Assessment in Health Professions Education by
Purchased in October 2019.
Access restored as of 2/18/2020.
Assessment in Health Professions Education, second edition, provides a comprehensive guide for educators in the health professions--medicine, dentistry, nursing, pharmacy, and allied health fields. This second edition has been extensively revised and updated by leaders in the field. Part I of the book presents an introduction to assessment fundamentals and their theoretical underpinnings from the perspective of the health professions. Part II covers specific assessment methods, with a focus on validity, best practices, challenges, and practical guidelines for the effective implementation of successful assessment programs. Part III addresses special topics and recent innovative approaches, including narrative assessment, situational judgment tests, programmatic assessment, mastery learning settings, and the key features approach. This accessible text addresses the essential concepts for the health professions educator and provides the background needed to understand, interpret, develop, and effectively implement assessment methods.
Communication Skills for the Health Care Professional by
Communication Skills for the Health Care Professional addresses the connection between communication practices and quality patient care outcomes. It provides future and practicing patient caregivers in all specialties and services with basic communication knowledge and skills and is an invaluable resource for those in administrative functions as well.The Third Edition is a thorough revision that features many new chapters while also combining other chapters for a text that can be used in a single semester course.
Difficult Conversations : How to Discuss What Matters Most by
The 10th-anniversary edition of the New York Times business bestseller-now updated with "Answers to Ten Questions People Ask" We attempt or avoid difficult conversations every day-whether dealing with an underperforming employee, disagreeing with a spouse, or negotiating with a client. From the Harvard Negotiation Project, the organization that brought you Getting to Yes, Difficult Conversations provides a step-by-step approach to having those tough conversations with less stress and more success. you'll learn how to: · Decipher the underlying structure of every difficult conversation · Start a conversation without defensiveness · Listen for the meaning of what is not said · Stay balanced in the face of attacks and accusations · Move from emotion to productive problem solving
Effective Communication in Multicultural Health Care Settings by
This book provides insights into the complexities of multicultural relations in health care and demystifies the many cultural influences on health and health care to achieve its ultimate goal - to help people get the most they can out of health care and facilitate the promotion of public health.
Talking with Patients and Families about Medical Error by
More than a million patient safety incidents occur every year, and medical error is the third leading cause of death in the United States. Illuminating the experiences of those affected by medical error--patients, their loved ones, and physicians and other medical professionals--Talking with Patients and Families about Medical Error delves deeply into the challenges of communicating honestly and openly about mistakes in medical practice. cc Based on guidelines from the Institute for Professional and Ethical Practice and the authors' own experiences, the practice-based approaches outlined here offer concrete guidance on * initiating discussions * dealing professionally and compassionately with patients' reactions * who should be included in the conversation * what information should be documented in the medical record * how to respond to questions about financial compensation Aimed at promoting resolution and healing, this book stresses the importance of clear, empathetic communication that will improve clinical and organizational responses to medical missteps and mismanagement. It emphasizes five features of the physician-patient relationship deserving of special attention: transparency, respect, accountability, continuity, and kindness (TRACK). Narrative examples of common situations demonstrate how conversations about medical error can lead to healing.
Thanks for the Feedback : The Science and Art of Receiving Feedback Well by
The coauthors of the New York Times-bestselling Difficult Conversations take on the toughest topic of all: how we see ourselves Douglas Stone and Sheila Heen have spent the past fifteen years working with corporations, nonprofits, governments, and families to determine what helps us learn and what gets in our way. In Thanks for the Feedback, they explain why receiving feedback is so crucial yet so challenging, offering a simple framework and powerful tools to help us take on life's blizzard of offhand comments, annual evaluations, and unsolicited input with curiosity and grace. They blend the latest insights from neuroscience and psychology with practical, hard-headed advice. Thanks for the Feedback is destined to become a classic in the fields of leadership, organizational behavior, and education.
The Adult Learner : The Definitive Classic in Adult Education and Human Resource Development by
How do you tailor education to the learning needs of adults? Do they learn differently from children? How does their life experience inform their learning processes? These were the questions at the heart of Malcolm Knowles's pioneering theory of andragogy which transformed education theory in the 1970s. The resulting principles of a self-directed, experiential, problem-centered approach to learning have been hugely influential and are still the basis of the learning practices we use today. Understanding these principles is the cornerstone of increasing motivation and enabling adult learners to achieve. This eighth edition has been thoughtfully updated in terms of structure, content, and style. On top of this, online material and added chapter-level reflection questions make this classic text more accessible than ever. The new edition includes: Two new chapters: Neuroscience and Andragogy, and Information Technology and Learning. Updates throughout the book to reflect the very latest advancements in the field. A companion website with instructor aids for each chapter. If you are a researcher, practitioner or student in education, an adult learning practitioner, training manager, or involved in human resource development, this is the definitive book in adult learning that you should not be without.
Curriculum Development for Medical Education by
Based on a proven six-step model and including examples and questions to guide application of those timeless principles, Curriculum Development for Medical Education is a practical guidebook for all faculty members and administrators responsible for the educational experiences of medical students, residents, fellows, and clinical practitioners. Incorporating revisions driven by calls for reform and innovations in medical education that challenge established teaching models, the third edition includes an awareness of new accreditation standards and regulatory guidelines. The authors have expanded their discussion of survey methodology for needs assessment and stress the importance of writing competency-based goals and objectives that incorporate milestones, entrustable professional activities, and observable practice activities. With updated examples focusing on interprofessional education, collaborative practice, and educational technology, they describe educational strategies that incorporate the new science of learning. A completely new chapter presents the unique challenges of curriculum development for large, long, and integrated curricula.
