The library is in the process of updating all Library Resource Guides. This guide will be updated soon. If you have any questions, reach out to the library here: Contact the Library
DNP AG-ACNP Resources @ UTHSC
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological AssociationThe Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: WZ 345 P976 2020
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Gomella and Haist's Clinician's Pocket Reference, 12th Edition by Leonard G. GomellaAn all new edition of the original Scut Monkey Handbook--the acclaimed survival guide for the wards and the clinic 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW "This pocket reference is packed with information that is important for medical students and interns on a day-to-day basis. It is rich with practical information that might otherwise be located in different manuals.... The fundamental information is important for all clinicians to master, thus the book serves housestaff quite well also.... This book continues to be a favorite among medical students and housestaff for good reason."--Doody's Review Service (on a previous edition) This portable, pocket-sized "manual of manuals" provides medical students and residents with essential patient care information, including up-to-date coverage of current treatment protocols, clinical microbiology, critical care, and commonly used medications. Readers will find step-by-step guidance on the history and physical examination, differential diagnosis, key lab and diagnostic tests, and much more. The Twelfth Edition is highlighted by NEW specialty Pearls; NEW chapters on the Patient Presentation, Specialized Diagnostics, Hospice and Palliative Care, Interdisciplinary Health Care Teams, and Principles of Ambulatory Care; and "must know" board tips at the end of each chapter; and NEW laboratory tests.
Critical Care Medicine by Joseph E. Parrillo; R. Phillip DellingerNow completely revised to bring you up to date with the latest advances in the field, Critical Care Medicine: Principles of Diagnosis and Management in the Adult, 5th Edition, delivers expert, practical guidance on virtually any clinical scenario you may encounter in the ICU. Designed for intensivists, critical care and pulmonology residents, fellows, practicing physicians, and nurse practitioners, this highly regarded text is clinically focused and easy to reference. Led by Drs. Joseph Parrillo and Phillip Dellinger, the 5th Edition introduces numerous new authors who lend a fresh perspective and contribute their expertise to that of hundreds of top authorities in the field. Includes new chapters on current applications of bedside ultrasound in the ICU, both diagnostic and procedural; mechanical assist devices; and extra-corporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO). Contains new administrative chapters that provide important information on performance improvement and quality, length of stay, operations, working with the Joint Commission, and more. Features new videos and images that provide visual guidance and clarify complex topics. Keeps you up to date with expanded chapters on echocardiography in the ICU and valvular heart disease, including TAVR. Includes separate chapters on mechanical ventilation of obstructive airway disease and acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS) - including the many recent changes in approach to positive end expiratory pressure setting in ARDS. Covers key topics such as patient-ventilator synchrony and non-invasive ventilation for treating chronic obstructive pulmonary disease patients with acute respiratory failure. Reflects the recent literature and guidance on amount of fluids, type of fluid, vasopressor selection, mean arterial pressure target, and decision on steroid use in septic shock. Provides questions and answers in every chapter, perfect for self-assessment and review. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2021 by Maxine A. Papadakis; Stephen J. McPhee; Michael W. RabowThe 60th anniversary edition of the most popular, relied-upon guide to internal medicine For 60 years, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment--the flagship volume of the renowned Lange medical series--has been delivering the authoritative information students, residents, and clinicians need to build their medical knowledge, expertise, and confidence. Covering the latest clinical developments in all facets of medicine and fully focused on bedside clinical issues, this new edition provides completely the latest guidelines, reference, drug prices, approved drugs, and evidence-based coverage of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders--all formatted to enable you to find the answers you need quickly and effortlessly. This landmark guide covers inpatient and outpatient care, focusing on the diagnostic tools relevant to daily practice, and reviews all primary care topics, including gynecology/obstetrics, dermatology, ophthalmology, geriatrics, preventive medicine, psychiatry, and neurology. Now includes a "year in review" feature highlighting what's new in CMDT! *Includes essentials of diagnosis for most diseases/disorders *Hundreds of quick-access drug treatment tables with indexed trade names *Diagnostic and treatment algorithms present important information in an at-a-glance style *Up-to-date references provide peer-reviewed, evidence-based information *Seven bonus chapters available online to all book purchasers, featuring expanded content and annual review of advances in HIV treatment and critical information on emerging viral infections
Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, Seventh Edition by Stephanie Studenski; Kevin P. High; Sanjay Asthana; Mark A. Supiano; Christine S. Ritchie; Jeffrey B. Halter; Joseph G. OuslanderThe gold-standard text on the diagnosis and treatment of disorders affecting the elderly - completely updated with a new full-color presentation A Doody's Core Title for 2019! The definitive treatise on the subject of geriatrics, this comprehensive text combines gerontology principles with clinical geriatrics, offering a uniquely holistic approach to this ever-expanding area of medicine. Written by some of the world's most respected geriatricians, Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, Seventh Edition presents up-to-date, evidence-based information in a rich new full-color design. Unmatched as a textbook, this classic is also valuable to fellows in geriatric medicine. Hazzards's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, Seventh Edition is logically divided into five parts: Principles of Gerontology, Principles of Geriatrics, Geriatric Syndromes, Principles of Palliative Medicine, and Organ Systems and Diseases. Within its pages, you will find balanced, authoritative coverage of every essential topic - from evaluation and management to nutrition and palliative medicine. Here's why the Seventh Edition is the best edition ever: * NEW full-color design with hundreds of color photographs * NEW chapters: Quality of Care in Older Adults, Common Non-Pain Symptoms in Older Adults, Strategies of Effective Communication Around Advanced Illness, Palliative Medicine in the Continuum of Care Including Hospice, Coagulation Disorders, and Plasma Cell Disorders * MORE chapters on Palliative Medicine * NEW Learning Objectives and Key Points added to each chapter * MORE tables, drawings, and clinical algorithms * EVIDENCE-BASED through the use of the latest clinical practice guidelines , references to systemic reviews, and critically appraised topics * UPDATED to reflect the most current clinical breakthroughs and advances for managing older adults in various settings
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twentieth Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by Stephen L. Hauser; Dan L. Longo; Joseph Loscalzo; J. Larry Jameson; Anthony S. Fauci; Dennis L. KasperPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. MASTER MODERN MEDICINE! Introducing the Landmark Twentieth Edition of the Global Icon of Internal Medicine The definitive guide to internal medicine is more essential than ever with the latest in disease mechanisms, updated clinical trial results and recommended guidelines, state-of-the art radiographic images, therapeutic approaches and specific treatments, hundreds of demonstrative full-color drawings, and practical clinical decision trees and algorithms A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Recognized by healthcare professionals worldwide as the leading authority on applied pathophysiology and clinical medicine, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine gives you the informational foundation you need to provide the best patient care possible. Essential for practice and education, the landmark 20th Edition features: Thoroughly revised content--covering the many new breakthroughs and advances in clinical medicine that have occurred since the last edition of Harrison's. Chapters on acute and chronic hepatitis, management of diabetes, immune-based therapies in cancer, multiple sclerosis, cardiovascular disease, HIV, and many more, deliver the very latest information on disease mechanisms, diagnostic options, and the specific treatment guidance you need to provide optimal patient care. State-of-the-art coverage of disease mechanisms: Harrison's focuses on pathophysiology with rigor, and with the goal of linking disease mechanisms to treatments. Improved understanding of how diseases develop and progress not only promotes better decision-making and higher value care, but also makes for fascinating reading and improved retention. Harrison's summarizes important new basic science developments, such as the role of mitochondria in programmed and necrotic cell death, the immune system's role in cancer development and treatment, the impact of telomere shortening in the aging and disease processes, and the role of the microbiome in health and disease. Understanding the role of inflammation in cardiovascular disease, the precise mechanisms of immune deficiency in HIV/AIDS, prions and misfolded proteins in neurodegenerative diseases, and obesity as a predisposition to diabetes are just a few examples of how this edition provides essential pathophysiology information for health professionals. All-new sections covering a wide range of new and emerging areas of vital interest to all healthcare professionals. New sections include: Sex and Gender-based Issues in Medicine; Obesity, Diabetes Mellitus, and Metabolic Syndrome; and Consultative Medicine-- Plus, a new Part covering cutting-edge topics in research and clinical medicine includes great new chapters on the role of Epigenetics in Health and Disease, Behavioral Strategies to Improve Health, Genomics and Infectious Diseases, Emerging Neuro-Therapeutic Technologies, and Telomere Function in Health and Disease, and Network System Medicine. Important and timely new chapters--such as Promoting Good Health, LGBT Health, Systems of Healthcare, Approach to Medical Consultation, Pharmacogenomics, Antimicrobial Resistance, Worldwide Changes in Patterns of Infectious Diseases, Neuromyelitis Optica, and more--offer the very latest, definitive perspectives on must-know topics in medical education and practice. Updated clinical guidelines, expert opinions, and treatment approaches from renowned editors and authors contribute to the accuracy and immediacy of the text material and present a clear blueprint for optimizing patien
Integrating Nurse Practitioners and Physician Assistants into the ICU by Society of Critical Care Medicine StaffAs the roles of nurse practitioners (NPs) and physician assistants (PAs) in the ICU expand, so does the need to promote their proper and optimal utilization as members of the critical care team. Integrating Nurse Practitioners & Physician Assistants Into the ICU provides vital information and resources for how to do just that.. With staffing schedule models, orientation/training templates, and other practical educational resources, this essential reference also serves as a resource for clinicians and institutions that seek to enhance patient care by introducing or further expanding their use of NPs and PAs into their the multiprofessional ICU workforce teams.
