Research & Learning Connection

• Assembling a list of works cited in your paper (Duke University Libraries)

  This web site provides examples of citation formats for references to journal articles, books, electronic sources, email messages, book reviews, and other formats. Examples appear in various styles including the formats recommended by the National Library of Medicine for health science publications, APA (from the American Psychological Association), Chicago Manual of Style (Turabian), and CSE (Council of Scientific Editors).

• Journal instructions to authors (Raymon H. Mulford Library, Medical University of Ohio, Toledo)

  This web site provides instructions to authors for over 3,500 journals in the health and life sciences.

• National Library of Medicine recommended formats for bibliographic citation

  Produced by the National Library of Medicine Reference Section, this publication provides instructions for formatting citations to different types of materials – both print and electronic.

• Citing medicine: the NLM style guide for authors, editors,and publishers

  Citing Medicine provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations.

• Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age

  Written by Diana Hacker. This site provides guidelines for documenting print and online sources.

AMA

Books

• The American Medical Association manual of style: a guide for authors and editors

Web Sites

• AMA Style Guide: Compiled by the Simmons College Library. Examples of referenced citations include books, print and online journal articles, theses and dissertations, government publications, AV materials, and Web sites.

APA

Books

• The world’s easiest guide to using the APA: a user-friendly manual for formatting research papers according to the American Psychological Association style guide.
• Publication manual of the American Psychological Association

Tutorial

• Basics of APA Style: you will learn how to apply some basic rules of APA style.

Web Sites

• APA Official Web Site
• APA Style Reference Format Created by Michael Strahan which includes very clear and understandable guidelines for citing electronic resources using the new APA style for electronic sources.
• APA Style Essentials (Vanguard University of Southern California) Compiled by Douglas Degelman and Martin Lorenzo Harris of Vanguard University, includes examples of APA document formatting guidelines, text citations, and reference formats.
• A Sample Paper in American Psychological Association Style (Valencia Community College, West Campus Library, Florida) Provides a visual example of APA rules for general document formatting.
• Formatting a Paper Using APA Guidelines 2001 (UW-Madison) An easy-to-use source from The Writing Center, University of Wisconsin-Madison.
• Purdue Online Writing Lab. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.

The Chicago Manual of Style (Turabian)

Books

• Chicago Manual Of Style

Web Sites

• Chicago Manual of Style Online
• Chicago/Turabian Documentation (UW- Madison) From the Writing Center, University of Wisconsin-Madison.
• Turabian Quick Citation Guide (The University Of Chicago Press) Common examples of materials cited.

MLA

Web Sites

• MLA official web site
• MLA Documentation (UW-Madison)
• MLA: In-text Parenthetical Citations (Duke University)

Vancouver Style (Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Journals)

The Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Journals were originally developed at a meeting of editors of general medical journals in Vancouver in 1978. This group later came to be known as the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE). The most current edition of the Style Manual was revised in 2004.

Books

• Author’s Handbook of Styles for Life Science Journals

Miscellaneous

Books

• Writer’s Workbook: Health Professionals’ Guide to Getting Published

Web Sites

• The International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) official web site
• Citation Examples from the National Library of Medicine