Basic and Clinical Pharmacology by
Master key pharmacological concepts and practices with the most comprehensive, authoritative guide available Presented in full-color and packed with hundreds of illustrations, Basic and Clinical Pharmacology is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades. Organized to reflect the course sequence in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, the guide covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. This edition has been extensively updated to provide expanded coverage of transporters, pharmacogenomics, and new drugs Delivers the knowledge and insight needed to excel in every facet of pharmacology!. Encompasses all aspects of medical pharmacology, including botanicals and over-the-counter drugs Major revisions of the chapters on immunopharmacology, antiseizure, antipsychotic, antidepressant, antidiabetic, anti-inflammatory, and antiviral drugs, prostaglandins, and central nervous system neurotransmitters New chapter on the increasingly relevant topic of cannabis pharmacology Each chapter opens with a case study, covers drug groups and prototypes, and closes with summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information Revised full-color illustrations provide more information about drug mechanisms and effects and help clarify important concepts Trade Name/Generic Name tables are provided at end of each chapter for easy reference when writing a chart order or prescription Includes descriptions of important new drugs released through May 2019 New and updated coverage of general concepts relating to recently discovered receptors, receptor mechanisms, and drug transporters
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14th Edition by
The go-to pharmacology reference that medical and health science professionals have relied upon for more than 50 years! For more than 50 years, Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, has been the comprehensive, go-to reference that medical and health science professionals have relied upon as the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. Goodman & Gilman's balance of basic science and clinical applications has guided thousands of health care practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing and treating disease. The fourteenth edition features more than 600 color illustrations, including 50 new figures on mechanism of drug actions which emphasizes the link between basic mechanisms of action of drug action, pathophysiology of disease, and therapeutic use of drugs. Features: * Five NEW chapters:  Pharmacovigilance  Gastrointestinal Microbiome and Drug Response  The Blood-Brain Barrier  Cannabis  Antibodies, Immune Checkpoint Inhibitors, CAR-T cells, and other Biological Agents * 600+ color illustrations * 50 NEW figures on mechanism of drug actions * All chapters have been revised and generally expanded with new material * Throughout: Expanded coverage of the need to consider genetic polymorphisms in designing appropriate therapies * A greatly revised and expanded chapter on Pharmacodynamics and the Molecular Mechanisms of Drug Action * 53 NEW contributors * NEW online updates
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine by 
Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases by
For four decades, physicians and other healthcare providers have trusted Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases to provide expert guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of these complex disorders. The 9th Edition continues the tradition of excellence with newly expanded chapters, increased global coverage, and regular updates to keep you at the forefront of this vitally important field. Meticulously updated by Drs. John E. Bennett, Raphael Dolin, and Martin J. Blaser, this comprehensive, two-volume masterwork puts the latest information on challenging infectious diseases at your fingertips. Provides more in-depth coverage of epidemiology, etiology, pathology, microbiology, immunology, and treatment of infectious agents than any other infectious disease resource. Features an increased focus on antibiotic stewardship; new antivirals for influenza, cytomegalovirus, hepatitis C, hepatitis B., and immunizations; and new recommendations for vaccination against infection with pneumococci, papillomaviruses, hepatitis A, and pertussis. Covers newly recognized enteroviruses causing paralysis (E-A71, E-D68); emerging viral infections such as Ebola, Zika, Marburg, SARS, and MERS; and important updates on prevention and treatment of C. difficile infection, including new tests that diagnose or falsely over-diagnose infectious diseases. Offers fully revised content on bacterial pathogenesis, antibiotic use and toxicity, the human microbiome and its effects on health and disease, immunological mechanisms and immunodeficiency, and probiotics and alternative approaches to treatment of infectious diseases. Discusses up-to-date topics such as use of the new PCR panels for diagnosis of meningitis, diarrhea and pneumonia; current management of infected orthopedic implant infections; newly recognized infections transmitted by black-legged ticks in the USA: Borrelia miyamotoi and Powassan virus; infectious complications of new drugs for cancer; new drugs for resistant bacteria and mycobacteria; new guidelines for diagnosis and therapy of HIV infections; and new vaccines against herpes zoster, influenza, meningococci. PPID continues its tradition of including leading experts from a truly global community, including authors from Australia, Canada and countries in Europe, Asia, and South America. Includes regular updates online for the life of the edition. Features more than 1,500 high-quality, full-color photographs-with hundreds new to this edition. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs by
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs: The International Encyclopedia of Adverse Drug Reactions and Interactions, Sixteenth Edition builds on the success of the 15 previous editions, providing an extensively reorganized and expanded resource that now comprises more than 1,500 individual drug articles with the most complete coverage of adverse reactions and interactions found anywhere. Each article contains detailed and authoritative information about the adverse effects of each drug, with comprehensive references to the primary literature, making this a must-have reference work for any academic or medical library, pharmacologist, regulatory organization, hospital dispensary, or pharmaceutical company. The online version of the book provides an unparalleled depth of coverage and functionality by offering convenient desktop access and enhanced features such as increased searchability, extensive internal cross-linking, and fully downloadable and printable full-text, HTML or PDF articles. Enhanced encyclopedic format with drug monographs now organized alphabeticallyCompletely expanded coverage of each drug, with more than 1,500 drug articles and information on adverse reactions and interactionsClearer, systematic organization of information for easier reading, including case histories to provide perspective on each listingExtensive bibliography with over 40,000 referencesA must-have reference work for any academic or medical library, pharmacologist, regulatory organization, hospital dispensary, or pharmaceutical company
Pathophysiology of Disease by
A full-color, case-based review of the essentials of pathophysiology--covering all major organs and systems The goal of this trusted text is to introduce you to clinical medicine by reviewing the pathophysiologic basis of 120 diseases (and associated signs and symptoms) commonly encountered in medical practice. The authors, all experts in their respective fields, have provided a concise review of relevant normal structure and function of each body system, followed by a description of the pathophysiologic mechanisms that underlie several common diseases related to that system. Each chapter of Pathophysiology of Disease concludes with a collection of case studies and questionsdesigned to test your understanding of the pathophysiology of each clinical entity discussed. These case studies allow you to apply your knowledge to specific clinical situations. Detailed answers to each case study question are provided at the end of the book. This unique interweaving of physiological and pathological concepts will put you on the path toward thinking about signs and symptoms in terms of their pathophysiologic basis, giving you an understanding of the "why" behind illness and treatment. Features 120 case studies (9 new) provide an opportunity for you to test your understanding of the pathophysiology of each clinical entity discussed Checkpoint questions provide review and appear in every chapter Updates and revisions throughout this new edition reflect the latest research and developments Numerous tables and diagrams encapsulate important information Updated references for each chapter topic Pathophysiology of Disease is a true must-have resource for medical students preparing for the USMLEStep 1 exam, as well as students engaged in their clerkship studies. House officers, nurses, nursepractitioners, physicians' assistants, and allied health practitioners will find its concise presentation and broad scope a great help in facilitating their understanding of common disease entities.