Experience and Education by
Experience and Education is the best concise statement on education ever published by John Dewey, the man acknowledged to be the pre-eminent educational theorist of the twentieth century. Written more than two decades after Democracy and Education (Dewey's most comprehensive statement of his position in educational philosophy), this book demonstrates how Dewey reformulated his ideas as a result of his intervening experience with the progressive schools and in the light of the criticisms his theories had received. Analyzing both "traditional" and "progressive" education, Dr. Dewey here insists that neither the old nor the new education is adequate and that each is miseducative because neither of them applies the principles of a carefully developed philosophy of experience. Many pages of this volume illustrate Dr. Dewey's ideas for a philosophy of experience and its relation to education. He particularly urges that all teachers and educators looking for a new movement in education should think in terms of the deeped and larger issues of education rather than in terms of some divisive "ism" about education, even such an "ism" as "progressivism." His philosophy, here expressed in its most essential, most readable form, predicates an American educational system that respects all sources of experience, on that offers a true learning situation that is both historical and social, both orderly and dynamic.
Healthcare Simulation Education : Evidence, Theory and Practice by
Written by a leading team from the Australian Society for Simulation in Healthcare (ASSH), Simulation Australasia, Healthcare Simulation Education is a new resource for a rapidly expanding professional healthcare simulation community. Designed as a core reference for educators who use simulation as an educational method, it outlines theory, evidence and research relevant to healthcare simulation. Containing examples of innovations from around the world, the book offers opportunities to make clear connections between the underlying rationale for the use of simulation, and what this looks like in practice. Healthcare Simulation Education: Helps readers gain a systematic understanding of theory and application of simulation Facilitates access to high quality resources to support healthcare simulation education and research Edited by a leading team from the Australian Society for Simulation in Healthcare (ASSH), the leading body for healthcare simulation in Australia Contains information on educational theory, the elements of simulation practice and contemporary issues in simulation An important text in healthcare literature and practice, Healthcare Simulation Education provides a unique cross-disciplinary overview of an innovative subject area, and is ideal for medical, nursing and allied health educators, policy makers and researchers.
The Reflective Practitioner : How Professionals Think in Action by
A leading M.I.T. social scientist and consultant examines five professions - engineering, architecture, management, psychotherapy, and town planning - to show how professionals really go about solving problems. The best professionals, Donald Schön maintains, know more than they can put into words. To meet the challenges of their work, they rely less on formulas learned in graduate school than on the kind of improvisation learned in practice. This unarticulated, largely unexamined process is the subject of Schön's provocatively original book, an effort to show precisely how 'reflection-in-action' works and how this vital creativity might be fostered in future professionals.
Team-Based Learning for Health Professions Education : A Guide to Using Small Groups for Improving Learning by
Education in the health professions is placing greater emphasis on "active" learning-learning that requires applying knowledge to authentic problems; and that teaches students to engage in the kind of collaboration that is expected in today's clinical practice. Team-Based Learning (TBL) is a strategy that accomplishes these goals. It transforms passive, lecture-based coursework into an environment that promotes more self-directed learning and teamwork, and makes the classroom come "alive." This book is an introduction to TBL for health profession educators. It outlines the theory, structure, and process of TBL, explains how TBL promotes problem solving and critical thinking skills, aligns with the goals of science and health courses, improves knowledge retention and application, and develops students as professional practitioners. The book provides readers with models and guidance on everything they need to know about team formation and maintenance; peer feedback and evaluation processes, and facilitation; and includes a directory of tools and resources. The book includes chapters in which instructors describe how they apply TBL in their courses. The examples range across undergraduate science courses, basic and clinical sciences courses in medical, sports medicine and nursing education, residencies, and graduate nursing programs. The book concludes with a review and critique of the current scholarship on TBL in the health professions, and charts the needs for future research.
Understanding Medical Education : Evidence, Theory, and Practice by
Created in partnership with the Association for the Study of Medical Education (ASME), this completely revised and updated new edition of Understanding Medical Education synthesizes the latest knowledge, evidence and best practice across the continuum of medical education. Written and edited by an international team, this latest edition continues to cover a wide range of subject matter within five broad areas - Foundations, Teaching and Learning, Assessment and Selection, Research and Evaluation, and Faculty and Learners - as well as featuring a wealth of new material, including new chapters on the science of learning, knowledge synthesis, and learner support and well-being. The third edition of Understanding Medical Education: Provides a comprehensive and authoritative resource summarizing the theoretical and academic bases to modern medical education practice Meets the needs of all newcomers to medical education whether undergraduate or postgraduate, including those studying at certificate, diploma or masters level Offers a global perspective on medical education from leading experts from across the world Providing practical guidance and exploring medical education in all its diversity, Understanding Medical Education continues to be an essential resource for both established educators and all those new to the field.
Crossing the Quality Chasm : A New Health System for the 21st Century by
"Second in a series of publications from the Institute of Medicine's Quality of Health Care in America project" Today's health care providers have more research findings and more technology available to them than ever before. Yet recent reports have raised serious doubts about the quality of health care in America. Crossing the Quality Chasm makes an urgent call for fundamental change to close the quality gap. This book recommends a sweeping redesign of the American health care system and provides overarching principles for specific direction for policymakers, health care leaders, clinicians, regulators, purchasers, and others. In this comprehensive volume the committee offers: A set of performance expectations for the 21st century health care system. A set of 10 new rules to guide patient-clinician relationships. A suggested organizing framework to better align the incentives inherent in payment and accountability with improvements in quality. Key steps to promote evidence-based practice and strengthen clinical information systems. Analyzing health care organizations as complex systems, Crossing the Quality Chasm also documents the causes of the quality gap, identifies current practices that impede quality care, and explores how systems approaches can be used to implement change.