Call Number: WX 218 I61 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
The ICU Book by Paul L. MarinoA fundamental and respected resource book in critical care, The ICU Book, Fourth Edition , continues to provide the current and practical guidance that have made it the best-selling text in critical care. The text addresses both the medical and surgical aspects of critical care, delivering the guidance needed to ensure sound, safe, and effective treatment for patients in intensive care--regardless of the specialty focus of the unit. Traditionally available as a printed textbook, the print version now comes with a completely revamped digital experience. Viewable through a browser on PC and Mac or as a download to your iOS tablet or smartphone , the digital version includes: The complete text with optimized navigation A powerful, index-based search function All referenced content is linked throughout for instant access Regular literature and commentary updates integrated into the text The ability to share notes with friends and colleagues Key Features Problem-based approach teaches critical thinking and mirrors the decision-making process of the intensive care unit Expert perspectives from Dr. Marino help sharpen technique, minimize error, and improve outcomes Reader-friendly format makes essential information easy to locate and apply "Final Word" summaries at the conclusion of each chapter highlight salient points and improve retention of key concepts NEW to the Fourth Edition Fully rewritten content (including eight new chapters) assures readers of only the most up-to-date and practical information available Full-color format emphasizes clinical anatomy and facilitates visual learning Additionally, this publication is included on the ANCC: American Nurses Credentialing Center's reference list
Call Number: R2Library (limit one simultaneous user)
Publication Date: 2013-11-05
Manual of Emergency and Critical Care Ultrasound by Vicki E. Noble; Bret P. NelsonUltrasound has revolutionized a physician's ability to make urgent and emergent diagnoses at the bedside, and has changed the management of many acute injuries and conditions. This is a practical, concise introduction to what is rapidly becoming an essential tool for all critical care physicians: bedside emergency ultrasound. The Manual covers the full spectrum of conditions diagnosed using ultrasound and gives practical guidance in how to use ultrasound for common invasive procedures. Major applications are introduced using focused diagnostic questions and reviewing the image-acquisition skills needed to answer them. Images of positive and negative findings are presented, and scanning tips for improving image quality. The second edition has been substantially revised and expanded, with new images, updated literature reviews, new applications and clinical algorithms. New chapters cover additional procedures, musculoskeletal and pediatric applications, and the use of ultrasound in resuscitation. This text is invaluable for emergency physicians at all levels.
Call Number: EBSCO (limit one simultaneous user)
Publication Date: 2011-06-16
Medical Therapeutics by Washington University School of Medicine Department of Medicine Staff; Hemant GodaraEBOOK NOW AVAILABLE FOR ANDROID! For the past 65 years, The Washington Manual#65533; of Medical Therapeutics, now in its Thirty-Fourth Edition, has been one of the best selling medical texts in the world. It builds upon that proud tradition--with even more of the current information you need, and delivered in a time-saving, quick-reference style. Its portability, comprehensiveness, and ease of access makes it a favorite on-call resource for housestaff and faculty around the world. Continuing the tradition of excellence, each chapter has been updated and reformatted for easier access to the information the reader needs. With this edition you have online and mobile access to fully searchable text, images and links to pub medicine references so you have access to the content anytime, anywhere. Traditionally available as a printed book, the Manual now comes with a completely revamped digital experience, powered by Inkling. Viewable through a browser or as a download to your tablet or smartphone, the digital version includes The complete text with optimized navigation Powerful, index-based searches that provides results quickly Ability to share notes with friends and colleagues Ability to save your favorite content for future quick reference Ability to highlight text for easier reference of key content References and pages linked throughout for instant access Integrated updates that give the most up-to-date information at your fingertips Whether you are on the wards, studying a case, or in a consultation, you have access to the content you need. Inside this edition you'll find... * New streamlined format that helps you keep pace with the latest advances in the field while removing redundancies and outdated information * Enhanced table of contents for quicker reference * New chapter on toxicology prepares you to respond effectively to any poisoning, overdose, or exposure emergency * Decision support algorithms for quick reference * Included with the purchase of your book is the interactive Inkling electronic book, which allows you to search across the entire text, highlight and take notes within the book, and more See why The Washington Manual#65533;is the most vital on-call resource for house staff and faculty around the world!
