Library Services to Faculty Anywhere

The library offers House Calls to faculty. Liaison librarians will deliver information services on a variety of topics to wherever you are: your office, your lab, or your clinic at your convenience. Below are some of the topics that are covered. Alternatively, you can also Schedule an Appointment with your librarian either online or in person. 

Topics

  • General Library Overview - If you want to get familiar with the library, the resources, the services, and the websites, you can request a general library overview. 
  • Discovery Search - This searches a majority of the library's resources at once. Learn how the search works, how to improve the search, and additional features. 
  • Off-Campus Access - Many of the library's resources can be accessed from off-campus. Learn which resources are available and how you can access. 
  • Free InterLibrary Loan Services - When the library doesn't have access to an article, you can request it through interlibrary loan (ILL). Learn about the library system, ILLiad, and how to request articles at no cost to you. 
  • Free Literature Search Service - If you're working on research, the library would love to help. Faculty, staff, and residents can request a free literature search. 
  • Mobile Apps for Library Resources - You can access information on the go using mobile apps. Learn which ones are available and how to set up your account for licensed apps. 
  • Subject-Specific Databases - A number of databases available through the library are subject-specific. You can learn about the best one for your discipline, course, or research and how to get the best search results. 
  • PubMed (e.g., MyNCBI, SciENcv, MeSH, Topic-Specific Queries) - PubMed is the largest biomedical database in the world, but it has many features and tricks that you can take advantage of. Discussion topics include MeSH searching, utilizing My NCBI, and creating SciENcv to meet NIH grant applications. 
  • Finding Full-Text at UTHSC - Locating the full-text of resources like articles is important. Learn how to locate the full-text while utilizing the library. 
  • Library E-Books Overview - Get to know the benefits of E-Books and what platforms provide them through this overview of the library E-Books. 
  • Using E-Books at UTHSC - Since there are multiple E-Book platforms (e.g., EBSCOhost, R2Library, and STAT!Ref Nursing) available at the library, learn how to access, navigate, and use our E-Books for research and in courses. 
  • AccessMedicine - This database provides a wealth of information like case studies and quick reference, and many key texts. Learn how to best use this database and how to set up your MyAccess profile. 
  • ClinicalKey - Previously known as MD Consult, the ClinicalKey database is home to vital clinical information. Besides providing access to E-Books, learn about its other features like Clinical Overviews, Drug Monographs, and Patient Education.
  • EndNote Desktop - This is the reference manager supported by UTHSC. Learn about its powerful features, such as organizing references in Groups, Cite While You Write (CWYW), and creating bibliographies and how to download it for free. 
  • EndNote Web - A "light" version of EndNote Desktop, which requires an Internet connection to create your reference libraries. Learn how to create a Web account and how you can use it for sharing and syncing references cross multiple devices.
  • EndNote for iPad - An app version of EndNote, which allows you to save references on the go. Learn how to download and connect to your Web account.  
  • Zotero - This reference manager is free to download and can assist you with saving references and citing. 
  • Mendeley - Another free reference manager that can help you with saving and citing references, as well as building a research network. 
  • Evaluating Journal Quality - The number of predatory journals is growing, so it is important to evaluate journals when you are researching or submitting a manuscript for publication. Learn about journal impact factors, key journals related to your fields, peer review process, and how to prepare your manuscript following journals' author guidelines. 
  • Scholar Online Identity/Profile - It is important to publicize and manage your research and scholarly identity. Learn about the different platforms for showcasing your profile, how to create, and how to maintain. 
  • Research Impact Assessment - Learn how to measure or present your scholarly impact beyond numbers for different purposes such as apply for promotion or a grant.   
  • Open Access - Are you curious about open access, how it works, and how to publish with open access? Contact the library to learn more. 
  • NIH Biosketch - Many institutions, grants, and applications require an NIH Biosketch to showcase scholarly efforts. Learn how to prepare your Biosketch using Science Experts Network Curriculum Vitae (SciENcv).
  • Copyright - Copyright issues are growing with the increasing availability of online information. Learn more about copyright regulations and how you can avoid copyright violations. 
  • E-mail Alerts - Many of the library resources and databases have a built-in feature to create email alerts to help you stay up to date with research as it is published. Learn which databases have this and how to set up your own alert. 
  • E-TOC - Using BrowZine to browse the table of contents from thousands of scholarly journals available from UTHSC Library subscriptions, or through Open Access publishers.
  • Koha - Using the library catalog system, Koha, to set up alerts when new resources like books or journals are added to the library's collection based on your interest. 
  • RSS Readers and Subscriptions - RSS readers are aggregators that send you updates on the content that you want to follow. Learn how to set up RSS readers based on searches, journals, or databases and manage your subscriptions.