Skip to main content

EndNote: Create separate bibliographies to chapters in a single document

Everything about using EndNote and EndNote Web.

Instructions

You are writing a manuscript that contains several chapters. You would like to display a reference list at the end of each chapter but not at the end of the manuscript. The latest EndNote version can help you accomplish this task. You just need to do two things:

From the EndNote Library: modify the style

  1. Go to Edit -->Output Styles --> Open Style Manager and choose the style you are using. For example, APA 6th
  2. Click Edit and then click Sections from the lefthand panel when the style window opens. This allows you to create multiple reference list for a single Word document
  3. Check “Create a bibliography for each section”
  4. Save the style as a modified version of  APA 6th , such as APA 6th Bibliography

On the Word document: insert section break to each chapter and apply the modified style

For Mac Users (Word 2011)

  1. Separate each chapter by going to Insert --> Section Break
  2. Go to Tools --> EndNote --> Configure Bibliography making sure the style is set to the one you just modified, such as APA 6th Bibliography
  3. Word document will automatically update the references and display them after each chapter.

For PC Users (Word 2010)

    1. Separate each chapter by going to Page Layout  --> Break -->Next Page under Section Breaks
    2. Click the EndNote tab on Word
    3. Click the arrow at the right corner of Bibliography 
    4. Configure Bibliography window opens making sure the style is set to the one you just modified, such as APA 6th Bibliography
    5. Word document will automatically update the references and display them after each chapter.