Call Number: R2Library (limit one simultaneous user)
Publication Date: 2013-07-08
Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care by Grant C. FowlerPrimary care clinicians are performing more varied procedures than ever before, and physicians, residents, and students need a comprehensive, authoritative resource that provides trusted information in an easy-to-follow format. Through three outstanding editions, Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care has been the go-to reference for step-by-step strategies for nearly every medical procedure that can be performed in an office, hospital, or emergency care facility by primary care providers. This 4th Edition continues that tradition with new section editors, updated illustrations, new chapters, and much more. No other primary care procedure book compares with Pfenninger and Fowler's breadth and depth of practical, step-by-step content! Access to this product, which may be at the discretion of your institution, is up to 3 years of online and perpetual offline access. Elsevier reserves the right to restrict or remove access due to changes in product portfolio or other market conditions. Provides comprehensive, real-world coverage of more than 230 procedures that arise in the primary care setting, including many that were previously performed only in subspecialty settings, such as joint injections and cosmetic procedures. Includes new chapters: Esophageal Foreign Body Removal, Manual Testicular Detorsion, Symphysiotomy, Zipper Injury Management, and Blood Products. Presents the "how-to" expertise of six new section editors, for a fresh, contemporary perspective throughout the book. Additional focus on the evidence, with plentiful citations to key references, makes this the most evidence-based edition yet. Features numerous updated illustrations, including many more in full color, and incorporates updated ICD-10-CM codes throughout. Provides access to online resources including patient education handouts and consent forms, lists of device manufacturers, and more. Utilizes a concise outline format, detailed text and illustrations, and abundant boxes and tables for quick access to the information you need. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: a Comprehensive Study Guide, 9th Edition by Donald Yealy; Garth D. Meckler; J. Stephan Stapczynski; David M. Cline; Stephen H. Thomas; Judith E. Tintinalli; O. John MaPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The long-awaited new edition of the world's most widely used and highly regarded textbook and reference of emergency medicine A Doody's Core Title for 2020! Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine is THE essential resource for everyone working in, and teaching emergency medicine. The Ninth Edition provides the depth and breadth of coverage that reflects the complexity and expertise needed to practice emergency medicine in today's fast-paced environments. This comprehensive text is an important clinical resource for physicians, residents and students, advance practice providers, emergency nurses, EMTs, and paramedics. It is a necessary resource for in-training and board examinations, and recertification. Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine covers everything from prehospital care, disaster preparedness, and basic and advanced resuscitative techniques, to all the significant medical, traumatic, and environmental conditions requiring emergency treatment in adults, children and neonates. Highlights of the Ninth Edition: * Full-color design with more tables than ever to succinctly present key information * Extensive updates to all sections, incorporating the latest clinical and evidence-based information * Online access to over 100 videos, covering a wide range of diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and POCUS for obstetric/gynecologic, pediatric, musculoskeletal, and vascular conditions * World-class pediatric section on the care of neonates, infants, and children * Expanded chapters on the management of gynecologic and obstetric conditions and emergencies * Updated information on toxicologic and environmental emergencies * Contemporary, concise discussion of ED identification and treatment of opioid use disorders * Updated information on procedural sedation * Expert advice on the management and care of transgender patients * Latest information available on neurologic and cardiac emergencies From the reviews of the seventh edition: "Collectively, they have once again produced an excellent text that manages to cover the broad scope of emergency medicine while remaining an easily readable and practical resource....Last, for the inevitable comparison of this current edition of Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine with other available emergency medicine textbooks available: in my opinion, Tintinalli's still comes out on top. It is more concise and easier to read than some, yet it covers the breadth of emergency medicine practice more comprehensively than others....Just as previous editions did, the seventh presents all of the most pertinent and up-to-date information in a well-organized format that is comprehensive yet easy to read. That and many of the attractive new features in this current edition will ensure its place on my bookshelf for years to come."―JAMA
ECGAcademy.comLearn to read cardiac rhythm strips and 12-lead ECGs and earn CE Contact Hours by watching video tutorials created by a cardiac rhythm specialist.