Pediatric Injectable Drugs : The Teddy Bear Book by
Pediatric Injectable Drugs, also known as "The Teddy Bear Book," is one of the ASHP's most recognized and trusted resources dedicated to helping pharmacists treat pediatric patients with injectable drugs. For more than 20 years, pharmacists and hospital pediatric teams have looked to Pediatric Injectable Drugs (The Teddy Bear Book) for the most comprehensive research-based information on pediatric intravenous infusions. Now for the first time since 2013, a new edition of this trusted resource is available! The "Teddy Bear Book", is the only reference of its kind that focuses on the unique issues that pediatric practitioners face when dealing with pediatric injectable drugs, such as limited fluid amounts, limited intravenous sites, and maximum doses. The updated edition of this comprehensive resource by respected editors Stephanie J. Phelps, PharmD, BCPS, Kelley R. Lee, PharmD, Amanda Jill Thompson, PharmD, and Tracy M. Hagemann, PharmD, FCCP, includes 15 new monographs and updates based on the latest evidence-backed literature.
The Pharmacist's Guide to Evidence-Based Medicine for Clinical Decision Making by
While most practicing pharmacists are familiar with the term and the general concept of evidence-based medicine, few are adequately trained in the clinical application of these skills. Developed to give clinical pharmacists an edge, this book provides a practical approach for applying sound EBM principles to your clinical decision making process. Decision making based on personal experience alone, without knowledge from well-designed, controlled, randomized trials with adequate sample size, often overestimates the efficacy and underestimates the safety risks associated with drugs. This book provides a roadmap that is instructional and, most importantly, practical for the pharmacist so these new skills can be applied immediately in practice. Based on a five-step process perfected over ten years at the University of Missouri, Kansas City, School of Pharmacy, this exciting new approach will: Reduce complexity; Shorten time for decision making support; Maintain rigor; Categorize quality of the evidence in a simple, straightforward, and logical manner; Provide a process designed specifically for pharmacists making drug therapy decisions. Use of examples, tables, diagrams, and key points highlighted throughout the book and summarized at the end of each chapter provide the pharmacist with skills they can implement the next day to begin applying EBM principles to their practice.
Pharmacotherapy: a Pathophysiologic Approach, Eleventh Edition by
The classic guide to driving optimal patient outcomes using evidence-based medication therapies--updated with the latest advances and guidelines A Doody's Core Title for 2020!ALL E-CHAPTERS (ONLINE ONLY CHAPTERS) NOW AVAILABLE FREE go to https://accesspharmacy.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookID=2577 Presented in full color, Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach, 11th Edition helps you deliver the highest-quality patient care through evidence-based medication therapy derived from sound pharmacotherapeutic principles. It takes you beyond drug indications and dosages, showing how to properly select, administer, and monitor drugs--everything you need to provide safe, effective drug therapy across all therapeutic categories. With all-new monitoring tables and authoritative content from 300 expert contributors, this new edition has been fully updated to reflect the latest evidence-based information and recommendations. You'll find Key Concepts at the beginning of each chapter, Clinical Presentation tables that summarize disease signs and symptoms, and Clinical Controversies boxes that examine the complicated issues faced by students and clinicians in providing drug therapy. Why Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach is perfect for students, pharmacists, and other healthcare providers: * All chapters provide the most current, reliable, and relevant information available. * Key concepts kick off every chapter. * Clinical Presentation Tables summarize disease signs and symptoms. * The majority of sections include personalized pharmacotherapy content. * Clinical Controversies Boxes clarify the most complex drug therapy issues you'll face. * Diagnostic flow diagrams, treatment algorithms, dosing recommendations, and monitoring approaches have been updated in full color to distinguish treatment pathways. * Most disease-oriented chapters are enhanced by updated evidence-based treatment guidelines, which often include ratings of the level of evidence to support key therapeutic approaches. * Instructors who adopt this text are eligible for a PowerPoint presentation of all images and answers to Self-Assessment Questions! The most trusted guide of its kind for decades, Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach is the go-to text for students and practitioners seeking clear, objective coverage of core pathophysiologic and therapeutic elements.
