Skip to main content

Research & Learning Connection: Citation Management

This research guide provides information and services to advance the research success of UTHSC faculty, staff, and students.

Contact the Library

Phone: 901-448-5634
Toll-Free: 877-747-0004
Fax: 901-448-7235
Text: 901-730-6733
Email: library@uthsc.edu

 

Reference Management Tools

Effective research needs effective tools. Reference management tools/programs are crucial for research work. The primary purpose of each tool is to manage references and create citations and bibliographies within documents. 

The followings are some of the reference management programs/software:

EndNote:  It can be downloaded for free by UTHSC faculty, student, and staff with a valid NetID. EndNote has three platforms: Desktop (need to download), EndNote Basic (free Web version) (need to create an account), and iPad app. The library created an EndNote Guide  to show you how to use the program. You can also use the Research Support Services Request Form to request an one-on-one training session. 

Mendeley (Free): It has three platforms: Desktop (need to download), Web version (need to sign up for an account), and iPad app. Mendeley has created several  videos about it's features and how to use the program. 

Zotero (Free): It's a Firefox add-on that collects, manages, and cites research sources. 

Choosing a Reference Management Tool

A General Information Comparison about Selected Bibliographic Management Tools Accessible to UTHSC Users

(Updated May 2017)

  EndNote Desktop EndNote Basic Mendeley Zotero
Developer Thomson Reuters Thomson Reuters Mendeley George Mason University
Released 1988   2008 2004
Cost Free to UTHSC users Free / Open Source Free / Open Source Free / Open Source
Free Storage Unlimited 2G 2G (Web) 300MB (Web)
Platform

Desktop & App for iOS devices

Web & App Desktop, Web-based, & App for iOS devices Web-based, Standalone (Desktop), & Add-on to Firefox
OS Windows, Mac Windows, Mac Windows, MAC, Linux Windows, MAC, Linux, Unix
Tutorials EndNote tutorials EndNote tutorials Mendeley Tutorials Zotero tutorials
Website

UTK download site

http://endnote.com/

http://endnote.com/product-details/basic http://www.mendeley.com/ http://www.zotero.org/

Back to Top

A Comparison of Key Features of Bibliographic Management Tools Accessible to UTHSC Users

(Updated February 2016)

Key Features

EndNote

EndNote Online

Mendeley

Zotero

Organizing/Annotating/Highlighting PDFs

Mobile and iOS devices

Cross-platform synching (Web, Desktop, & mobile devices)

Automatically invoke Find Full Text (PDFs) attached to newly imported references

Full text searching across all your papers

Cite While You Write with Word

 

Need to install plug-in for Word

Need to install plug-in for Word to use web-based version

Need to install plug-in for Word

Creating private folders/groups

Creating public folders/groups (Sharing sources publicly)

Directly capturing online content

Via Web Importer Bookmarklet

Via Web Connector, a browser extension

Networking and finding collaborators

 

 

Writing with others

 

 

 

 

Readership statistics by categories

 

 

 

 

 

Back to Top

Reference Management Tools for Systematic Reviews

Literature reporting using reference management software for systematic reviews:

Bramer, W.M., Giustini, D., de Jonge, G.B., Holland, L., & Bekhuis, T. (2016). De-duplication of database search results for systematic reviews in EndNote. Journal of Medical Library Association, 104 (3), 240-243. doi: 10.3163/1536-5050.104.3.014. Erratum in: Journal of Medical Library Association. 2017 Jan;105(1):111.

Bramer, W.M., Milic, J., & Mast, F. (2017). Reviewing retrieved references for inclusion in systematic reviews using EndNote. Journal of Medical Library Association, 105(1), 84-87. doi:10.5195/jmla.2017.111. PubMed PMID: 28096751

Lorenzetti, D. R., & Ghali, W.A. (2013). Reference management software for systematic reviews and meta-analyses: An exploration of usage and usabilityBMC Medical Research Methodology, 13,141. PubMed ID: 24237877

King, R., Hooper, B., & Wood, W. (2011). Using bibliographic software to appraise and code data in educational systematic review researchMedical Teacher, 33(9), 719-723. PubMed ID: 21854149

 

Back to Top