Patient Safety : A Human Factors Approach by
Increased concern for patient safety has put the issue at the top of the agenda of practitioners, hospitals, and even governments. The risks to patients are many and diverse, and the complexity of the healthcare system that delivers them is huge. Yet the discourse is often oversimplified and underdeveloped. Written from a scientific, human factors perspective, Patient Safety: A Human Factors Approach delineates a method that can enlighten and clarify this discourse as well as put us on a better path to correcting the issues. People often think, understandably, that safety lies mainly in the hands through which care ultimately flows to the patient--those who are closest to the patient, whose decisions can mean the difference between life and death, between health and morbidity. The human factors approach refuses to lay the responsibility for safety and risk solely at the feet of people at the sharp end. That is where we should intervene to make things safer, to tighten practice, to focus attention, to remind people to be careful, to impose rules and guidelines. The book defines an approach that looks relentlessly for sources of safety and risk everywhere in the system--the designs of devices; the teamwork and coordination between different practitioners; their communication across hierarchical and gender boundaries; the cognitive processes of individuals; the organization that surrounds, constrains, and empowers them; the economic and human resources offered; the technology available; the political landscape; and even the culture of the place. The breadth of the human factors approach is itself testimony to the realization that there are no easy answers or silver bullets for resolving the issues in patient safety. A user-friendly introduction to the approach, this book takes the complexity of health care seriously and doesn't over simplify the problem. It demonstrates what the approach does do, that is offer the substance and guidance to consider the issues in all their nuance and complexity.
Patient Safety and Quality : An Evidence-Based Handbook for Nurses by
Throughout these pages, you will find peer-reviewed discussions and reviews of a wide range of issues and literature regarding patient safety and quality health care. Owing to the complex nature of health care, this book provides some insight into the multiple factors that determine the quality and safety of health care as well as patient, nurse, and systems outcomes. Each of these 51 chapters and 3 leadership vignettes presents an examination of the state of the science behind quality and safety concepts and challenges the reader to not only use evidence to change practices but also to actively engage in developing the evidence base to address critical knowledge gaps. Patient safety and quality care are at the core of health care systems and processes and are inherently dependent upon nurses. To achieve goals in patient safety and quality, and thereby improve health care throughout this nation, nurses must assume the leadership role.
Safe Patients, Smart Hospitals : How One Doctor's Checklist Can Help Us Change Health Care From the Inside Out by
"The tough-minded and revealing story of a leading doctor's crusade against medical harm...Fascinating reading." -Atul Gawande, author of The Checklist Manifesto. First, do no harm. Doctors, nurses, and clinicians swear by this code of conduct. Yet, medical errors are made every single day-avoidable mistakes that often cost lives. Inspired by two such mistakes, Dr. Peter Pronovost made it his personal mission to improve patient safety and make preventable deaths a thing of the past, one hospital at a time. Safe Patients, Smart Hospitals shows how Dr. Pronovost started a revolution by creating a simple checklist that standardized a common ICU procedure. His reforms are being implemented in all fifty states and have saved hundreds of lives by cutting hospital-acquired infection rates by 70%. Atul Gawande profiled Dr. Pronovost's reforms in a New Yorker article and his bestselling book The Checklist Manifesto is based upon Dr. Pronovost's success in patient safety. But Safe Patients, Smart Hospitals is the real story: an inspiring, thought-provoking, accessible insider's narrative about how doctors and nurses are improving patient care for all Americans, today.
Safety at the Sharp End : A Guide to Non-Technical Skills by
Many 21st century operations are characterised by teams of workers dealing with significant risks and complex technology, in competitive, commercially-driven environments. Informed managers in such sectors have realised the necessity of understanding the human dimension to their operations if they hope to improve production and safety performance. While organisational safety culture is a key determinant of workplace safety, it is also essential to focus on the non-technical skills of the system operators based at the 'sharp end' of the organisation. These skills are the cognitive and social skills required for efficient and safe operations, often termed Crew Resource Management (CRM) skills. In industries such as civil aviation, it has long been appreciated that the majority of accidents could have been prevented if better non-technical skills had been demonstrated by personnel operating and maintaining the system. As a result, the aviation industry has pioneered the development of CRM training. Many other organisations are now introducing non-technical skills training, most notably within the healthcare sector. Safety at the Sharp End is a general guide to the theory and practice of non-technical skills for safety. It covers the identification, training and evaluation of non-technical skills and has been written for use by individuals who are studying or training these skills on CRM and other safety or human factors courses. The material is also suitable for undergraduate and post-experience students studying human factors or industrial safety programmes.
Teaming : How Organizations Learn, Innovate, and Compete in the Knowledge Economy by
New breakthrough thinking in organizational learning, leadership, and change Continuous improvement, understanding complex systems, and promoting innovation are all part of the landscape of learning challenges today's companies face. Amy Edmondson shows that organizations thrive, or fail to thrive, based on how well the small groups within those organizations work. In most organizations, the work that produces value for customers is carried out by teams, and increasingly, by flexible team-like entities. The pace of change and the fluidity of most work structures means that it's not really about creating effective teams anymore, but instead about leading effective teaming. Teaming shows that organizations learn when the flexible, fluid collaborations they encompass are able to learn. The problem is teams, and other dynamic groups, don't learn naturally. Edmondson outlines the factors that prevent them from doing so, such as interpersonal fear, irrational beliefs about failure, groupthink, problematic power dynamics, and information hoarding. With Teaming, leaders can shape these factors by encouraging reflection, creating psychological safety, and overcoming defensive interpersonal dynamics that inhibit the sharing of ideas. Further, they can use practical management strategies to help organizations realize the benefits inherent in both success and failure. Presents a clear explanation of practical management concepts for increasing learning capability for business results Introduces a framework that clarifies how learning processes must be altered for different kinds of work Explains how Collaborative Learning works, and gives tips for how to do it well Includes case-study research on Intermountain healthcare, Prudential, GM, Toyota, IDEO, the IRS, and both Cincinnati and Minneapolis Children's Hospitals, among others Based on years of research, this book shows how leaders can make organizational learning happen by building teams that learn.