Pharmacy Practice Skills: A Guide for Students and Instructors
The book provides pharmacy educators, increasingly involved in team teaching, examples of class and experiential activities that have been shown to work in engaging students and promoting effective learning strategies. It should hopefully serve as an invaluable resource to all faculties under a swiftly evolving educational paradigm giving good quality peer-reviewed activities for faculty to use in their classrooms. It is designed to help junior faculty without much history to guide their teaching or for more seasoned faculty who have come to appreciate the need to alter their teaching approaches. Instead of re-inventing the wheel, just change a couple of the spokes. The editors of this text understand that there may be varying resources at other institution that prevent instructors from replicating each activity in its entirety, but we hope faculty will be able to adapt each activity based on their resources and needs.
Principles of pharmacology : the pathophysiologic basis of drug therapy by
This primary textbook for a first course in pharmacology offers an integrated, systems-based, and mechanism-based approach to understanding drug therapy. Each chapter focuses on a target organ system, begins with a clinical case, and incorporates cell biology, biochemistry, physiology, and pathophysiology to explain how and why different drug classes are effective for diseases in that organ system. Over 400 two-color illustrations show molecular, cellular, biochemical, and pathophysiologic processes underlying diseases and depict targets of drug therapy. Each Second Edition chapter includes a drug summary table presenting mechanism, clinical applications, adverse effects, contraindications, and therapeutic considerations. New chapters explain how drugs produce adverse effects and describe the life cycle of drug development. The fully searchable online text and an image bank are available on thePoint.
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease by
Readable and highly illustrated, Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th Edition presents an in-depth, state-of-the-art overview of human diseases and their cellular and molecular basis. This best-selling text delivers the latest, most essential pathology knowledge in a readable, interesting manner, ensuring optimal understanding of the latest basic science and clinical content. More than 1,000 high-quality photographs and full-color illustrations highlight new information in molecular biology, disease classifications, new drugs and drug therapies, and much more. This superb learning package also includes an enhanced eBook with a full complement of ancillary content on Student Consult. Access to this product, which may be at the discretion of your institution, is up to 3 years of online and perpetual offline access. Elsevier reserves the right to restrict or remove access due to changes in product portfolio or other market conditions. Provides uniquely authoritative and readable coverage, ideal for USMLE or specialty board preparation, as well as for coursework. Covers the hot topics you need to know about, including novel therapies for hepatitis C, classification of lymphomas, unfolded protein response, non-apoptotic pathways of cell death, coronavirus infections, liquid biopsy for cancer detection, regulation of iron absorption, clonal hematopoiesis and atherosclerosis, thrombotic microangiopathies, heparin-induced thrombocytopenias, inflammatory myopathies, genetic tools for treatment of cystic fibrosis, and many more. Uses an outstanding full-color, user-friendly design to simplify your study and quickly direct you to the information you need to know, with learning features such as boldface overviews at the beginning of each section, key concepts boxes, suggested readings, schematic diagrams that illustrate complex concepts, and new gross and microscopic figures for clarity of morphology. Brings you up to date with the latest information in molecular and genetic testing, mechanisms of disease, personalized medicine and its impact on treatment of human diseases, the role of microbiome and metabolome in non-communicable diseases, and much more. Provides access to a wealth of interactive ancillaries online: pathology case studies, videos, self-assessment questions, Targeted Therapy boxes that discuss drug therapy for specific diseases, interactive cases, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Antiepileptic Drugs : a clinician's guide by
This concise handbook provides practical, up-to-date clinical guidance on effective selection, prescription, and usage of antiepileptic drugs for patients with epilepsy in various medical conditions and in a variety of clinical contexts. This text discusses choosing drugs when faced with various medical comorbidities; how to correctly prescribe, titrate, and taper drugs; how to monitor drug efficacy and side effects; how to diagnose and manage toxicity; how antiepileptic drugs interact with other medications; and comprehensive coverage of current treatment options. Key Feature of this Manual Include · A brief formal discussion of the basic pharmacology of each antiepileptic drug, with an emphasis on how to select and use anti-epileptic drugs in a variety of clinical contexts. · Discussions of antiepileptic drugs approved for epilepsy since 2009. · New research about already existing antiepileptic drugs. · References for further reading that are oriented toward utility in clinical practice. Antiepileptic Drugs: A Clinician's Manual fills an unmet need as a practical, patient-oriented reference and leads to improved patient care. Supported by practical, clinical knowledge and experience, this is the perfect guide for physicians looking to ensure safe practices in antiepileptic drug therapy.
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs (ClinicalKey) by
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs: The International Encyclopedia of Adverse Drug Reactions and Interactions, Sixteenth Edition builds on the success of the 15 previous editions, providing an extensively reorganized and expanded resource that now comprises more than 1,500 individual drug articles with the most complete coverage of adverse reactions and interactions found anywhere. Each article contains detailed and authoritative information about the adverse effects of each drug, with comprehensive references to the primary literature, making this a must-have reference work for any academic or medical library, pharmacologist, regulatory organization, hospital dispensary, or pharmaceutical company. The online version of the book provides an unparalleled depth of coverage and functionality by offering convenient desktop access and enhanced features such as increased searchability, extensive internal cross-linking, and fully downloadable and printable full-text, HTML or PDF articles.
Handbook on Injectable Drugs by 
Remington : The Science and Practice of Pharmacy by
The PCP's Bicentennial Edition Remington: The Science and Practice of Pharmacy, Twenty Third Edition, offers a trusted, completely updated source of information for education, training, and development of pharmacists. Published for the first time with Elsevier, this edition includes coverage of biologics and biosimilars as uses of those therapeutics have increased substantially since the previous edition. Also discussed are formulations, drug delivery (including prodrugs, salts, polymorphism. With clear, detailed color illustrations, fundamental information on a range of pharmaceutical science areas, and information on new developments in industry, pharmaceutical industry scientists, especially those involved in drug discovery and development will find this edition of Remington an essential reference. Intellectual property professionals will also find this reference helpful to cite in patents and resulting litigations. Additional graduate and postgraduate students in Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences will refer to this book in courses dealing with medicinal chemistry and pharmaceutics.
