The Big Picture: Gross Anatomy, Medical Course & Step 1 Review, Second Edition by
The acclaimed book students need to get the BIG PICTURE of Gross Anatomy in the context of healthcare - streamlined and enhanced by online video Gross Anatomy: The Big Picture, Second Edition is the perfect bridge between review and textbooks. With an emphasis on what students truly need to know versus "what's nice to know," it features 450 full-color illustrations that give them a complete, yet concise, overview of essential anatomy. The Second edition is distinguished by the addition of online videos ranging from 3-9 minutes long, and more concise, bulleted text. The book's user-friendly presentation consists of text on the left-hand page and beautiful full-color illustrations on the right-hand page. In this way, you get a "big picture" of anatomy principles, delivered one concept at a time -- making them easier to understand and retain. Striking the perfect balance between illustrations and text, Gross Anatomy: The Big Picture, Second Edition features: *High-yield review questions and answers at the end of each chapter *Numerous summary tables and figures that encapsulate important information *450 labeled and explained full-color illustrations *A final exam featuring 100 Q&As *Important clinically-relevant concepts called to your attention by convenient icons *Bullets and numbering that break complex concepts down to easy-to-remember points
Clinical Neuroanatomy, Twentyninth Edition by
A comprehensive, color-illustrated guide to neuroanatomy and its functional and clinical applications Engagingly written and extensively illustrated, Clinical Neuroanatomy, Twenty-Ninth Edition gets you up to speed on neuroanatomy, its functional underpinnings, and its relationship to the clinic. You'll learn everything you need to know about the structure and function of the brain, spinal cord, and peripheral nerves. This authoritative guide illustrates clinical presentations of disease processes involving specific structures, explores the relationship between neuroanatomy and neurology, and reviews advances in molecular and cellular biology and neuropharmacology as related to neuroanatomy. The book is packed with case studies and hundreds of visuals--including CT and MRI scans, block diagrams showing muscle actions, root-by-root and nerve-by-nerve images of sensory areas and muscle intervention, and more--to help you retain critical information. Essential for board review or as a clinical refresher, Clinical Neuroanatomy features: * More than 300 full-color illustrations * An introduction to clinical thinking that puts neuroanatomy in clear clinical perspective * A discussion of the latest advances in molecular biology and cellular biology in the context of neuroanatomy * Numerous CT and MRI scans * Block diagrams illustrating actions of each muscle (essential for the clinical motor examination) * Hundreds of diagrams and tables encapsulating important information * Summary listings at the end of each chapter * Clear and memorable root-by-root and nerve-by-nerve illustrations of sensory areas and muscle intervention * Coverage of the basic structure and function of the brain, spinal cord, and peripheral nerves as well as clinical presentations of disease processes involving specific structures * Appendices including The Neurologic Examination, Testing Muscle Function, Spinal Nerves and Plexuses, and Questions and Answers * Case studies demonstrating how concepts apply to real-world clinical situations * All the must-know concepts, facts, and structures, and more * A complete practice exam to assess your knowledge
The Central Nervous System by
The Central Nervous System: Structure and Function, Fourth Edition continues the tradition of one of the most respected textbooks in clinical neuroscience by providing medical students the knowledge and understanding of neuroscience as a basis for clinical thinking. While remaining concise andeasy to read, the text encourages reflection and critical thinking of established facts and scientific conjecture and will be of interest to medical, graduate, and undergraduate students alike.Prof Per Brodal provides clear descriptions of brain structures and relates them to their functional properties by incorporating data from molecular biology to clinical neurology. The numerous full color line drawings - based on the author's long experience of teaching undergraduate students and newto this edition - make it easier to understand complex structural and functional relationships.Thoroughly revised, this fourth edition goes further in integrating material from all fields of the neurosciences. Now divided into 8 Sections with a total of 34 Chapters, each chapter is introduced by a brief overview of what the student can expect to learn. New material has been incorporated inall chapters while maintaining the scope and coverage that has established The Central Nervous System: Structure and Function as the preeminent neuroscience textbook.