To Err Is Human : Building a Safer Health System by
Experts estimate that as many as 98,000 people die in any given year from medical errors that occur in hospitals. That's more than die from motor vehicle accidents, breast cancer, or AIDS--three causes that receive far more public attention. Indeed, more people die annually from medication errors than from workplace injuries. Add the financial cost to the human tragedy, and medical error easily rises to the top ranks of urgent, widespread public problems. To Err Is Human breaks the silence that has surrounded medical errors and their consequence--but not by pointing fingers at caring health care professionals who make honest mistakes. After all, to err is human. Instead, this book sets forth a national agenda--with state and local implications--for reducing medical errors and improving patient safety through the design of a safer health system. This volume reveals the often startling statistics of medical error and the disparity between the incidence of error and public perception of it, given many patients' expectations that the medical profession always performs perfectly. A careful examination is made of how the surrounding forces of legislation, regulation, and market activity influence the quality of care provided by health care organizations and then looks at their handling of medical mistakes. Using a detailed case study, the book reviews the current understanding of why these mistakes happen. A key theme is that legitimate liability concerns discourage reporting of errors--which begs the question, "How can we learn from our mistakes?" Balancing regulatory versus market-based initiatives and public versus private efforts, the Institute of Medicine presents wide-ranging recommendations for improving patient safety, in the areas of leadership, improved data collection and analysis, and development of effective systems at the level of direct patient care. To Err Is Human asserts that the problem is not bad people in health care--it is that good people are working in bad systems that need to be made safer. Comprehensive and straightforward, this book offers a clear prescription for raising the level of patient safety in American health care. It also explains how patients themselves can influence the quality of care that they receive once they check into the hospital. This book will be vitally important to federal, state, and local health policy makers and regulators, health professional licensing officials, hospital administrators, medical educators and students, health caregivers, health journalists, patient advocates--as well as patients themselves. First in a series of publications from the Quality of Health Care in America, a project initiated by the Institute of Medicine
Understanding Patient Safety by
Now revised and updated--the landmark patient safety primer written by the world's leading authorities Medical errors are the unfortunate byproduct of an increasingly complex healthcare system. Now more than ever, keeping patients safe takes well-trained caregivers, relevant insights from a range of industries, additional investment--and a groundbreaking text like Understanding Patient Safety. Understanding Patient Safety is "must read" for those seeking to master the clinical, organizational, and systems issues of patient safety. In this bestselling primer, patient safety pioneer Robert Wachter and Kiran Gupta put all the essential tools and principles at your fingertips. Engaging and accessible, the book is filled with high-yield cases, analyses, tables, graphics, along with key points and references--all designed to help you optimize quality and safety. Understanding Patient Safety begins with an introduction to patient safety and medical errors. Its second section surveys specific types of medical errors, including those related to surgery, medications, diagnosis, transition and handoff, and infections. The third section covers proven solutions, from establishing reporting systems, to creating a culture of safety. The third edition reflects pivotal new developments in the field, including major updates in diagnostic errors, information technology and patient safety, ambulatory safety, and clinician burnout. Features: * Coverage of human factors and errors at the person-machine interface * Review of workplace issues, including supporting caregivers after major errors * How to organize an effective safety program * Coordination of patient education and training * Overview of the malpractice system * Discussion of the patient's role
Clinical Simulation by
Simulation facilities are invaluable for training in medicine and clinical education, biomedical engineering and life sciences. They allow the practice of prevention, containment, treatment, and procedure in a risk-free setting. This book is a practical guide and reference to the latest technology, operations and opportunities presented by clinical simulation. It shows how to develop and make efficient use of resources, and provides hands-on information to those tasked with setting up and delivering simulation facilities for medical, clinical and related purposes, and the development and delivery of simulation-based education programs A step-by-step manual to developing successful simulation programs Shows how to design, construct, outfit and run simulation facilities for clinical education and research. The Residency Review Committee of the US Accreditation Council on Graduate Medical Education has begun requiring residency programs to have simulation as an integral part of their training programs.
Comprehensive Healthcare Simulation: Obstetrics and Gynecology by
This practical volume presents an overview for the use of simulation in obstetrics and gynecology. Chapters provide an introduction to simulation for OBGYN, simulation modalities and technologies, minimally invasive surgery, invasive obstetric procedures, simulation for global health, and the future of simulation for obstetrics and gynecology. Written and edited by leaders in the field, Comprehensive Healthcare Simulation: Obstetrics and Gynecology offers a variety of learners, including medical students, residents, practicing pediatricians, and health-related professionals, a comprehensive and easy-to-read guide on the use of simulation. This book is part of the Comprehensive Healthcare Simulation Series which provides focused volumes on the use of simulation in a single specialty or on a specific simulation topic and emphasizes practical considerations and guidance.