This link opens in a new window
Handbook of Nonprescription Drugs by
Provides information on nonprescription drug pharmacotherapy, nutritional supplements, medical foods, nondrug and preventive measures, and complementary and alternative therapies. This title provides FDA-approved dosing information and evidence-based research on the efficacy and safety of over-the-counter and herbal medications.
Applied Therapeutics by
This widely used text uses a case-based approach to help students master the fundamentals of drug therapeutics. Students will learn the basics of common diseases and disorders and develop practical problem-solving skills for devising and implementing successful drug treatment regimens. Case studies integrated into each chapter illustrate key concepts and principles of therapeutics and give students practice in developing their own evidence-based therapeutic plans.
Goldman-Cecil Medicine
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twenty-First Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by
The Voice of Clinical Reason : Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine is the world's most trusted clinical medicine text--and a superb resource for learning the art and science of clinical reasoning. Recognized by healthcare professionals worldwide as the leading authority on applied pathophysiology and clinical medicine, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine provides the informational foundation you need for the best patient care possible. This new edition is fully updated with timely new chapters and essential updates across the spectrum of internal medicine. Written and edited by the world's top experts in their respective fields, this landmark guide provides comprehensive, accurate, and essential coverage of the pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment of disease. Harrison's is world-renowned as the most authoritative source for: * Clear, concise schemas that facilitate the generation of differential diagnoses to reason efficiently through complex real world clinical cases * The physiologic and epidemiologic basis of signs and symptoms, which are covered through a wealth of unsurpassed expert guidance and linked to the disease-specific chapters that follow * Updated clinical trial results and recommended guidelines * Excellent and extensive visual support, including radiographs, clinical photos, schematics, and high-quality drawings * Coverage of both therapeutic approaches and specific treatment regimens * Practical clinical decision trees and algorithms * Organ/system-specific sections, with clinically relevant pathophysiology and practical clinical advice on the approach to the patient, strategies towards building a differential diagnosis, outstanding clinical algorithms and diagnostic schema, a wealth of clinical images and diagrams, current clinical guidelines, and general and specific approaches to therapy Harrison's remains the most trusted resource in a world influenced by endless sources of medical information. The most timely and comprehensive updates from the world's top experts are featured in the 21st edition: * Current coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of diseases, from COVID to dementia to sepsis to multiple sclerosis to lung cancer * Updated content that reflects new approved therapeutics and new practice-changing guidelines and evidence summaries * More than 1000 clinical, pathological, and radiographic photographs, diagnostic and therapeutic decision trees, and clear schematics and diagrams describing pathophysiologic processes * Numerous atlases featuring curated collections of important visual aspects of diagnosis and management * Updated and time-saving curation and synthesis of established and new medical literature and studies * Clinically relevant coverage of disease mechanics and pathophysiology, and related therapeutic mechanisms
This link opens in a new window
Conn's Current Therapy 2021 by
Designed to suit a wide range of healthcare providers, including primary care, subspecialties, and allied health, Conn's Current Therapy has been a trusted clinical resource for well over 70 years. The 2021 edition continues this tradition of excellence with current, evidence-based treatment information presented in a concise yet in-depth format. More than 300 topics have been carefully reviewed and updated to bring you state-of-the-art information in even the most rapidly changing areas of medicine. Offers personal approaches from recognized leaders in the field, covering common complaints, acute diseases, and chronic illnesses along with the most current evidence-based clinical management options. Follows a consistent, easy-to-use format throughout, with diagnosis, therapy, drug protocols, and treatment pearls presented in quick-reference boxes and tables for point-of-care answers to common clinical questions. Includes new and significantly revised chapters on COVID-19, Diabetes Mellitus in Adults, Chronic Leukemias, and Osteomyelitis. Incorporates more electronic links throughout the text that connect the reader to apps and clinical prediction tools that can easily be accessed in practice. Features thoroughly reviewed and updated information from many new authors who offer a fresh perspective and their unique personal experience and judgment. Provides current drug information thoroughly reviewed by PharmDs. Features nearly 300 images, including algorithms, anatomical illustrations, and photographs, that provide useful information for diagnosis. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pharmacotherapy: a Pathophysiologic Approach, Eleventh Edition by
The classic guide to driving optimal patient outcomes using evidence-based medication therapies--updated with the latest advances and guidelines A Doody's Core Title for 2020!ALL E-CHAPTERS (ONLINE ONLY CHAPTERS) NOW AVAILABLE FREE go to https://accesspharmacy.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookID=2577 Presented in full color, Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach, 11th Edition helps you deliver the highest-quality patient care through evidence-based medication therapy derived from sound pharmacotherapeutic principles. It takes you beyond drug indications and dosages, showing how to properly select, administer, and monitor drugs--everything you need to provide safe, effective drug therapy across all therapeutic categories. With all-new monitoring tables and authoritative content from 300 expert contributors, this new edition has been fully updated to reflect the latest evidence-based information and recommendations. You'll find Key Concepts at the beginning of each chapter, Clinical Presentation tables that summarize disease signs and symptoms, and Clinical Controversies boxes that examine the complicated issues faced by students and clinicians in providing drug therapy. Why Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach is perfect for students, pharmacists, and other healthcare providers: * All chapters provide the most current, reliable, and relevant information available. * Key concepts kick off every chapter. * Clinical Presentation Tables summarize disease signs and symptoms. * The majority of sections include personalized pharmacotherapy content. * Clinical Controversies Boxes clarify the most complex drug therapy issues you'll face. * Diagnostic flow diagrams, treatment algorithms, dosing recommendations, and monitoring approaches have been updated in full color to distinguish treatment pathways. * Most disease-oriented chapters are enhanced by updated evidence-based treatment guidelines, which often include ratings of the level of evidence to support key therapeutic approaches. * Instructors who adopt this text are eligible for a PowerPoint presentation of all images and answers to Self-Assessment Questions! The most trusted guide of its kind for decades, Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach is the go-to text for students and practitioners seeking clear, objective coverage of core pathophysiologic and therapeutic elements.