Histology by
Now in its revised, updated Sixth Edition, Histology: A Text and Atlas is ideal for medical, health professions, and undergraduate biology students. This best-selling combination text and atlas includes a detailed textbook description that emphasizes clinical and functional correlates of histology, fully supplemented by vividly informative illustrations and photographs. Separate, superbly illustrated atlas sections follow almost every chapter and feature large-size, full-color digital micrographs, with labels and legends that highlight details of microanatomy. For this edition, approximately 20 percent of the micrographs have been replaced with newly enhanced, sharper images. One third of the illustrations have been redrawn in a new style. A powerful online interactive atlas is included with the book and features all of the plates in the text with interactive functionality.
Histology and Cell Biology: Examination and Board Review, Sixth Edition by
Ace your histology courses and the USMLE with this go-to review guide―complete with critical concepts and fully updated practice questions. Now in 4 color! Histology and Cell Biology is designed and formatted in a way that helps you make the most of your time, whether you're studying this topic for the first time or reviewing for the USMLE. With this focused review you'll be able to pinpoint your weak areas, then improve your comprehension with learning aids designed to help you understand and retain even the most difficult material. This popular LANGE guide provides everything you need to know about the four basic tissues types, and organs and organ systems. This new edition features completely revised Q&As as well as a diagnostic final exam, updated with longer, case-related stems that mimic the USMLE Step 1 exam. Each chapter is devoted to a specific topic and includes learning aids such as: Objectives pointing out significant facts and concepts you must know about each topic Max-Yield(tm) study questions directing you to key facts needed to master material most covered on exams A synopsis presented in outline form reviewing all the basic histology and related cell biology covered on exams Multiple-choice questions written in the style most commonly used in medical school An accessible format and clear review--making this a great resource for students looking to better understand and piece together their professors' lectures!
Junqueira's Basic Histology: Text and Atlas, Fifteenth Edition by
For more than four decades, Junqueira's Basic Histology has built a global reputation as the most accessible, yet comprehensive overview of human tissue structure and function available. It delivers a well-organised and concise presentation of cell biology and histology integrated with biochemistry, immunology, endocrinology and physiology. Junqueira's is written specifically for students of medicine and other health-related professions, as well as for advanced undergraduate courses in tissue biology. Electron and light micrographs comprise a definitive atlas of cell, tissue and organ structures. NEW! * Each chapter now includes multiple-choice questions to assess comprehension of important material, with some questions utilising clinical vignettes or cases to provide real-world relevance *Summary of Key Points highlight what is important *Acclaimed art and figures facilitate learning and visualisation of key aspects of cell biology and histology *Clinical Correlations presented with each topic *In-depth coverage of all tissues, organ systems, bone and cartilage, blood and skin *Valuable appendix on light microscopy stains clearly explains this need-to-know staining technique
Langman's Medical Embryology by
Langman's Medical Embryology covers embryology for medical, nursing, and health professions students with a strong clinical emphasis. The text is highly valued as a teaching and learning resource for its clinical correlation boxes, summaries, problems to solve, illustrations and clinical images, and clear, concise writing style--all of which make the subject matter accessible to students and relevant to instructors. Online material includes Simbryo--an animation program showing processes, organs, and systems developing in human embryos--as well as review questions and full text online. A separate Faculty Image Bank and PowerPoint presentations are also available.
Medical Terminology Systems by
A word building and body systems approach! The original word-building text is better than ever with the addition of The Medical Language Lab, a new, interactive, online experience for mastering the language of medicine. The perfect length for any course, this full-color, illustrated text uses a body systems organization with an emphasis on word building. You'll begin by learning the parts of words--roots, combining forms, suffixes, and prefixes. Then, use your understanding of word parts to learn medical terminology. Mnemonic devices and engaging, interactive activities make word-building fun and easy, ensuring you retain the information you need for success. Online. Interactive. Progressive. The Medical Language Lab is the new, interactive, onlineprogram that ensures your students master the language of medicine.Based on proven language methodology, it guides your students step bystep from basic through advanced levels of proficiency to becomeconfident medical language speakers. A special code in the front of the book unlocks The MLL for you and yourstudents. Use it with your current learning management system or withits integrated grade book. Customize it to meet the needs of yourcourse. Want to learn more? Explore all the Medical Language Lab has to offer through this video series. Instructors - request preview access and explore Medical Language Lab using this step-by-step walkthrough.