DNP AG-ACNP Print Materials
Practice Considerations for Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioners by Thomas W. Barkley (Editor); Charlene M. Myers (Editor)Practice Considerations for Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioners (3rd edition) is a comprehensive textbook for all nurse practitioners and advanced practice nurses working in acute care. Organized in both a systems and specialty-topics approach, the text features over 360 of the most common conditions experienced by adult patients in acute care practice.
Using a reader-friendly outline format, coverage of each condition includes defining terms, incidence/predisposing factors, subjective and physical examination findings, diagnostic tests, and the latest evidence-based management guidelines and strategies. This text is a go-to resource for everyday practice, as well as for those preparing for national certification or re-certification.
Although many practitioners may be highly specialized, this text is designed as an invaluable tool for the entire scope of acute care including those practicing as intensivists, hospitalists, in critical care, internal medicine, or emergency department settings.
Publication Date: 2021
Scientific Papers and Presentations by Martha Davis; Kaaron Joann Davis; Marion DunaganElectronic publishing and electronic means of text and data presentation have changed enormously since the first edition of this book was published in 1997. The third edition of Scientific Papers and Presentations applies traditional principles to today's modern techniques and the changing needs of up-and-coming academia. Topics include designing visual aids, writing first drafts, reviewing and revising, communicating clearly and concisely, adhering to stylistic principles, presenting data in tables and figures, dealing with ethical and legal issues, and relating science to the lay audience. This successful legacy title is an essential guide to professional communication, provides a wealth of information and detail and is a useful guide.
Publication Date: 2012-07-30
Business Etiquette for Dummies by Sue FoxMake no mistake, etiquette is as important in business as it is ineveryday life ? it?s also a lot more complicated. Fromemail and phone communications to personal interviews to adaptingto corporate and international cultural differences, BusinessEtiquette For Dummies, 2nd Edition, keeps you onyour best behavior in any business situation. This friendly, authoritative guide shows you how to develop goodetiquette on the job and navigate today?s diverse and complexbusiness environment with great success. You?ll get savvytips for dressing the part, making polite conversation, mindingyour manners at meetings and meals, behaving at off-site events,handling ethical dilemmas, and conducting international business.You?ll find out how to behave gracefully during tensenegotiations, improve your communication skills, and overcome allsorts of work-related challenges. Discover how to: Make a great first impression Meet and greet with ease Be a good company representative Practice proper online etiquette Adapt to the changing rules of etiquette Deal with difficult personalities without losing your cool Become a well-mannered traveler Develop good relationships with your peers, staff, andsuperiors Give compliments and offer criticism Respect physical, racial, ethnic, and gender differences atwork Learn the difference between ?casual Friday? andsloppy Saturday Develop cubicle courtesy Avoid conversational faux pas Business etiquette is as important to your success as doing yourjob well. Read Business Etiquette For Dummies, 2ndEdition, and make no mistake.
Publication Date: 2008-04-28
Clinical Radiology Made Ridiculously Simple by Hugue Ouellette; Patrice TetreaultDesigned to teach the clinically vital components of radiology. Includes a discussion of radiographic examinations interpreted by medical students and interns, intravenous pyelogram, and computed tomography. Each chapter is subdivided into Radiography Anatomy, Approach and Specific Problem sections.
Publication Date: 2006-02-01
The Ventilator Book by William OwensIf you need something that teaches you both the concepts of mechanical ventilation and how to manage patients with respiratory failure, this is the book for you. The Ventilator Book is written to be read in the ICU or Emergency Department. It is a clearly written guide to the basics of mechanical ventilation and the treatment of respiratory failure. So...what's in the book? The How-To Guide--here's where you'll find good information about initial setup, quick adjustments, and troubleshooting. The How-To Guide is all you need to get through a busy night on call in the ICU. The Eleven Commandments of Mechanical Ventilation The Owner's Manual--this is a more in-depth discussion of different modes, PEEP, trigger, flow, and liberation from mechanical ventilation. There are also chapters on high frequency oscillatory ventilation and airway pressure release ventilation, as well as a chapter on taking care of the patient with prolonged respiratory failure. Each chapter is concise and can be read in 10-20 minutes. Appendix of Useful Knowledge--equations and formulas that are useful for attending rounds, pimping, and presentations. They can also be used from time to time to take care of critically ill patients.