Geriatric Dosage Handbook by 
Basic Skills in Interpreting Laboratory Data by
Basic Skills in Interpreting Laboratory Data continues to be the most popular teaching text on laboratory data for pharmacy students as well as the go-to reference for pharmacists in therapeutic practice. Now in its sixth edition, it has been expanded and updated to cover new drugs, research, and therapeutic approaches. The sixth edition is a comprehensive, in-depth guide to all aspects of lab work that apply to clinical practice. Written by 40 established clinicians and pharmacy faculty members and reviewed by additional experts, it is designed to make all information clear and quickly accessible. Minicases provide clinical scenarios for using tests and managing patients, and quickview charts throughout offer clear interpretations of lab results. New to this edition: A new chapter on point-of-care testing. New materials on male infertility workups. Data on pharmacogenomics testing for neuropsychiatric drugs. At least one new case and new learning points for almost all chapters. New discussions in many chapters, including for C-reactive protein, antiglycan antibody and lactoferrin, antithroglobulin antibody, and cryoglobulin, and more. 23 chapters are now divided into three sections: Basic Concepts and Test Interpretations, System Disorders and Diagnostic Tests, and Tests for Special Populations. Complex but critical skills are required for clinical pharmacists to effectively use lab data in screening for or diagnosing diseases and in monitoring the safety and effectiveness of treatment. As the only book of its kind specifically written for pharmacists by pharmacists, Basic Skills in Interpreting Laboratory Data makes it easier to make accurate and critical decisions based on laboratory data.
Guide to Diagnostic Tests, Seventh Edition by
The essential guide to more than 450 of the most commonly performed diagnostic tests - updated with the latest molecular, genetic, and microbiological tests A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Guide to Diagnostic Tests, Seventh Edition is a concise guide to the selection and interpretation of more than 450 of the laboratory and microbiology tests most relevant to the general practice of medicine. This on-the-spot clinical companion also includes coverage of diagnostic imaging, electrocardiology, echocardiography, and the use of tests in differential diagnosis. Features: * Covers areas of internal medicine, pediatrics, surgery, neurology, and obstetrics and gynecology * Over 25 new or substantially revised laboratory tests * New and updated coverage of emerging and re-emerging pathogens and infectious agents,including the Zika and Ebola viruses * Updated material on molecular and genetic tests, including pharmacogenetics tests * An entire section of diagnostic algorithms * Full literature citations with PubMed identification (PMID) numbers included for each reference * Details costs and risks of various procedures and tests * Full section on electrocardiography and echocardiography If you've been looking for an authoritative, up-to-date, and easy-to-carry guide to the latest diagnostic testing procedures, your search ends here.
Mosby's Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests by
Understanding and performing tests, interpreting lab results, and performing patient teaching are made easier with Mosby's® Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests, 7th Edition. This one-stop resource provides clear, concise, and consistent coverage of the most commonly performed diagnostic and laboratory tests. Valuable in academic and clinical settings alike, it is beloved for its full-color design, user-friendly organization, and illustrations that help clarify key concepts. Updated content with new tests and images ensures you have the most current and relevant information available. Comprehensive and consistent presentation of tests follows a sequence that best simulates priorities in clinical practice. UNIQUE! Clinical Priorities boxes emphasize priorities and procedure considerations specific to understanding and performing tests. UNIQUE! Test Results and Clinical Significance sections describe the significance of the test findings and discuss the pathophysiology of the disease process and how it relates to the test result. UNIQUE! Related Tests sections list additional tests related to the main test, including tests that provide similar information, confirmatory information, and other tests used to evaluate the same organ, disease process, or symptom complex. UNIQUE! Critical Values sections indicate test values of particular significance. UNIQUE! Home Care Responsibilities boxes focus on post-test factors for consideration. UNIQUE! Icons indicate drugs that increase or decrease test values and patient teaching priorities. Age-Related Concerns boxes address pediatric and geriatric priorities. Results are provided in SI units in addition to others, when applicable. NEW! Common Reference Range section on the inside front cover provides quick access to this essential information. NEW! More than 25 new tests focus mainly on the areas of blood studies and x-ray studies. NEW! Quick Tips for Using this Manual section in the front matter helps you use this manual easily and efficiently. UNIQUE! Diagnostic Testing for Most Common Diseases section highlights the integration of medical testing as it relates to a specific disease, clinical syndrome, or medical condition. UPDATED! New images throughout the manual reflect the latest developments in the field.