Netter's Essential Histology by
With strong correlations between gross anatomy and the microanatomy of structures, Netter's Essential Histology, 3rd Edition, is the perfect text for today's evolving medical education. Concise and easy to use, it integrates gross anatomy and embryology with classic histology slides and state-of-the-art scanning electron microscopy, offering a clear, visual understanding of this complex subject. Additional histopathology images, more clinical boxes, and new histopathology content ensure that this textbook-atlas clearly presents the most indispensable histologic concepts and their clinical relevance. Helps you recognize both normal and diseased structures at the microscopic level with the aid of succinct explanatory text as well as numerous clinical boxes. Features more histopathology content and additional clinical boxes to increase your knowledge of pathophysiology and clinical relevance. Includes high-quality light and electron micrographs, including enhanced and colorized electron micrographs that show ultra-structures in 3D, side by side with classic Netter illustrations that link your knowledge of anatomy and cell biology to what is seen in the micrographs. Provides online access to author-narrated video overviews of each chapter, plus Zoomify images and Virtual Slides that include histopathology and can be viewed at different magnifications. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Weir and Abrahams' Imaging Atlas of Human Anatomy by
BMA Book Awards - Winner of Basic and Clinical Sciences category! The perfect up-to-date imaging guide for a complete and 3-dimensional understanding of applied human anatomy Imaging is ever more integral to anatomy education and throughout modern medicine. Building on the success of previous editions, this fully revised sixth edition provides a superb foundation for understanding applied human anatomy, offering a complete view of the structures and relationships within the whole body, using the very latest imaging techniques. All relevant imaging modalities are included, from plain radiographs to more advanced imaging of ultrasound, CT, MRI, functional imaging and angiography. Coverage is further enhanced by a carefully selected range of BONUS electronic content, including clinical photos and cases, ultrasound videos, labelled radiograph 'slidelines', cross-sectional imaging stacks and test-yourself materials. Uniquely, key syllabus image sets are now highlighted throughout to aid efficient study, as well as the most common, clinically important anatomical variants that you should be aware of. This superb package is ideally suited to the needs of medical students, as well as radiologists, radiographers and surgeons in training. It will also prove invaluable to the range of other students and professionals who require a clear, accurate, view of anatomy in current practice. Fully revised legends and labels and new high-quality images-featuring the latest imaging techniques and modalities as seen in clinical practice Covers the full variety of relevant modern imaging-including cross-sectional views in CT and MRI, angiography, ultrasound, fetal anatomy, plain film anatomy, nuclear medicine imaging and more - with better resolution to ensure the clearest anatomical views Core syllabus image sets now highlighted throughout-to help you focus on the most essential areas to excel on your course and in examinations Unique summaries of the most common, clinically important anatomical variants for each body region-reflects the fact that around 20% of human bodies have at least one clinically significant variant New orientation drawings-to help you understand the different views and the 3D anatomy of 2D images, as well as the conventions between cross-sectional modalities Ideal as a stand-alone resource or in conjunction with Abrahams' and McMinn's Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy-where new links help put imaging in the context of the dissection room Now a more complete learning package than ever before, with superb BONUS electronic enhancements embedded within the accompanying eBook, including: Labelled image 'stacks'-that allow you to review cross-sectional imaging as if using an imaging workstation Labelled image 'slidelines'-showing features in a full range of body radiographs to enhance understanding of anatomy in this essential modality Self-test image 'slideshows' with multi-tier labelling-to aid learning and cater for beginner to more advanced experience levels Labelled ultrasound videos-bring images to life, reflecting this increasingly clinically practiced technique Questions and answers accompany each chapter-to test your understanding and aid exam preparation 34 pathology tutorials-based around nine key concepts and illustrated with hundreds of additional pathology images, to further develop your memory of anatomical structures and lead you through the essential relationships between normal and abnormal anatomy High-yield USMLE topics-clinical photos and cases for key topics, linked and highlighted in chapters