Comprehensive Healthcare Simulation: Operations, Technology, and Innovative Practice by
This practical guide provides a focus on the implementation of healthcare simulation operations, as well as the type of professional staff required for developing effective programs in this field. Though there is no single avenue in which a person pursues the career of a healthcare simulation technology specialist (HSTS), this book outlines the extensive knowledge and variety of skills one must cultivate to be effective in this role. This book begins with an introduction to healthcare simulation, including personnel, curriculum, and physical space. Subsequent chapters address eight knowledge/skill domains core to the essential aspects of an HSTS. To conclude, best practices and innovations are provided, and the benefits of developing a collaborative relationship with industry stakeholders are discussed. Expertly written text throughout the book is supplemented with dozens of high-quality color illustrations, photographs, and tables. Written and edited by leaders in the field, Comprehensive Healthcare Simulation: Operations, Technology, and Innovative Practice is optimized for a variety of learners, including healthcare educators, simulation directors, as well as those looking to pursue a career in simulation operations as healthcare simulation technology specialists.
Comprehensive Healthcare Simulation: Pediatrics by
This is a practical guide to the use of simulation in pediatric training and evaluation, including all subspecialty areas. It covers scenario building, debriefing and feedback, and it discusses the use of simulation for different purposes: education, crisis resource management and interdisciplinary team training, competency assessment, patient safety and systems integration. Readers are introduced to the different simulation modalities and technologies and guided on the use of simulation with a variety of learners, including medical students, residents, practicing pediatricians, and health-related professionals. Separate chapters on each pediatric subspecialty provide practical advice and strategies to allow readers to integrate simulation into existing curriculum. Pediatric subspecialties covered include: General Pediatrics, Pediatric Emergency Medicine and Trauma, Neonatology, Pediatric Critical Care Medicine, Transport Medicine, Pediatric Anesthesia, and Pediatric Surgery amongst many others. Comprehensive Healthcare Simulation PEDIATRICS Edition is a volume in the series, Comprehensive Healthcare Simulation. The series is designed to complement Levine et al., eds., The Comprehensive Textbook of Healthcare Simulation by providing short, focused volumes on the use of simulation in a single specialty or on a specific simulation topic, and emphasizing practical considerations and guidance.
Comprehensive Healthcare Simulation: Surgery and Surgical Subspecialties by
This pragmatic book is a guide for the use of simulation in surgery and surgical subspecialties, including general surgery, urology, gynecology, cardiothoracic and vascular surgery, orthopedics, ophthalmology, and otolaryngology. It offers evidence-based recommendations for the application of simulation in surgery and addresses procedural skills training, clinical decision-making and team training, and discusses the future of surgical simulation. Readers are introduced to the different simulation modalities and technologies used in surgery with a variety of learners including students, residents, practicing surgeons, and other health-related professionals.
Comprehensive Textbook of Healthcare Simulation by
The Comprehensive Textbook of Healthcare Simulation is a cohesive, single-source reference on all aspects of simulation in medical education and evaluation. It covers the use of simulation in training in each specialty and is aimed at healthcare educators and administrators who are developing their own simulation centers or programs and professional organizations looking to incorporate the technology into their credentialing process. For those already involved in simulation, the book will serve as a state-of-the-art reference that helps them increase their knowledge base, expand their simulation program's capabilities, and attract new, additional target learners. Features: * Written and edited by pioneers and experts in healthcare simulation * Personal memoirs from simulation pioneers * Each medical specialty covered * Guidance on teaching in the simulated environment * Up-to-date information on current techniques and technologies * Tips from "insiders" on funding, development, accreditation, and marketing of simulation centers * Floor plans of simulation centers from across the United States * Comprehensive glossary of terminology
Defining Excellence in Simulation Programs by
Defining Excellence in Simulation Programs is an official publication of the Society for Simulation in Healthcare (SSH), created to support the Society's mission to encourage excellence in healthcare education, practice and research through the use of simulation. With nearly 140 expert clinicians and educators contributing, this authoritative guide offers clear-cut definitions, recommendations and best practices for all types of simulation training programs. This is a must-read for healthcare managers, educators and researchers looking to create or manage successful, cost-effective, researched-based simulation programs. A wide range of topics -- essential to the development and management of successful and cost-effective simulation programs - include: Simulation Standards - best practices and program development; Types of Simulation Programs - infrastructure, framework; Simulators - types, selection and usage; Funding - fundraising, income sources; Management - asset management, policies and procedures; Environmental Design - building a simulation center; technical infrastructure; and Educational Development; Faculty Development; Research, and more, including: * Well-referenced, reader-friendly content is continually available, practical and timely * Standards and recommendations based on actual programs around the world that have proven to be sustainable, cost-effective and successful * Editors and many authors central to SSH's role in learning and defining best practices for simulation and simulation program management * Interprofessional group of editors and authors offering diverse perspectives, from areas of nursing, medicine, allied health, numerous specialties, and non-clinical fields including organizational behavior, psychology, statistics, business, and engineering * Terms of Reference - Defines and standardizes simulation terms and concepts for users, learners and developers * Experts Corner - Commentary on particular areas of training, research and program development by simulation experts and founders * Consider This - Text boxes provide practical how-to sections on important related topics >
Developing Successful Health Care Education Simulation Centers by