The Harriet Lane Handbook by
Every three years, The Harriet Lane Handbook is carefully updated by residents, edited by chief residents, and reviewed by expert faculty at The Johns Hopkins Hospital. Easy to use, concise, and complete, this essential manual keeps you current with new guidelines, practice parameters, pharmacology, and more. The 22nd Edition of this portable reference continues to be the #1 source of pediatric point-of-care clinical information for pediatric residents, students, nurses, and all healthcare professionals who treat young patients. Trusted for more than 65 years for fast, accurate information on pediatric diagnosis and treatment. Updated and expanded content includes an all-new chapter on Psychiatry, plus reorganized information on Emergency and Critical Care Management, as well as Traumatic Injuries. The popular Pediatric Drug Formulary, updated by Carlton K. K. Lee, PharmD, MPH, provides the latest in pharmacologic treatment of pediatric patients. Outline format ensures you'll find information quickly and easily, even in the most demanding circumstances. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pediatric Injectable Drugs : The Teddy Bear Book by
Pediatric Injectable Drugs, also known as "The Teddy Bear Book," is one of the ASHP's most recognized and trusted resources dedicated to helping pharmacists treat pediatric patients with injectable drugs. For more than 20 years, pharmacists and hospital pediatric teams have looked to Pediatric Injectable Drugs (The Teddy Bear Book) for the most comprehensive research-based information on pediatric intravenous infusions. Now for the first time since 2013, a new edition of this trusted resource is available! The "Teddy Bear Book", is the only reference of its kind that focuses on the unique issues that pediatric practitioners face when dealing with pediatric injectable drugs, such as limited fluid amounts, limited intravenous sites, and maximum doses. The updated edition of this comprehensive resource by respected editors Stephanie J. Phelps, PharmD, BCPS, Kelley R. Lee, PharmD, Amanda Jill Thompson, PharmD, and Tracy M. Hagemann, PharmD, FCCP, includes 15 new monographs and updates based on the latest evidence-backed literature.
Pharmaceutical Calculations by
Pharmacists are required to make certain kinds of calculations that determine the quantities of materials required for filling prescriptions and making up formulas. The new and expanded topics introduced in the fourth edition teach pharmacists and pharmacy students how to do the calculations required in current practice, covering important areas such as handling injectibles, including those used in parenteral nutrition and radiopharmaceuticals. The book also includes new chapters on isotonicity, intravenous fluids, and nutritional calculations.
Pharmaceutical Calculations by
Widely recognized as the leading calculations textbook, Ansel's Pharmaceutical Calculations is the most trusted resource for calculations support. Time-tested after thirteen editions, it is the most comprehensive and in-depth treatment of pharmacy calculations available. The book takes a step-by-step approach to calculations, making it easy for students to work through the problems and gain greater understanding of the underlying concepts. Its focus is on the fundamental principles and basic techniques involved in the application of the calculations needed for successful pharmacy practice.
https://libcat.uthsc.edu/cgi-bin/koha/opac-detail.pl?biblionumber=44800&query_desc=kw%2Cwrdl%3A%20Ansel%20pharmaceutical%20calculations
Applied Biopharmaceutics & Pharmacokinetics, Seventh Edition by
The landmark textbook on the theoretical and practical applications of biopharmaceutics and pharmacokinetics--now fully updated. Explains how to detect clinical pharmacokinetic problems and apply basic pharmacokinetic principles to solve them Helps you critically evaluate biopharmaceutic studies involving drug product equivalency and unequivalency Chapters have been revised to reflect the latest clinical perspectives on drug performance, bioavailability, bioequivalence, pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, and drug therapy The field's leading text for more than three decades, Applied Biopharmaceutics & Pharmacokinetics gets you up to speed on the basics of the discipline like no other resource. Practical problems and clinical examples with discussions are integrated within each chapter to help you apply principles to patient care and drug consultation situations. In addition, outstanding pedagogy, including chapter objectives, chapter summaries, and FAQs, plus additional application questions, identify and focus on key concepts. Written by authors who have both academic and clinical experience, Applied Biopharmaceutics & Pharmacokinetics shows you how to use raw data and formulate the pharmacokinetic models and parameters that best describe the process of drug absorption, distribution, and elimination. The book also helps you work with pharmacokinetic and biopharmaceutic parameters to design and evaluate dosage regimens of drugs. In the seventh edition of this must-have interactive learning tool, most of the chapters are updated to reflect our current understanding of complex issues associated with safe and efficacious drug therapy.
Complete Drug Reference by
This is a source of information on medicines. This updated edition features: encycopaedic facts about drugs and medicines; informationon herbal medicine; synopses of disease treatments; and covers other substances including veterinary drugs, contrast media, diagnostic agents, radiopharmaceuticals, pharmaceutical exipients, poisons, and essential oils.
Brody's Human Pharmacology by
Focusing on the essential aspects of pharmacology you need to know, Brody's Human Pharmacology, 6th Edition, keeps you fully up to date with all that's new in the field. Streamlined content, a new organizational approach, enhanced online components, and thoroughly updated information ensure your grasp of key concepts and prepare you for exams. Nearly 500 full-color illustrations explain important processes, while color-coded boxes for major drugs, therapeutic overviews, clinical problems, and trade names reinforce your mastery of the information. The 6th Edition of this easy-to-use text is now fully up to date with: NEW chapter devoted entirely to pharmacogenomics and personalized medicine. NEW chapter on cannabinoids and their use for pain and other disorders, in light of recent legalization in many states. NEW chapters on recent developments in the treatment of Alzheimer's disease, ADHD and the latest treatments for HIV. NEW section on pain management. NEW section in each chapter covering "Clinical Relevance for Healthcare Professionals" that provides important information specific to physical therapists, dentists and dental hygienists, and many other medical professionals. Plus these student-friendly features: A new organizational approach, focusing on integration and systems-based learning. Contributions from leading faculty who cover the most important aspects of pharmacology necessary for a basic understanding of the subject, including concepts, clinical applications, and side effects. USMLE-style self-assessment questions at the end of every chapter, answers and rationales in the Appendix. Online access to Student Consult?where you'll find the complete contents of the book, fully searchable...150 USMLE-style questions...and more.
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14th Edition by
The go-to pharmacology reference that medical and health science professionals have relied upon for more than 50 years! For more than 50 years, Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, has been the comprehensive, go-to reference that medical and health science professionals have relied upon as the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. Goodman & Gilman's balance of basic science and clinical applications has guided thousands of health care practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing and treating disease. The fourteenth edition features more than 600 color illustrations, including 50 new figures on mechanism of drug actions which emphasizes the link between basic mechanisms of action of drug action, pathophysiology of disease, and therapeutic use of drugs. Features: * Five NEW chapters:  Pharmacovigilance  Gastrointestinal Microbiome and Drug Response  The Blood-Brain Barrier  Cannabis  Antibodies, Immune Checkpoint Inhibitors, CAR-T cells, and other Biological Agents * 600+ color illustrations * 50 NEW figures on mechanism of drug actions * All chapters have been revised and generally expanded with new material * Throughout: Expanded coverage of the need to consider genetic polymorphisms in designing appropriate therapies * A greatly revised and expanded chapter on Pharmacodynamics and the Molecular Mechanisms of Drug Action * 53 NEW contributors * NEW online updates
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics by
The gold-standard of pharmacology texts - completely updated to reflect the latest research and developments A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, Thirteenth Edition represents the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. Goodman & Gilman's careful balance of basic science and clinical application has guided thousands of practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing, and treating disease. The Thirteenth Edition includes more than 500 color illustrations, with many new figures emphasizing mechanisms of drug action. More than 30 new contributors have added to this edition, while the focus on basic principles is undiminished. This edition is enhanced by timely new content: * NEW chapters including Treatment of Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension, Immunity and Inflammation, Immunoglobulins and Vaccines, and Treatment of Viral Hepatitis * Expanded coverage of cardiovascular disease, with separate chapters on myocardial ischemia, hypertension, and heart failure * Increased emphasis on cellular signaling pathways involved in drug action * Summary tables at the end of each chapter that organize drugs discussed in that chapter into relevant categories and detail therapeutic usage, clinical pharmacology, and tips * Chapter Content Outlines at the beginning of each chapter * Abbreviation boxes in every chapter to easily identify the abbreviations appearing in that chapter More than a textbook, Goodman & Gilman's is a working template for the effective and rational prescribing of drugs in daily practice.
Principles of Pharmacology by
This primary textbook for a first course in pharmacology offers an integrated, systems-based, and mechanism-based approach to understanding drug therapy. Each chapter focuses on a target organ system, begins with a clinical case, and incorporates cell biology, biochemistry, physiology, and pathophysiology to explain how and why different drug classes are effective for diseases in that organ system. Over 400 two-color illustrations show molecular, cellular, biochemical, and pathophysiologic processes underlying diseases and depict targets of drug therapy. Each Second Edition chapter includes a drug summary table presenting mechanism, clinical applications, adverse effects, contraindications, and therapeutic considerations. New chapters explain how drugs produce adverse effects and describe the life cycle of drug development. The fully searchable online text and an image bank are available on thePoint.
Pharmacotherapy Principles and Practice by
The unique orientation to pharmacotherapy found in the landmark Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach distilled to a concise clinically focused full-color resource Pharmacotherapy Principles & Practice, Fifth Edition uses a solid evidence-based approach to teach readers how to design, implement, monitor, and evaluate medication therapy.
This trusted text provides everything readers need to gain an in-depth understanding of the underlying principles of the pharmacotherapy of diseases and their practical application.
More InfoIn order to be as clinically relevant as possible, the disease states and treatments discussed focus on disorders most often seen in clinical practice, and laboratory values are expressed as both conventional units and SI units. Importantly, all chapters were written or reviewed by pharmacists, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and physicians widely recognized as authorities in their fields.
The Fifth Edition begins with an insightful introductory chapter, followed by chapters on geriatrics, pediatrics, and palliative care. Each of the subsequent 98 disease-based chapters cover disease epidemiology, etiology, pathophysiology, clinical presentation and diagnosis, nonpharmacologic therapy, followed by therapeutic recommendations for medication selection, desired outcomes, dosing, and patient monitoring.
Features:
*The acclaimed patient encounter cases sharpen critical thinking skills and lend clinical relevance to scientific principles
*Chapter-opening structured learning objectives enable you to rapidly locate related content * Icon-identified key concepts highlight the disease, patient assessment, and treatment
* A newly designed patient care process section models the Joint Commission of Pharmacy Practitioners (JCPP) Pharmacists' Patient Care Process
*Up-to-date literature citations support treatment recommendations
*Tables, figures, algorithms, and defined medical abbreviations reinforce comprehension throughout
* Includes valuable table of common laboratory tests and reference ranges
Applied Therapeutics by
This widely used text uses a case-based approach to help students master the fundamentals of drug therapeutics. Students will learn the basics of common diseases and disorders and develop practical problem-solving skills for devising and implementing successful drug treatment regimens. Case studies integrated into each chapter illustrate key concepts and principles of therapeutics and give students practice in developing their own evidence-based therapeutic plans.