Pam Jefferies and Jim Battin provide a very thoughtful, step by step approach to create a collaborative health care simulation consortium. It is inspiring to witness many stakeholders come together in Southeast Indiana to effectively educate and train people entering the healthcare profession (and current nurses, doctors, and allied health professionals) This book] isn't just about health care and simulation it offers a terrific road-map for any community, region, or industry focused on developing human potential as the means to economic prosperity and quality of life . -- John Burnett. Chief Executive Officer, Community Education Coalition of Columbus, Indiana. This book provides an important road map for health care professionals to develop collaborations effectively in simulation, regardless of discipline or domain. Readers can also use it to evaluate existing collaborations The] book will improve both developing programs and existing programs, so that educators and administrators can focus their attention on teaching and learning through simulation.. -- Bonnie Driggers, MS, MPA, RN. SimHealth Consultants, CEO and Senior Consultant Oregon Health & Science University, Faculty Emeritus. -- Michael Seropian, MD, FRCPC. Associate Professor, Oregon Health & Science University. Past Chair and Founder, Oregon Simulation Alliance President, Society for Simulation in Healthcare. Over two thirds of magnet hospitals in the United States use simulation in staff education programs, and many educators have introduced simulation into their nursing and healthcare curricula. This highly practical volume meets a growing need for guidelines on planning, organizing, and implementing a health care education simulation center, using the collaborative and cost effective consortium model. The book takes the reader step-by-step through the process of building a coalition of key stakeholders, gathering and analyzing data, assigning leadership roles within the consortium, developing a strategic plan, and implementing and sustaining it. Case studies in each chapter provide real-life insight from a successful existing consortium by examining how it operates and highlighting successes, mistakes, and lessons learned. Key Features: Demonstrates the financial benefits of expense-sharing; Co-written by a successful professional educator and a prominent business leader with consortia-building expertise; Provides step-by-step plans for building and maintaining momentum and sustainability; Includes useful tools for achieving and evaluating excellence; Written for nursing and healthcare administrators, managers, educational leaders, and regional community leaders
Game-Based Teaching and Simulation in Nursing and Healthcare by
Game-Based Teaching and Simulation in Nursing and Healthcare is a timely, exhaustive look at how emerging technologies are transforming clinical education. Anyone looking for firsthand, direct account of how game-based learning technologies are reshaping clinical practice needs this book.. Kurt Squire, PhD. Associate Professor. Games+Learning+Society GLS]. School of Education. University Of Wisconsin - Madison. This innovative text provides practical strategies for developing, integrating, and evaluating new and emerging technology, specifically game-based learning methods, useful in nursing and clinical health sciences education. The text draws upon existing models of experiential learning such as Benner's thinking-in-action and novice-to-expert frameworks, and introduces current theories supporting the phenomenon of the created learning environment. Chapters explain how simulation and game-based learning strategies can be designed, implemented, and evaluated to improve clinical educational thinking and outcomes and increase exposure to critical experiences to inform clinicians during the journey from novice to expert. The text describes how game-based learning methods can support the development of complex decision-making and critical thinking skills. Case studies throughout demonstrate the practical application of harnessing technology as a teaching/learning device. Key Features: .: Provides strategies for developing, integrating, and evaluating game-based learning methods for nursing and healthcare educators; Prepares teachers for the paradigm shift from static e-learning to dynamic distance experiential learning in virtual and game-based environments; Illustrates how to integrate game-based learning into existing curricula; Offers theoretical and practical examples of how game-based learning technologies can be used in nursing and clinical education
High-fidelity Patient Simulation in Nursing Education by
High Fidelity Patient Simulation in Nursing Education is a comprehensive guide to developing and implementing a high-fidelity patient simulation in a clinical setting. It is a necessary primer for administrators and nursing programs starting out with this technology. It includes examples for setting up a simulator program for nurses, developing and implementing this technology into particular clinical and laboratory courses, and setting up refresher courses in hospital settings. The text features appendices and case scenarios.
Mastering Simulation by
This book is a handbook for individuals working in or preparing to work in simulation and for academic and service organizations that are using simulation or are planning to use simulation. It provides the knowledge needed to become a simulation professional and information on how to best use that knowledge to effectively use simulation in their organizations. Evidence-based and pragmatic, this book raises awareness of the knowledge and expertise required to utilize simulation strategies.
Medical Moulage by
Make your simulations come alive with this cookbook for medical moulage
Simulation Scenarios for Nursing Educators : Making It Real by
When employed as a substitute for real clinical time, simulation scenarios have proven effective in bridging the gap between theory and practice. This acclaimed text for nursing faculty provides detailed, step-by-step guidance on all aspects of clinical simulation. Appropriate for all levels of nursing students, from pre-licensure to doctoral level, the book contains the authors' own advice and experiences working in simulation around the globe. For the third edition, 20 new scenarios have been added, for a total of 57. All scenarios have been updated to adhere to best-practice simulation standards for design, facilitator and participant criteria, interprofessional criteria, and debriefing processes. Scenarios are presented in a structured format that includes objectives, pre-scenario checklists, implementation plans, evaluation criteria, debriefing guidelines, and recommendations for further use. A template for creating scenarios spans the text and includes student preparation materials, forms to enhance the realness of the scenario, and checklists for practice assessment and evaluation. This comprehensive resource covers geriatric, pediatric, trauma, obstetric, and community-based patient scenarios. This revised edition includes scenarios easily adaptable to an instructor's own lab, an international perspective, and a section on graduate nursing education. New to the Third Edition: 20 brand new scenarios in anesthesia, midwifery, pediatric, disaster, and other specialty-focused situations, plus five new chaptersUpdated to encompass new simulation pedagogy including best-practice standardsNew scenarios easily adapted to an instructor's own labInterprofessional and international scenarios focused on areas of global concern: obstetric hemorrhage, neonatal hypoglycemia, and deteriorating patients Key Features: Includes information on how to integrate simulation into curriculaAddresses conceptual and theoretical foundations of simulation in nursing education, including an expanded chapter on the Framework for Simulation Learning in Nursing EducationIncludes a wide variety of practical scenarios in ready-to-use format with instructionsProvides a template for scenario developmentDelivers recommendations for integration of point-of-care decision-making toolsOffers opportunities for enhancing complexity and incorporating interprofessional competencies