Pharmacotherapy: a Pathophysiologic Approach, Eleventh Edition by
The classic guide to driving optimal patient outcomes using evidence-based medication therapies--updated with the latest advances and guidelines A Doody's Core Title for 2020!ALL E-CHAPTERS (ONLINE ONLY CHAPTERS) NOW AVAILABLE FREE go to https://accesspharmacy.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookID=2577 Presented in full color, Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach, 11th Edition helps you deliver the highest-quality patient care through evidence-based medication therapy derived from sound pharmacotherapeutic principles. It takes you beyond drug indications and dosages, showing how to properly select, administer, and monitor drugs--everything you need to provide safe, effective drug therapy across all therapeutic categories. With all-new monitoring tables and authoritative content from 300 expert contributors, this new edition has been fully updated to reflect the latest evidence-based information and recommendations. You'll find Key Concepts at the beginning of each chapter, Clinical Presentation tables that summarize disease signs and symptoms, and Clinical Controversies boxes that examine the complicated issues faced by students and clinicians in providing drug therapy. Why Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach is perfect for students, pharmacists, and other healthcare providers: * All chapters provide the most current, reliable, and relevant information available. * Key concepts kick off every chapter. * Clinical Presentation Tables summarize disease signs and symptoms. * The majority of sections include personalized pharmacotherapy content. * Clinical Controversies Boxes clarify the most complex drug therapy issues you'll face. * Diagnostic flow diagrams, treatment algorithms, dosing recommendations, and monitoring approaches have been updated in full color to distinguish treatment pathways. * Most disease-oriented chapters are enhanced by updated evidence-based treatment guidelines, which often include ratings of the level of evidence to support key therapeutic approaches. * Instructors who adopt this text are eligible for a PowerPoint presentation of all images and answers to Self-Assessment Questions! The most trusted guide of its kind for decades, Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach is the go-to text for students and practitioners seeking clear, objective coverage of core pathophysiologic and therapeutic elements.
Pharmacy Practice and the Law by
The Ninth Edition of the best-selling text, Pharmacy Practice and the Law goes beyond preparation for the board exam, helping students understand and critically analyze the law that governs both the profession and the products they distribute. The Ninth Edition continues to include the most up to date federal, legal, regulatory, policy developments, as well as new developments to various medical/pharmaceutical programs. Challenging, open-ended discussion questions and edited cases are included in every chapter to facilitate discussion and critical thinking. Critical issues are discussed in non-legal, easy-to-understand language. Pharmacy Practice and the Law, Ninth Edition is the most comprehensive and engaging resource for teaching the facts of federal pharmacy law and for encouraging critical thinking and analysis on the issues.
Drugs During Pregnancy and Lactation by
Drugs During Pregnancy and Lactation, 3rd Edition is a quick and reliable reference for all those working in disciplines related to fertility, pregnancy, lactation, child health and human genetics who prescribe or deliver medicinal products, and to those who evaluate health and safety risks. Each chapter contains twofold information regarding drugs that are appropriate for prescription during pregnancy and an assessment of the risk of a drug when exposure during pregnancy has already occurred. Thoroughly updated with current regulations, references to the latest pharmacological data, and new medicinal products, this edition is a comprehensive resource covering latest knowledge and findings related to drugs during lactation and pregnancy.
Casarett & Doull's Essentials of Toxicology, Fourth Edition by
The definitive toxicology text for students and early-career professionals--updated and revised to address new research and methods For more than 45 years, Casarett and Doull's Toxicology has set the standard for providing thorough, academic, and authoritative information in clear and engaging ways. Focusing only on what you need to know and written on a level you can easily understand, it provides a concise yet comprehensive look at the science and clinical field of medical toxicology. This new edition builds on the wide success of previous editions, with extensive updates that make the book more clinically relevant to students and beginners in toxicology, pharmacology, pharmacy, and environmental sciences. Chapter-ending self-assessment Q&As and other features make the learning process more effective and efficient.
Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies, Eleventh Edition by
The best edition yet of the landmark text in medical toxicology A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Covering every aspect of poison management, this indispensable case-based resource has been thoroughly refreshed to deliver evidence-based principles viewed through the lens of an active bedside clinical practice. In no other reference will you find such a diverse roster of esteemed editors and authors who deliver expert insights into every type of toxicologic emergency, whether due to substance abuse or exposure to toxins. Fully referenced and supported by a cohesive organization and full-color format, Goldfrank's begins with a historical perspective on medical toxicology principles and the general approach to the patient. It then progresses to the fundamental principles of medical toxicology, encompassing biochemical and molecular concepts; the effect of xenobiotics on vital organs and body systems; and toxicologic principles in special populations. The Eleventh Edition of Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies is the most rigorous volume to date, driven by a precise analysis of the latest medical literature and complex cases designed to facilitate differential diagnosis. New to this Edition: * Additional cases and "Special Considerations" chapters designed to enhance clinical decision-making and patient outcomes * New "Antidotes in Depth" provides timely, critical information on toxicologic treatment strategies * New content on toxicogenomics explores its increasingly important role in predictive toxicology * Chapter-ending bulleted summaries of key points * Updated coverage of synthetics such as "K2" * Revised chapters on medical, clinical, and chemical toxicology include updated insights on poison emergencies, treatment strategies, and risk assessment tools
Study Guide for Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies, 11th Edition by
The hands-on study companion for the most respected, rigorous medical toxicology text available Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies has long been the go-to guide for accurately diagnosing and effectively treating poisoned and overdosed patients. Now, this practical companion provides everything you need to get even more out of Goldfrank's. Study Guide for Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies provides 1,400 questions with answers for testing your knowledge―a process that increases information retention and serves as invaluable practice for board exams. Each chapter has its own question set using both general factual and case-based questions. The guide is ideal for students, nurses, pharmacists, and physicians. Study Guide for Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies covers: General approaches to the poisoned patient Principles of medical toxicology Clinical basis of medical toxicology Poison prevention and education Research principles Legal and forensic considerations
This link opens in a new window