Virtual Simulation in Nursing Education by
Learn best practices for successfully integrating virtual simulation into nursing curriculum Written for students in nurse educator programs, nursing faculty, and other health care educators, Virtual Simulation in Nursing Education unpacks the necessary tools for successful integration of technology into nursing programs. The benefits of virtual simulation in nursing education are innumerable: less expensive, easier to access, and location independent compared with nondigital simulations. Yet the evolving nature of both curricula and technology complicates the implementation of a coherent integration plan. Success requires a coordinated impetus from faculty, administrators, and students to enrich a technologically enhanced learning landscape. With a practical, how-to focus, this book describes the unique dynamics and demands of using virtual simulation as a core teaching method and focuses on the best practices for integrating this technology into the nursing curriculum. The first text to detail systematic strategies for faculty, students, and administrators, Virtual Simulation in Nursing Education examines the most effective teaching methods and activities, discusses challenges and pitfalls to integrating virtual simulation into a curriculum, and examines how learning outcomes are met. With an eye toward motivating students to embrace technology throughout their careers, content illustrates how students can leverage technologies to maximize learning and support practice. Replete with savvy tips from virtual simulation experts, chapters include exemplars that present the models in real-life scenarios, and clinical reasoning questions to reinforce learning. Key Features: Accompanied by an Instructor's Manual and PowerPoint slidesTeaches students of nurse educator programs, nurse educators, and administrators how to successfully use virtual simulationProvides useful tools, best practices, and savvy strategies for integrating technology into the curriculumIncludes examples and clinical reasoning questions to reinforce contentDemonstrates how students can maximize learning and support practice with virtual simulation technologyProvides a firm foundation for students to embrace technology throughout their careers
Coaching Standardized Patients : For Use in the Assessment of Clinical Competence by
In today's medical education curriculum, it is necessary for students to learn the proper technique for taking medical histories, performing physical exams, and finding the appropriate way to educate and inform patients. The best way for a student to learn these skills is through hands-on training with a Standardized Patient (SP)--an actor who has been hired to portray a specific set of health problems and symptoms. Tips to Help You: .; Develop Coaching Skills and Be a Director to Your SPs.; Cast Standardized Patients.; Get the Best Performance from Your Actors.; Perfect Your SPs' Timing of Fact Delivery during Examinations.; Improve the SPs' Written Feedback to Students.; Streamline Training Regimens; Checklists Included. Working with SPs has become so important in medical education that it is now a component of the USMLE clinical skills assessment exam. To ensure best practice, the coaches who prepare SPs now need general guidelines. This handbook is intended as that guide and as a support for those who are involved in training SPs, to encourage each coach to develop a system that will deliver the best results and, in the end, help train the most competent doctors
Human Simulation for Nursing and Health Professions by
'This book could easily become the'go to'text for standardized patient utilization and the backbone for implementation strategies in learning programs...It is a must-have for all disciplines interested in adding the human simulation experience to their programs.'--Nursing Education Perspectives'Today there is an explosion in the use of simulation in nursing and health professions education. The contributors to this text are experts in this format of teaching. They are the designers of the learning spaces, the authors of simulation cases and evaluation methods, the experts who program the human patient simulators and who teach the patient actors to enact the clinical scenariosÖI consider this a'handbook'on the design, evaluation and practice of simulation for clinical education. If you are a faculty member with concerns about how your students will make the transition from student to professional, use simulation in your curriculum and learn for yourself that pretending is simulation for life but simulation is pretending for the delivery of exquisite clinical care.'Gloria F. Donnelly, PhD, RN, FAANDean and ProfessorDrexel UniversityCollege of Nursing and Health ProfessionsHuman simulation is changing the face of clinical education in the health professions. Its use has expanded beyond medical school to encompass nursing and mental health clinical education. This comprehensive guide to establishing and managing a human simulation lab has been written by nationally acclaimed simulation experts and is geared for undergraduate, graduate, and professional settings.The text takes the reader step-by-step through the process of planning, organizing, implementing, and maintaining a simulation lab. It describes the required technology, how to train standardized patients, how to implement a simulation, evaluation and analysis of the simulation experience, and how to develop a business plan. The guide details simulation in undergraduate and graduate nursing programs, physician's assistant programs, and mental health education, as well as the use of simulation with critically ill patients, and in perioperative, perianasthesia, women's health, and rehabilitation science settings. Key Features: Offers a blueprint for developing, implementing, and managing a human simulation lab Details use of simulation in numerous nursing and mental health settings along with case studiesProvides tools for evaluation and analysis of the simulation experiencePresents undergraduate and graduate nursing simulation scenarios and pedagogical strategiesDiscusses simulation training and required technologyIncludes templates for writing cases for BSN and MSN levels
Simulated Patient Methodology by
Simulated Patient Methodology is a timely book, aimed at health professional educators and Simulated Patient (SP) practitioners. It connects theory and evidence with practice to ensure maximum benefit for those involved in SP programmes, in order to inform practice and promote innovation. The book provides a unique, contemporary, global overview of SP practice, for all health sciences educators. Simulated Patient Methodology: * Provides a cross-disciplinary overview of the field * Considers practical issues such as recruiting and training simulated patients, and the financial planning of SP programmes * Features case studies, illustrating theory in practice, drawn from across health professions and countries, to ensure relevance to localised contexts Written by world leaders in the field, this invaluable resource summarises the theoretical and practical basis of all human-based simulation methodologies.
Understanding Teamwork in Health Care by
The experts agree: Understanding Teamwork in Health Care is a true must-read A Doody's Core Title for 2017! "This is a much-needed addition to the training curriculum of anyone involved in the healthcare industry." -- James Townsend, DHSc., MBA, MIS (A. T. Still University) and Doody's Review Service "Our health care can be magnificently effective, but, without constant coordination and cooperation, its technologies and specialization can be the front doors to confusing complexity and risky fragmentation. Better teamwork improves every aspect of the Institute for Healthcare Improvement's 'Triple Aim'--patients' experience of health care, the health of our populations,and the cost of providing care. In this book, Dr. Mosser and Professor Begun have given us a superb guide for better teamwork. Their account is based on sound evidence and compelling concepts, but it is also eminently practical. Nearly 100 stories of teamwork--mostly exemplary,sometimes cautionary--illustrate what it means for patients, physicians, nurses, pharmacists, and others to work together in effective harmony." -- Donald M. Berwick, MD, MPP, President Emeritus and Senior Fellow,Institute for Healthcare Improvement "Best health outcomes are often the result of an extremely competent, completely connected team of caregivers, working with an empowered patient who is the absolute central focus and sometimes the team quarterback. Drs. Mosser and Begun grasp the critical importance ofhealthcare team members working as equals despite titles or disciplines of practice. This is an engaging, enlightening, entertaining must-read for clinicians currently working in the field of health care, those considering the profession, people teaching potential caregivers, and anyone interested in the future of how we can deliver best health care at lowest cost throughcohesive teams." -- George C. Halvorson, Chairman and CEO, Kaiser Permanente "Dr. Mosser and Dr. Begun blend clinical vignettes and science in a highly readable book to help us understand the importance and diversity of health care teams. The authors' conceptual frameworks are intellectually compelling, and their vignettes capture those concepts in action. Members of every type of health care team will find this book to be a valuable resource. Read the first three chapters. You won't be able to resist the pleasure of reading the rest of the book." -- Linda Cronenwett, PhD, RN, FAAN, Professor and Dean Emeritus, School of Nursing, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill "The team-based models developing in progressive health care call for a comprehensive and insightful guidebook. Understanding Teamwork in Health Care meets this need. It provides pharmacists and other health care professionals with the foundational knowledge necessaryto be members of effective clinical teams." -- Joseph DiPiro, Pharm D, Professor and Executive Dean, South Carolina College of Pharmacy This important guide focuses on the core skills necessary to effectively implement teamwork in a complex hospital or primary care setting. The book's mission is to make often-overlooked perspectives about teamwork more widely known and used. No matter what your prior level of team involvement may be, this is the one resource that will help you adeptly participate in, lead, or manage teams. Unlike other texts that rely heavily on theory and healthcare policy, this indispensable reference offers a realistic, practical look at the challenges and many opportunities
Teaching Medical Professionalism by
Until recently professionalism was transmitted by respected role models, a method that depended heavily on the presence of a homogeneous society sharing values. This is no longer true, and medical schools and postgraduate training programs in the developed world are now actively teaching professionalism to students and trainees. In addition, licensing and certifying bodies are attempting to assess the professionalism of practising physicians on an ongoing basis. This is the only book available to provide guidance to those designing and implementing programs on teaching professionalism. It outlines the cognitive base of professionalism, provides a theoretical basis for teaching the subject, gives general principles for establishing programs at various levels (undergraduate, postgraduate, and continuing professional development), and documents the experience of institutions who are leaders in the field. Teaching aids that have been used successfully by contributors are included as an appendix.
Textbook of Interdisciplinary Pediatric Palliative Care by
The Textbook of Interdisciplinary Pediatric Palliative Care, by Dr. Joanne Wolfe, et al., aims to inform interdisciplinary teams about palliative care of children with life-threatening illness. It addresses critical domains such as language and communication, symptoms and quality of life, and the spectrum of life-threatening illnesses in great depth. This comprehensive product takes a first-of-its-kind team approach to the unique needs of critically ill children. It shows how a collaborative, interdisciplinary care strategy benefits patients and their families. If you deal with the complex care of critically ill children, this reference provides a uniquely integrated perspective on complete and effective Respect interdisciplinary perspectives, and provide the most comprehensive care. Use an integrated approach to address the physical, psychological, social, and spiritual needs of children and their families. Understand and heed your strengths and vulnerabilities in order to provide the best care for your patients. Recognize the necessity of linking hospital-based palliative care with community resources. Implement consistent terminology for use by the entire palliative care team. Access the full text online with regular updates and supplemental text and image resources. Reflects the collaborative approach necessary to provide optimal care for children and their families
AccessMedicine (ACM) is an online medical resource that provides students with the tools they need to excel in basic and advanced studies, clerkships, and crucial test prep. ACM provides residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with interactive content, self-assessment, and leading medical texts to enhance decision-making at the point-of-care. It and allows for practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure best patient outcomes. It includes a complete full-text library of clinical and basic science textbooks, including Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, The Color Atlas of Family Medicine, and many others.
AccessPharmacy from McGraw-Hill Medical is a database of text books and more, designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education and practice today. Updated regularly and optimized for viewing on any device, this comprehensive, content-rich online pharmacy resource allows users to explore leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, research drugs and supplements.
Gives pharmacy students instant access to videos, games, Q&A, and leading pharmacy textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning, and allows practicing pharmacists to get information instantly about drugs, herbs and supplements, and consult features and editorials concerning the vast array of current pharmacy publications.
A list of all e-books accessible by UTHSC faculty, staff and students.
15+ full text electronic books related to nursing.
Limit of 10 simultaneous users across multiple libraries in Tennessee.